Channel Islands "Pod Mod" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.5

Click to buy: SURF STATION - https://www.surfstationstore.com/collections/channel-islands-surfboards/products/channel-islands-pod-mod-surfboard No obligation, but these links & ads help support the site and keeps the reviews coming! If you decide to buy somewhere else or would like to support the show, please donate at https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow This video is about the Channel Islands "Pod Mod" Surfboard Review Ep.5. Noel goes into detail on the Pod Mod and the contours of the remake from the original Pod from back in 2000. This review has two boards the 5'4 and a 5'2 Pod Mod to compare the responsiveness of both boards in the same conditions with the exact same fins and fin set up. This review will go over the boards concave, rocker, and the pulled in tail design. As Noel talks about the Pod Mod he will also demonstrate how the board works in different wave conditions and sizes. As the review comes to a close Noel states this is the best small wave board he has ever ridden, along with it being the shortest board he has ever ridden. For more information here is what the Channel Islands website has to say about the 2015 Pod Mod. In 2000 the original Pod rapidly became a global favorite, allowing surfers to drop six inches off their shortboards and revolutionize punting. The Pod Mod design is a heavily modified Pod, designed to be ridden even shorter and wider than the original, catering to the surfer that wants a little more volume forward to catch waves but doesn’t want to sacrifice performance. The tail has been widened for small wave glide, and the original single to double concave has been replaced with a flat entry to concave vee for quick rail to rail transitions. Experienced surfers ride this board 3”- 6” shorter than you are tall. On behalf of Surf Show and tell thank you for checking out this surfboard review and stay tuned for the Channel Islands "Rook 15 " by Noel Salas.. For more information or questions click on the link below and click on "ASK CI" in the lower right hand corner. http://www.cisurfboards.com/board/pod-mod/

Channel Islands "Pod Mod" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.5 sentiment_very_dissatisfied 10

Reviews 5 years ago 67,343 views

Click to buy: SURF STATION - https://www.surfstationstore.com/collections/channel-islands-surfboards/products/channel-islands-pod-mod-surfboard No obligation, but these links & ads help support the site and keeps the reviews coming! If you decide to buy somewhere else or would like to support the show, please donate at https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow This video is about the Channel Islands "Pod Mod" Surfboard Review Ep.5. Noel goes into detail on the Pod Mod and the contours of the remake from the original Pod from back in 2000. This review has two boards the 5'4 and a 5'2 Pod Mod to compare the responsiveness of both boards in the same conditions with the exact same fins and fin set up. This review will go over the boards concave, rocker, and the pulled in tail design. As Noel talks about the Pod Mod he will also demonstrate how the board works in different wave conditions and sizes. As the review comes to a close Noel states this is the best small wave board he has ever ridden, along with it being the shortest board he has ever ridden. For more information here is what the Channel Islands website has to say about the 2015 Pod Mod. In 2000 the original Pod rapidly became a global favorite, allowing surfers to drop six inches off their shortboards and revolutionize punting. The Pod Mod design is a heavily modified Pod, designed to be ridden even shorter and wider than the original, catering to the surfer that wants a little more volume forward to catch waves but doesn’t want to sacrifice performance. The tail has been widened for small wave glide, and the original single to double concave has been replaced with a flat entry to concave vee for quick rail to rail transitions. Experienced surfers ride this board 3”- 6” shorter than you are tall. On behalf of Surf Show and tell thank you for checking out this surfboard review and stay tuned for the Channel Islands "Rook 15 " by Noel Salas.. For more information or questions click on the link below and click on "ASK CI" in the lower right hand corner. http://www.cisurfboards.com/board/pod-mod/

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Channel Islands "Pod Mod" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.5

bauke
bauke - 1 year ago
Hi noel, im thinking about buying a podmod, i'm a between novice and intermediate surfer weighing 60 kg. My quiver isnt large and im not sure about the dimensions so i might aswell get the torq version. Would you say that the things mentioned in this review hold for the torq version? Or do i have to consider it a whole different board? Im thinking about getting the 5'8 or 5'6. Since i surf weak dutch waves most of the time. Thanks in advance!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
bauke The Torq will go good. The 5’6” sounds about right
Camden Seifert
Camden Seifert - 1 year ago
Would you recommend this board or the heckler by rusty?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Camden Seifert No contest... the PM is amazing
Angela M
Angela M - 1 year ago
Noel please help me out! I am trying to decide between a cymatic and a Pod Mod surfboard as my everyday board. Which one would you suggest!?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Angela M The Cymatic is epic in 3-6’+ and the PM goes m metal in 1-5’ surf. I consider the PM more of a Groveler and the Cymatic a Daily Driver/HPSB. These two boards are not a good comparison.
Co Schi
Co Schi - 1 year ago
hey, I'm looking for a new surfboard. I am 1,96m tall and weigh between 84-88kg. I am Surfing for about 3 years and try to go 2-3 times a year for a trip to France, Morocco or the Canary Islands. I would say I am a intermediate surfer.

If the conditions allow, I surf waves up to about 2 meters in height but that’s rare. I would like to catch as many waves as possible, especially in bad conditions.

would you recommend the podmod for my conditions and if so, which size would you prefer?
Co Schi
Co Schi - 1 year ago
That you. I think I will go for the 6‘6 with about 47 Liter.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Co Schi The Pod Mod is a great Board for those conditions. Sizing... go with roughly the same liters as your Groveler or small wave boards.
The BenSman
The BenSman - 1 year ago
6 mins & 26 seconds... Noel pulled that! INSANE
JT
JT - 1 year ago
I’ve been riding the Torq manufactured 5’6” version of this board as my daily driver for the past year. It’s a really fun, and versatile board. I ride it in pretty big beach break, sometimes up to about double overhead. It loves big long racy walls. I can cover a lot of distance really fast with this board, which is s major plus in sectiony beach break. I do start to feel a little uncomfortable with it if it’s big and super steep/barreling. It goes fine if you can set the rail and get going down the line, but it can be hard to do the initial bottom turn if you have a ton of speed and a lot of power behind you. I think a slightly longer thiner and narrower version might be better in big hollow conditions. One thing I don’t like about it is that it’s a difficult switching back and forth with my regular short board because the Pod Mod is so unique.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Christian Great post... the PM is epic!!!
Renn Renn
Renn Renn - 1 year ago
Hi Noel, Thanks for your great review: I am intermediate surfer, 53 years old, 5'11'', weight 177 pounds (without wetsuits) fit, (before Christmas I wrote you as I also ordered the Neckbeard 2). Before, as I lived by the sea I was intermediate+/advanced surfer (and surfed narrow, quite thin boards, with rocker for powerful beach break and sometimes reef). I am interested in the PodMod Channel Island Torq, as they are doing really good price for the beginning of the year, and they are strong boards. I love boards that turn well. I hesitate between the 5'10"(35,..7 liters) and the 6'2"(40.5 liters ). I will use this board in Britania (West France) in waves from 2-3 foot to 6 foot, sometimes mushy, sometime more powerful, in sometimes slightly windy conditions, sea temp around 55 °F . My questions: size 5'10" or 6'2" (with Torq there is no between sizes)? Wich sort of fins? thruster Futures F4 Blackstix; or thrusterAM1 orAM2 orAM3? Is this board is fun in quad set up`? Thanks! Have a great new year 2019.
Renn Renn
Renn Renn - 1 year ago
Noel, again, thanks for your precious advice. It's great to have you as a "test pilote". Surfboards have developped so much the last 10 years. Your explanations are clear and structured.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Renn Renn Go 5’7 for your weight in the PM Torq. I suggest AM2 with these small wave boards. Large fins to maximize speed.
Nikolay Georgiev
Nikolay Georgiev - 1 year ago
Hi Noel, thank you for the great reviews... I am wondering how the 5.6 in torq version will work for me. im 5.10, 155lbs. when I surf good waves in indo for example I am okay with 26-27lt but thats when the waves are steep(even if small). I want to take a board for smaller and mushier and weaker waves and this one looks cool, also being able to ride it just easier, but still to push it and improve... Do you think the 5.6 at 31,3lt will be too wide/big? or the board will work good for a lighter surfer? thanks so much?
Nikolay Georgiev
Nikolay Georgiev - 1 year ago
@Surf n Show Reviews thanks so much... is there a chance you share some thoughts on the vampirate inflatable mattress, I'm thinking about this one 5.4 29.5 litres ?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Nikolay Georgiev I say 27-29 liters maximum liters for your weight.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Nikolay Georgiev I think that’s to big for you....
elb2018
elb2018 - 1 year ago
Master Salas... I’ve had a pod mod as my groveller for the last two years after your reviews and it’s pretty much cactus. How would you compare this to the lost pjhp? Tossing up to order another PM or go for pjhp to change it up a bit.
elb2018
elb2018 - 1 year ago
Surf n Show Reviews ok thanks heaps mate looks like I’ll have to chase a rw in spinetek
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
elb2018 Not sure the PJHP competes with the RW or PM. The PJHP is a sick board and it is a Favorite of mine for 2018 but I like the RW and PM better.
elb2018
elb2018 - 1 year ago
Surf n Show Reviews I have the chance to pick up a pjhp at a good price that was pretty much the reason behind that choice. Maybe I shouldn’t be a tight arse and get the rocket wide they do look like a board I would get on with, low entry and decent tail rocker.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
elb2018 The PM is epic... but I think a good change up would be the Rocket Wide. It blows doors on the PM in 1-3’ surf.

10. comment for Channel Islands "Pod Mod" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.5

Guillermo jose Gennari gacitua
Guillermo jose Gennari gacitua - 1 year ago
Hey Noel, great review man. I wanted to ask for help choosing an xlite construction pod mod. Im 5'8 and 154 lbs. Im a beginner-intermidiate surfer. I cant decide between the 5'6 (31L) and the 5'10 (35 L) because theres is no 5'8 in the xlite construction. What would you recommend?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Guillermo jose Gennari gacitua Foam is your friend especially in the beginning stages of learning to surf so go with the 5’10” and make it easier on yourself. Catching waves and standing up on every wave is the quickest way to getting better and having fun. After you have mastered the 5’10” then sell it and move on to something a little more maneuverable.
david beaglehole
david beaglehole - 2 years ago
I geting that board
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
david beaglehole You will love it too
Jason Glover
Jason Glover - 2 years ago
I am 5'10 and weigh 165lbs. What dim would you recommend? 5'4 or 5'6??? THANKS!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jason Glover The 5’8” Pod Mod looks about right...
Jason Glover
Jason Glover - 2 years ago
beginner intermediate shorty rider and i have a 5'11 slater designs scifi: width 19 3/4, thickness 2 5/8, and 32.3 litres. Thanks!
also the 32.3 is harder for me to duck dive.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jason Glover what is your skill level and what are the DIMS and liters of your current small wave board?
Paul James
Paul James - 2 years ago
Great Review Noel. How would you compare this type of "compact" shape with an Omni/Cymatic or a Phantom (pyzel) ? Thank you for your time
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Paul James it can but when it gets overhead I recommend switching to the right board those size waves. If your a 1 board type of guy then the PM will be fun in 1-5’ surf... roughly.
Paul James
Paul James - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews  Oh okay. Thanks ! I would have thought the pod mod could also handle a bit of size. But not as much as you say.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Paul James The PM is epic for small waves. It grovels better than Omni, Cymatic, and the Phantom. This is a true small wave board. The others you mention are more for waves in the 3-6’ range.
Matt Cotton
Matt Cotton - 2 years ago
hey noel.great review brotha. im currently riding a 5'7 weirdo ripper at 27.5l for my groveler board.just wondering how the pod mod would compare.i like the weirdo ripper but it seems to bog down in mushy waves.
Matt Cotton
Matt Cotton - 2 years ago
epic. thanks for great reviews and quick feedback
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Matt Cotton The WR has too much rocker to Grovel. The PM goes so good in small waves. I say keep the WR as your Daily Driver for 3-7’ surf and use the PM for 1-3’+.
Ambient Cotton
Ambient Cotton - 2 years ago
Great review Noel, I have a 6'0 Pod Mod with CI Tech 1 Large fins and absolutely love it. Best all around board I have.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Ambient Cotton The Pod Mod is a sick board!!! Stoked you found a nugget.
William Guild
William Guild - 2 years ago
How do you film the surfing
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Liam Guild My brother Aarron Salas shoots all the video.
BRADEN BADUA
BRADEN BADUA - 2 years ago
Great review. You rip. You have a gift of explaining exactly what to expect in a surfboard.

I wanted to add a CI Pod Mod to the quiver, but everywhere is sold out, and HSS is selling new SpineTek model at $839. I'll keep an eye on CraigsList for a used one.

I took your advice and decided to go smaller. I went from a 36.5 L to a 29L CI Twin in Fusion Dual Core. It rips and floats good, but not too much. Now my surfing is starting to light up. Now i feel like I'm surfing the board, not the other way around.

I also found a used CI Sampler in PU, at 31.5L. It rips too.

Thanks Noel.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
BRADEN BADUA Stoked for you bro. Glad your dialing in your boards!!!
benjamin m
benjamin m - 2 years ago
Noel you are correct! Large CI (tech 1) fins are the way to go for this board. I hesitated at first because 1) you surf like a pro while I surf like a joe, and 2) I was concerned that a large set would make the board feel too restrictive, but after watching your review I took the gamble and they turned out to be perfect. I've got a 5'6 pod mod and the large fins give you that critical drive through turns which is essential in small weak waves. Thanks for your help.
Knoself
Knoself - 2 years ago
I’m 5’10, about 180. Would a 5’6 be floaty enough for me? Been having some ‘surfers neck’ lately and made the mistake of going too big on the biscuit Bonzer (6’0) and wanna avoid making the same mistake. Don’t wanna go too small tho...thanks for the help
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Knoself The 5’6” Pod Mod sounds good for you to get back out there.
Knoself
Knoself - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews I did re-try an older 5’7 dumpster diver that is around 28 liters as well and it was to small :( haha
Knoself
Knoself - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews ha to be honest been so long since I bought a new board (road my recent couple year old fish into the ground) it didn’t have any width or thickness measurements. My 6’4 Sharp Eye Step up is 28 liters and that thing floats me ok..
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Knoself what are liters on you regular HPSB?

20. comment for Channel Islands "Pod Mod" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.5

Sean Connelly
Sean Connelly - 2 years ago
hey man love the reviews there top!..could you tell me which board is easier to surf the pod mod or the high 5? thanks man
juan cruz ponceliz
juan cruz ponceliz - 2 years ago
i am a begginer and i learned with a 9' longboard. now i want to "upgrade" the table. i was thinking about a 6'2'' pod mod or a 6'2'' high five. wich one would you pick for me? or maybe another shape, brand etc?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
juan cruz ponceliz I would of go High 5 or Ave Joe.
David Becker
David Becker - 2 years ago
What are your thought on the Torq construction of this board? I'm a bit hesitant on pop out epoxy boards that they might be a bit cheap and cheesy and not perform well like other brands out there.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
David Becker I tested the PM in the Torq construction and it felt pretty good. It pressure dented like a normal EPS and the flex felt pretty good too. I think it’s s good affordable EPS board.
CujoAC
CujoAC - 2 years ago
Hi Noel, thanks for putting this awesome vid together. Need some help selecting one of these and was hoping you could help. I’m 6’5, 185 and primarily surf the smaller beaches in the SF Bay Area. I’d say I’m a longtime beginner, early intermediate weekend warrior. Currently ride a 7’2 Anacapa Bandit and a 6’8 7S Super Fish, both of which I️ love. I️ also own a 6’6 Santa Cruz Pumpkin Seed (epoxy) but have had a ton of trouble surfing it due to its extra light weight and narrow body. I️ have huge feet so the board’s margin for error on pop ups is insanely small, and since it sits on the water like an epoxy tends to, the squirrels nature makes it tough. My board shop has a 6’6 version of the Pod Mod X-Lite (the epoxy Torq version). Would this size make sense for me, or should I️ look for something shorter? The width and volume are what attract me (21 7/8 and around 46 or 47l). Want something fun for small/medium days that I️ can turn with and continue to improve on. Any advice would be great! Thanks in advance!
CujoAC
CujoAC - 2 years ago
Or I guess what I'm asking is...will a 47.6L board be an absolute boat, or will it still be fun and easy to control?
CujoAC
CujoAC - 2 years ago
Appreciate the speedy reply! I guess my question is more whether that volume might be a little too much for my size? I haven't bought a board since volume became a thing, so I'm trying to work that element out seeing as I can't demo the board. I'm not concerned with the length, I'm barely comfortable with a 6'6 so I don't think I'd go shorter, but the volume on the 6'6 (which must be a custom?) is in the 47 range...seems high. Just hope I can still duck dive and maneuver. Any thoughts on that element?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
CujoAC The Pod Mod is a sick small wave board. I think the one your talking about sounds good. The Torque construction is good too. Not too light either. It sounds good to me. Lots of volume too.
John Bernard
John Bernard - 3 years ago
Noel, this review is awesome! I was looking into the Torq Pod Mod in 5'10 or 5'6. I'm 5'11 155lbs and intermediate in ability. I currently have a 6'0 flyer and a 5'10 biscuit. The biscuit is easy to catch waves on in small surf but just feels a bit chunky. After seeing this review I'm leaning more towards the 5'6 but would love any input you have. Thanks!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
John Bernard The 5’6 will be perfect. The 5’10” PM will feel like the Biscuit. Big and hard to turn.
benjamin m
benjamin m - 3 years ago
Great review Noel! Im about the same size as you and I recently Picked up a 5'6 and its the greatest shortboard I've ever owned. Perfect for NY surf 3ft to a foot overhead.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
benjamin m Epic... the PM is a sick little board. Cheers
Yasser Saiyad
Yasser Saiyad - 3 years ago
Hi Noel , do you have any feedback or opinion on the torq version of this board ?
benjamin m
benjamin m - 3 years ago
I have the torq pod mod and it's amazing. Feels similar to a poly board but incredibly durable.
Yasser Saiyad
Yasser Saiyad - 3 years ago
thanks for the feedback much appreciated !!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
I have ridden the Torq version on the Pod Mod and it felt great. I recommend it.... cheers!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Ross Thompson Yew!!! Cheers
Glenn
Glenn - 3 years ago
Awesome reviews on the boards you've actually have ridden. It's way more informative than other reviewers that just go by what the shaper/manufacturer says about the board...I'm interested in picking up the Torq Pod Mod, but need help sizing. I'm deciding between the 5'6 with 31.3L or 5'10 with 35.7L. Unfortunately they don't make a torq 5'8 pod mod. I'm an early intermediate 150-155lbs and would like to progress. Currently ride a 5'10 37.3L Lost Lazy Toy. I can bottom turn and go left or right, but that's about it. Would really appreciate your recommendations re: Torq Pod mod in 5'6 or 5'10 Thanks!
Glenn
Glenn - 3 years ago
Thank you for the recommendation
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Glenn Stoked you like the show!!! I think the 5'10" PM in the Torque Technology is perfect. A little less volume than you have been ridding and a little more performance in the board outline. You will love the PM. Cheers!!
Frankie Proscia
Frankie Proscia - 3 years ago
Would you recommend this board for me or the hoglet or the average joe I'm 5ft 90 pounds and I ride down the line on a 7ft and up board the waves are long and slow
Frankie Proscia
Frankie Proscia - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews ok great thanks for the help
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Frankie Proscia I would go Average Joe or High 5. The Hoglet is good too. Cheers

30. comment for Channel Islands "Pod Mod" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.5

Bjjsurfer M
Bjjsurfer M - 3 years ago
Thanks for doing an awesome review on the pod mod. Looking to pick one up but can't decide between the 5'8 or 5'6. I'm 5'8 155 lbs early intermediate skill level surf 1-2 x per week usually at church or middles. What size re: liters would you recommend? I want paddle ability, but also progress faster.
Austin Jackson
Austin Jackson - 2 years ago
Go for the 5'6, I'm 6'2 185 and I'm on the 5'8 and it fits me perfectly I am also an intermediate-advanced surfer
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Bjjsurfer M 5'6 will have great float and be very responsive.
Bjjsurfer M
Bjjsurfer M - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews...Hey Noel, I'm about to pull the trigger on a 5'8 Pod mod, but looked at the Hoglet. Would I be better off with the Hoglet to progress my surfing (re: getting into waves early, carving and cutbacks) or just go with the Pod mod? Thanks in advance for your recommendations
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Bjjsurfer M Epic!! Let me know how it goes...
Bjjsurfer M
Bjjsurfer M - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews ....Much mahalos Noel!!!... 5'8 PM it is!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Bjjsurfer M Going down to the 5'8 PM will feel way more responsive compared to what you are riding. When you take away +3 liters from a board it's going to be a bit tougher to catch waves and you will loose some stability. On the positive side of less volume you will be able to turn the board quicker and the board will feel more responsive.

A smaller board will allow you to grow in your surfing but you don't want to transition to a smaller board to fast. I would say if you are starting to do hard cutbacks and maybe some off the tops then you are ready to go down in Volume and length.
Bjjsurfer M
Bjjsurfer M - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews...I currently ride a 5'9 x 21.5 x 2.63 37.65 cl Libtech Lost Puddle Jumper. It's easy to get into waves early, but I know it's too much volume for my weight. I read a few of your comments that less volume will make you progress better. I was going to trade it with someone who has the 5'7 PJ with 33.9 cl, but now interested in the PM 5'8 with 33.5cl or 5'6 with 31.3 cl or with 29.2cl.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Bjjsurfer M What are you riding right now? What are the DIMS and Liters if you know them?
playswithpixels
playswithpixels - 3 years ago
Great review. You look like you're having a blast on this board. I finally got a chance to demo one the other day in chest high wind swell peaks. The Pod Mod ate it up. I rode the 5'6" which is slightly beefier than what I normally ride and it felt good. Like you were saying, It's super fast but still has the responsiveness of a short board. I can't wait to pick one up.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
playswithpixels Yea the Pod Mod is such a fun board. One of the best Grovelers ever!
Alejandro martinez
Alejandro martinez - 3 years ago
your reply bought me here, thanks for the advice. I love the channel bro keep it up.
ColeWorld99
ColeWorld99 - 3 years ago
This was an awesome and helpful review thanks! I plan on buying a PM but I'm between the 5'8" and the 5'10". I would say I'm in the earlyyy intermediate skill level and I'm 5'11" and about 180lbs. I got to Demo the 5'10" and really liked it but thinking I can go a bit smaller/lighter after seeing you choose the 5'2". What do you think between 5'10" and 5'8" for me?
ColeWorld99
ColeWorld99 - 3 years ago
I'll definitely let you know thanks again!
ColeWorld99
ColeWorld99 - 3 years ago
I'll definitely let you know thanks again!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
I think saving some cash and buying one of these is a great idea. I like the 5'10 with the swallow tail for $450.00.  It looks clean and barely used. Cheers!! Let me know how it goes for you!!!
ColeWorld99
ColeWorld99 - 3 years ago
Had another quick question. Found these two on CL and was wondering your opinion on whether you thought either was a good buy? or would you just be safe and buy new?
https://santabarbara.craigslist.org/spo/6076989392.html
https://ventura.craigslist.org/spo/6090969578.html
Thanks!
ColeWorld99
ColeWorld99 - 3 years ago
That's exactly what I needed to hear. Thanks for advice, much appreciated!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
ColeWorld99 I don't think you will see any true value to the Flexbar construction except for better flotation. The 5'10 PU should be good float for you. Save yourself some cash and get Flexbar on your next board when you are surfing better. I hope this helps... cheers!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
ColeWorld99 Stoked you like the show!!! I would go with the 5'10 so you don't struggle with catching waves. You also want the stability under your feet and the 5'8 might be to responsive. The 5'10 will help you get better fast and it will be easy to sell when you get better and grow out of it.
ColeWorld99
ColeWorld99 - 3 years ago
Also do you think given my skill level it would make much difference for me to get the PM with or without the flex bar?
David Madison
David Madison - 3 years ago
Noel, thank you for the great reviews. I've had a go on the joe, the high 5 and the pod mod. The pod mod is gold. Living in Hawaii, I've ridden a 5'10" as my daily driver in everything from 1' town to 6' north shore (mellower breaks). I'm moving to Virginia Beach though and was interested in your opinion: I saw torq epoxy versions of it at decent prices, but only in 5'6 and 5'10". I weigh ~175, stand 5'11", am intermediate on my best days, and will be wearing a bit of neoprene after the move. Would you vote 5'6 or 5'10?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
David Madison I say 5'10 for sure.... the Torque construction feels pretty good too. I tested the Pod Mod in a 5'6 Torque and it felt good. Big for me had great feel and flex.
Sebastian Bohorquez
Sebastian Bohorquez - 3 years ago
For someone that does want to fly down the line as is primarily focused on doing airs is this board the best choice or is there another Channel Islands board you would recommend more?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
I think the PM is great for airs on small waves for sure. Another board I recommend is the Sampler by CI. The Sampler is the fastest board I have ever ridden down the line and it goes good in surf 1-4 range. Cheers!!!
Jay Obrien
Jay Obrien - 3 years ago
Owned this board for 1 year. I had a 5'10, and I"m 6'2, 180lbs. Wanted badly to like the board, but couldn't. It's short, wide, stubby, flat, so it fools you into thinking it's a groveler. But for me, it didn't grovel well. The 5'10 is 35L in volume, and it was not enough volume for me to get into mushy knee/waist reef break surf. And when it gets chest high+ wouldn't be riding this. It's unfortunate. I own the high 5 and new flyer and love both, but couldn't get stoked on the pod-mod. My .02 cents.
fazorba
fazorba - 3 years ago
Hi noel, amazing video! But you surf with really small little boards ! You know if this board and the mini works in big size as well like 5'10 or 5'11? Because i have 210lb with 5'4ft . If yes , with one is better in big size 5'10 35L pm or 5'11 mini 38L? For small and smooth waves !Thanks so much.
I look some board like the speed of the tomo evo one
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
The volume on the 5'9 at 34L depends upon what volume you are currently ridding. If you are currently riding a board with 36L or 38L then I would not go with stock 5'9 34L. I would order it custom and get exactly what you want because 1 to 2 liters is a big difference in floatation.
fazorba
fazorba - 3 years ago
Surf Show and Tell Reviews thank noel! What you think the mini 5'9 34L to low volume for me? Or You think custom one 5'9 36L or 38L?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
fazorba Glad you like the show. I think the Mini, High 5, or Average Joe will work Great in small waves for anyone. These 3 boards were made for small waves and they generate speed easily. If you want a shorter board for more maneuverability then you should order a custom. If you are an intermediate surfer and just want to cruise a bit in small waves then get the 5'10. I hope this helps.
Simon Haines
Simon Haines - 3 years ago
great review Noel, i love your work!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Simon Haines Sounds good. Let me know how you like the new one compared to the old one. Cheers!
Simon Haines
Simon Haines - 3 years ago
I have a original 6,2 pod, which i love, im going to buy a 5,10 mod pod. looking forward to riding it..
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Epic!!!! Glad you like the show.... are you thinking about getting a PM or do you already have one? Great board!!!!
Matthew Jones
Matthew Jones - 3 years ago
how's does the pod Mod compare to the Rocket 9?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Matthew Jones I would go Rocket 9 from your comments on your home break. I would not want a wide tail Groveler either. The Rocket 9 will go good in that type of surf.
Matthew Jones
Matthew Jones - 3 years ago
Surf Show and Tell Reviews thanks Noel. I was thinking of riding it in waves with more curve, also on some days in head high hollow surf, so not as a real low end groveller. my local waves are often flatter on take off then hollow up quickly....Also have a lot of hollow punchy days. I like a more pulled in tail so was thinking the PM might be a bit wide and skatey? however also read that the PM has a fairly pulled in tail?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
In my opinion the PM is a legit small wave Groveler and I would choose the PM  all day long over the Rocket 9 for waves that are shoulder high and under.  However the Rocket 9 is pretty fun in 3-6 foot surf and can handle the punchy stuff too. I think the Rocket 9 has too much tail rocker for really small waves. Not enough drive for me compared to the PM and Sampler. I hope this helps!!!
maile thai
maile thai - 3 years ago
how does this board compare to the Lost puddle jumper? Im 5'8 and 175lbs.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
maile thai I would go with the 5'8 PM. I think the Ave Joe volume is a bit high for you. Go bit lower in volume will help progress. You will need to paddle a bit harder but you will be fine.
maile thai
maile thai - 3 years ago
intermediate level. Im currently riding a 5'7 average joe at 36L. Thanks.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
maile thai What is your skill level and what liters are you currently riding on your Groveler?
maile thai
maile thai - 3 years ago
Thanks for the reply. I'm shorter and heavier than you. What size do you recommend I get?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
maile thai That's a great question. I have never ridden the PJ by Lost so I cannot answer that fairly. I can answer questions you have about the PM though. Sorry
Pastor Mass
Pastor Mass - 4 years ago
Hi Noel, awesome reviews! I am seriously considering a Pod Mod, looks like a great board.
I have only been surfing 2.5 years and I am probably a step bellow intermediate. I am really wanting to progress. I am currently riding a basic 6'6" squash tail that is probably 38 to 45L or so. I want something faster and more manuverable. I weight about 205 and am 5'11". What do you think would be the best demensions on the pod mod?
Pastor Mass
Pastor Mass - 4 years ago
Great, thanks for your input. Much appreciated!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Stoked you like the reviews. I think the stock 6'2 at 40.5 liters sounds good. It will have great stability and maneuverability.
R Watty
R Watty - 4 years ago
Hi Noel,Great videos and review of boards, really nice to see you rip it up on all these boards and see comparisons.I am 5'9, 165lbs and surf a 6'8 kennedy I love it with a wide tail at 16 and wide mid at 21 3/4, 16 nose. I,ve been surfing since 15 and 51 now, I am intermediate and looking to get better with a smaller performance board and pull some maneuvers your pulling off. I want to get a the Pod Mod and like the stability of my current board, and wondering what you think on length and if this would be my board best step up??
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+R Watty Glad to hear what you chose is working out. Surfing is so much fun and getting a new board like you did keeps it fresh. You might want to get your hands on a set of Large fins for smaller waves on that board because the tail is so wide. I recommend the CI AM 2 or the Mick Fanning Large fin. Cheers!
R Watty
R Watty - 4 years ago
Hi Noel,Thanks so much for your help and advice, went with 5'10 since last board was in high 40's liter, and add FCS 2 performer PC carbon medium size since weigh 165. I was a little concerned about going short and getting up, but surprisingly was fairly easy most of time and about 6 levels more performance in turns and carving, so stoked I made purchase, never ridden such a fun performance board. Wave count down a bit from 6'8 but worth the performance trade off and seems I will be stepping up my surf which was my main goal!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+R Watty I do this because I enjoy it. CI I appreciate each other but they do not pay me. I started this You Tube channel to help people learn about surfboards and gear. I am also learning a bunch myself.
R Watty
R Watty - 4 years ago
Ok, I am leaning toward PM but will check out Sampler. Thanks so much for all your input and I hope CI is giving you some pay for taking your time and expertise to help with future CI customers!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
The PM will be a better step down in my opinion or the Sampler.
R Watty
R Watty - 4 years ago
Ok Noel, How about the # 4 looks like a cool design vs. the Pod mod? Looking to step down from my 6'8 and get tighter arcs on my turns in pocket and off top with hopefully some sprays to follow?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Sorry Rick I don't know the Lost line of boards well enough to give you my opinion. I think the Lost boards look good  but you might want to talk to someone who knows them better. Cheers!!!
R Watty
R Watty - 4 years ago
Thanks for the info. on the podmod.I am also looking at Lost RV, any thoughts on comparisons, I like ur surfing style?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Rick Watson I would consider going mid 30's in volume for your weight and height. The PM has great paddle abilities and you don't want too much foam or it will be hard to turn...
R Watty
R Watty - 4 years ago
Hi Noel, not sure- measures 17 nose, 16.5 tail, 22 middle and 2 5/8 or 2 3/4 roughly. I asked a local guy at surf shop and est. high 30's to low 40's.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Yea Rick thanks for reaching out  and I am stoked you like the show. I think the Pod Mod is a great board to transition too from what you are riding. What are the liters of volume on your 6'8 Kennedy?
dav56
dav56 - 4 years ago
to you, rocket nine or pod for intermediate 85kg surfer riding beachbreak between 3 to 7 feet? thanks
dav56
dav56 - 4 years ago
thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+dav56 I would roughly take the same liters of your standard short board. If you have to decide between different stock boards go with the one with a little more volume. Only on the Rocket 9.
dav56
dav56 - 4 years ago
thanks a lot,
and what about the lenght, 6.0 seems good to me? i m 180 cm and 85 kg
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Rocket 9 for sure....
bnavos
bnavos - 4 years ago
Hi Noel, thinking about ordering the pod mod custom, but on the fence about getting it in a 5 fin set up. Do you think it works best as a thruster? And do you prefer to ride futures fins or the fcs 2?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
The Rook 15 is in the quiver right now and I might do one in the near future. We will see as I have my eyes on some of the newer models at the moment and all of the new technology options. Glad you like the show!!!!
bnavos
bnavos - 4 years ago
+Surf Show and Tell Reviews Thanks for the response. I'm enjoying your reviews and like how you show footage of you surfing the board you're reviewing. I hope to see your review on the Rook 15!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
I only tried the PM as a thruster because I am not much of a quad guy, but if you like quads then I think you should go with the a 5 fin set up. I prefer Futures only because I know there system better. The Ride Number system that is.... I think FCSII is a good system and I like the Mick Fanning L fins but I have not tried all of their fins yet.
Torrey B
Torrey B - 4 years ago
Noel, for a mex quiver (sayulita, so not too money super punchy waves), would you go with a sampler + ci twin or sampler + podmod ?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
My pleasure!!! Hit me up be email when you have a minute.noel@whitesandproducts.com
Torrey B
Torrey B - 4 years ago
Thank you !
Torrey B
Torrey B - 4 years ago
+Surf Show and Tell Reviews wad sort of hoping you'd say that..love twins
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Tough but good question. I would go with Sampler + CI Twin Fin. I would use the Sampler as a high performance small wave board in replace of the PM and the Twin Fin for those really small days you try to keep fun.
AxumGear
AxumGear - 4 years ago
hi fantastic video
Danny 009
Danny 009 - 4 years ago
great video and super informative. for a guy trying to progress to short boards, i have been recommended this or the high 5. i am leaning towards this one at the moment, but also hesitant on the size i should go for. being 5'8 and 165 pounds, what do you recommend?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks and I am glad you liked the review. The High 5 is a great board to transition from a longer board to a short board. Your skill level is also a huge factor on what size board you go with. I would go with a 5'10 or 6'0 if you are transitioning from beginner to intermediate. Foam is your friend here and more foam equals better paddling, and more stability. If you have been riding a long board then a 5'10 or 6'0 High 5 will feel really responsive. I would not go to small too fast. Make surfing fun and enjoyable..... Cheers!
Marco Lucadano
Marco Lucadano - 4 years ago
Siiiiick reviews Noel. I moved to San Clemente when I was 15 and pretty much learned to surf there, but I migrated to Santa Cruz in 1990. I miss low tide summer swells at Cottons. Anyhow how do you stack up the Pod Mod vs High 5 vs Sampler? It looks like you're in favor of the Pod Mod, but can ya shoot back a few words on the major differences? I am a pocket, vertical surfer too. Cheers.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Marco Lucadano Will do!!! Thanks for the comments.
Marco Lucadano
Marco Lucadano - 4 years ago
Thanks for the quick and thorough reply Noel. It's kinda funny that there's this much discussion going into a board for only a few weeks a year for up here! But so goes the specialization of wanting a step down that has the same feel I get from my standard shortboards...speed, drive, and fast rail transitions, just like you generate on the boards in your reviews on those waist/chest, head high waves. I'm gonna try and hunt down a Sampler up here.

If ya see Lu at Guichos Eatery tell him Marco said he needs to get his ass up here this fall with his step up and booties.
Mahalo!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Stoked you like the show.... The three boards you mentioned are all really fun to ride but for small wave high performance surfing I really like the Sampler. If the waves are 1-2 then the PM is great because of the hybrid nose but I lean towards the Sampler for my small wave surfing. If you are looking for a hybrid small wave board then I would go with the PM and if you want to keep your stance and small wave surfing closer to your standard short board then go with the Sampler. When I do reviews and ride a board like the PM at 5'2" for 3 weeks straight it takes me a session or two to get my act together on my standard 5'9" short board. Does that make sense? All 3 boards have their benefits but when I grab a board from the quiver when it's smaller I gravitate to the Sampler. Well that's my two cents....Let me know what you decide. Cheers!!!
Oshri Sudri
Oshri Sudri - 4 years ago
What you like most pod mod or high 5? I consider to get one of them 5'2. I tried the high 5 in 5'2 few waves and really like the responsive.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Oshri Sudri They are both really fun to ride and the PM is a bit more high performance because the tail is pulled in a bit more. The H5 will be a little more like a fish type board than the PM. I personally like the PM better as it suits my type of surfing in the pocket. I hope this helps! Cheers....

50. comment for Channel Islands "Pod Mod" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.5

shortyyys
shortyyys - 4 years ago
hi . your reviews are awesome man. its always nice to see a review from someone who can rip.
Would you recommend the pod mod as a first shortboard (step-down) coming of a minimal?
if so what about sizing ? I'm 6.25 and 175 lbs . will the 6.0 at 39ltr be good for me or should i go for the 6.2 40.5 ? will it make huge difference in paddle power?
shortyyys
shortyyys - 4 years ago
+Surf Show and Tell Reviews alright thanks a lot !!! I was thinking for the 6.2 too but i have found a 6.0 pm used for half the price , that why i asked if it would make a huge diff.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+shortyyys Great thanks for the photos and the DIMS that helps a bunch. I would go with the 6'2 so you don't struggle with catching waves and have a bit more stability. Either of these two PM will feel really loose and responsive for you because the board change is so drastic. I think you will really like the PM and it will be a great step down. Let me know which one you get how it feels after you give it a session or two. I hope this helps! Cheers...
shortyyys
shortyyys - 4 years ago
+Surf Show and Tell Reviews actually its an evolution board 7.4 -21- 2 3/4. it doesn't say the volume but i imagine around 46-48.
thats the board
https://olx.co.ao/anuncio/prancha-surf-74-storm-saco-transporte-ID6VB1.html
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+shortyyys Thanks, glad you like the reviews. I am not sure what size board and the volume that you are stepping down from. Could give me a little more information?
David Avron
David Avron - 4 years ago
Hey Noel great reviews thanks and keep up the great job.
between the high 5 and the pod mod which one would you prefer as a small and weak waves board (I ride a 5'5'' skinny fish by CI as my small waves board)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+David Avron I think you will love the 5'2. I am 10lbs heavier than you are and it floated me fine. Don't be concerned about the height because the volume is there for you. I am 5'9 and I liked the 5'2 better than the 5'4. I would only recommend the 5'2 because you are an advanced surfer..... I hope this helps. After you get the 5'2 let me know how it goes.
David Avron
David Avron - 4 years ago
Thank's man
I am 5'8'' 160 lb. advanced surfer and in above avarage shape.
I ride a 5'5'' skinny fish at 25L when the waves are weak and small and want to add a little volume.
the volume on the 5'2'' is perfect but I never rode a board that short (the 5'5'' is the shortest I rode).
would you recommend the 5'2'' or maybe something else ?
thanks  
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
I prefer the PM
Alessandro Sozzi
Alessandro Sozzi - 4 years ago
Hey Noel! Thanks for all your suggestions, I've ordered my Pod Mod the other day..I ended up ordering a custom 5'9" can't wait to try it!! Thanks again for your kindness you helped me make my mind! Cheers from Italy
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Alessandro Sozzi My pleasure.... Let me know how it goes.
Bon Summers
Bon Summers - 4 years ago
Surprisingly good in the footage, looks better than the other models in how your surfing style is. Now do an episode on DFR. And play some Johnny Bluth/Danger on your vids.
Mac Mansfield
Mac Mansfield - 4 years ago
The first actually good surfboard reviews on youtube, very impressed, i like the way you actually correlate what your saying with a video of yourself doing it, this makes what you saying have a lot more meaning, keep this up and you surf better than some of the guys on the tour!! Thanks for the great videos
Justin Bordwell
Justin Bordwell - 4 years ago
More reviews soon?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
I will have something new up by the end of this week. Stay tuned!!
Luke
Luke - 4 years ago
hi noel, i am looking at getting a pod mod here in oz. i am 5,11 and weigh anywhere between 80 to 81 kilo. would the 5,2 that you rode be enough litre for me?. my skill level is advanced. im thinking custom 5,2 by 20 by 2 5/16 or 2 3/4. thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+luke Armstrong Luke you are right in the middle between the stock 5'2 and the 5'4 like I was. I got the 5'4 first and it felt pretty good but maybe a little buoyant. I never thought the 5'2 would work because the liters were so low but it did. However I weigh 170 pounds which is roughly 77.11 kilos. I think you are better off ordering something custom like you are mentioning. Maybe 27  - 27.5 Liters would be good. I hope this helps..... Cheers.
Will Murray
Will Murray - 4 years ago
Hi Noel, great review, have you ridden a Neck Beard ? How would you compare the Neck Beard to the Pod Mod ? Cheers Will.
Will Murray
Will Murray - 4 years ago
+Surf Show and Tell Reviews Cheers Noel, I was just off now to maybee go buy a 2nd hand Neck Beard in good nick. But yeah keen on the Pod Mod and Sampler too. If I don't like the Neck Beard I can always resell and not lose much on a 2nd hand board, then try the Pod Mod or Sampler. Cheers, yeah wanting some some glide and a step down from my Fred Rubble, I havn't clicked much with the rubble on the rail yet. Just maybe need some better waves for it. Cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Hey Will i did ride the Neckbeard and it was really fun on mushy waves. But the Pod Mod seemed a bit more high performance in the pocket. The wide tail on the Neck Beard isn't my favorite in the pocket but i liked down the line. I hope that helps.... My favorite small wave board right now is the New Sampler!!! I like it in the pocket and down the line. Best of both worlds....
Brian Michigan
Brian Michigan - 4 years ago
After your next board review you should do the Channel Islands New Flyer I have that board and it's awesome!! I really want to see your imput on that board. I also love seeing clips of you surfing on that board! You absolutely RIP!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+iguanabartola My pleasure and enjoy the PM.....
iguanabartola
iguanabartola - 4 years ago
PM it is!!! Thanks again for the valuable feedback!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+iguanabartola The Pod Mod is way more high performance than the Ave Joe. The Joe is a bit easier to ride and more fish like and the PM is bit more high performance. I like the PM a bunch but it really depends on what your after. Cheers!!!
iguanabartola
iguanabartola - 4 years ago
It does, thank you so much for the feedback. One more questions, how does the PM compare with the Average Joe for the kind of board I am after? Thanks again for all your help!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+iguanabartola Thanks for reaching out and the great feedback on the review. The Pod Mod is a great board for really small mushy waves and because of the Hybrid Nose and the pulled in swallow tail it will be very different from the New Flyer. The Flyer has the classic Merrick bump and the Pod Mod does not so you will notice a big difference between both boards. The volume at 33+ will be good for paddling and gliding through flat mushy spots too. I would make sure that the Pod Mod you choose is shorter than your NF so the extra volume doesn't feel hard to turn too.  You want the floatation but you still want a high performance feel. I hope that makes sense... Cheers!!!
iguanabartola
iguanabartola - 4 years ago
+Surf Show and Tell Reviews
Awesome review, how would you compare this board against the New Flyer? I use the NF Swallow tail (31lt) as my small wave board however, looking for something with more volume (33+) for mushier conditions, would this fit the requirements? Or is it a very similar type of board to the NF? Your feedback is appreciated.
Brian Michigan
Brian Michigan - 4 years ago
Don't worry I'm already subscribed and I can't wait for your next video!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Brian Michigan Thank you for the awesome feed back on the review. I do have the New Flyer on the review list as many people are starting to request it too. The next review is on a CI board that has not come out yet and it should be hitting the CI website soon. I can't talk about the board yet but it's sick..... Hopefully you hit the Subscribe button so you get all of my reviews right when they come out. Cheers!!!
Renaud Maxime
Renaud Maxime - 4 years ago
Thank you for the review !! I hope to surf like you one day ;)
I have a question : Which one of the CI models do you advise for a novice (not beginner but not intermediate with shortboard) who would like to buy his first shortboard ? I surf beachbreak, I'm 5'9 tall and 155 lbs. Iused to surf bigger board but also 6'6 "shortboard" and i'd like to have my first shortboard but i don't know between the pod mod, the high five or the mini which one is the most suitable for me !

Thank you for your help and keep it up !
Renaud Maxime
Renaud Maxime - 4 years ago
+Surf Show and Tell Reviews Thank you for your reply this is very helpfull !! :)
Keep it up ;)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Renaud Maxime Thank you for the great comments on my review. I recommend the High 5 or the Average Joe by CI. Both of these boards are very user friendly and easy to catch waves. I have ridden all of CI's small wave boards and these two will be the best for you. The Ave Joe is a squash tail and the High 5 is a swallow tail. I found the High 5 to be a bit looser and felt more like a fish. The Average Joe was very forgiving and easy to turn in all the right sections.  I would go with the Average Joe if I were you but I will leave that decision up to you. I hope this helps.... Cheers!
Lane Homan
Lane Homan - 5 years ago
Awesome review, I like the fact you added video actually using the board. I had a local shaper shape me the 5'6 version of this board. After seeing you ride it I'm super stoked on the decision. Great vid
Yuno mi
Yuno mi - 5 years ago
Great review! I just recently picked up a 5'2" Pod Mod and it was awesome. Any chance of doing a review on the Peregrine?
Yuno mi
Yuno mi - 5 years ago
+Surf Show and Tell Reviews Sounds great, subscription is done and looking forward for the Peregrine review. I'm thinking about getting it shorter and wider as a groveler for the weaker surfs around HB. Just wanted to find out how it is in the pocket. I'm currently riding the Stubble, very pockety board but not so fast on slow waves.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 5 years ago
+Yuno mi Thank you for the props on the review. I will be posting the Peregrine review in roughly a week. That Peregrine is sweet and it's real fast. Please subscribe to the channel if you haven't already and you will get all of the reviews as soon as I post them up. Cheers!!!
Jack Richter
Jack Richter - 5 years ago
Awesome reviews, I have watched them all so far and I was hoping it would make whatever board I choose to order next easy, but you make them all look so easy to ride. I live in Australia and it's obviously harder to get a hold of a Merrick over here, but a stock shelf model I see often is the New Flyer, I was hoping you could do a review on that model if possible?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 5 years ago
+Jack Richter Jack, thank you for the feedback and you are not the first person to ask for a review on the New Flyer. I will try to get that going in the near future. I really like the New Flyer and I have had roughly 10 of them in all different DIMS and they were all super fun. I find them super easy to ride and really fast. I like the hip on the tail even when I get it in the groveler models because the pulled in tail still allows for tight turns in the pocket. I also like that they don't have a ton of nose rocker so I can ride it many different types of waves and have great paddle power. Be looking for a review on the New Flyer soon. My next reviews should be on the new Peregrine followed up by the Rook 15 or a new model by CI that I cannot talk about yet. It's all very exciting because their boards are SICK.... Please hit the subscribe button so you get all of my reviews right when they come out. Cheers and I love Australia!!!!
madeleine chard
madeleine chard - 5 years ago
trialed the 5'4 and didnt like how light and sinkable then i moved onto the 5'6. heaps more foam and loving it. get heaps of waves and his extremely fun and smooth
Barry Barbernell
Barry Barbernell - 5 years ago
barrel sequence is ripping
Mike Smith
Mike Smith - 5 years ago
sweet noel
jphurraybee
jphurraybee - 5 years ago
So out of the high 5, mini, and the pod mod... Which would you recommend?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 5 years ago
+jphurraybee, I like the Pod Mod the best out of the three boards. The Pod Mod felt the best in the pocket and they were all very fast. I hope this helps. Cheers!!!
Marco Renzi
Marco Renzi - 5 years ago
I really like this board, probably it could be because of your surfing style!
But i've some questions for you:
Wich one between "pod mod" and the "mini" would you recommend in 2-4 feet(MUSHY) waves?
Which one gets more speed and paddles better?
Someone over the web is saying that like the weirdo ripper this board could not like mushy waves, could it be true?
I usually ride a 5'10/11 20.5 2 5/8 33.5lt....which one would you suggest between a 5'7 20 7/8 2' 11/16 35lt and a 5'6 21 2 11/16 or 2 3/4 around the same liters of volume?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 5 years ago
+Marco Renzi I suggest the board that would work best for your level of surfing, whatever that is. More foam is going to take a little longer to turn but the paddle power will be better obviously. I always want the board to be really responsive so I always go less on the volume. I think this board goes good in mushy waves and I would never compare this board to the Weirdo Ripper because the Pod Mod was made for small waves and the Weirdo Ripper was made for both small and bigger waves. I would not call the Weirdo Ripper a groveler or a small wave high performance board. I hope this helps. Cheers!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 5 years ago
Maynard, Thank you for the great feedback and I am happy you are enjoying the reviews.
Maynard Lim
Maynard Lim - 5 years ago
thanks noel for the awesome reviews. you have great insight on board design and pro level abilities. something rare in surfboard reviews these days. showing video of you riding the designs you're testing in everyday waves is pure gold! many thanks and looking forward to more reviews!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 5 years ago
Jesse,Thank you for the great comment on the reviews. I chose the FRP fins because I wanted to see how they would respond compared to some of my high performance fins. I really think they are a good set of affordable fins. The Honey Comb fin is much lighter and a bit stiffer and a more high performance fin for sure but the FRP felt good on the Mini and the Pod Mod. To be honest with you I never rode the 5'2 Pod Mod with a high performance fin because I was having so much fun with the FRP's. I chose the Large fin for more drive and I have been testing fins and I have found that the Large fin works better on smaller waves and on boards that have a wider tail. I hope this answers your questions. Cheers!!! Noel
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
wef 0909 Great post.... thanks and keep up the board testing and feedback.
wef 0909
wef 0909 - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews thanks for the feedback. I was able to surf the pod mod this week. Surfed the 5'4 and 5'6 stock dims as a quad and have to agree with your review that the smaller board works best. 5'4 is the smallest I have ever surfed but because of its width and how much liters its packs,it makes it extremely easy to surf. I felt the smaller board was easier to maneuver in the pocket. My advice to anyone nervous of going down in size is to aim for the liters that you feel comfortable with. Overall I thought this was a great board but will be ordering a custom Pod over the Pod Mod or Sampler because of the wave range it can handle.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
wef 0909 I rode the original Pod a couple of times and it was a fun board.

The Pod Mod is a great board and can handle 1-4 foot surf no problem. Same with the Sampler. It's really up to you and what you want to ride. The Sampler was my favorite small wave board for 2016.

I think both boards are great DD for SD.... do you want a hybrid type of outline that's 20+ wide or a more conventional looking Groveler like the Sampler?
wef 0909
wef 0909 - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews how does this compare to the original Pod? The original Pod was sick and could handle anything from knee to over head without a problem. Which board would you choose as a DD for San Diego waves? Sampler or Pod Mod?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 5 years ago
Torrey, I am 5'9 168lbs. Thanks for the comment and yes I am at Lowers 5 to 6 days a week. Introduce yourself to me next time you see me out there. Cheers!!!
Torrey B
Torrey B - 5 years ago
Do you surf Lowers a lot? I swear I see you out there all the time.. and if it is you, you absolutely rip!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 5 years ago
+Torrey B That is so funny......
Jesse Urane
Jesse Urane - 5 years ago
Really been enjoying your reviews! Curious why you went with the large size fins over mediums? And what has been the biggest difference you have noticed between the FRP fins from a honeycomb fin?
Roderick Cabahug
Roderick Cabahug - 5 years ago
Sick review Noel and even better surfing! Makes me want one for sure.

Similar videos
for Channel Islands "Pod Mod" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.5

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,387 views 4 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,369 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,676 views 4 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,029 views 9 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,019 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,478,972 views 2 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Related videos
to Channel Islands "Pod Mod" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.5

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,369 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,676 views 4 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,019 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,478,972 views 2 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

What's inside a Tesla Surfboard?

32,933 likes 2,767,406 views 1 year ago

Tesla made 200 limited edition surfboards, We try to Surf it then CUT IT OPEN! This video was sponsored by LastPass....

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,614,874 views 7 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

About Channel Islands "Pod Mod" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.5

The "Channel Islands "Pod Mod" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.5" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!