Channel Islands "Black & White" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 14

Click to buy: SURF STATION - https://www.surfstationstore.com/collections/channel-islands-surfboards/products/channel-islands-black-and-white-surfboard No obligation, but these links & ads help support the site and keeps the reviews coming! If you decide to buy somewhere else or would like to support the show, please donate at https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow This episode is a review on Dane Reynolds new high performance model called the Black & White. Enjoy the journey as Noel Salas dives into the attributes of his two custom boards. In this episode Noel connects with Britt Merrick the head shaper for Channel Islands Surfboards and creator of this model with Dane Reynolds. Britt talks about fins for the B&W along with how the board feels under his feet from a surfer / shapers perspective. The Black & White is designed for point breaks with a low entry rocker and an aggressive tail rocker. It also has a flat deck so the rails are full but round so you can order this board 1/8 of an inch thinner than your regular dimensions. The flat deck also accentuates the flex in the board under your feet. Noel goes into to detail on why this board works well for him in his home break. He also talks about three different fins that worked really well in this board from chest high surf to double over head. The Black & White is Noel’s favorite board in the CI lineup for his standard short board. See what Channel Islands Surfboards has to say about the new B&W model: An all around, high performance shortboard designed for down the line speed and easy rail-to-rail transitions, the Black & White is based on a favorite hand shape Britt Merrick made Dane Reynolds for Santa Barbara area point breaks. Dane related its feel to a good MBM. The Black & White has a fairly low entry rocker, a staged flat-ish section between the feet, and an accelerated kick out the tail. A single concave runs the length of the board, is deepest near the front fins and shallows into a hint of vee exiting the tail block. A flat deck design, the Black & White offers improved flex characteristics, a solid under-your-feet feel, and full rails. The board should be ridden about your same height to 2″ longer than you are tall. Because of the flat deck ride the board 1/8” thinner than your normal shortboard to keep the same general volume. The Black & White is suitable for most surfers in most types of surf where a shortboard is appropriate. #CIBlackandWhite Available in Alternative Technologies

Channel Islands "Black & White" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 14 sentiment_very_dissatisfied 3

Reviews 4 years ago 35,989 views

Click to buy: SURF STATION - https://www.surfstationstore.com/collections/channel-islands-surfboards/products/channel-islands-black-and-white-surfboard No obligation, but these links & ads help support the site and keeps the reviews coming! If you decide to buy somewhere else or would like to support the show, please donate at https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow This episode is a review on Dane Reynolds new high performance model called the Black & White. Enjoy the journey as Noel Salas dives into the attributes of his two custom boards. In this episode Noel connects with Britt Merrick the head shaper for Channel Islands Surfboards and creator of this model with Dane Reynolds. Britt talks about fins for the B&W along with how the board feels under his feet from a surfer / shapers perspective. The Black & White is designed for point breaks with a low entry rocker and an aggressive tail rocker. It also has a flat deck so the rails are full but round so you can order this board 1/8 of an inch thinner than your regular dimensions. The flat deck also accentuates the flex in the board under your feet. Noel goes into to detail on why this board works well for him in his home break. He also talks about three different fins that worked really well in this board from chest high surf to double over head. The Black & White is Noel’s favorite board in the CI lineup for his standard short board. See what Channel Islands Surfboards has to say about the new B&W model: An all around, high performance shortboard designed for down the line speed and easy rail-to-rail transitions, the Black & White is based on a favorite hand shape Britt Merrick made Dane Reynolds for Santa Barbara area point breaks. Dane related its feel to a good MBM. The Black & White has a fairly low entry rocker, a staged flat-ish section between the feet, and an accelerated kick out the tail. A single concave runs the length of the board, is deepest near the front fins and shallows into a hint of vee exiting the tail block. A flat deck design, the Black & White offers improved flex characteristics, a solid under-your-feet feel, and full rails. The board should be ridden about your same height to 2″ longer than you are tall. Because of the flat deck ride the board 1/8” thinner than your normal shortboard to keep the same general volume. The Black & White is suitable for most surfers in most types of surf where a shortboard is appropriate. #CIBlackandWhite Available in Alternative Technologies

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Channel Islands "Black & White" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 14

Corey Middleton
Corey Middleton - 2 years ago
My two cents: I consider the B+W to be the best all round surfboard for everyday surf. I've owned a couple of Samplers, Monster Box, Fever etc which are all good boards but the board i ride the most is the B+W. I think it has the perfect combination of planing speed and maneuverability. When the waves turn on then out comes the Fever. P.s. Great reviews Noel (you handsome son of a bitch!) and i also agree with earlier comments that you've done some of your best surfing on the B+W.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Corey Middleton Great comments... thanks for posting. Cheers for the kind words too!!!
Gregoire Faber
Gregoire Faber - 2 years ago
I love how it looks like you're alone at Trestles!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Gregoire Faber Ha... I wish
rippert
rippert - 2 years ago
Noel thank you for all your reviews and great information brother. The Sampler is absolutely my favorite board. Would you say the Black and White surfs similar to the Sampler for better waves other models maybe? Any information is helpful.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
rippert Roughly the same liters as your Sampler
rippert
rippert - 2 years ago
That sounds epic I know you loved the fever. My Sampler is stock 5'9" what do you suggest for sizing a fever?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
rippert The B&W is sick but the Fever is better. You will love it in good waves 3-8’.
elb2018
elb2018 - 2 years ago
I’ve had 3 of these so far, tried a few other boards from other shapers and have returned to this model every time. Just picked one up in groveller dims and it’s the best board I’ve ever had 1-5ft. Next one will be in spinetek
elb2018
elb2018 - 1 year ago
Brock Bismire 2 inches shorter, 1/4 wider and 1/8 thicker than the stock dims for my size.
Brock Bismire
Brock Bismire - 1 year ago
how much shorter and wider did you go then your standard dimensions?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
elb2018 sick
Pablo Fernández
Pablo Fernández - 2 years ago
Still think this board is the one that looks best on you, real solid
Pablo Fernández
Pablo Fernández - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews yea just seems so smooth between turns and looks like you really are able to lean on those turns
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Pablo Fernández Really??? Ok then
Blade Runner
Blade Runner - 2 years ago
Great board, great review, but there is a mistake in board's volume : you say it's a 26.8 L, but the video shows 28.6L :D
but by the dims it was clear that the board was arround the 26's. Cheers Noel you are the best.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Blade Runner Thanks... sometimes I make mistakes and sometimes the Liters are written wrong on my boards. Either way it’s my bad... thanks for posting this. Cheers
Miguel Marquina
Miguel Marquina - 2 years ago
My absolute favorite video in the surf and show series. It’s got the bonus videos that make me feel like I’m standing right there next to you. The soundtrack of a band that is no longer together. Last but not least it displays you getting it on that short board. I think this was the first video that i seen that got me hooked to the surf board reviews thus spanning a loyal fan for years to come. Thank you Noel for doing this I watch your reviews all the time over and over again. Great job
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Miguel Marquina So stoked to have a fan like you bro. Keep shredding and I will see you out in the water again soon!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Miguel Marquina So stoked to have a fan like you bro. Keep shredding and I will see you out in the water again soon!
R Watty
R Watty - 3 years ago
Hi Noel,
I had a couple questions a couple months ago below and never heard back?
Thanks!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
R Watty Sorry I missed your questions. I answered them...
alon nir
alon nir - 3 years ago
Would you say it's a decent all arounder? Looking for something to perform in both weak 3ft waves and punchy 7ft... Thinking about b&w/fever/fred rubble/js monsta box... Any thoughts?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
alon nir All those boards are sick but I Say Fever!!!

10. comment for Channel Islands "Black & White" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 14

R Watty
R Watty - 3 years ago
Also looking at V3 stealth?
R Watty
R Watty - 2 years ago
Right on Bro! I am sure I will have my work cut out for me, but I will be on it!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
R Watty Let me know how it goes and you can thank me later. Cheers
R Watty
R Watty - 2 years ago
Ok, thanks again Noel, your right cause I never thought a year and half ago I could pull of the sampler and chilli !!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
R Watty Just stick with what sent you... it’s going to be a little challenging but you will get it.
R Watty
R Watty - 2 years ago
Will do bro!
One last question as I was thinking about how wide I can go, cause 19 1/4 may be a little challenging.
Current boards: sampler 5'10, 2 1/2 19 3/4 31l
Chilli(epoxy) 5'8 2 3/8 19 5/8- I am cool with 2 3/8 29l
stock fever: 5'10, 1 2 5/16 18 5/8 26.4.l
your suggestion: 5'10 2 7/16 19 1/4 28.8 l

wanting to go wider for getting up at least 19 3/8, but is this ok from stock increase from 18 5/8?

thinking : 5/10 2 3/8 19 3/8 28.2l or same with 2 7/16 28.9?
a lot of numbers....sorry... just want to get it right before pull trigger!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
R Watty My pleasure.... let me know how it goes for you.
R Watty
R Watty - 2 years ago
Hi Noel,
I plugged in and comes out at 28.8, I think I will go with that. Thanks for taking the time to help me out and your advice!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
R Watty I would go 5’10 x 19 1/4 x 2 7/16. That should land you somewhere in the range of 28-29 liters. Plug it in to the custom DIMS on the CI website. Cheers
R Watty
R Watty - 3 years ago
Ok, appreciate advice, only problem is width, how much wider do you think is ok to increase off standard dims so I can I go down to 5'10, and keep in 28-29 litre range?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
R Watty I say don’t go under 28 liters. Keep working your way down.
R Watty
R Watty - 3 years ago
I am not sure, this will be first performance board. Ive been working toward this for last year and half, with pod mod, sampler, chilli. My sampler is 31.4ltr. and now chilli is 29lts, trying to get down on litres for more performance. I was thinking custom 5'10 19 3/8 2 3/8 puts at 28 ltrs. standard is 18 5/8 2 5/16 at 26.4, or maybe go to 5'11 and custom a bit?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
R Watty What liters do you ride on You Performance boards? I suggest the same as the Sampler or 1 liter less.
R Watty
R Watty - 3 years ago
Hi Noel,
Cool, thanks for the feedback and next board will be the Fever!
Any suggestions on sizing. I weigh 5'9 160 and have the 5'10 sampler, and just got the Chilli Black Vulture at 5'8 29Ltrs.?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
R Watty Go Fever!!! You will love it and it will handle bigger surf better than the V3 Stealth.
R Watty
R Watty - 3 years ago
Hi Noel,
You have been great on my progression lately as I am trying to surf waves on short board after surfing for over 30 years. I bought the pod mod at 5'10 and mastered, progressed to sampler 5'10 and now looking for next step.
I surf LA north point breaks, just bought 5'8 BV Chilli, but looking forward and wondering what your thoughts on either CI B/W or Fever for HP shortboarding?
Thanks,
Rick
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
R Watty Sorry I missed your questions Rick. Both the B&W and the Fever are EPIC boards. I like the Fever better.... faster and more responsive. Both models are Performance boards but you should be ready for this transition now. Fever all the way for me... and it’s still pretty user friendly. Cheers
Craig Allsep
Craig Allsep - 3 years ago
Hi Noel, thanks for the awesome reviews mate, really helpful. Nice to see you actually surfing the different models (quite well too man). Anyway i'm after a back up board for my Fever for an upcoming trip to Indo. Was looking at the B&W to slot into the quiver for those sweet 4-6ft sessions or if by chance i was to break my Fever. Thinking of the stock 6'3 as i'm 5'11 205lbs Int/Adv skills. Should work hey?? Cheers from Byron Bay Aus.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Craig Allsep Stoked you like the show!!! The B&W is a great back up to your Fever for sure. I would get the B&W with similar volume to your Fever. It has a flat deck so the rail is a little fuller and the board paddles very well. The B&W is mental and very forgiving so I am sure you will shred on it. Cheers
Frankie Proscia
Frankie Proscia - 3 years ago
Can you please help
Cainan Parker
Cainan Parker - 3 years ago
You surf like Kelly would if he's just cruising, I can't get it out of my head
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
C Park Epic!!!! What a compliment. Cheers
David Mcintosh
David Mcintosh - 3 years ago
Thought i would put up my experience as an average surfer if it helps someone else.I got the black & white 6'2x19.5x2 7/16. I'm 5'8 and 70kg. I usually ride 6'10 as i was 95kg and was learning. Didn't really progress much and rode mals .Never really changed or bought new boards for 8 years. Got the black and white in those dims as i wasn't really confident on smaller boards. But this board has improved my surfing in 6 months like a pro (ok 46yo grommet). I wish i did get it smaller but have put on 5kg now 75kg and really use it in good waves, floats me easily,paddles great, found the xtra 5kg handy as it drives a lot better. Mainly snapper rocks and dbah and it rips. Never thought i could surf like i am. I use large fcs 2 carvers 4ft and over and medium accelerators in 2-3ft. Recommend it highly.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
David Mcintosh Epic post.... I am sure this will help surfers. Cheers and I am glad you like the BW!
Miguel Marquina
Miguel Marquina - 3 years ago
So informative, always love the videos
Matthew Jones
Matthew Jones - 3 years ago
Thanks....I really like the instant speed of the lower nose rocker on the black and white, really helps getting into waves early and paddling. Are there any other models that this happens with?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Matthew Jones Or even 2 1/4 because 2 3/16 is going to be way thinner than 2 3/8.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Matthew Jones I think 2 5/16 would be good for you.....
Matthew Jones
Matthew Jones - 3 years ago
Ok...I think the stock 2 3/8 was just to thick. If I'd gone 2 3/16 on the sampler I'm sure they would have felt good...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Matthew Jones My B&W and Peregrine felt full on the rails and they were 2 1/4 thick. The rails on my Sampler at 2 5/16 feels more tapered then my B&W. Not sure why your Sampler did not feel right for you.....
Matthew Jones
Matthew Jones - 3 years ago
Thanks...I found the Sampler to thick on the rail, mine was 2 3/8...my black and white is 2 3/16 and feels perfect. Do you feel the black and white and perigrine are more tapered than the sampler even though they all have flat decks?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Matthew Jones The Peregrine and the Sampler have low entry rocker like the B&W. All 3 of these boards paddle really well and have great speed down the line. Cheers!!!
Matthew Jones
Matthew Jones - 3 years ago
Hi, I have a 6'0 black and white round tail and considering a 5'10 squash tail. Have you ridden the round tail and know how they compare?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Matthew Jones I do have a B&W round tail and it feels great. The Round tail holds better in my carves and round houses. One of the major differences is the Round tail will make rounder turns and generate more speed in and out of turns.

The Squash tail will pivot faster and release better.

I also noticed the Round tail being a little stiffer but you can loosen it up a bit with a more upright Fin.
jimmy slagle
jimmy slagle - 3 years ago
Thanks Noel for the excellent work on your reviews! Sincere compliments on the fluid and stylish surfing as well. I am about to order a HPSB and am down to the Zeus or the BW. The BW seems like it may be a bit more versatil than the Zeus.The board would be mostly surfed at a wave similar to Lowers. Thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
jimmy slagle I would go B&W for sure. So fast down the line and super smooth rail to rail. I also like the new Fever coming out by CI shortly. The best HPSB by CI yet!!!! You might want to wait a week or two for them to launch it. My review on the Fever comes out next week.

20. comment for Channel Islands "Black & White" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 14

wef 0909
wef 0909 - 3 years ago
Hi Noel,

Great review! I love how you are the only person who has video footage of you riding these boards. I always felt that the other reviewers always say the same thing that the website say and can never really believe them unless they are out there in the water using these boards.

I'm roughly your height and weight but not even close to your skill level. What size would you recommend for someone not at your skill level for a standard short board? I was thinking of increasing the volume up and choosing a 5'11'' or 6'0''? Any thoughts?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
wef 0909 I think the FR has a bit more rocker compared to the B&W. with that being said the FR likes a steeper wave and excels in hollow surf. I think the B&W is an easier surf, more forgiving and faster down the line. If you surf really hollow waves the FR if not then B&W. Cheers!!!
wef 0909
wef 0909 - 3 years ago
Quick question, how does this compare to the Fred Rubble? I rode my friend's 6'0" and thought it was awesome! Which model is more versatile in SCal? Which board is more forgiving?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
wef 0909 Cheers thanks!!!
wef 0909
wef 0909 - 3 years ago
Awesome, thanks for your input. Keep up the great work!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
wef 0909 I would go 6'0". If you go shorter it will be really responsive and it sounds like you want a little more stability.
wef 0909
wef 0909 - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews 5'10" 170 lbs
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
wef 0909 Thanks for the props on the show.

How tall are you and how much do you weigh?
ttv74
ttv74 - 4 years ago
Hi NoelGreat reviews, I know you like trying different boards, how do you think the B&W would go in the same dims as your 5'7 sampler?

Cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
ttv74 I think it depends on what type of wave I am surfing on a regular basis. Hollow punchy beach break Round Tail, and Squash tail for mushy slopey waves.
ttv74
ttv74 - 3 years ago
Nice, do you prefer the round tail over the rounded square?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
I just got the B&W in the round tail and it feels great. I rode it yesterday for the first time in 3-4 foot surf and it had great drive in and out of my turns and smooth on the transitions. The turns are a bit more round and the carves and cutbacks feel so good.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
I have not tried the B&W in the smaller DIMS but I think it will go good because of the low entry rocker. It should have some drive down the line even though it has a good amount of tail rocker.
ttv74
ttv74 - 4 years ago
Noel I am , but was hoping if you did, to get your thoughts on it.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
ttv74 I think it would go great. The B&W would be a fun in 2-3 and up in those DIMS. I have thought about it before. Are you thinking about trying that?
patricia florio
patricia florio - 4 years ago
Hi, just used the board, in solid 6 feet glassy waves. Just felt the board very low entry rocker as described, good power paddle, but exit rocker is not pronunced at all, pretty straight too, or at least mine compared to my other boards. Mine is a 5 11 stock dims. Not versatile at all, this board felt hard to make tight turns in the pocket. Not very happy with it but i will still continue trying it to see if i can get used to it. Cheers ernie
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
patricia florio Ernie thanks for your feedback. Sorry to hear that you we're struggling with the tail rocker.... what fins did you have in there?
Chris
Chris - 4 years ago
Hey I'm your weight and future's site says I should ride a medium. But I noticed you like to ride large fins in your videos. Any reason? Extra lift for more speed at lowers? I ride waves about 1.5 overhead usually with some power. Which size fin would you ride in hawaii? Awesome videos btw and sick turns
CJ
CJ - 3 years ago
Chris Jones I'm the same height/weight and agree with Noel. I get way more speed from Future Larges than Mediums. My SUPER Fling is 5' 2" and has Future Larges that came with it. Large fins for more float/lift. I use Mediums and Larges with my 5' 8" Sampler depending on the conditions.
Chris
Chris - 4 years ago
Sick Thanks!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks for the question and comments on the show. I ride Large fins most of the time for maximum drive for waves here in Cali. I won't use Medium fins unless I am riding a standard short board and the surf is 4-6 and bigger.

You have it right.... I am looking for extra lift for more speed and I can get that from the Large fin base compared to the Medium fin.

Now if I lived in HI I would most likely use a stiff Medium fin with boards that are a bit narrower in the for the punchy reef breaks. I would only ride Large fins on the smaller days when I am riding a Groveler type board.

I hope this makes sense. Cheers!!!
Jazay Surf Club
Jazay Surf Club - 4 years ago
it looks very close to the Rusty dozer ? same shape, same abilities ? tell me Noel ..
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Jazay Surf Club I think it looks pretty good. The TLPC is a good material. Very durable and long lasting. Let me know how it goes.
Jazay Surf Club
Jazay Surf Club - 4 years ago
They say this : " Shortboard fishy slab hybrid /
Knee to head high waves / High-performance shortboard rocker / Squash tail with accentuated V / TL Pro Carbon construction " ...what do'ya think dude ?
Jazay Surf Club
Jazay Surf Club - 4 years ago
@Surf Show and Tell Reviews
Sir Noel, the Rusty dozer is here , look the link, you will know the shape attributes : ( i will get the TLPC version ) Rusty Dozer TLPC

http://www.surftech.com/surf/rusty-dozer-tlpc

" Walking the line between a fishy slab and a performance short board, the Rusty Dozer packs about as much volume as possible into a traditional shortboard outline, with a couple unique tweaks that keep it lively. For intermediate to advanced riders in all conditions."
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
It sounds like the Dozer would surf the similar wave sizes but not sure on the contours and attributes. If I knew the details about the Dozer then I could tell you if the B&W and Dozer are similar.
Jeff Machado
Jeff Machado - 4 years ago
Hey Noel, great channel. Love the surfing and reviews.

I was wondering, do you order your customs "Team Light" glassing, or do you just go with the standard "Ultra Light"? I've always wanted know if you can go up in liters without losing performance if the glassing is lighter.
Jeff Machado
Jeff Machado - 4 years ago
Surf Show and Tell Reviews right on, Noel! Thanks for the response. Keep up the good work
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Jeff Machado Great question. I usually go team light on my customs but if I am ordering an EPS then I might go Ultra Light because they are light already. On another note I always order my small wave boards super light. I think if you add liters then keep it light so you can turn it quickly.
Tirso del rey
Tirso del rey - 4 years ago
Hi Noel,

I'm Tirso from Spain. Great video and great surfing!
I have an uncoming trip to Indo and I wanted to know whether is this a suitable board for the trip, or would suggest to bring a more adequate board (I'm open to any suggestions). Thank you in advance!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Tirso del rey I think the B&W would be a fun board for your trip. I also think the Rook 15 would be great as it has more entry rocker than the B&W. When the waves get really hollow you might want that entry rocker on the Rook 15. I would suggest both if you have the funds. I would use the B&W for the 5' feet and under days and the Rook 15 for the 6' and up days. I hope this helps.
Top Private Chef
Top Private Chef - 4 years ago
Great review! Would this board work for Florida waves or would you recommend Rocket 9? Thx
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
No worries... The Rocket 9 can handle 6 foot waves no problem but beyond that you might want to consider a short board like the B&W or Rook 15 with a bit more length and rocker. I would only ride the PM in 2-3 and under and then transition into a Rocket 9, B&W or Rook 15. The PM is a great small wave board for me and I rode it in bigger surf to see how it would go for the review. Because I have a quiver of boards I always want to ride the right board for the conditions. I hope this answers your question.
Top Private Chef
Top Private Chef - 4 years ago
I just watched your rocket 9 review again. 6 ft is the answer. Thx
Top Private Chef
Top Private Chef - 4 years ago
Sorry Noel, I meant the Rocket 9. What size wave can it handle? I feel the Podmod can handle 5 ft. Don't want to get something to similar to the Podmod. If the Rocket 9 can only handle 6 ft than may go with the B & W. To many decisions! lol
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
John Pro I think the B&W can handle 6-8 foot surf for me. Order it in a round tail and it will handle the bigger surf no problem. Cheers
Top Private Chef
Top Private Chef - 4 years ago
Thanks! How big of a wave can the board handle? I have been ridding the Podmod and love it. Looking for a step up board for when waves are bigger, head high plus.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Glad you liked the review. I think the Rocket 9 is a bit more versatile than the B&W because you can ride the Rocket 9 as a groveler with the Twin fin plus a small center fin. I would go Rocket 9 if you are trying to do a two in one board for small and over head surf. Cheers!
michael day
michael day - 4 years ago
Thanks for the great reviews Noel! Would you ever go for the Flex Bar in the black and white? I keep hearing that it is better for small wave boards, but I haven't been able to give it a go.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Glad you like the show!!! I would love to get the B&W in the Flexbar construction. I think CI has the flex down on these because their R&D is so intense. I think Flexbar is the future in construction for a few reasons. An EPS board without the chatter and other nuances of most EPS'. The ability to adjust flex for board type and surfers style, the smoothest ride for high performance surfing, and 1 year warranty on breaks or buckles. Need I say more.... I don't get paid from CI to say these things, I just think Flexbar is legit.
Andrew Jacka
Andrew Jacka - 4 years ago
Rad Noel, thanks for sharing the vid

30. comment for Channel Islands "Black & White" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 14

j k
j k - 4 years ago
Very awesome videos! I really like how you have the speed and angle displayed on your videos. That's the first I've seen that. It's super helpful as well too by having a ways to actually measure performance! You're a great surfer too! Wow awesome! Can you make videos on surfing tips as well? Personally I've spent the last 3-4 years unlearning all the bad habits I've picked up. Itd be great to have someone like you go over what it takes to surf at your level and how to get there. Again, thank you for your videos!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Stoked you like the show!!! I am pretty set on doing reviews on boards and gear at this time but you never know I might do other stuff like you are requesting in the future. Cheers
edcruz11
edcruz11 - 4 years ago
Howzit Noel, Another great review... Is there a double concave in btwn the fins of the BW? Which is faster, the BW or the Sampler? Mahalos
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks glad you liked it. The B&W has a single concave to Vee out the tail. The Sampler feels faster to me but they are both pretty quick. I like the Sampler for small waves and the B&W for waves 3-5 and up. Cheers!
James Conant
James Conant - 4 years ago
Awesome review Noel! Watched a ton of your videos and decided on the Black & White as my next short board. Just ordered my custom board from CI online!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thats awesome!!! Congrats your going to love it. Let me know how it goes when you get it.
Malcolm Hill
Malcolm Hill - 4 years ago
Mate, you're ripping in this review. Love it.
Elliot Drury
Elliot Drury - 4 years ago
Hey Noel! Great review as always. Just so others who are considering this board know - I'm an 82kg intermediate and have had two of these. I had a 6'2 stock and now have a 6'1 stock. The 6'2 got into waves really well but felt a bit bulky at times. It was great in well overhead waves. The 6'1 is killer though. A bit harder to paddle but it's a bullet once you're up. Feels like a very natural extension of your feet. Really looking forward to getting a Sampler at some point.

Quick one for you Noel. I currently have a Lost Puddle Jumper that is 15% higher in volume than my shortboards for mushy knee high days. Have you had a go on an Average Joe? The PJ feels really hard to put on rail due to it's bulk so I'm considering a lower volumed groveller. Considering a 5'5 or 5'7 Joe. Can you get pretty rad on them if surfed small?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Great thanks for sharing your experience on the B&W. I am sure this will help others.

The Joe is a really fun board and you can do some great turns on them. I also recommend the High 5 or Pod Mod if your looking for a bit more performance. I think the Joe is the easiest to surf out of all 3 models but they are all great for small waves. The Joe is good for the beginner to intermediate, High 5 is more fish like and great for carves, and the PM can do it all but might be a bit more responsive for a beginner but it will work.
Stuart Sullivan
Stuart Sullivan - 4 years ago
Great Review as always Noel. Love your thorough approach, very cool.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Awesome thanks
TheTeramax
TheTeramax - 4 years ago
awesome vid Noel...excellent skills! Really nice graphics (dashboard)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Cheers!! Stoked you like the show....
Mj Giuffre
Mj Giuffre - 4 years ago
What do you reckon compared to the peregrine?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
I think they are both fast but the B&W is smoother in rail to rail transitions. I also like the B&W better in the pocket. Cheers!!!
ttv74
ttv74 - 4 years ago
Excellent review again Noel, how does it compare to the New Flyer?
cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks!!! The B&W and the NF are completely different boards from foot orientation, to concaves and rockers. The hip or bump on the NF is also pretty pronounced compared to the B&W.These 4 things make these two boards day and night from each other. I am more of a neutral to front footed surfer so the B&W feels better under my feet right away. I also surf Trestles all the time and it has a bit of slope to the waves so I tend to like boards with low entry rocker like the B&W. The B&W has a single concave to Vee out the tail and the NF has single to aggressive spiral Vee in front of the fins that run through the tail. This difference in concaves make all the difference in the world on feel under my feet. The Merrick bump in the tail on the NF is really pronounced and it makes the board pivot really good especially for a back footed surfer like Bobby Martinez. Bobby can rip on anything but I think NF really suits his style of surfing because he is more of a back footed surfer. I hope all of this answers your question......The B&W is more MY style of a high performance short board compared to the NF. Cheers!!!
Luke
Luke - 4 years ago
The board looks o.k. i still believe your surfing on the sampler is right on the money. For some reason your style looks better on the sampler as well. if you could do a review on the taco grinder that would be good. if you get some time of work doing a video in indo or mexico or another place would be good too for this board.

Thanks for the great review.

Best surfboard reviews on you tube hands down.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Yea Luke thank you for your honest feedback. I love the Sampler and I agree with you how the Sampler looks under my feet. I do like the B&W the best as a high performance standard short board in the CI line up for me. The Taco Grinder would be a fun review but like you said I will have to get some hollow surf to give that board a fare review. I will put the Taco Grinder on the radar for you..... Cheers!Thanks for the compliment on the show as there are a few of them out there....
YAKSRIGHT
YAKSRIGHT - 4 years ago
You shred Noel! Yew
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks bro!!! The B&W is sick......
Waxfoot
Waxfoot - 4 years ago
excellent as always shredder, thanks man. some non-CI reviews would be great, bit I guess you guys are pretty exclusively CI?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Stoked to hear that you liked the review.... Yes I am pretty set with CI as they are my favorite boards. It also takes me roughly 3 weeks to get 1 review done and CI has new models coming out all the time so I am always playing catch up. Thank you for the comment though. Cheers!!!
Matityah
Matityah - 4 years ago
You should have more viewers. Very in depth reviews. I would like to see some less performance oriented boards, more for average skilled surfers but still, great reviews. Keep it up!
Dante Sellas
Dante Sellas - 4 years ago
keep the performance stuff coming man plenty of alternative craft reviews out there
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Cheers and thank you! Did you check out the reviews on the High 5, Mini, and the Pod Mod? I think those fit the "less performance oriented boards." Thanks for the comment.....

Similar videos
for Channel Islands "Black & White" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 14

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,448 views 4 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,417 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,742 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,080 views 10 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,076 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,031 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Related videos
to Channel Islands "Black & White" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 14

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,417 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,742 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,076 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,031 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

What's inside a Tesla Surfboard?

32,933 likes 2,767,455 views 1 year ago

Tesla made 200 limited edition surfboards, We try to Surf it then CUT IT OPEN! This video was sponsored by LastPass....

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,614,908 views 7 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

About Channel Islands "Black & White" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 14

The "Channel Islands "Black & White" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 14" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!