Channel Islands "Rocket9" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep 15

Click to buy: SURF STATION - https://www.surfstationstore.com/collections/channel-islands-surfboards/products/channel-islands-rocket-9-surfboard No obligation, but these links & ads help support the site and keeps the reviews coming! If you decide to buy somewhere else or would like to support the show, please donate at https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow This episode is about the Rocket9 by Channel Islands Surfboards. The Rocket9 is a small wave high performance signature board by Dane Gudauskas. Noel goes into detail on the attributes of this board along with his favorite fin set up. Noel tests two Rocket9 PU boards that are the same dimensions and have the team light glass job. This board design has a single to double concave with a slight Vee out the tail for easy rail to rail transitions. This board felt great in both clean and choppy conditions due to the single to double concave and was easy for him to set his rail. It has a low entry rocker and a medium to aggressive tail rocker for that high performance feel in both small to medium size waves. The outline is a bit curvey so it likes to be in the pocket but still has that drive because of the concave and low entry rocker. The rails feel a bit normal under his arm so not too full and not pinched. Noel rode these two boards as a standard thruster and also had a twin fit set up with a small trailer fin. Noel explains that he is a thruster surfer most of the time but he did not like Rocket9 as a thruster but liked it better using the Merrick Twin Fin (MTF) set up and a small trailer fin. He used two different size trailer fins and liked the results of them both. Noel recommends that if you custom order this board to order it with a 5 fin set up for multiple options for each individuals style and preference. Here is what the Channel Islands website has to say about the Rocket9. “The Rocket9 is suited to your average waves like we find around California. It works great in beach breaks because it can be skatey when you want to generate that speed, but then you step back on that tail and you can absolutely hammer some vert wall. I also think that with the shorter nature of it, it fits really well in the tighter transitions of beach breaks. I have ridden it on big open walls of some point breaks in Morocco and it went well too, kind of like a little scalpel or snowboard, but I think the optimal range for this board would be 2 to 6 foot beach breaks. The Rocket9 outline has the wide point forward a bit and the tail is pulled in making it super snappy and maneuverable. The swallow gives a great fast release as well. One of the major desires for this board was I wanted was to go fast and then turn hard when I wanted in waves ranging from super average California beach breaks all the way to grinding little tubes. It’s one of the most versatile boards I have ever ridden. I like to ride my Rocket9 two inches shorter than my normal shortboard length. With the wider outline up front its able to hide a bit of volume under the chest to make the paddling still super easy even though you are on a shorter board. “ – Dane Gudauskas To go to the CI website just copy paste the link below in your web browser.http://www.cisurfboards.com/board/rocket-9/#

Channel Islands "Rocket9" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep 15 sentiment_very_dissatisfied 2

Reviews 4 years ago 55,222 views

Click to buy: SURF STATION - https://www.surfstationstore.com/collections/channel-islands-surfboards/products/channel-islands-rocket-9-surfboard No obligation, but these links & ads help support the site and keeps the reviews coming! If you decide to buy somewhere else or would like to support the show, please donate at https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow This episode is about the Rocket9 by Channel Islands Surfboards. The Rocket9 is a small wave high performance signature board by Dane Gudauskas. Noel goes into detail on the attributes of this board along with his favorite fin set up. Noel tests two Rocket9 PU boards that are the same dimensions and have the team light glass job. This board design has a single to double concave with a slight Vee out the tail for easy rail to rail transitions. This board felt great in both clean and choppy conditions due to the single to double concave and was easy for him to set his rail. It has a low entry rocker and a medium to aggressive tail rocker for that high performance feel in both small to medium size waves. The outline is a bit curvey so it likes to be in the pocket but still has that drive because of the concave and low entry rocker. The rails feel a bit normal under his arm so not too full and not pinched. Noel rode these two boards as a standard thruster and also had a twin fit set up with a small trailer fin. Noel explains that he is a thruster surfer most of the time but he did not like Rocket9 as a thruster but liked it better using the Merrick Twin Fin (MTF) set up and a small trailer fin. He used two different size trailer fins and liked the results of them both. Noel recommends that if you custom order this board to order it with a 5 fin set up for multiple options for each individuals style and preference. Here is what the Channel Islands website has to say about the Rocket9. “The Rocket9 is suited to your average waves like we find around California. It works great in beach breaks because it can be skatey when you want to generate that speed, but then you step back on that tail and you can absolutely hammer some vert wall. I also think that with the shorter nature of it, it fits really well in the tighter transitions of beach breaks. I have ridden it on big open walls of some point breaks in Morocco and it went well too, kind of like a little scalpel or snowboard, but I think the optimal range for this board would be 2 to 6 foot beach breaks. The Rocket9 outline has the wide point forward a bit and the tail is pulled in making it super snappy and maneuverable. The swallow gives a great fast release as well. One of the major desires for this board was I wanted was to go fast and then turn hard when I wanted in waves ranging from super average California beach breaks all the way to grinding little tubes. It’s one of the most versatile boards I have ever ridden. I like to ride my Rocket9 two inches shorter than my normal shortboard length. With the wider outline up front its able to hide a bit of volume under the chest to make the paddling still super easy even though you are on a shorter board. “ – Dane Gudauskas To go to the CI website just copy paste the link below in your web browser.http://www.cisurfboards.com/board/rocket-9/#

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Channel Islands "Rocket9" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep 15

Gabriel Pinciara
Gabriel Pinciara - 1 year ago
Thanks for the review! What are the fcs2 twin fins more Appropriate for this board? Cheers
Gabriel Pinciara
Gabriel Pinciara - 1 year ago
Thanks mate. I just got it! Let's see how it goes! Cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Gabriel Pinciara FCSII makes the AM Twin plus trailer. That’s what I like in this Rocket 9.
The Kiwi Angler
The Kiwi Angler - 2 years ago
Great review man. Been riding the R9 as my go to board for a while, and have been enjoying as a thruster in most conditions haha
Yarin Ankori
Yarin Ankori - 2 years ago
You should get the chippa Wilson + npj 2+1 captain fin, it works great for boards like the rocket 9 ( small wave preformance with a swallow tail)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Yarin Ankori Those sounds good
Andrea Bordoni
Andrea Bordoni - 2 years ago
Hi Noel,what do you think about riding the R9 as a twin but with the T1 fins ??
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Andrea Bordoni Yes That should be fun. I love the T1’s. Give it a go...
Francis Stanton
Francis Stanton - 2 years ago
Hi Noel, Just wanted to confirm when you describe wave size are you referring to wave face height or the back of the wave? This will allow me to understand what fins will work best with my rocket 9 when you describe wave heights suit certain types of fins.

I'm 6 foot 3 inches in height and in New Zealand we refer to wave height by the feet height of the back of the wave. So when we say a wave is 3ft high it is regarded as a 'good head height wave' so if I'm at the bottom of the wave standing at full height then a 3ft wave will have the the top / crest of the wave at the same level as the top of my head or just above the top of my head. So when you say you will ride the rocket 9 up to 5 to 6ft wave height are you referring to a near double over head height wave (as we would measure it in NZ)? Or would it be based on the 'face height of the wave' and therefore a 5 to 6ft wave you are in fact describing as a head height to just over head height wave? Cheers, Frank.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Francis Stanton 1’ over my head is roughly 5-6’ surf. I would only ride the Rocket 9 with the 2+1 trailer set up when the waves are 1-4’. Head high surf and below. I think the Rocket 9 will handle 1’ overhead surf no problem as a thruster.
Francis Stanton
Francis Stanton - 2 years ago
The feedback helps as I have tried my rocket 9 (6'1" high board) in what we in NZ would call 4ft high waves that are waves being nicely over head height wave faces (what you would describe as 6 to 8ft if i am reading you correctly?) but not as large as head and a half high wave faces. It went well as a thruster set up in the 4ft NZ wave height conditions but when I tried the twin fin trailer it was too loose and slide out at the base of the wave during backhand bottom turns.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Francis Stanton Yes That is correct.. sorry
Francis Stanton
Francis Stanton - 2 years ago
Hi Noel, cheers for the feed back. Just to clarify when you wrote .5' you mean half a foot?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Francis Stanton I would say that a 6’ wave for me is maybe .5’ over my head. I hope that helps.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Francis Stanton I usually talk wave face... CA surf is relatively soft but sometimes the beach breaks thump.
Nick Silver
Nick Silver - 2 years ago
Got this last month as my main board. I have been surfing it in 2-5 waves around ventura and malibu and am in love with it. I am 6'2 and got a 30 L board as I'm just getting back into surfing but it pulls me into waves and gives me crazy maneuverability. thank you for taking the time to make these reviews! hope to see you in the water
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Nick Silver Yewww!!! So stoked you got a board that goes good for you. Good to hear your back out there surfing too. Cheers!!!!
Simon Meikle
Simon Meikle - 2 years ago
great review , I want one .
anthony16675478
anthony16675478 - 2 years ago
Thanks for the review Noel!

Just wondering, ive heard the board is not very durable in PU construction. Is that because of the PU or does the low durability come from a weaker glass etc. As an example, would the rocket9 with PU be no different to a JS board with PU in terms of durability?

thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
anthony16675478 Stoked you like the review. In your example both boards in PU from two different makers in stock off the racks should have roughly the same durability. There is some exceptions though... I had a JS with a PU foam from Australia that was very strong. Less pressure dents then any other PU board I have ever had with a stock glass job. If you are looking for more durability then I recommend XTR or EPS. They last longer and more durable...the FireWire LFT and Helium technologies are very durable as well. The Helium technology by FireWire is one of the best I have ever ridden.... great flex and very little pressure dents. Cheers
djpipe1
djpipe1 - 2 years ago
Finally i got myself one. Many comments plus noel mentioned thruster as non drivy board. I got myself a flexbar rocker 9 and the board flys on thruster setup.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
djpipe1 So stoked you got one and it goes good for you. I love the Flexbar Technology too.

10. comment for Channel Islands "Rocket9" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep 15

djpipe1
djpipe1 - 2 years ago
Hey noah.. Any advise for rocket9 flexbar? They got it here on stock
jmlee84
jmlee84 - 2 years ago
i just bought this as my first step down board from a mini mal. bought it as thruster but after this review i just ordered future amt alphas
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
jmlee84 So Sick.... let me know how they go!!! Cheers
daniel vb
daniel vb - 3 years ago
Hi Noel, do you think the rocket9 could work well with a round tail and/or a thruster setup for people who prefer long carves over pocket surfing?
daniel vb
daniel vb - 3 years ago
yeah, I might try to contact CI for that one. Thanks for the quick reply and keep up the good work!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
daniel vb Good question. Not sure how that would work. I would hit the folks up at CI for that one. Not sure the Rocket 9 would go good with a round tail.
Scott Horban
Scott Horban - 3 years ago
This guy is really good at surfboard reviews . He rips , plus knows how to breakdown all pro an cons in detail. Keep it up Noel !
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Epic.... thanks for the encouragement!!! Glad you like the show.
valentina bordoni
valentina bordoni - 3 years ago
Noel great review....what if I use this board as a twin without the trailer fin
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
valentina bordoni Glad you like the review!!! Good question.... maybe give it a try and then post your comments for all of to see. This is what our show is all about. Cheers!!!
Chris Patane
Chris Patane - 3 years ago
hi Noel have you ever surfed with weirdo ripper? is similar to rocket9?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Chris Patane O really like the Weirdo Ripper in 3-6 foot surf. It has a good amount of rocker in it so it needs some power to go good. The Rocket 9 is a bit more versatile and goes better in smaller waves. Both boards a really fun though.
Mark Daniel
Mark Daniel - 3 years ago
After owning this board for a couple of months, i finally got my hands on a set of Futures AMT alpha fins (only now the distributor in the UK could get any).
The difference in the board with the AMT's is insane. so much more speed and drive, loose but heaps of control. the board goes like a cut snake from the off !
my experience with the Rocket 9 is if the waves are really punchy and hollow it'll work as a thruster, but if the waves are not so critical, the twinny trailer combo just raises the fun factor through the roof !
thanks again for the advice Noel, spot on as usual bro.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Mark Daniel So stoked you got a set. The Rocket 9 is a pretty sick board and it's super fun to play with the fins on this board too. Sounds like you have it dialed now. Cheers!!!
Jason G
Jason G - 3 years ago
Noel, another great review. Hands down the most informative surfboard reviews on Youtube. Enjoyed how you used the Trace to test fins and compared the speed. I've seen your other reviews and just demo'ed a Sampler at NLand Surf Park in Austin and kind of fell in love with it. I really enjoyed riding that board even though it was bigger than what I'm used to but went into my local surf shop and saw the Rocket 9. The employee helping me was really high on that board. My current go to boards are a Proctor G4+ 5'10 (26.7 liters) and a 5'9" Sci Fi (29.2 liters). I've been riding the G4+ when the waves are good and the the Sci-Fi in smaller stuff. I like the volume on the Sci-Fi and it paddles well for me. I live in South San Diego and mostly surf Sunset Cliffs, Ocean Beach, and PB. Occasionally, Blacks, Cardiff, and Swami's. Given my current quiver and surf spots, would you recommend the Sampler or the Rocket 9?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Jason G My pleasure!!! Let me know what you get and how it goes after you ride it a bit. Yew!!!!
Jason G
Jason G - 3 years ago
+Surf n Show Reviews thank you for the feedback Noel! You're the man!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Jason G Stoked you like the show!

I think you will love the Sampler as a small wave performance board in the 1-4 range. Great Summer board for sure.

The Rocket 9 is a bit more versatile and I think it goes good in 2-6 foot surf. It has a bit more rocker and a pulled in swallow tail so it will surf like a high performance short board.

Both boards are epic you just need to pick what you are looking for. The Sampler is a legit Groveler and the Rocket 9 is a good daily driver as a Thruster and maybe go Twin Fin with a small trailer for blazing speed in the small stuff. Cheers.
Francis Stanton
Francis Stanton - 3 years ago
Hi Noel, great show you have and thus love your advice as I'm heading to northern Indo and looking for a board that would suit 3ft to 4ft waves (head to near head and a half size waves) to suit reef break waves with semi steep faces to barreling waves again in the 3ft to 4ft range. I'm 6'4" in height and 215lbs. My surf skill level is intermediate / slightly advanced. I currently own a 6'1" New Flyer (with a rounded pin tail) which I purchased for this 3-4ft size surf range so as to ride it in hollow down the line point break waves and have struggled to enjoy ridding it and find it hard to get into waves (is that due tot he aggressive entry rocker?). I also have a 6'0" #4 groveler for 2-3ft waves which goes really well for me in all conditions (went really well in hollow / tubing beach break waves recently) apart form mushy soft days when I ride my 6'0" Pod Mod (I've found the Pod Mod is an awesome board in good shape waves as well and handles up to 3ft, I can see why you love it as well as you noted in your review for the Pod Mod). For the type of board I'm after would you think the Rocket 9 would suit or maybe perhaps the JS Monsta Box as an alternative? Love to hear your thoughts. Cheers, Frank.
CW Rodriguez
CW Rodriguez - 2 years ago
did you end up getting a Rocket 9? If so, what volume? I'm 6'2" 210 and was looking at the 6'1" PU
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Francis Stanton The NF does have a bit more rocker and that will slow your paddle a bit so maybe do a custom one next time with a little more volume.

The Rocket 9 will paddle better for sure with the point front of center and less rocker. I also like it because of the pulled in swallow for a bit more performance too. I think it will go good in 3-6 foot surf. Enjoy and let me know how it goes.
Francis Stanton
Francis Stanton - 3 years ago
Thanks for the insightful feedback as always Noel, great to get your perspective! Regarding the NF struggles, its just not so easy to paddle into waves and get up on my feet as early as on my other CI boards that I noted, and in hollow waves (especially over reef) I want to get into the wave as soon as possible to avoid super late drops. Is the latest with getting up on the NF due to the aggressive entry rocker it comes with? I see the Rocket would be far less aggressive in the entry rocker and thus easier to paddle and get up earlier? I kind of have to sell my NF to purchase the Rocket so need to make a call either way. Cheers again for your good work and great show!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Francis Stanton Stoked you like the show!!! I am happy to hear that you are enjoying your Pod Mod and #4. Not sure about your struggles on the NF but it should go good on your trip.

On another note I think you will enjoy the Rocket 9 and Fever for the wave size you are looking for. Both of these boards can handle steeper faced hollow waves.
Gabriel Frota
Gabriel Frota - 3 years ago
Hey Noel, great review!

I'm 23, 6'0 and 155 lb. Been surfing most my life but am probably in the intermediate range. What length board would you recommend for me? Been looking at the 5'8 and 5'9 mostly.

Thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Gabriel Frota My pleasure
Gabriel Frota
Gabriel Frota - 3 years ago
Thank you, you just confirmed what I was thinking!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Gabriel Frota I would say 5'8 for your weight. I think the 5'9 had too much volume and width for the type of wave you are describing. I don't like a super wide board in steep waves. That's my two cents. Let me know what you choose and how it goes.
Gabriel Frota
Gabriel Frota - 3 years ago
I have a couple couple twin fins. A 5'10 MR and a smaller one with keels. Don't know the liters for either. My shortboard is a rusty slayer. 5'9 and 26.9 L but it has felt super small for a while now.

Trying to get a board that works a bit better with steep faces than my twin fins but still in the small-mid waves range (for the fun beachies out front my house). I'm thinking this is the board i've been looking for but can't decide between the 5'8 or 5'9.

Kind of a tricky for you to answer but thanks in advance for your response.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Gabriel Frota Cheers glad you liked the review! What DIMS and boards are you riding right now?

20. comment for Channel Islands "Rocket9" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep 15

Adam Řehák
Adam Řehák - 3 years ago
Hey Bro! I'm looking for new board which will last me for long time and will be good for smaller waves and also there will be room for improve. Is this good choice? I was using Fish 6.0 mostly in Indonesia and i was fine but sometimes it felt little wider than should. Now i living in Vancouver so Tofino, Washington and Oregon are my spots but i will move to New Zealand in late 2017. Thanks a lot you rocks ! Im 175cm and 72kg.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Adam Řehák I think the Rocket 9 is very versatile and can go in 2-6 foot surf. I know that a wide range but it felt good in bigger surf because of the tail rocker. If you want it to last a long time you might want to consider getting it in the Flexbar construction. Just a thought.
chan ume
chan ume - 3 years ago
I have a Sampler but i love the Sampler in 2-5ft but it doesn't work well in OH range surf so I'm looking for a board going for 4-8ft wave. what would you recommend??
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
chan ume Then the Rocket 9 will work good.
chan ume
chan ume - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews I surf in LA amd OC area. I don't surf hollow barreled wave tho
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
chan ume it can hang but I would not recommend it for a Mini Step up in 4-8 surf. Are the waves hollow where you surf when it gets big?
chan ume
chan ume - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews how does the rocket9 go in OH range surf??
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
chan ume I really like the Black and White or Peregrine.
Kevin Wells
Kevin Wells - 3 years ago
Whats up Noel- Im grabbing a rocket 9, should I go standard PU or Flexbar?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
I would go Flexbar. So smooth..... great flex and feel. Let me know what you decide. Cheers!!
Ryan Comperatore
Ryan Comperatore - 3 years ago
Thank you for your review Noel.

I used the Large CI Tech 1 fins in my new Flex Bar Rocket 9 at Rincon on a bigger day and it was fine but I felt like I was doing the exact same turn over and over - which was pretty boring.

Saw your vid and got the True Ames Stussy Twin w/ trailer fin and OMG, I LOVE IT.
http://www.trueames.com/collections/system-fins/products/copy-of-s-double-twin-combo-set-futures-compatible.

I'd suggest these for ANYONE with a Rocket 9. They're the twin fin (w/ trailer) setup that is closest to a thruster but still 100% noticeably better on this board. I went from the same ol' boring turn... to what will the board do next!

Also - I want to say it helped that i could watch you surf on your Rocket 9's and see how well the twin/trailer setup worked for you. I needed proof on the twin setup to push me to take the plunge on yet another set of $100 fins. Worth every penny - thanks again.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
So stoked you found some fins to keep that board fresh and exciting. Thanks for the post and I hope this helps others that are looking for options on their Rocket 9. Cheers!!!
Top Private Chef
Top Private Chef - 3 years ago
Man I just purchased the rocket 9 and after 3 months it has pressure dings all over the top and sides. For such an expensive board they don't last!
Zach Manning
Zach Manning - 2 years ago
merricks last me years @john
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
John Pro What is your skill level? I like my HPSB to be my height at 5'9 and I will ride waves up to 6'. Bigger then that I go 5'11 and that can handle 6-8+. Bigger than that does not happen too often. My longest board is 5'11".
Top Private Chef
Top Private Chef - 3 years ago
Thanks so much for your help. How many inches taller would be good for waves that are over head? If I'm 5 6" I should be looking at a 6 0" or 6 2"?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
i would say Rook 15, Proton, or the new Fever. I think the Fever is coming out soon.
Top Private Chef
Top Private Chef - 3 years ago
Thanks so much... Which modle can you recommend as a good travel board for barreling reef breaks type of waves? Looking at the Black & White but does it have enough rocker?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
The Flexbar model and their EPS is a little bit more durable and yes the buoyancy is better than the normal PU. I would say the float is better by 1/2 to 1 full liter. I think the durability is ok on the Flexbar but the XTR Construction is way more durable. It will not have nearly the pressure dents as a PU or the EPS, or Flexbar board.I think that Rocket 9 can handle roughly 6 foot surf.
Top Private Chef
Top Private Chef - 3 years ago
Also, what size wave is the biggest it can handle? thanks so much...
Top Private Chef
Top Private Chef - 3 years ago
So is their flex bar model stronger and epoxy construction and will it naturally have a little more volume?
Top Private Chef
Top Private Chef - 3 years ago
Thanks...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Yea John thanks for the comment. I know they dent pretty easy but the flex and feel is good. Did you have a chance to watch the Construction review I just did this week? If you want a board that will last longer and dent less then I recommend the XTR Construction or Varial Foam with Polyester Resin. The XTR has great flex and it wont dent very easy either. These two types of boards will last quite a bit longer compared to PU. Let me know what you think.....
Miguel Marquina
Miguel Marquina - 3 years ago
Hey Noel, Do you think that a sampler 6'2 38.6 liters and a rocket 9 at 6'1 @ 37 liters are in the same wave category? I have come to understand that every liter makes a big difference, furthermore the outline and the contours play a major role when it comes to riding waves. For example, even though they might fall under the same wave performance category another board with slightly different dimensions and contours can allow you to excel better for a different wave type. I have a sampler and it's great for small surf, however when the wave gets big it begins to get a little clunky under my feet. The new flyer is great as well but I feel that it needs a little push in order to really get flying. My 3 board quiver consists of the sampler as a groveler plus, new flyer at 3' to overhead and the rook 15 for anything greater than that, however I feel there is a gap in my quiver between the sampler and the new flyer, I was thinking of filling that gap with the Rocket 9. What are your thoughts?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Well done in building your quiver and I agree that you could feel that gap between the boards in your quiver. The Rocket 9 will hit the spot for what you are looking for. However you should be concerned about the volume at 37 liters because you will feel the difference. I would try to get that volume closer 38 or 39 and some change. Maybe consider a custom Rocket 9 so you can get exactly what you want.
nigel forman
nigel forman - 3 years ago
I am 59 and purchased a 5'10" rocket 9 thruster fcs 2 fin plugs in November 2016. Found the board good, but lacked something. Tried several different fins just not right. Had my first surf today in 3' to 5' surf with MR twins and trailer in this board. So much faster and responsive. These fins are staying in. Thanks Noel for fin info.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
nigel forman So good to hear you figured it out. That board is so fun and fast with that set up. Thanks for the comment too. Cheers
Luke Sammann
Luke Sammann - 3 years ago
I just found this channel today and am definitely subscribing I am looking to buy a surfboard probly getting a mod pod which u also made a video on I appreciate they way u talk and show you on the board super helpfull
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Luke Sammann Sweet you will be stoked on that board!!!!
Luke Sammann
Luke Sammann - 3 years ago
Thanks I just got one yesterday and just got back from the beach to try it out i liked it a lot even though the waves were pretty crap and small but I had fun
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Epic!! Stoked you like the show and the Pod Mod is one of the best Groveler boards I have ever ridden. I also have friends that got one and they swear by it too. Let me know if you get one and how it goes for you. Cheers!!!
Matthew Jones
Matthew Jones - 3 years ago
How does the tail rocker on the Rocket 9 compare to the black and white? I have a 6'0 black and white and thinking about a rocket 9. Just thinking about how extreme the tail rocker is and how much it will hinder the board in smaller flatter surf...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Sorry for the delayed response. I think the B&W has more tail rocker than the Rocket 9. With that being said the Rocket 9 will be better is smaller surf compared to the B&W but I think the Sampler and Pod Mod work much better as Grovelers. I think the Rocket 9 is very versatile and would be a great 2 in 1 board for someone who wants one board to handle surf from 2-6 foot surf. Waist high and under PM or Sampler for me all day long. Just saying!!!
David Ramirez
David Ramirez - 3 years ago
Hey Noel, thanks for this amazing review! This review actually helped me pick this board.

I just got the Rocket 9 as a custom 5'8" with 29,2L. I'm 5'8, weigh 180 pounds and am from Costa Rica (I'm almost always surfing beach breaks like Hermosa on the weekends). I am new in the "twin fin world" and wanted to ask you about it since I want to try it out on this board after what you said on the fin set ups.

I have noticed twin fins don't come in your standard "S", "M" or "L" templates. Is this correct? I wanted to see if the MTF template you tried out will fit me and what size to get it in; according to my weght. I normally use "M" fins and they suit me perfectly, so I want the same in twin fins.

Also, I cant find the MTF model you mentioned on the Future Fin webpage... I think they are Channel Island fins but cant fin them on their webpage. Where can I find this set up? And how would you pick between those fins, the Futures AMT twin fin model and the Futures T1 twin fin model? These are all the models I can find for Twin fins for a Future fin box set.

Hope you can help me out with the fin set up! If you're ever in Costa Rica let me know and I'll hook you up with some nice surf spots.

Thanks,
David
David Ramirez
David Ramirez - 3 years ago
Noel, thank you again for taking the time out. This has really changed my way of looking at Large fins and Medium fins. For some reason I always thought that since the Large are bigger they would generate more drag and stop me from turning correctly, but this makes much more sense. Thank you so much!
I had just one last question > between the large thruster set up and the twin AMT fins, which would be better for small surf to generate speed? or turns? I was wondering about the difference between these two set ups in small surf.
Thanks again man, much appreciated!
David
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
David sorry for any confusion. I think you should try the AM2 (Large) fin your brother has on the Rocket 9 in small waves and just see if you notice the extra speed. It doesn't cost you anything right....
I am 5'9 at 170lbs and ride a Large fin 90% of the time. Granted I am not surfing hollow beach break like Hermosa every weekend but I think you could even ride a L fin in that hollow surf up to 3-4'. I want to maximize speed in smaller surf and when the waves get a little bigger I want to do more turns then I would switch to your Medium YU's.
The reason for riding a M fin in the bigger surf is to get the fins and rails working together and the M fin will help you control speed and not cause the tail to lift and make the board feel like its going to slide out. The boards of today inherently have enough lift in their designs already so we do not want the extra lift from a L fin in big waves.   
The AMT fin set just makes the Rocket 9 super fast in small waves and it helps drive through the mush on wave like Jaco beach. These fins will barrel ride just fine in 3-4' and under after that I would switch to your Medium YU's.
With all of this being said my point is to have fun and try multiple fin sets if you can afford it and change the feel of your board. This is what makes the Rocket 9 so versatile and fun to ride.
David Ramirez
David Ramirez - 3 years ago
I am so stoked you answered so quickly, thank you for taking the time out! Much appreciated.

What you have said makes perfect sense since Large fins normally have longer bases and more drive. I have been using the Medium Yu fins from Futures for the past year with my New Flyer model, they worked out perfectly and are great "all-rounders". I was torn away from Large fins because I felt they created too much resistance for my turns; but with what you have mentioned I will try some out on the Rocket. My brother has the Large AM2 fins so I'll steal them from him whenever it gets flat and mushy and give it a try haha how would Blackstix work on this board? I have the EA Blackstix 3.0 model and they are supposedly good for generating speed.

Last night, reading and looking at fins, I ran into your Channel Islands "Twin Fin" surfboard review and you do a great comparison between the AMT fins and the T1. Seeming as the AMT have less rake and are more pivotal (they like the pocket like I do) I'll buy those. Thank you for that review as well!

How big of a wave do you think the AMT could work in? Are these good for barrels? I regularly dont surf waves bigger than 8ft and summer is coming, so if we are lucky we'll get some nice 4-5ft barrels. I was just thinking if Twin fins (and the AMT, specifically) are only for small waves and I'll have to use my regular Thruster set up for when the waves get a bit steeper and bigger on the Rocket. But now that you mentioned I should use the Large thruster set up for when they are small and mushy, I am a bit confused!

Thanks for the response and sorry for the chatter, I'm just excited I found a great source for fin knowledge. It's hard to find people that know what they are talking about down here; wish I could sit and chat with people like you guys and spare myself some time and money!

David
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
David, thank you for the props on the review and I am stoked you like that Rocket 9. Twin fin sets come in large sets only because most twin fin boards have such a wide tail. When you ride a small wave board that has a wide tail (roughly 14.5 and wider) they work best with a Large fin because the wide tail creates resistance and propels the board forward. You want to enhance that with a large fin because the large fin will work much like the wide tail on small wave board by creating lift. More lift equals more speed..... I would also suggest you getting your hands on a set of regular thruster set in Large for those smaller mushy days. Your small wave boards will have way more drive. Here is the link on the Twin Fins that I recommend from the Futures web page. Cheers and I hope this helps!!! they are called the AMT Honeycomb. https://futuresfins.com/en-us/famt-robber-honeycomb-smoke-1117-110-00-detail

30. comment for Channel Islands "Rocket9" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep 15

yakovyarmo
yakovyarmo - 3 years ago
How is this board comparing to lost's rocket?
Palmbay Bali
Palmbay Bali - 2 years ago
Rocket vs Rocket9 The OG Rocket is way way more fun than the Rocket 9. Completely different boards. I also have two Samplers. Love them too. Rocket 9 is one of my least favourite boards i have ever purchased. Its not a dud its just not a stud! I tried to love it with all sorts of fins. Its like an olive. I keep trying to like the taste but it never taste good. :(
Chris Fan
Chris Fan - 2 years ago
I've ridden the Lost V2 rocket and the CI Rocket 9. They are definitely comparable boards. Both have a low entry rocket with high tail rocker. Unfortunately I only tried each as thruster only, not the twin trailer rocket 9. Lost rocket also has a wider nose outline and carries much more foam in the same height board. Lost rocket is easier to catch waves with. Rocket 9 is probably higher performance. Both boards turn super well and I feel surf in the pocket well. Rocket 9 probably surfs in the pocket better. Both are good SoCal boards. I think it's best to try both and figure out which one works better for you
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Sorry I have not ridden the Lost Rocket but some of my friends that ride Mayhems all the time love the Sampler. One of my friend loves the Rocket though too. Sorry not much help on this one.
Christopher Magcamit
Christopher Magcamit - 3 years ago
What does "slopey" mean in regards to waves?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Christopher Magcamit Glad to hear that it helped you out. Cheers
Christopher Magcamit
Christopher Magcamit - 3 years ago
Yea that definitely makes sense! I usually call those waves crumbly, but slopey works too. I appreciate you including your build in the review. It helps with giving the viewer a bit more perspective.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Slopey means the opposite of steep in regards to waves. The waves at Lowers don't have much consequence to them and that's why people refer to it as a skate park. It will have a steep lip every now and then to hit or boost on but for the most part you want a board that does not have too much rocker to maximize speed so you can be ready for those steep sections. I hope that makes sense.....
Peace Soup
Peace Soup - 3 years ago
Easyerly the best surfboard review show on the web. Surprised all the other Surfboard manufacturer's don't send you there demo's to review. Thanks Noel.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Cheers!!! Thanks that means a bunch to us here at Surf Show and Tell.
TRIKushbeachside
TRIKushbeachside - 3 years ago
Do you like the sampler or the rocket 9 more? Specifically as a board geared toward waist-shoulder high beach breaks. I surf central FL beach breaks like Sebastian inlet etc and am trying to decide between the sampler or the Rocket 9 as my "grovel" type of board. I love my black and white and Peregrine which are flatter like the sampler but I also love my DFR that has tons of rocker more like the rocket 9 so I'm basically stuck on which model to choose. Advanced skill level surfer just trying to decide which model is a better fit for the mushier and smaller days which is 75% of the time here in FL. Looking for a high performance board that is geared specifically towards slightly softer smaller beach breaks. Thanks!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
TRIKushbeachside Thanks for reaching out. I say Sampler 100% for small mushy beach break. I think the Rocket 9 has too much tail rocker to be true Groveler for me. The Sampler will have way more speed and drive through flat spots. That's my two cents.... cheers!!!!
Wyatt Jeffers
Wyatt Jeffers - 3 years ago
Even though they are different, I like Noel salas board reviews better than shred show Chris whatever his last name is board reviews for the simple fact Noel talks in a normal human voice about the sticks and backs it up with exceptional surf footage while shred show Chris guy just talks, screams and literally inappropriately molests the boards and doesn't really have any of his own footage to back up what he saying. So I like this guy Noel salas as best surfboard review guy on the YouTube !
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Wyatt thanks again for the props on the show. I think the Shred Show is pretty cool and Chris is very entertaining to listen too. Our shows are completely different even though we both review surfboards. Just two different styles but it's all for the common good in the surf community. Cheers!!!
Liam Rodriguez
Liam Rodriguez - 3 years ago
what is in your opinion the better board for french beachies? rocket9 or sampler?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
I would go for the Rocket 9 for sure!!!
Antonio Principe
Antonio Principe - 3 years ago
What are the twin fins called, Also when u order them it comes with a trailer fin right?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Antonio Principe They are called Twin Fin AMT RTM. Yes the board does come with these new Twin Fins and the small trailer.
CG WGGW
CG WGGW - 4 years ago
Hard to leave a review prior to riding the board. Just getting over an injury and have a freshy rocket 9 I am taking out this weekend. I am totally frothing. I love your reviews. Thx.
CG WGGW
CG WGGW - 4 years ago
Thanks for your time!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
I would go with the thruster set up for the beach break.
CG WGGW
CG WGGW - 4 years ago
For more of a hollower beach break - newps for example - what fin would you run. More of the mtf big sides with smaller trailer or a standard thruster?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Stoked to hear you like the reviews and that you got a fresh Rocket 9. You are going to love that board!!!!! Let me know how it goes for you..... Cheers!
Simon Meikle
Simon Meikle - 4 years ago
Great presentation , this boards design looks ideal for me .
MrREMBERY
MrREMBERY - 4 years ago
Hey there mate, nice review again. Can you tell me if there is a big difference between the future fin honeycomb and the channel islands RTM tech 1? If there is a difference what would that be? Cheers mate
MrREMBERY
MrREMBERY - 4 years ago
Thanks mate
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Glad you liked the review and thanks for the comment. Both fins feel the same to me and the only difference that I can see is the foam core honey comb inside the fin are larger In the RTM Tech 1. Cheers!
A Morgan
A Morgan - 4 years ago
Great review but the thruster issue/slowness really puts me off getting one - not feeling the current CI models. Lost have a way more user friendly range IMO.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+A Morgan I never tried that model but my favorite all around er for beach breaks is the Black and White. Low entry rocker and med to aggressive exit rocker.
A Morgan
A Morgan - 4 years ago
Thanks for the reply Noel. BTW, which is your favourite CI for an everyday all rounder in mostly average beach breaks? I have a few Remixs which I have loved - not sure whether you ever had that model.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks for the comment and I am glad you like the review. I think what makes the Rocket 9 fun is that you can ride as a thruster or with the 2+1 setup. Dane loves his as a thruster and I think many people will have a difference of opinion on what feels and works best for them when they try one. On a different note I think the Lost boards look good too and so do the Fire Wire's, JS's, DHD's, Hayden shapes etc.... but I am working on CI's at this time but maybe someday soon I will review some of these other models. Cheers!!!
LUI LUI
LUI LUI - 4 years ago
LOL
Luke
Luke - 4 years ago
very interesting about the twin fin set up ,small trailer being faster. i will give it a try.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+luke Armstrong let me know how you like it.
Luke
Luke - 4 years ago
no confusion. i did not word it properly. yes the side fins give more speed and drive than a normal 3 fin. will try it in small waves.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
The large side fins give you the drive not the trailer fin. Sorry for any confusion.
Nick Wilson
Nick Wilson - 4 years ago
Have you ridden Tanner's Shadowfax? I got my hands on one and ride it mostly in HB/Newport area when its good and the board is total magic for me. I was looking at a sampler for a small wave compliment because I loved the demo rides I had on it. The rocket 9 looks so much fun though, and I would order it in the same height... Which one would pair better with a HPSB for those smaller days?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
I have not ridden a Shadowfax yet but one of my friends swears by it. I have also seen Tanner out at Lowers shredding on his so I hope it becomes a model for sure so I can do a review on it soon. I am a little biased to the Sampler for small mushy waves because it goes so fast. The Rocket 9 is also really fun but it has a bit more tail rocker than the Sampler so it is not as fast in the mush or down the line in small waves for me. However the Rocket 9 can cross over to a bit bigger. punchier wave better than the Sampler so that's up to you. If you are strictly talking small mushy waves then Sampler all day long for me..... Cheers!
Liam Rodriguez
Liam Rodriguez - 4 years ago
another example why fin choice is important!!Great review! keep it up
Mad Prof
Mad Prof - 4 years ago
Can't help but think there's a bit too much tail rocker causing the loss of drive as a thruster. Reckon it could make the board a good choice for an average surfer in decent sized waves, easy wave catching and able to stay in the pocket.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
The tail rocker is medium and I think it is a good daily driver. Remember the Thruster set up is Danes favorite way to ride it even at Lowers where I surf. We all surf a bit different. The cool thing about this board is the options in which you can ride it. Thruster set up on steep beach break and twin fin set up with a small trailer for small mushy waves. This board is a good example of a 2 in 1. Very versatile.....
Waller Whittemore
Waller Whittemore - 4 years ago
I had not ridden a channel islands board in over 10 years, however after seeing this review and you ripping, I just recently grabbed a rocket 9. Above and beyond the best small wave board I have ever surfed in my life. I took your advice on the 2 + 1 fin setup and my god the board Flys while still maintaining a super skatey, but controlled feel. I have a new found love for small waves and Channel Islands surfboards thanks to the rocket 9. Thanks again for the epic review Noel, I could not be more stoked on the rocket 9!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Stoked you like the board Waller!!! The Rocket 9 is such a fun board and the fin set up is so fun to ride. It does make small wave surfing fun. Cheers and thank for commenting on the show.
Ignacio Del Busto
Ignacio Del Busto - 4 years ago
Hey, could you do some surf lessons(backside/frontside snap, bottom turns). You surf so naturally and i would personally love to see some surf tutorials from a surfer like you.
Thank you. Best wishes from Basque country, spain.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks for the comments on my communication skills that I really appreciate it. I love those tips from the pro's and they make is look so easy that's probably why the talk about it so simply too. If I do some technical on maneuvers it would be on how to gain speed in and out of your turns using your rails. Thank you again for the idea and request......
Nick Wilson
Nick Wilson - 4 years ago
I second that! Your reviews are the best out there because you're a great surfer but more importantly a really thorough and natural communicator. I hate reading trick tips or instructionals from CT pros or free surf giants like JJF or Dane. They're always like "basically, you just, like, get as much speed as possible, and make sure you look over your shoulder as you go inverted above the lip. Then just, like, stick the landing and ride away clean."
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks for reaching out and the request. You are the second person asking for this and I will consider it if the request get more frequent. Stoked your watching the show in Spain. Cheers!!!!
Justin Bordwell
Justin Bordwell - 4 years ago
Sal i bet pats works as a tri because he rides his longer...it would be neat to see you ride a 5'11 x 19 1/4 x 2 3/8
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
I think it would great stretched out in the custom DIMS I sent you.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
I think the 5'8" sounds good too!!! Let me know how it goes.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Thanks for the question. It sounds to me that you want it as more of a standard shortboard. If I were your height and our same weight I would order the Rocket 9 at 5'11 x 18 7/8 x 2 5/16 at 27.5 Liters. This would give me a little more volume to paddle into those hollow waves. If you need more volume then I would go 2 3/8 thick and the volume would be 28.2.
Justin Bordwell
Justin Bordwell - 3 years ago
Fab Tsalsa use the volume calculator and pick a board on the higher side. It wont feel boaty
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
I think you might be right..... I would only go 5'9" in length at the most for where I surf but that extra length will give me more drive like you are talking about. I would only go 5'11 on punchy beach break. Great idea though..... Thanks
Justin Bordwell
Justin Bordwell - 4 years ago
Or maybe 2 1/8 thick because you will get more volume with length and a thinner rail will sink and aid in projection
BLANK FACE LP TDE
BLANK FACE LP TDE - 4 years ago
LOVE That Song MY GUY!

50. comment for Channel Islands "Rocket9" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep 15

Matt Hannegan
Matt Hannegan - 4 years ago
Great video review.. Going to test ride 5'11" Rocket9 that got for Rip Curl in SC, Channel Island demo day.. plan to buy one tomorrow after my test ride.
BTW the way I use the Trace, I follow you on Trace, I also met with the Trace team in HB last month..great technology. Maybe I will see you out at Trestles some time.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Stoked to hear your going to test drive a Rocket 9 this weekend. Let me know how you like it... Yea I like my Trace unit. If you see me out there make sure you introduce yourself. Cheers!!!!
Water Dog
Water Dog - 4 years ago
In a head high, plus/minus, hollow beach break would you go with the Rocket 9 or Black & White?Also, the surf in your videos are seriously depressing me... what an insane wave (Lower Trestles) it's hard to believe it even exist.  Only surfed it once.... felt like I was cheating.
Water Dog
Water Dog - 4 years ago
Thanks.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Yes the wave is a joke... So good!!! I would go Rocket 9 in the small hollow stuff. A bit bigger I would go B&W.
Mike Smith
Mike Smith - 4 years ago
It reminds me of a late 80s twin fin my dad shaped for me.I broke it in 92
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
That's a pretty good memory you got there Mike.... Did you like the board?
Unsigned Artist Of The Week
Unsigned Artist Of The Week - 4 years ago
That board is nice dude! And where can I get that Song ??
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks and you can get that song on ITunes, Here is the URL to buy it.https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/west-coast-living-feat.-katie/id862575904
LEAK SQUAD
LEAK SQUAD - 4 years ago
Aye love the video man ! And perfect choice of Song for the video it had that true west coast feel!
Reese Lewis
Reese Lewis - 4 years ago
You should be on the CT wow your ripping.
Paul Barrera
Paul Barrera - 2 years ago
he used to be on the QS i think
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
That's an amazing compliment but those CT guys are on a whole different planet.....
Bon Summers
Bon Summers - 4 years ago
Fun colors
Bon Summers
Bon Summers - 4 years ago
okay okay, but not that music,…. do some earlier Americana music. Y'know, the new old.
Or, check out the vid of Kong Elkerton killing it at Bells Beach in 1983/1984("the early years", especially gouging at 3:05 to 3:20 on that vid),… and use that soundtrack,…. as a good example of a soundtrack to use. Everyone has an opinion y'know. I have to turn the volume off for the tune you have on the vid.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
You are so funny man. You asked me to change up the music and you see that I am open. I will check out the sound track you are talking about.... I am trying to get my hands on a bunch of music to make it different and fun. As always thank you for your comment because I value your opinion. Cheers!!!
Rafael Serrato
Rafael Serrato - 4 years ago
Great review! How would you compare the Rocket 9 and the Sampler? thanks!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Rafael Serrato Awesome!!! Let me know how it goes....
Rafael Serrato
Rafael Serrato - 4 years ago
+Surf Show and Tell Reviews thanks for the answer! you really helped me to decide.. the sampler will be a better choice.. I usually surf in a 1-2 feet beach break and its not punchy...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Great question and I think this is a great comparison. I think the Sampler has more speed down the line and a little wider tail so it will do better in small mushy waves. On the other hand the Rocket9 is more versatile because of the tail rocker so it can handle a bigger wave with some power and still do vertical surfing without feeling like the board is going to slide out. It also matters where your home break is. Punchy beach break I would want the Rocket9 because of the tail rocker but mushy beach break or even a wave with more slope to it I would want the Sampler. I hope this helps.... Cheers.
Scott Anderson
Scott Anderson - 4 years ago
Noel! Loved this board as a thruster, it was punchy Panama Beachbreak and tried the 2+1 but chose the Rocket9 in thruster setup is my new all-rounder. Great review.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks glad you liked the review. I did not try this board at a beach break. Dane said the same thing.... Now I need to go try it out in Oside or DMJS as a thruster. Cheers!!!

Similar videos
for Channel Islands "Rocket9" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep 15

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,354 views 4 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,332 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,642 views 4 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,499,998 views 9 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,070,994 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,478,941 views 2 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Related videos
to Channel Islands "Rocket9" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep 15

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,332 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,642 views 4 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,070,994 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,478,941 views 2 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

What's inside a Tesla Surfboard?

32,933 likes 2,767,374 views 1 year ago

Tesla made 200 limited edition surfboards, We try to Surf it then CUT IT OPEN! This video was sponsored by LastPass....

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,614,853 views 7 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

About Channel Islands "Rocket9" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep 15

The "Channel Islands "Rocket9" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep 15" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!