Channel Islands "Twin Fin" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 12

Click to buy: SURF STATION - https://www.surfstationstore.com/collections/channel-islands-surfboards/products/channel-islands-twin-fin-surfboard No obligation, but these links & ads help support the site and keeps the reviews coming! If you decide to buy somewhere else or would like to support the show, please donate at https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow This episode is about Channel Islands new surfboard model the “Twin Fin” with Noel Salas. This Twin Fin is custom tailored to Noel’s likings and he rides it in all different size waves and tests it thoroughly with three different fin types. Sit back and enjoy the review as Noel goes into detail about the attributes of this board and what makes it so special. He covers the rocker, concaves, outline, rails, and the tail of this fun little board. Noel states that he has been surfing since he was 9 years old he has never ridden a twin fin before. It took a bit of getting used to at first because the board is so loose and fast. It took roughly 8 days of shooting to accumulate the footage for this review and Noel is addicted to it’s speed and flow. It draws different lines with bursts of speed and loves to be on rail, says Salas. This board is very fun in waves from 1 to 5 feet and is a keeper for Noel’s quiver for this summer. Noel also compares the Twin Fin to another one of his favorite small wave boards by CI called the Pod Mod. The comparison between the two is night and day and the viewer will have a chance to see them both and make their own decision for summer. Here is what the Channel Islands website has to say about the Twin Fin: The Twin Fin has a retro 70’s feel, with updated performance qualities. It was originally designed and hand shaped by Britt Merrick when asked to compete in a surf contest where shapers ride retro boards they have created themselves. Inspired by a twin fin that his father Al had shaped for himself in the late 70’s, and that a friend had recently found at a garage sale, Britt took a template off it, drew it on a blank and updated the rocker to have a more modern feel with added positive drive and carving ability. Thus, the new CI Twin Fin was born. The Twin Fin has been tested by Britt, Dane and CI Factory pilots in everything from weak beach breaks to good Rincon and has proved to be a fast and fun wave catching machine.  To offset negative characteristics of a usual high-volume retro design, the Twin Fin’s rails are tapered and relatively thin feeling for added sensitivity and responsiveness.The Twin Fin comes with two CI Futures fins, perfectly tuned for the design, and an all-new CI trailer that we hand shaped and foiled at the factory just for this board. Ride the Twin Fin 2” to 4” shorter than you are tall; 1/2” to 1” wider, and 1/8” to 1/4” thicker than your normal shortboard.#CITwinFin

Channel Islands "Twin Fin" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 12 sentiment_very_dissatisfied 8

Reviews 4 years ago 65,722 views

Click to buy: SURF STATION - https://www.surfstationstore.com/collections/channel-islands-surfboards/products/channel-islands-twin-fin-surfboard No obligation, but these links & ads help support the site and keeps the reviews coming! If you decide to buy somewhere else or would like to support the show, please donate at https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow This episode is about Channel Islands new surfboard model the “Twin Fin” with Noel Salas. This Twin Fin is custom tailored to Noel’s likings and he rides it in all different size waves and tests it thoroughly with three different fin types. Sit back and enjoy the review as Noel goes into detail about the attributes of this board and what makes it so special. He covers the rocker, concaves, outline, rails, and the tail of this fun little board. Noel states that he has been surfing since he was 9 years old he has never ridden a twin fin before. It took a bit of getting used to at first because the board is so loose and fast. It took roughly 8 days of shooting to accumulate the footage for this review and Noel is addicted to it’s speed and flow. It draws different lines with bursts of speed and loves to be on rail, says Salas. This board is very fun in waves from 1 to 5 feet and is a keeper for Noel’s quiver for this summer. Noel also compares the Twin Fin to another one of his favorite small wave boards by CI called the Pod Mod. The comparison between the two is night and day and the viewer will have a chance to see them both and make their own decision for summer. Here is what the Channel Islands website has to say about the Twin Fin: The Twin Fin has a retro 70’s feel, with updated performance qualities. It was originally designed and hand shaped by Britt Merrick when asked to compete in a surf contest where shapers ride retro boards they have created themselves. Inspired by a twin fin that his father Al had shaped for himself in the late 70’s, and that a friend had recently found at a garage sale, Britt took a template off it, drew it on a blank and updated the rocker to have a more modern feel with added positive drive and carving ability. Thus, the new CI Twin Fin was born. The Twin Fin has been tested by Britt, Dane and CI Factory pilots in everything from weak beach breaks to good Rincon and has proved to be a fast and fun wave catching machine.  To offset negative characteristics of a usual high-volume retro design, the Twin Fin’s rails are tapered and relatively thin feeling for added sensitivity and responsiveness.The Twin Fin comes with two CI Futures fins, perfectly tuned for the design, and an all-new CI trailer that we hand shaped and foiled at the factory just for this board. Ride the Twin Fin 2” to 4” shorter than you are tall; 1/2” to 1” wider, and 1/8” to 1/4” thicker than your normal shortboard.#CITwinFin

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Channel Islands "Twin Fin" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 12

The BenSman
The BenSman - 1 year ago
Love it! I’m learning a ton about board design, modern innovation, fin combinations AND digging the shred session. Love the 360, tail slides, etc.!
Levi Kainalu
Levi Kainalu - 1 year ago
Is it just me or do the side fin boxes seem to be placed really far forward?
Nimrod Barajas
Nimrod Barajas - 2 years ago
I'm 78 kg and 1.74 mt, what size should get i me?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Nimrod Barajas How does this board float you?
Nimrod Barajas
Nimrod Barajas - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews currently riding 6'0, 18.75, 2.38 27.9lt, lost tube pig
Nimrod Barajas
Nimrod Barajas - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews, ok 5'9'' and 172 lb,
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Nimrod Barajas What size Groveler are you currently riding right now and what are the liters? Please send your weight over in pounds and your height in feet and inches. Thanks
Nimrod Barajas
Nimrod Barajas - 2 years ago
Cuantos kg pesas?, noel
BRADEN BADUA
BRADEN BADUA - 2 years ago
Originally got the board in 6'0" at 36.5 L in Fusion Dual Core. Immediately realized that the board was way too buoyant. I took your "pod mod" advise and went smaller. I traded in the 6'0" for a 5'8" at 29 L in Fusion Dual Core. I got the model with all FCS II boxes. Now I can surf it as a twin, twin + trailer, or a thruster. This board is rocket ship. The entry, staged and exit rocker makes it fast and loose. I like the fact that I can use it as a shredder or as a cruiser. Thanks for the great review Noel.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
BRADEN BADUA Yewww... so stoked you found a magic sled.
Brando Black
Brando Black - 2 years ago
Hey Noel, I'm about to order one of these and I was wondering how you sized it for yourself. Did you stick with your shortboard volume or go up?
Also unrelated question, have you incountered that weird volume amount where the board is just enough over volume to where you get hung up in the lip? Like if you rode a 29 or 30 Liter shortboard instead of your 26 L? I guess it would happen because it's not enough volume to help your paddle glide so you get in early but also a little too much volume for a late drop style take off because your body weight isn't forcing you down the face as much.
Thanks for your help. Youre a plethora of knowledge and I really appreciate all the time you put into what you do
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Brando Black I sized mine around my HPSB or Groveler Liters. I don’t like my boards with too much float because I feel like my turns are in slow motion. Yes you can feel like you get hung up because it takes time for a board that has a lot of foam to respond to your weight shift in between turns. I see this a lot with intermediate surfers and girls surfers that ride boards with too much foam.
kevin james
kevin james - 2 years ago
great job on this video! I love riding twin fin boards. I'm always looking for a more high performance twin fin that the traditional classic fish! I defiantly interested in this board now. you should check out this board https://www.carrozzasurfboards.com/blogs/news/high-performance-small-wave-twin-fin
Ryan The Rock
Ryan The Rock - 2 years ago
Hi Noel great review and you really rip! I am a beginner-intermediate shortboarder (2 yrs) and ride hybrids mainly.Im a big guy 6'4 and approx 210lbs...im looking at getting a twin like this...would a twin be a good 2nd board in my surf progression or do you think a high performance SB would be a better option? I currently ride a 6'3 hybrid
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Ryan The Rock Glad you like our show. I would hold off on a HPSB at this time in your surfing. They can be a bit difficult to ride. I think a Twin Fin would be a good addition to your quiver. They are really fun and loose.
AJ J
AJ J - 2 years ago
Watched this review about 10 times, thanks Noel! Just bought mine and had the last week on a surf trip to work it out. It's super drivey and loose and I found it totally different to a HPSB. It works really well in long lined up surf. You can really lay into carves and it holds a rail much longer than a regular SB. It has a beautiful performance outline which surprised me yet you can still get those lovely fishy high lines! I'm 5'11 and 160lbs, upper intermediate and I went for a 5'9 but I reckon a 5'7 would work too..surf is pretty mushy and cold here though so I always go for the extra volume. Hope that helps someone out there :)
AJ J
AJ J - 2 years ago
Finally got centre fin box changed out to Futures and set up same as MR SuperTwin. Riding it as a thruster now with Large fins..thanks Noel for the tip ;)..it is properly awesome..really a game changer for me.
AJ J
AJ J - 2 years ago
5'9 stock (30.7L)..it is one of the ghost shapers we get in Europe so not shaped by CI in Ventura. The glass job is weak and not sure they got the placement of the rear fin box right so sent it to a local shaper to put in a regular Futures centre fin box. Waiting on a bunch of new fins now to give it another spin..
kevin james
kevin james - 2 years ago
what dimensions did you get?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
AJ J So stoked you found a nugget!!! Cheers and thanks for posting.

10. comment for Channel Islands "Twin Fin" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 12

Jack Miao
Jack Miao - 2 years ago
Looks like your local spot is crowded
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jack Miao Very crowded....
Augusto Barrantes
Augusto Barrantes - 2 years ago
Amazing review, just bought that board a week ago, Im gonna ride it this weekend, greetings from Peru!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Augusto Barrantes Yewwww So stoked for you the Twin Fin is so epic! Let me know how it goes for you. Cheers
JRock888
JRock888 - 2 years ago
I want one... Is there such thing as surfboards anonymous for addicts like me?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
J-Rock Classic.... I want to try every board that looks sick.
elb2018
elb2018 - 2 years ago
Hey noel, bought this board a few months back after seeing your review, just wondering if you’ve ever tried it as a thruster? Have heard from a few people now that it goes sick as thruster also and gives it a little more control in the juicier stuff
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
elb2018 Love Buzz sounds good. CI is making changes to the Flexbar Technology from what I heard.
elb2018
elb2018 - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews if you do a review of spinetek could you do a comparison between that and flexbar?
Pretty sure I know which Hs is in the pipeline. You’ll have to ask haydo for a love buzz down the line, think that’ll suit your style for sure
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
I think the Spinetek is coming to the US. I do have 1 more HS board in in the review pipeline but it's kind of a secret. Ha....
elb2018
elb2018 - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews so much fun that board. Do you know if ci guys in the states are bringing out the new spinetek construction or if it’s just in oz? Also do you have anymore HS boards in the review line?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
elb2018 That sounds epic... I have not tried mine as a thruster because my center fin box can only handle the little FCS fin that the board comes with. I was thinking of ordering another one with all three Futures boxes so it can be more versatile. Thanks for the heads up and I am stoked you like yours. Such a sick board!!!
P A
P A - 2 years ago
Mahalo bruddah for all your reviews. I only surfed Lost RNF the last 10 years. I feel like everyone finally caught up and after watching all your reviews I am sold on my mainland quiver: #1 CI Twinfin, #2 CI Rocket 9. Now searching CL!! Cheers!
P A
P A - 2 years ago
CI not CH lol. Keep up the good work!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Glad you like the show!!! I heard that Lost RNF is a fun board. I still have my CI Twin Fin too... super fun board. Happy hunting on CL for your next board. Cheers!
3style4life
3style4life - 3 years ago
cheers mate ! Got me motivated to take this little trailer fin out, thanks for that.
Besides, I have ridden this board (5'8" x 19 1/4 x 2 3/8) already few times in small surf and it's a blast ! Love it from the very beginning, it has this sudden speed, it turns really as you wish and if you want to get loose on the lip, it simply goes so smooth, but on the other hands it catches later traction so you can continue to go down the line... for me, simply one of the nicest boards I've had and I guess it will remain one of my favourites :)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
3style4life Epic.... so stoked you love your Twin Fin. I still have mine too and it's super fun to pull it out and go get a few waves on it. It keeps surfing so fun for me.
Bernardo Ribas Sernas
Bernardo Ribas Sernas - 3 years ago
Bravo!! Noel Salas, best explanation, clear and fast. Thanks from an old timer surfer in Ibiza Island. Berni Ribas.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Epic.... glad you like the show!!!
Dawson Bolus
Dawson Bolus - 3 years ago
Good review!... but why did they copy DHD's †he twin, replicate the same outline and even call it the same name but still not give Darren credit. Unethical
Dawson Bolus
Dawson Bolus - 3 years ago
He maybe was inspired back in the 80's but I'm thinking they saw the high demand in the DHD version and Asher Pacey's popularity and got inspired $$$
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Dawson Bolus on the other hand .... the CI Twin Fin is a remake of a Twin Fin made by Al from back in the 80's according to CI.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Dawson Bolus I just looked at the DHD site and it does look really similar. Now I want to go to a shop and check one out.....
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Dawson Bolus I will have to check out the DHD your talking about. Glad you liked the review. Cheers!!!
Claudia Clastre
Claudia Clastre - 3 years ago
this guy is really good surfer and explain so good! thank you from Barcelona
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Epic... I am so stoked you are enjoying the show in Spain!!! When you have some time have a look at our new Website and let me know what you think. I love how you can compare two boards side by side and see what will work best for you. Cheers!! www.surfnshow.com
Andrew Malcolm
Andrew Malcolm - 3 years ago
I love this review...so much good information and you absolutely shred! I really like this twin fin and I'm really interested in getting one. I'm lower intermediate, 165 pounds and 6ft tall...what size would you recommended?
Andrew Malcolm
Andrew Malcolm - 3 years ago
I was thinking the same. I'm riding a 6'2 x 21,13 x 2, 62 @ 35.9 litres Rusty Dwart at the moment..
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Stoked you like the review!!! I was thinking the stock DIMS on the 5'11 look pretty good for your weight and height. What are the DIMS and volume of the board you are riding right now?

20. comment for Channel Islands "Twin Fin" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 12

javier matos
javier matos - 3 years ago
Top review thanks for the feedback with the fins
Carlos Rodrigues
Carlos Rodrigues - 3 years ago
Best surfboards reviews ever, real informative about what they suposed to do in a wave, surfboard construction details and how fins can offer diferent rides, all in wow !!! Really like this Twin Fin review, the last one i had was 10 years ago, i´m really interested one of these, i´m 5´9 , 165 lbs, intermediate + surfer, should i go whith the stock 5'9 ? Or go custom maybe a 5´6 or 5´7 in what liters ? Thinking about 28/28.50 liters ? What do you think ? The one i had was a retro twin whith 30 lt +- , but this one has performance and i don´t want to loose that, paddle power is important too .
My HPSB are around 27.50 LT, i do 40 years in october , getting older :) Thanks in advance , Carlos .
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Carlos Rodrigues My pleasure!!! Let me know what you get and how it goes.
Carlos Rodrigues
Carlos Rodrigues - 3 years ago
Unfortunetely, i´m in Portugal and in my local area there are no Ci Twins in stock . Kind of undicided, but i think on going custom, Thanks a lot Noel .
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Carlos Rodrigues Maybe you can find a shop that you can demo the stock 5'7"?

I think you will be fine with the custom 5'7 in 1-4 surf with 1 extra liter. It will give you that extra paddle and speed down the line.
Carlos Rodrigues
Carlos Rodrigues - 3 years ago
Thanks for the advice, i think that i will go custom whith 5'7 x 19 1/4 x 2 7/16 @ 28.2 , i hope i don´t regret going a liter more in this kind of board .
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Carlos Rodrigues Thanks for the props on the show!!!

I would not go Stock 5'9 for you..... to much volume.

I think your good with the stock 5'7@ 27.6 liters. If you want to go custom then how about 5'7 x 19 1/4 x 2 7/16 @ 28.2 liters.

My honest opinion is go with the stock 5'7 because of the wide nose and wide point front from center. They paddle great.

I hope this helps.... let me know what you get and how it goes.
Daniel Geraldo
Daniel Geraldo - 3 years ago
This guy is the best surfboard reviewer!
I'll check all his work now. Thanks Noel.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Daniel Geraldo Epic!!! Thanks for supporting the show. I hope you like the rest of the reviews and they help you find the answers your looking for.
fazorba
fazorba - 3 years ago
What the fins model or name?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
fazorba The fins I am using on the Twin Fin for this review come with this board when you purchase it. They are called AMT on the Futures Fins website but the new trailer fin you can only get from CI. I hope this answered your question. Cheers
ANTN
ANTN - 4 years ago
Im not even here about the board! Im just here to watch you shred!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Chapta Dubs Thanks for the epic comment.
Macon Bauer
Macon Bauer - 4 years ago
Hey Noel, thanks for getting back to me. Quick question, I'm 5"6" in shape but have a bigger build weighing in at 165 lbs. I would say I'm an intermediate surfer doing more rail surfing on my other twin. What size would you recommended for a guy like me?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
What is the volume  on your other Twin Fin? I would try to get the volume roughly the same or close. You could custom and order a 5'6 and get your liters around 28-30 or you could get the Stock 5'9. I think the 5'9 might be a little long for you because you are 5'6 so you might need to go custom.
Macon Bauer
Macon Bauer - 4 years ago
Hey Noel this video helped a lot. Thank you for the great information and it sums up a lot of confusion I had about some of the other boards as well. Keep on the shred sled your killing it.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Good to hear and thanks for commenting. That's one of the main purposes of the show. Cheers!!!
Jetty1502
Jetty1502 - 4 years ago
the twin fin in all conditions = fun. Especially fast sandspit type of spots.
Jetty1502
Jetty1502 - 4 years ago
the twin fin in all conditions = fun. Especially fast sandspit type of spots.
Jetty1502
Jetty1502 - 4 years ago
the twin fin in all conditions = fun. Especially fast sandspit type of spots.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Sounds like a fun place to ride the Twin Fin. I have never surfed Sand Spit or even a wave close to that hollow. I would like too.... Cheers

30. comment for Channel Islands "Twin Fin" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 12

Brian Sullivan
Brian Sullivan - 4 years ago
Bro!! Great reviews!! You are ripping and really insightful. Thanks!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Cheers glad you like the show. Thanks for watching and commenting.
Rad-Dad
Rad-Dad - 4 years ago
Also in my 40's and still ripping. Looking sharp Noel - snappy and active on the wave. Frothin' for a CI Twin. New Flyer is the best board i have ever owned.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks and you will love the Twin Fin..... Cheers!
Torrey B
Torrey B - 4 years ago
Don't happen to have one for sale, do you?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Sorry Torrey I don't have one for sale at the moment.
PAGGETTI VINCENT
PAGGETTI VINCENT - 4 years ago
Pfffff surfed twice and two big holes already on the deck.....Nowadays surfboards are biiiiig shit !!!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Sorry to hear that your board has two holes in it. What happened? Did you get this new CI Twin Fin?
James Conway
James Conway - 4 years ago
I wish you compared the twin fin to a mtf altered.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
That would be fun. I never tried the MTF...
BrianSurfs
BrianSurfs - 4 years ago
Instantly subscribed awesome review here with the video interlaced
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks Brian... Stoked you liked it. That Twin Fin is a blast.
Bon Summers
Bon Summers - 4 years ago
Check out the vid of Fistral Newquay 1981, shows Shaun Tomson ripping on a twin.
But the surfing in this vid is more loose ripping,…. great stuff.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Awesome thanks I will check it out. I surfed with Shaun Thompson last week at Lowers. He is fun to surf with and still ripping.... I had never met him before last week. Cheers!!!
Julie Arsenault
Julie Arsenault - 4 years ago
Fantastic way of explaining. Thanks for your knowledge
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
My pleasure! Stoked you liked it and thanks for the comment.
Caio Ribeiro
Caio Ribeiro - 4 years ago
Hands down, and by far, the best surfboard review on line. Too bad that only CI Surfboards are been reviewed. I mean, that's great, but could be better if, for example, Firewire Surfboards would be included too. Congrats.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Stoked you liked the review and I feel your pain on the other boards out there. I am really stoked on my CI's and I can only do so many reviews in a year and right now I have my hands full with all the new CI models coming out. It takes me roughly 1 month to gather footage and do a review. Thank you for the props on the show.....
chan ume
chan ume - 4 years ago
Great review!! and when i saw this twin fin i thought it looks similar to wired ripper. and i am thinking to try to put those twin fin setup on wired ripper. what do you think??
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Glad you liked the review. The Twin Fin and WR are totally different in so many ways but I like the way your thinking. Putting a twin fin setup in the WR sounds like a fun experiment. Give it a go and let me know what you think.
lestliness
lestliness - 4 years ago
Great show... are you only going to review CI boards?
Mike Harrelson
Mike Harrelson - 4 years ago
Quid pro quo? Whatever, solid info and clean surfing.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
I am glad you like the show. Yes, I am only reviewing CI boards.
Valdo van Zyl
Valdo van Zyl - 4 years ago
Awesome review Noel, such great info!! You actually helped me to make a difficult choice between getting a traditional keel fish twin or a high five or pod mod. I'm currently riding a weirdo ripper 70% of the year and when the waves are right for it, it's the best board I've ever had, but it can be temperamental. This twin fin would be a great add to the quiver for those days the weirdo wouldn't quite do the job. What's great about your reviews is that you actually have good footage of you surfing the board and you can get a really good idea of how it goes. Great surfing btw!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Valdo van Zyl Yes, this Twin Fin is a great groveler. Super fast and responsive in small waves.
Valdo van Zyl
Valdo van Zyl - 4 years ago
One last question, do you think this board is suitable as a small wave groveller?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks and I am so glad the reviews are helping you make good choices for your quiver. Thanks for reaching out. Cheers!
Matthew Jones
Matthew Jones - 4 years ago
what do you think about going a bit thicker than stock....2 7/16? is it gonna sit to high in the water? planning on using it in the small stuff mainly...my local is pretty flat faced and can be weak...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Matthew Jones So your thinking of going custom? I think the paddle on the board is really good because of the area in the board front from center and I don't like too much float. Too much float makes it hard to string along good turns in a row. Sometimes when I have boards that have too much foam my first turn is good but my second turn is off then my 3rd turn is better. Too much foam takes for ever to turn in my book especially on small waves. That's my 2 cents but in the end you know how you surf and what you like. If you are going to add the thickness then maybe make the board shorter so it's more responsive......
Matthew Jones
Matthew Jones - 4 years ago
Thanks Noel.....I've been surfing 28 years so I'd say advanced...One of the guys at CI recommended 5'7 today so that's matches your idea. Keep up the good work!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Matthew Jones 5'7 for sure! Good advice from the CI guys..... They do a great job and know their stuff too. Cheers!!!
Matthew Jones
Matthew Jones - 4 years ago
Great review once again! I've never ridden a twin fin and am a bit nervous about not being able to generate speed from a centre fin. What's your thoughts? I'm 5'10 and 75 and vol my boards around 27 to 29ltrs...What do you reckon on volume and size on the twin?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Matthew Jones Glad you liked the review. These Twin Fins are so fast that you don't have to worry about generating speed from the center fin. Just use the small trailer that comes with the board and you will have all the speed you need. That small trailer fin will also help you with control. I think if you are an advanced surfer then I would go with the stock 5'7 and if you are a intermediate surfer then I would go with the 5'9. Let me know how it goes when you get one. Cheers!
Yuno mi
Yuno mi - 4 years ago
Another awesome review. I just checked out a 5'5" stock dims this afternoon. I'm on the fence about the tiny center fin. I have the MTF and really like the Futures center fin on that board. It's slightly larger than the one on the new Twin fin I saw this afternoon. I believe the two front fins on the MTF are the same as the one on this newer model. The MTF is a very pockety board, i'm surprised this board with very similar outline and fins set up is not.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Yuno mi Thanks and I am glad you liked the review. You are correct about the MTF fins being the same as the new yellow fins that come with the board. I don't have much feed back for you on the small center fin because I have never tried the one that you are talking about. I liked the little fin and most of the sessions in the review I am using it. I also cannot give you feedback on the old MTF board and this new one because I never had a chance to try it. This board is super fun though and every time I rode it I had fun!!! Cheers....
Taico Alves
Taico Alves - 4 years ago
Acessem review... I agree 100%
Vaughan Heilman
Vaughan Heilman - 4 years ago
great review! makes me consider twin fin on my little 5'6 hybrid fish (quad now). cool revert at the end!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Vaughan Heilman Thanks... Let me know how your board goes as a twin fin. Cheers!!!
kilian schuett
kilian schuett - 4 years ago
Amazing review !
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+kilian schuett Thank you so much!! This board was so much fun to ride.... Bummed the review for this one is over. On to the Black & White now so stay tuned in.
fishskulls76
fishskulls76 - 4 years ago
Looks like fun for sure!

50. comment for Channel Islands "Twin Fin" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 12

Gordon Flash
Gordon Flash - 4 years ago
Great review!
Dthraco
Dthraco - 4 years ago
I really like how you do a very thorough review AND include video of you surfing the board. You rip, and it's great to see the board in action.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
+Dthraco Thank you and I am glad you like the show!

Similar videos
for Channel Islands "Twin Fin" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 12

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,382 views 4 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,366 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,672 views 4 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,022 views 9 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,017 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,478,969 views 2 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Related videos
to Channel Islands "Twin Fin" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 12

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,366 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,672 views 4 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,017 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,478,969 views 2 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

What's inside a Tesla Surfboard?

32,933 likes 2,767,402 views 1 year ago

Tesla made 200 limited edition surfboards, We try to Surf it then CUT IT OPEN! This video was sponsored by LastPass....

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,614,870 views 7 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

About Channel Islands "Twin Fin" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 12

The "Channel Islands "Twin Fin" Surfboard review by Noel Salas Ep 12" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!