Review: Pelican Catch 120 Fishing Kayak

In this video, I review the new Catch 120 fishing kayak from Pelican Sport (http://www.pelicansport.com). This kayak was designed for anglers from the ground up and retails for $749, and it is packed with features at that price point. Robert walks you through the features, the performance and how this kayak will help you get more fish in the kayak. Special thanks to Alex Bommer of TX Connection Outdoors (http://www.youtube.com/TxConnectionOu...) for helping film this project. ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ Follow Me on Social! ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ Facebook → http://bit.ly/RF_FBook Instagram → http://bit.ly/RF_IG Twitter → http://bit.ly/RF_Tweet Google+ → http://bit.ly/RF_G-Plus ▬▬▬▬▬▬ Follow YakFish TV on Social! ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ Facebook → http://bit.ly/YFTV_FB Instagram→ http://bit.ly/YFTV_IG Twitter → http://bit.ly/YFTV_Tweet Website → http://www.yakfish.tv ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ My Favorite Brands ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ http://www.nrs.com http://www.accentpaddles.com http://www.railblaza.com http://www.fishbrain.com http://www.yak-gear.com ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ Shop the Gear I Use! ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ Main Camera → http://bit.ly/RJF_DSLR Action Cameras → http://bit.ly/RJF_GoPro5 Editing Software → http://bit.ly/RJF_Editing Editing Computer → http://bit.ly/RJF_PC Drone → http://bit.ly/RJF_Drone Audio Recorder → http://bit.ly/RJF_Audio Paddle → http://bit.ly/RJF_Paddle Life Jacket → http://bit.ly/RJF_Chinook Knife → http://bit.ly/RJF_Co-Pilot Gear Crate → http://bit.ly/RJF_Ambush Camera Boom → http://bit.ly/RJF_Boom Rod Holder → http://bit.ly/RJF_RodHolder Visibility Kit → http://bit.ly/RJF_Visibility Rod Leashes → http://bit.ly/RJF_Leashes Fish Finder Battery → http://bit.ly/RJF_Nocqua VHF Radio → http://bit.ly/RJF_VHF Music sourced from www.bensound.com.

Review: Pelican Catch 120 Fishing Kayak sentiment_very_dissatisfied 10

Kayak 5 years ago 79,898 views

In this video, I review the new Catch 120 fishing kayak from Pelican Sport (http://www.pelicansport.com). This kayak was designed for anglers from the ground up and retails for $749, and it is packed with features at that price point. Robert walks you through the features, the performance and how this kayak will help you get more fish in the kayak. Special thanks to Alex Bommer of TX Connection Outdoors (http://www.youtube.com/TxConnectionOu...) for helping film this project. ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ Follow Me on Social! ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ Facebook → http://bit.ly/RF_FBook Instagram → http://bit.ly/RF_IG Twitter → http://bit.ly/RF_Tweet Google+ → http://bit.ly/RF_G-Plus ▬▬▬▬▬▬ Follow YakFish TV on Social! ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ Facebook → http://bit.ly/YFTV_FB Instagram→ http://bit.ly/YFTV_IG Twitter → http://bit.ly/YFTV_Tweet Website → http://www.yakfish.tv ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ My Favorite Brands ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ http://www.nrs.com http://www.accentpaddles.com http://www.railblaza.com http://www.fishbrain.com http://www.yak-gear.com ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ Shop the Gear I Use! ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ Main Camera → http://bit.ly/RJF_DSLR Action Cameras → http://bit.ly/RJF_GoPro5 Editing Software → http://bit.ly/RJF_Editing Editing Computer → http://bit.ly/RJF_PC Drone → http://bit.ly/RJF_Drone Audio Recorder → http://bit.ly/RJF_Audio Paddle → http://bit.ly/RJF_Paddle Life Jacket → http://bit.ly/RJF_Chinook Knife → http://bit.ly/RJF_Co-Pilot Gear Crate → http://bit.ly/RJF_Ambush Camera Boom → http://bit.ly/RJF_Boom Rod Holder → http://bit.ly/RJF_RodHolder Visibility Kit → http://bit.ly/RJF_Visibility Rod Leashes → http://bit.ly/RJF_Leashes Fish Finder Battery → http://bit.ly/RJF_Nocqua VHF Radio → http://bit.ly/RJF_VHF Music sourced from www.bensound.com.

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Review: Pelican Catch 120 Fishing Kayak

T.J. Hogan
T.J. Hogan - 3 years ago
I bought the new for this year (2018) catch 100. I havent taken it out yet. What are your thoughts on the catch 100? You should do a review it.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 3 years ago
I wouldn’t review the same boat in a different length. Shorter boats turn better but track worse, are lighter but lower weight capacity, and typically lose a touch of speed. Those are general rules, it’s all a trade off and depends on the type of water you fish.
Colton Edwards
Colton Edwards - 3 years ago
Thanks for making this buddy Been going back an forth on buying this now I know
Robert Field
Robert Field - 3 years ago
It’s a solid yak for the money
Patrick Connors
Patrick Connors - 3 years ago
Thanks for your feedback earlier Robert, this looks like the right boat for me and hoping to see one on display at West Marine today.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 3 years ago
+Patrick Connors its solid for the price
ComeDownRedMolly
ComeDownRedMolly - 3 years ago
We have lots of freshwater lakes here but they are often quite choppy. Do you think this yak would fill with water easily? Would rather not be soaked the entire time fishing or constantly having to bail
Robert Field
Robert Field - 3 years ago
+ComeDownRedMolly all sit on top kayaks are self-bailing. They have scupper holes that drain the water out.
kambo209
kambo209 - 3 years ago
can you review emotion stealth pro?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 3 years ago
I don't own one buddy, but I'm sure there are plenty of reviews out there. Try a Google search. Hope ya find some info!
GraphFlex
GraphFlex - 3 years ago
I weigh about 225 pounds. would this kayak be able to handle my weight if not what would you recommend!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 3 years ago
Absolutely.
RCMods
RCMods - 3 years ago
I am really liking that kayak. I was wondering if they come as a tandem for two people. My wife does not like to be on her own when kayaking.
Collin Brister
Collin Brister - 3 years ago
Hey man! Do you think the catch 120 could handle the rougher Rapids and conditions much like the Devils river? Thanks!
Collin Brister
Collin Brister - 3 years ago
Al t I will be using the heck out of it for the next few years! I actually had purchased the heritage angler 12 ft and I liked it a lot but I really wanted a yak I could stand up in and something with a bigger capacity! So far I'm loving the pelican catch! All of my buddies are super jealous as they have plain Jane older model Pelicans! I'm taking it to the coast in the next week just for fun! Also I'm about to do a 3 nighter along the Brazos! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!
Al t
Al t - 3 years ago
true, it's not at thick as the regular poly hulled kayaks, but this RAM-X premium material is supposed to be stronger and lighter.  they advertise that it is "high impact resistant".... I don't know what that means for hitting a sharp rock, but I think that if you were to just hit a regular rock, the kayak could take it.  I have one of these kayaks, and i'm concerned about the "sharp rock" scenario since I kayak creeks and small rivers here in east tennessee where I will hit a lot of shallow rocks.  last year my old heritage angler yak got scratched up pretty good on two 12 mile float trips but didn't sustain any thru-hull damage.  This year i'll be making the same trips in the Pelican Catch 120.  having some kind of patch available is prudent in any case.
Collin Brister
Collin Brister - 3 years ago
Thanks Rob! That's what I had figured too! I'm going to use the heck out of it before I upgrade though! Down the road after nursing school I will probably upgrade to a Jackson!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 3 years ago
Ummm, it can definitely handle it performance-wise. It's stable enough to be forgiving if you get sideways. My concern would probably be the plastic. It's not as thick as some of the more expensive brands. You might be risking a crack if you hit a rock the wrong way. I'd definitely take some patching solutions just in case.
Tristan Tucker
Tristan Tucker - 3 years ago
+Robert Field. Hi. I have been looking at either this or a wilderness systems tarpon. I need something good for shallow rivers but also some deep fresh water (Lake Michigan). Any insight?
Tristan Tucker
Tristan Tucker - 3 years ago
Robert Field Okay. Thank you so much!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 3 years ago
This is going to be more stable and the tarpon will be faster. Both are great hulls, just very different. I'd say if your priority is going far, I'd go with the tarpon. If you want to be able to stand and take a lot of gear, I'd go with the Catch.

10. comment for Review: Pelican Catch 120 Fishing Kayak

Matthew Osborne
Matthew Osborne - 3 years ago
Robert, I am torn between two kayaks right now and was wondering if you could give me some insight on bang for the buck. I have the ability to buy a Pelican Catch 120 for $570 new and the Feelfree Lure 10 for $899. I'm not sure if you've been on the Lure 10's or not. They both are great deals on two great kayaks. The Pelican at $570 is a steal. Do you think the Lure would be worth the extra $300? Thanks!
Matthew Osborne
Matthew Osborne - 3 years ago
+Robert Field

Thanks so much for your quick reply. I'm going to go with the pelican and buy the ultimate angler you suggested. Thanks again!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 3 years ago
Hmmmm, you're right in that both are solid kayaks. I personally am not a fan of 10' kayaks, I much prefer 12' or longer. I think they're both going to offer plenty of stability, but the Catch is going to be a bit faster. The manufacturing on the FeelFree is going to be a bit nicer, and the resale value will probably hold up better. I'd also compare the weight of both boats, I'm not sure which is heavier but I'd guess the Lure. Honestly, I don't think you can go wrong. My best advice would be to find a local kayak shop that carries the Lure and try it out. I think the Lure is a nicer kayak, but I'm not sure it's worth the extra $300. You could put that into a nice paddle and PFD. If you'll have to skimp on a paddle to get the Lure, I'd definitely go with the Catch, because a nice lightweight paddle will make a huge difference. I use the Accent Paddles Trophy Angler, but the Ultimate Angler is great too if you don't want to spend that much: https://accentpaddles.com/collections/fishing/products/trophy-angler
Rebel1280
Rebel1280 - 4 years ago
In your opinion, what is the better buy, this or the Ascend 128T? Both are around $750.
Rebel1280
Rebel1280 - 4 years ago
Thanks for the advice :) I missed the last demo event Cabelas had, i was wearing pants, now (no joke now that summer is upon us ) i always carry a pair of swim trunks and a towel lol
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
Hmmm, they're both solid yaks for the price. Hard to say really. My best advice would be try to find some to demo. Everyone's different and no yak is best for everyone. But I don't think you can go wrong with either one in that price range.
Matt Zimmerman
Matt Zimmerman - 4 years ago
I would like to mention this. I was at fleet farm 3 days ago. I saw this boat mark at 750 dollars 30 minutes late the lady mark it down to 99.99 no joke. I asked her are sure this is Right because that one big saves and she said yes. I ask why they need to get newer ones in. I smiled all the way to the check out. I have took it out a few times already I love it I can't wait to get it out and fish out of it.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
Heck of a deal, Matt! Nice!
Big Fish Rembowski
Big Fish Rembowski - 4 years ago
Hey man, great review. I am either going with the catch 120 or the cabelas advanced angler 120. Im a bigger guy (265 lbs) , is the cabelas one that much more stable than the catch 120?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
I've never been in the Cabelas boat, but I've heard great things. I think either one will be plenty stable for you. The Cabelas boat seems a bit nicer from what I've seen, more features, etc. I think it's more expensive also. I don't think you can go wrong with either yak, and I'd tell ya if I thought one was junk.
Jonathan Scavelli
Jonathan Scavelli - 4 years ago
dude for 750 this is amazing and so worth the investment. a boat is great but a lot of maintenance so this is ideal for me. you can customize it so much. standing and fishing for me is what has me hooked. this is something I can use for many years to come. can't wait to get it!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
Yeah man, it's a killer deal. I think you'll like it.
Outdoor brothers
Outdoor brothers - 4 years ago
is that Canadian price or American price??
Outdoor brothers
Outdoor brothers - 4 years ago
Darn i looked on Canadian tire website and it is 1000$ and idk if it is worth the money. i am only 13 years old starting my channel and i want a nice yak that will due so do you think this is worth the money?
Outdoor brothers
Outdoor brothers - 4 years ago
darn i looked on Canadian tire website and it is 1000$ Canadian but it looks like a great yak so do you think it would be worth the money because i am hoping to use it for my channel?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
American price
Robert Obregon
Robert Obregon - 4 years ago
debating on pelican the catch 120 or the Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 angler for bay fishing sometimes against wind and waves. first time buyer and prices seem decent. need some experience advice
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
Hmmm good question bud, I've never been on the Prowler but I've heard good things. Cost being equal, I might go with the Prowler for the bay. I think the Catch will be more stable but I'm not positive.
Jason
Jason - 4 years ago
Just picked this up online at dicks $150 off for Black Friday.. So excited to get this out there in the spring
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
Heck of a deal on a solid yak!
Steve B
Steve B - 4 years ago
I have the same yak. Super stable but like many similar style yaks you sacrifice effective tracking; wish there was a rudder accessory option. On a scale from 1 to 10 the seat is an 11 from a comfort perspective. A yak is functionally useless if you're uncomfortable so the sturdy yet lightweight and breathable seat proved to be a game changer. The upper position option makes you feel like you're in a small boat so you don't feel the need to constantly stand to stretch legs. You can stand up in this yak but I don't simply because I don't have the balance and coordination like I used to. If I stand I make sure its in very shallow water.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
Good thoughts.
brad braxton
brad braxton - 4 years ago
nice video sir, how's the deck when standing? is there any flex or give that you think would be an issue with this boat in the future?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
It felt sturdy under my feet. More flex than a Hobie, but at 1/3 the cost, it was solid.

20. comment for Review: Pelican Catch 120 Fishing Kayak

Blinderb
Blinderb - 4 years ago
Great video! Have you reviewed the Ascend FS12T? I would like to hear your thoughts on it in a side by side comparison with this boat. Thanks!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
I haven't, but that's a solid boat for the money. The hatches are known to leak some in rougher water.
james phosy
james phosy - 4 years ago
yo rob can u do a camera rigging setup vid?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
Got one in the works!
Imperiatus
Imperiatus - 4 years ago
Robert I'm interested in this kayak, one reason being price, another availability!It's one of the few kayaks that are available for me to order in the town where I live.I also like it's relative simplicity, as compared to more expensive boats, it's more bare bones.I fish in a river system, that has quite a strong current; how's the handling? How maneuverable is this boat? How well would it perform, if I wanted to paddle against the current at times?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
It handled just fine, the turning radius was solid. It would benefit from a rudder, that's one drawback. I paddled it into the current a lot on this river and had no issues.
jaybla1980
jaybla1980 - 4 years ago
I can get this boat brand new for $600. Or I can get the pescador perception pro 12 for 710. Which one would you recommend? Which one can I stand up on better and I will be riding my kids sometimes, so that will be considered as well.
jaybla1980
jaybla1980 - 4 years ago
+Robert Field also my drain plug seems to pop out very easily even in the locked position. Did I get a faulty plug or is that a common issue? Would a replacement plug from pelican be the answer or should I find a different kind of plug?
jaybla1980
jaybla1980 - 4 years ago
+Robert Field that's what I purchase and had one kid in the back and one in the front. You are right.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
The Pelican will be more stable and potentially support a small kid behind you.
Noel Laflamme
Noel Laflamme - 4 years ago
how would this kayak do with use in saltwater, specifically in Narragansett bay? could it handle boat wakes well?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
It should do fine, it's super stable so it should handle rough water well.
Logan Willis
Logan Willis - 4 years ago
is the storage compartment water proof
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
Yes, it should be. Now, if you flip your kayak and leave it upside down for a while I'm sure water would get in, but the front hatch is water tight.
yugo fishing
yugo fishing - 4 years ago
great review! What length paddle do you use? thanks
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
Well I use Accent Paddles, and their fishing paddles adjust from 240cm to 260cm. That's perfect for being able to use one paddle for multiple boats or multiple paddlers. Adds a lot of flexibility, can adjust 'em for stand up paddling or if you have a high and low position seat on your boat. Plus they're just great paddles. But if you go with a static length paddle, it depends on how wide your boat is and how tall you are. But 240-260 is a good range.
Fahad Ahmed
Fahad Ahmed - 4 years ago
hi really liked your review, i had one question: can i install a motor to this kayak? if so which one do you recommend?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
You definitely could, but I can't help you there, I don't use trolling motors. The stern is nice and flat though so it wouldn't be too hard to rig one out. Get the lightest one you can afford.
BlackAnvil47
BlackAnvil47 - 4 years ago
@ Robert Fields have you tried out the Fish Cat 4 float tube, and have you tried the Moken Lure 10 or the Lure 11.5
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
Nope I've never tried float tubing. I've been in the Feel Free Lure, very stable boat but not very fast.
Luigi's Panaderia
Luigi's Panaderia - 4 years ago
Great review!!! I am looking to get my first fishing kayak, would this be a good investment?
Luigi's Panaderia
Luigi's Panaderia - 4 years ago
+Robert Field thanks Robert. I am actually at the store scoping it out
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
Absolutely. Lot of bang for your buck if this is the price range you're looking at ($750).

30. comment for Review: Pelican Catch 120 Fishing Kayak

David Nachbaur
David Nachbaur - 4 years ago
Could this kayak be used for open ocean? Say 1 to 2 miles out
David Nachbaur
David Nachbaur - 4 years ago
Ok that is what I wanted to know. Would love a hobie Outback. Have to save for that one. Thanks again. Love the video, very thorough.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
That's not what it's designed for, but with calm weather conditions I think so.
Joseph A.W. Folk
Joseph A.W. Folk - 4 years ago
What kind of PFD is that and does it come with that knife?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
It's an NRS Chinook PFD, my personal favorite, and no the knife is separate. It's the NRS CoPilot knife.
UsArmyMp78
UsArmyMp78 - 4 years ago
Pulled the trigger last week and bought one. Hard part is the wait now 2-5 week for it to ship.....one week down 1-4 more weeks to go.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
I think you're gonna love it!
Nick Bartus
Nick Bartus - 4 years ago
Is this kayak a good choice or should I spend the extra money on a predator 13?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
Just depends brother. If you have the money to spend, the Predator 13 is probably going to be a nicer all around kayak, but with this one you'd have money left over for a nice paddle, PFD, and to rig it out.
Andrew Ko
Andrew Ko - 4 years ago
Would this kayak be suitable for inshore saltwater fishing as well? Because I am looking for a good priced kayak that I could use to catch flounder, reds, and other inshore species with.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
Yes I think it'll do fine. Rinse it off after each use, just like your other gear.
Big Sticky
Big Sticky - 4 years ago
Thanks very much for the honest review and great videos. I've been getting ready to buy my first fishing kayak and have it narrowed down to the Catch 120 and the Perception Striker 11.5. I'm a bit of a fatso (275lbs) so I want something with a good carrying capacity that I can stand up on. I think I'm going to go with the Pelican after seeing this. Keep up the great work!
Rich G
Rich G - 4 years ago
I'm getting ready to buy my first fishing kayak and have been leaning towards the Catch 120 or the Lure 11.5. I'd be using it in some back bays and inlets as well as lakes. Probably 50/50 between fresh and salt. Do you think this kayak will handle that type of use?
Rich G
Rich G - 4 years ago
+Robert Field Thanks Rob, I think I'm sold on this kayak.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
+Rich G yes sir I do, I think it'll handle everything well except for offshore fishing. They recommend you rinse it off after use in saltwater, but that goes for all gear really.
Glorywhole
Glorywhole - 5 years ago
What length paddle are you using for this Kayak?
Glorywhole
Glorywhole - 4 years ago
+Robert Field Awesome and you're right. I was wondering if that type would be the best for this yak. It has an adjustable seat so why not an adjustable paddle. Thanks.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 4 years ago
+Nerfin Merfitt I use Accent Paddles, which adjust up to 20 cm so you have some flexibility if you have high and low position seating, or two kayaks of different widths. This was the Accent Paddles Trophy Angler and it adjusts from 240-260cm
West_Nebraska_Dude
West_Nebraska_Dude - 5 years ago
Hey Robert ... I purchased the Pelican Catch 120, and I was wondering if you have any advice for mounting a fish finder on it.  I'm leaning towards the new Garmin Striker 4 DV, and I was curious if you could recommend a preferred installation method.  Thanks again for your expertise!!
West_Nebraska_Dude
West_Nebraska_Dude - 5 years ago
Thanks so much, Robert  ... As always, I truly appreciate your expertise!!  I wasn't aware of the Railblaza transducer arm (I was going to try the inside hull) but I'm impressed with the over the side approach.  It seems like it would be a more accurate reading.  Thanks again ... Cheers!!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+West_Nebraska_Dude there are a few options. You can use the Railblaza transducer arm to swing it over the side (find it at www.yak-gear.com, click on the Railblaza tab). Or you could mount the transducer inside the hull with marine goop. Search YouTube for guides to do that. There are downsides and upsides to mounting the transducer inside or off the side. I personally would do it off the side so the transducer is sitting in the water. All the mounting components you can get from Railblaza.
BucketMouthBassin
BucketMouthBassin - 5 years ago
Sweet video man! Keep em' coming!
Check out some of my vids if you ever get a chance!
-BucketMouthBassin
Fishing the Catch
Fishing the Catch - 5 years ago
Can you use in salt water
Thystaff Thywill
Thystaff Thywill - 4 years ago
+Pelican International Will you put out an advance model with side rails and more options?
Pelican International
Pelican International - 5 years ago
+Andrew Castillo Hi Andrew, thanks for your question. While Pelican kayaks are intended for fresh water, some anglers do use them in salt water. If you do use them in this type of water, we recommend that you rinse them down after each use.
Tim LeDoux
Tim LeDoux - 5 years ago
Are the GoPro mounts standard or did you have to install them ?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Tim LeDoux I installed them. They're from Railblaza, www.yak-gear.com
TheFullNelsons
TheFullNelsons - 5 years ago
Just purchased this...anyone put an anchor trolley on this YAK.  Not sure where to install.. just below the lip?   Let me know if you have installed with success.
TheFullNelsons
TheFullNelsons - 5 years ago
+Robert Field Thanks for your reply Robert... I thought that would probably be best...
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+TheFullNelsons I would install it just below the lip, that'll keep it from popping up on the deck and still be comfortably above the water line.
Keith Shaffer
Keith Shaffer - 5 years ago
Robert have you had a chance to try the newer Perception Pescador Pro? I am really torn between this and the Catch 120 but the real world reviews are few and far between. My hunch is the Pescador Pro is a little faster and the console would be a big advantage, while the Catch 120 would be a little heavier, more stable and perhaps better tracking. The hulls seem very different but the price point and purpose very similar.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Keith Shaffer I haven't had a chance to test out the Pescador Pro yet (my very first yak was the old regular Pescador). The Catch 120 is really light for its size and weight capacity. Based on the specs, I think you've about nailed it. The Pescador Pro is likely faster, but it's going to be less stable. As for tracking, it's hard to say. As I mentioned in this video, I was impressed by the tracking of the Catch. For me personally, if I was in a big hurry to get around, I'd get a boat. The difference in a boat that can sustain 3mph and one that can sustain 3.3mph is going to be pretty negligible unless you're paddling 10 miles straight. I prioritize stability when I'm fishing, because flipping or falling in is MUCH worse than getting to your destination 20 yards behind your friend in a fast yak. But that's just me.
Pelican International
Pelican International - 5 years ago
+Keith Shaffer Hi Keith, feel free to ask us anything about the Catch 120 as well. At 70lbs, we're proud of how light it is. As well, with a tunnel hull and a 34-inch wide beam and flat platform, it really does give you the best possible standup fishing experience. You can email any further questions to media [at] pelicansport dot com and we'll get back to you shortly. Thanks for considering us.
charles cramer
charles cramer - 5 years ago
i think you should add controllable rudder and some feet paddles for them days my arms are tired. if not paddles a nice small powerful salt water electric motor . that sounds nice,very nice for me! a lil more control.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+charles cramer plenty of people put trolling motors on kayaks, and you could definitely do that with this model.
Kayak Uprising
Kayak Uprising - 5 years ago
Hey, were you compensated in any way by Pelican for this video? :)
Texas Coast Wanderer Kayak Fishing
Texas Coast Wanderer Kayak Fishing - 3 years ago
Pelican International This is Awesome ! I just bought my first Pelican Icon 100X Angler and it is Great for an entry beginner,in a stability stand point as well. For the price it is , now I am going to buy a 2nd one to start my son kayak fishing also !!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Henry Carmona I was not. The #1 question I get is "what's a good kayak to start off with in the sport?" In order to be able to better answer it, I'm trying to review several budget-friendly kayaks. I saw this one at Outdoor Retailer and decided I wanted to review it because of all the features packed into the price tag. I warned them that the review may not be favorable if I didn't like the performance, but it exceeded expectations at every turn.
Pelican International
Pelican International - 5 years ago
+Henry Carmona We can confirm 100% no. Robert mainly fishes in Hobie kayaks and he wanted to try ours because of the $749.99 price point, so he was curious. He requested the yak last year from us for review with no promises. We saw the video for the first time the day it was posted.
axsb
axsb - 5 years ago
+Henry Carmona looks like a commercial
West_Nebraska_Dude
West_Nebraska_Dude - 5 years ago
Great review, Robert.  I saw this kayak the other day at a local sporting goods store and was so impressed with the innovative hull design, sturdy construction, weight capacity, and price of the Catch 120.  After seeing your review, I'm definitely going to try and swing this purchase!!
Could you tell us what the mount/arm system is that you're using on your GoPro cams in this vid??
Thanks again ... love your reviews!!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+West_Nebraska_Dude happy to help!
West_Nebraska_Dude
West_Nebraska_Dude - 5 years ago
Thanks for the response, Robert ... I just ordered the Railblaza ... thanks for the info and direction!!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+West_Nebraska_Dude I think you'll be very pleased buddy. That camera boom is a Railblaza Camera Boom 600, and I reviewed it and explained why it will help you capture better footage in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FDG3_RNOWlk
Pelican International
Pelican International - 5 years ago
+West_Nebraska_Dude Good to hear! Thanks for choosing us!
Brandon Bass
Brandon Bass - 5 years ago
I'm sure you are way too busy... but if your ever in MA I'd love to fish with you.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Brandon Bass not sure when I'll be up that way, but if I am you're welcome to tag along brother!
jjgiannotti
jjgiannotti - 5 years ago
Looks like a great package although I'm nervous with the size. I'm 6'2 and 220 lbs and wondering if the stability will be there for standing up when I need to. How well is the 120 really suited for those of us on the larger side??
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+jjgiannotti I think you'll be just fine. I mentioned in the video that this boat is perfect for larger anglers. At 220 I'm still confident you'll be very comfortable in this boat, even in the high position and even when standing.
Pelican International
Pelican International - 5 years ago
+jjgiannotti The max capacity is 400 lbs, so you should be more than fine. Since it's 34 inches wide and a flat, the platform will hold up.
Midwestfishingbros
Midwestfishingbros - 5 years ago
Very nice kayak! I have a couple questions about it. Can you fit rods inside the front hatch? Is this kayak all one piece? I know in the past pelican kayaks were usually two pieces. a top part and then a bottom part.
Darren Turner
Darren Turner - 3 years ago
Pelican International do you have an Australian distributor?
Pelican International
Pelican International - 5 years ago
+Midwestfishingbros Another advantage to Pelican's thermoforming procss for sit-on-tops is that we are able to insert flotation blocks for added buoyancy, something the rotomolding process does not allow. In terms of the two-piece product, the two high molecular polyethylene sheets are fused together in high heat, producing a one-piece kayak at the end of the day. If you have any other questions, please feel free to get in touch at media [at] pelicansport dot com.
Midwestfishingbros
Midwestfishingbros - 5 years ago
Awesome!! Thank you so much for the reply! a local farming supply store is selling them for $649. Might pick one up!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Midwestfishingbros you could definitely fit some rods in the front hatch. The kayak is two-piece, the construction is called thermoforming. Very lightweight construction and I would NOT worry about the two pieces coming apart. Thermoforming and rotomolding (one piece) are both very solid ways to manufacture kayaks. Jackson Kayak uses it in their LT series, as do a couple other big kayak brands. Doesn't hurt anything at all; I've never heard of the seal breaking on ANY thermoformed kayak. Ever.

50. comment for Review: Pelican Catch 120 Fishing Kayak

Kayak Freaks
Kayak Freaks - 5 years ago
No problem. have fun fishing 
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+KayakFreaks thanks man! Not looking for an editing job though... it's time consuming and I find it's only worth all the hard work when it's my own content. I appreciate the kind words brother!
UsArmyMp78
UsArmyMp78 - 5 years ago
Been waiting for a video like this for a while. I really like the video of you standing and setting the hook. Most common question I think Ive seen in videos posted is "How stable is it while standing". The video shows it is more than stable enough to stand and fish! Good job on the review good job on the video Robert Field. And good job Pelican!
Pelican International
Pelican International - 5 years ago
+UsArmyMp78 Thanks a lot! We appreciate the positive feedback. Indeed, the feedback and reaction to this yak has been great.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+UsArmyMp78 thanks!
Taylor Hickman
Taylor Hickman - 5 years ago
Thanks for the quality reviews, also nice to see some local spots in your video. Have you had the opportunity to paddle an Old Town Loon Angler edition?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Taylor Hickman I haven't, yet!
An American Gose fishing
An American Gose fishing - 5 years ago
i have a pelican tidewater 80ss with a multi channel hull i plan to use it this striper season not sure if i should bring my fixed out riggers to fight in striped bass and am looking at a pelican booster 100 for the next yak i am in the 300 maybe 400 max price range. i like my tidewater 80ss but it is just a 8 footer, i like its stability and how it can slam head on in to 3 ft wakes and just kind of shrugs off the side or rear striking 1-2 ft wakes i have only been flipped by my brother no wake, fish or snags on the hudson have done it to date, but i want something a little bigger than an 8ft yak, now i have the room.
jeremy hunnicutt
jeremy hunnicutt - 5 years ago
you should do another survival/ fishing trip
jeremy hunnicutt
jeremy hunnicutt - 5 years ago
Sweet man I can't wait
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+jeremy hunnicutt got two week-long river trips planned for this year, one in April and one in May. The one in May will be on the Lower Pecos River, which is the sister river to the Devil's and will be a sequel to that video. The April trip is a week-long canoe trip in New York.
Wayn Jul
Wayn Jul - 5 years ago
Pretty good review. Looking forward to you catching some fish from it.
Native Waters Fly Fishing
Native Waters Fly Fishing - 5 years ago
Awesome video rob!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Native Waters Fly Fishing thanks!
Grunter
Grunter - 5 years ago
Thanks mr Field. Obvious from first promo vids, that this model was more than just a "fresh water dog ship"!. I think mr Z missed the boat.
Scuffed ThumbZ Fishing
Scuffed ThumbZ Fishing - 5 years ago
Awesome video you have me sold can't believe its only 749 where can I buy it? also what do you recommend for a paddle? either a specific paddle or how much to spend one. Thanks!
Pelican International
Pelican International - 5 years ago
You'd have to ask them. 
Scuffed ThumbZ Fishing
Scuffed ThumbZ Fishing - 5 years ago
+Pelican Sport thanks how about in the lava color?
Scuffed ThumbZ Fishing
Scuffed ThumbZ Fishing - 5 years ago
+Robert Field thank you I appreciate it. Keep the great work my dad and I are planning a devils river trip because of you awesome work!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Scuffed ThumbZ Fishing I personally only use Accent Paddles. Here's a link to all their fishing paddles. You want to spend at least like $120-150 for a decent paddle, otherwise kayak fishing will be a lot less fun if you're using something heavy and cheap. http://accentpaddles.com/product-category/fishing/
Pelican International
Pelican International - 5 years ago
+Scuffed ThumbZ Fishing Thanks for the compliments. You can purchase it at a few stores, including Academy Sports.
Texas Redfish Hunter
Texas Redfish Hunter - 5 years ago
Sweet review! What's the weight on this kayak? Seems very similar to the Ascend FS128T from Bass Pro that I have, but that Ascend is 96lbs. They seem to be in direct competition too at the price.
Texas Redfish Hunter
Texas Redfish Hunter - 5 years ago
+Robert Field I love my Ascend, but this seems like a fantastic alternative. Only complaints I have with the Ascend are its weight and speed, so if this pelican provides the same stability and stand up platform while being lighter and faster, its definitely something I've got to check out.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Texas Redfish Hunter much lighter than the Ascend, and this boat is faster. The Ascend used to be my go-to recommendation for a budget-friendly kayak, and it's still a solid boat, but the Catch 120 was more impressive all around in my opinion.
Pelican International
Pelican International - 5 years ago
+Texas Redfish Hunter The weight on this boat is around the 70lb mark!!!
Tim B
Tim B - 5 years ago
Great review man and killer job on the edit!
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Tim B thanks!
NcKayakBassin
NcKayakBassin - 5 years ago
It reminds me alot of my Wilderness System Ride 115 with the Air Pro max seat. But the Pelican comes in cheaper.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Willie Dee quite a bit cheaper. I took the Ride 115 down the Devil's River. It's a solid boat too, but yeah, different price tag.
Stubbs Kayak Fishing
Stubbs Kayak Fishing - 5 years ago
I think this is my next kayak
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Stubbs Kayak Fishing I don't think you'll regret it!
Cosas De la vida
Cosas De la vida - 5 years ago
I was looking for a fishing kayak and. This is the one
ryguy11794
ryguy11794 - 5 years ago
clothing review or recommendations? possibly your favorite brand/ website to visit for boating/ fishing clothes
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+ryguy11794 I pretty much only wear apparel from www.nrs.com when I'm on the kayak. Their new kayak fishing layering line is sweeeeeeet.
Kayak Chris
Kayak Chris - 5 years ago
I've been impressed with Pelican as a company. They seem to be really down to earth and they take care of their customers. Their new kayaks seem to offer what an angler needs to get into kayak fishing. I have a Feel Free Lure 13.5 and I can tell you that even though I love my kayak there are times where I wish I had something as light and as versatile as the catch 120. I love the color on this boat as well. Very cool.
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Kayak Chris yes sir, this boat definitely exceeded my expectations. Feel Free makes great boats also, and that Lure is super stable like the Catch, but the Catch definitely seemed faster in my opinion.
Broke Yakin
Broke Yakin - 5 years ago
Cool review! Would you say this kayak is better than the other $700 kayaks on the market?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Broke Yakin I think so personally. There are a couple decent options at $500 that aren't as nice but obviously cheaper, and a few nice options at $1,000, but for the price this one is a LOT of bang for your buck.
Mason Ritenauer
Mason Ritenauer - 5 years ago
Hey what do u recomend for light saltwater fishing?
Mason Ritenauer
Mason Ritenauer - 5 years ago
rod reel
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Mason Ritenauer not sure what you mean? Tackle? Boat? Rod/reel?
gabe428
gabe428 - 5 years ago
Good review Robert, and for keeping it real,mentioning the pros and cons, price is great. I still have my 1st kayak bought 8 years ago, the pelican castaway 116dx, good point on the rudder but if kayak paddles straight all good.
Thks again,
Tight Lines
Fish On
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+gabe428 Thanks Gabe. No kayak is perfect in every way, so there's ALWAYS going to be cons in any kayak review that I do, but overall this was an extremely impressive kayak, especially for the price.
Lines And Leaders 7
Lines And Leaders 7 - 5 years ago
Thank you fir keeping ur promise and uploading every week love the video man keep producing good content
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Lines And Leaders 7 thanks man! I'm going to try my best to keep it up!
Bleach
Bleach - 5 years ago
Good video I'm thinking about buying this this helped me a lot even though I don't fish that often would you still recommend this?
Robert Field
Robert Field - 5 years ago
+Justin Clutch this kayak is designed for anglers, but it's pleasant to paddle around, so it'd be a fine recreational boat. Just know that's not its primary purpose.
Carter Cox
Carter Cox - 5 years ago
I saw this a few days ago but I just now got the notification that you posted it. I was looking at your product reviews and saw this under that category.
Royale YouTube
Royale YouTube - 5 years ago
first

Similar videos
for Review: Pelican Catch 120 Fishing Kayak

Raww fishing

Believe This Fishing? Unique Fish Trapping...

381,947 likes 180,318,214 views 3 years ago

Believe This Fishing? Unique Fish Trapping System Using Long Pipe & Big Plastic Bottle By Smart Boy Subscribe here:...

Raww fishing

The first Trap Can Catch Alot of fish & Crabs...

376,735 likes 97,012,863 views 3 years ago

The first Trap Can Catch Alot of fish & Crabs And Eels By 5 Bambo With deep Hole My New Channel :...

Kayak

Octopus Caught While Kayak Fishing

59,521 likes 62,295,274 views 9 years ago

http://www.facebook.com/ZeeNorthwest http://www.hobiefishing.com/ http://www.kokatat.com/ http://nextadventure.net/...

Raww fishing

Deep Sea Fishing Battle | Dude Perfect

618,352 likes 48,027,125 views 2 years ago

Time to catch some big fish! Special thanks to Old Bahama Bay for sponsoring this video! Click HERE to check out...

Shark videos

Shark Fishing Battle | Dude Perfect

342,276 likes 44,590,333 views 6 years ago

Time to CATCH and RELEASE some SHARKS! ► Click HERE for crazy fishing VIDEOS! http://bit.ly/1Avn0qk ► Click HERE...

Kayak

Kayaking Down an Escalator

179,369 likes 29,755,916 views 7 years ago

Basketball, Golf, Kayaks, Soccer... and Ryan Tannehill? Game on. ----------------------------------------­ ► PLAY...

Related videos
to Review: Pelican Catch 120 Fishing Kayak

Kayak

Octopus Caught While Kayak Fishing

59,521 likes 62,295,274 views 9 years ago

http://www.facebook.com/ZeeNorthwest http://www.hobiefishing.com/ http://www.kokatat.com/ http://nextadventure.net/...

Kayak

Kayaking Down an Escalator

179,369 likes 29,755,916 views 7 years ago

Basketball, Golf, Kayaks, Soccer... and Ryan Tannehill? Game on. ----------------------------------------­ ► PLAY...

Kayak

Kayak levantado por ballena en Puerto Madryn,...

17,638 likes 7,377,662 views 6 years ago

una tarde increible, mucho sol, kayak y ballenas. Mientras mirabamos desde arriba del kayak, una de las ballenas si...

Kayak

Humpback Whale Breaches on Top of Kayakers

4,561 likes 6,307,154 views 5 years ago

On our 08:00 am Sanctuary Cruises whale tour, just outside the harbor in Moss Landing, two kayakers on a tandam kayak...

Kayak

Kayak Fishing: Offshore Trip Gone Wrong - Part 3

11,895 likes 5,459,694 views 7 years ago

This was my first shark from the kayak, and after spending 5 minutes trying to remove the hook with pliers and being...

Kayak

Black Bear Gnaws on Delta 15s Seakayak in Berg...

14,518 likes 5,412,975 views 5 years ago

@MerryChirps on Twitter and @MerryMaryMix on Instagram During a solo kayak trip, intended to go from from Ketchikan,...

About Review: Pelican Catch 120 Fishing Kayak

The "Review: Pelican Catch 120 Fishing Kayak" video is part of the kayaking category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!