Boat Review: Make Your Own Boat - woodworkweb

** Read Full Article - http://goo.gl/JV1tlj Spring is boating season, and this year I am looking for a small rugged, light weight boat or kayak I can take in the ocean and on the lakes, even better if I can build it myself like this one from dreamcatcherboats.com a rugged skin on frame boat the uses wood and ballistic nylon for construction. I wanted to check out these boats so brought the camera along for everyone to see this interesting concept in boat building. ** Like me at Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WoodWorkWeb ** Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/woodworkweb ** Join me on woodworkweb: http://www.woodworkweb.com ** Connect with me on Google+: http://goo.gl/7fotJq

Boat Review: Make Your Own Boat - woodworkweb sentiment_very_dissatisfied 23

Reviews 6 years ago 100,055 views

** Read Full Article - http://goo.gl/JV1tlj Spring is boating season, and this year I am looking for a small rugged, light weight boat or kayak I can take in the ocean and on the lakes, even better if I can build it myself like this one from dreamcatcherboats.com a rugged skin on frame boat the uses wood and ballistic nylon for construction. I wanted to check out these boats so brought the camera along for everyone to see this interesting concept in boat building. ** Like me at Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WoodWorkWeb ** Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/woodworkweb ** Join me on woodworkweb: http://www.woodworkweb.com ** Connect with me on Google+: http://goo.gl/7fotJq

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Boat Review: Make Your Own Boat - woodworkweb

Paul Daystar
Paul Daystar - 1 year ago
When you make it with red cedar it is at least 10 to 15 lbs liter and more rot resistant... Please Consider... Blessings from Alaska
Martin D
Martin D - 3 years ago
see also homestead craftsman 's 8 pound canoe, very lovely video for a number of cheerful reasons.
Grey Silverback
Grey Silverback - 3 years ago
Awesome, I would like to build one.
WoodWorkWeb
WoodWorkWeb - 3 years ago
Yes, it's an incredible boat!
Mike West
Mike West - 3 years ago
That is a fine vessel.
WoodWorkWeb
WoodWorkWeb - 3 years ago
It sure is!
J S
J S - 3 years ago
Please i need the plane for build my boat
Matthew Chapman
Matthew Chapman - 3 years ago
Beautiful boat.
WoodWorkWeb
WoodWorkWeb - 3 years ago
It sure is. Thanks for watching.
Copal Pagan
Copal Pagan - 3 years ago
its a lovely little boat, basically a umiak.
gunwhale though..its pronounced 'gunnel' (phonetically) since a long time before white people stepped foot on north america..
you know, just saying..lol
Peter C
Peter C - 3 years ago
Where can you buy one
Matthew Brown
Matthew Brown - 3 years ago
What would the weight limit for one of these boats be?

10. comment for Boat Review: Make Your Own Boat - woodworkweb

Andrew Mundekis
Andrew Mundekis - 3 years ago
Could two people fit in this boat ?
skippinmudkipz
skippinmudkipz - 4 years ago
loving the halo intro music! lol made my night
WoodWorkWeb
WoodWorkWeb - 4 years ago
lol ... yeah we didn't know what it was, but now have switched :)
Peter Owens
Peter Owens - 4 years ago
At last a video worth watching showing some grace & care in design & construction.
Some comment by an experienced kayaker on stability would be helpful.
Also the waterproofing by calendaring of the nylon is raised below but not answered.
Thanks for the HD video.
Zebgoraja Holyhell
Zebgoraja Holyhell - 3 years ago
Peter Owens skin on frame is usually more stable than an equivalent plastic or fibreglass
gsilcoful
gsilcoful - 4 years ago
Holy cow that's cool!
J R's Place
J R's Place - 4 years ago
Beautiful lines. I like skin on frame boats so much because they seem to cooperate with the water rather than dominating it.
col stace
col stace - 2 years ago
J R's Place dominate the water ? What do you mean ?
toodle171
toodle171 - 5 years ago
How awesome!!!!  Thanks for getting out of the shop this was a real joy to watch!
WoodWorkWeb
WoodWorkWeb - 5 years ago
@toodle171 Thanks for your comments :)
bob Last
bob Last - 6 years ago
Looks like a floating coffin. Are you a Viking? Just kidding nice boat.
WoodWorkWeb
WoodWorkWeb - 6 years ago
@bob Last lol .. not a Viking :) ... thanks for  bringing some levity buddy
Colin
Arend Wolbers
Arend Wolbers - 6 years ago
I love the boat and I am getting the plans to built one my self, there is just a teeny weeny problem in the video and that's the huge swimming vest he is carrying.
If the boat is as trustworthy as he say's it is, why the huge swimming vest?  
Arend Wolbers
Arend Wolbers - 4 years ago
@Wade Patton I understand after the first reaction, and where the red warning stickers are for on apparatus, I bought a 6 step stairs on Ebay with 9 stickers, even a warning that you can fall down if stepping up to it, its to evade a lawsuit to the creator.
Wade Patton
Wade Patton - 4 years ago
Where I am, with the laws I am obligated to abide, one only has to have a flotation device handy (per person on board under 16'). "ON" is only required below dams and for kids when underway. Things tend to vary by jurisdiction.
Ricky Glines
Ricky Glines - 6 years ago
the law says anyone on the water must have a personal floatation devise on you
WoodWorkWeb
WoodWorkWeb - 6 years ago
LOL ... thanks for commenting, I love comments like this they really help to make my day. The reason he is wearing a life vest is because we try to promote safety where ever we can, if he wasn't wearing a life vest we would be getting  a plethora of comments that he should have been wearing a life vest. I guess we just can't win no matter what we do ... oh well, better to be safe than not I guess.
chanse ortzman
chanse ortzman - 6 years ago
How much would one of these boats cost
WoodWorkWeb
WoodWorkWeb - 6 years ago
There is quite a range in things you can get from just plans all the way through to a finished boat ... several different models, check out the Full Article link in the description area which will show you the to dream catcher boats where you can check out all the different products and prices.
Benny Hannah
Benny Hannah - 6 years ago
Not to nit pick, but having worked in the business that makes these "ballistic nylons", as well as the "Kevlars", a few points.

Ballistic nylons aren't used in vests ... that's the realm of materials like Kevlar [aramid], Spectra [polyethylene], and other similar "super products".

Where you will find "ballistic nylons" are in "soft sided luggage", e.g. those carry-on roller cases.  My 40-yr old Hartman suitbag is made from the stuff.

The difference in costs for yard goods made from these two families of fibers are substantial, as much as 20X.

So, I'm going to assume that the fabric used was the less-expensive material [which is readily available].

But there's a second issue.  For water repellancy, those fabrics have to be calendared or 'skinned' on one side [check your luggage and you'll see what I mean].  So is the material purchase treated this way or is a topical applied in the boat building?

20. comment for Boat Review: Make Your Own Boat - woodworkweb

chapmaker46
chapmaker46 - 6 years ago
interesting concept..
Trees2Pens
Trees2Pens - 6 years ago
I like your field trips.  The boat design was interesting.  Thank you.
WoodWorkWeb
WoodWorkWeb - 6 years ago
Thanks for you comment, we appreciate your thoughts, we work hard to try and make interesting videos with a bit of variety from time to time, so it is nice to hear the people appreciate it.
Thanks again ... Colin
Brian Chandler
Brian Chandler - 6 years ago
Thanks to Colin Knecht for making this video: there are just a couple of points to add to it, which I omitted to mention before. First, the boat you see  me paddling in this video is a one OR a two person boat. If you are paddling solo you sit where I am sitting, but if there are two of you one of you will sit against the other backrest and one is sitting against the one i am using, but on the other side of it, facing the other way. You can do that in a double ended boat, and that way the boat is always sitting flat in the water. You can also sail these boats, as well as row them,and if you cover them with a skirt, you have a kayakOr, of course, you can deck them over completely.. You can find all the information you need at http://dreamcatcherboats.com  
WoodWorkWeb
WoodWorkWeb - 6 years ago
Thanks for this Brian I did forget to mention this .. good point and thanks again for your time, I had fun and learned a new way of boat building :)
CHRIS BUCKLAND
CHRIS BUCKLAND - 6 years ago
Cool i would love to have one here in Plymouth could spend a life time searching out the many rivers here.
StoneysWorkshop
StoneysWorkshop - 6 years ago
Wow, thanks for sharing, this is really neat
SkunkTreeCarvings
SkunkTreeCarvings - 6 years ago
a Field Trip...far out..!
GiddyUp994
GiddyUp994 - 6 years ago
Great change-up from your regular offerings Colin. It is amazing how light the boat can be made because of the Ballistic Nylon, I know it well from my Army days. The frame structure is very interesting when combined with the manufactured sinew and it got to immediately think about other applications for it. Thanks Colin.
Derek
Backyard Woodworking
Backyard Woodworking - 6 years ago
Very nice Colin. I'll check out the web site thanks.
Roland

Similar videos
for Boat Review: Make Your Own Boat - woodworkweb

Related videos
to Boat Review: Make Your Own Boat - woodworkweb

About Boat Review: Make Your Own Boat - woodworkweb

The "Boat Review: Make Your Own Boat - woodworkweb" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!