Reef Tank Tap Water Opinions

I'm a ramblin' man
Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Reef Tank Tap Water Opinions

Joy
Joy - 3 years ago
xenia for dayzz
Manny Gardner
Manny Gardner - 4 years ago
Thank you for this video! I'm starting up a reef tank myself and atm I'm going to be using tap. it's on the expensive side to get everything all that once
quepiid
quepiid - 4 years ago
I just started running a little protein skimmer a few weeks ago on my tap water reef. (60 tds) but don't see any change. I don't see why people get so worked up (and robbed) doing saltwater tanks. Easy stuff just a bit more pricey as far a stocking goes. But after initially setting up it's pretty smooth sailing.
Josh Vollberg
Josh Vollberg - 4 years ago
Very inspiring video! Is 1-2 pounds of live rock per gallon something I should follow for optimal biological filtration?How much live rock do you have? How do you keep your nitrates so low? Would appreciate the feedback, and also a tip on how to get those xenias to grow like crazy even on the glass:)
Danny's Fish
Danny's Fish - 5 years ago
Do you know what TDS your water is out of the tap?
Lets Talk Pocket Knives!
Lets Talk Pocket Knives! - 5 years ago
I forget the tds but I remember the conductivity of the water was around 250 mS which can be closely correlated to tds. tds of tsp water didn't really matter. lets day you live in a limestone heavy area, you could have 0 contaminants in your water and the tds Would still be crazy high from the ions associated with limestone (which are inconsequential to your reef tanks water chemistry).
Pang Her
Pang Her - 5 years ago
Tim's tanks can I also add coral even though I have tap water in my saltwater tank?
Lets Talk Pocket Knives!
Lets Talk Pocket Knives! - 5 years ago
it's different for different areas, everyone's tap water is very different. you probably can add soft coals though. add long as you don't have copper contaminants.
Pang Her
Pang Her - 5 years ago
So I can run a saltwater tank with tap water, so far everyone I talk to say to don't use tap water cause the tap water will slowly kill the fish.
Daniel Anthony
Daniel Anthony - 5 years ago
It's really relieving seeing a tank like this with tap water. I'm setting up a 30g reef tank soon and all I have available is tap water and I understand all about the tds and other things that go into the tank from the tap water but clearly RO water isn't a MUST since your tank is clearly doing amazing. Most people say that you get a lot of algae problems but I mean as long as I have a good clean up crew I don't see how that would be a problem.
TheFishTank Doc.
TheFishTank Doc. - 4 years ago
I have seen many reefers crash their tanks using tap water. The quality of the tap water can change suddenly, and you don't realise, unless you use every test kit going. A reefer on reef central used tap water for 10 years with know problem, then one day did a water change and crashed his tank. Another reefer didn't what to use R.O.D.I water. His sent his carbonate to 14 dkh, because his tap water was high in carbonate. Yes it is possible to run a reef tank with tap water, but very risky, and you might be limited by what you can keep.
Tim's Tanks
Tim's Tanks - 5 years ago
+Daniel Anthony It really depends on your municipality whether the water is suitable for a SW aquarium. It is true though that people are exaggerating when they say you "must" use RO. I have similar opinions about protein skimmers.
Anthony's Malawi Predators
Anthony's Malawi Predators - 5 years ago
When I grow up I want to have your atittude

10. comment for Reef Tank Tap Water Opinions

Jorden Watkins
Jorden Watkins - 6 years ago
Nice looking tank. Interesting how low tech it can be. I just put finishing touches on my 37 gal reef check it out sometime. Subbed ya
Tim's Tanks
Tim's Tanks - 6 years ago
Thanks Jordan!
njw1383
njw1383 - 6 years ago
Can I ask you something - How do you keep nitrates at zero in a saltwater tank?
Tim's Tanks
Tim's Tanks - 6 years ago
Having a deep sand bed allows for the growth of anaerobic bacteria that metabolize nitrate into gaseous Nitrogen. This also probably occurs in deeper portions of the live rock. In the case of my tank a combination of feeding my fish 2-3 times a week, having a 4"+ sand bed and an abundance of live rock is what I attribute to my undetectable nitrate levels.I assume you could get similar results using the same approach to freshwater, most peoples tanks are very well stocked though.
The Midwest Fishkeeper
The Midwest Fishkeeper - 6 years ago
1sub for sub and great vid! What saltwater fish yoy reccomend could i put in a 29gal tank cause im bying one soon
Tim's Tanks
Tim's Tanks - 6 years ago
+Hooked On Fish sumps are a good form of filtration, if that is out of the picture just get a nice canister filter. Most the saltwater people frown on canister filters but if you keep the sponges clean they work great. for lighting, there are so many types that are good but an entry level for easy to keep corals would probably be a 4x t5 fixture.
The Midwest Fishkeeper
The Midwest Fishkeeper - 6 years ago
And lighting
The Midwest Fishkeeper
The Midwest Fishkeeper - 6 years ago
Any type of remmomed flitration and corals?
The Midwest Fishkeeper
The Midwest Fishkeeper - 6 years ago
Ok thanks!
Tim's Tanks
Tim's Tanks - 6 years ago
Couple clowns, some kind of goby and blenny. maybe a six line wrasse. Keep the stocking levels down is key.
njw1383
njw1383 - 6 years ago
Great vid bro
Tim's Tanks
Tim's Tanks - 6 years ago
Thanks! :D

Similar videos
for Reef Tank Tap Water Opinions

Reviews

Bayliner 185 Boat Review & Opinions

80 likes 49,266 views 8 years ago

I purchased this 2011 Bayliner 185 boat towards the beginning of last year's boating season. This is the first boat...

Related videos
to Reef Tank Tap Water Opinions

About Reef Tank Tap Water Opinions

The "Reef Tank Tap Water Opinions" video is part of the reef tank, salt water category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!