Dana 24 Boat Review

Pacific NW Boater presents a Latitudes & Attitudes TV review of the venerable Dana 24 pocket cruiser, now being built in Seattle, WA. Boat provided by Seacraft Yacht Sales. For more information visit http://www.seacraft.com.

Dana 24 Boat Review sentiment_very_dissatisfied 20

Reviews 12 years ago 216,626 views

Pacific NW Boater presents a Latitudes & Attitudes TV review of the venerable Dana 24 pocket cruiser, now being built in Seattle, WA. Boat provided by Seacraft Yacht Sales. For more information visit http://www.seacraft.com.

Show More

Advertising
LuxoGear Emergency Whistles with Lanyard

LuxoGear Emergency Whistles with Lanyard

Shop now »
NOCO Genius GEN5X2, 2-Bank, 10A (5A/Bank) Smart Marine Battery Chargers

NOCO Genius GEN5X2, 2-Bank, 10A (5A/Bank) Smart Marine Battery Charger

Shop now »
ADVERTISING
LuxoGear Emergency Whistles with Lanyard

LuxoGear Emergency Whistles with Lanyard

Shop now »
NOCO Genius GEN5X2, 2-Bank, 10A (5A/Bank) Smart Marine Battery Chargers

NOCO Genius GEN5X2, 2-Bank, 10A (5A/Bank) Smart Marine Battery Charger

Shop now »
RHINO USA Boat Trailer Transom Straps (2PK)

RHINO USA Boat Trailer Transom Straps (2PK)

Shop now »
LUCKY Kayak Portable Fish Depth Finder

LUCKY Kayak Portable Fish Depth Finder

Shop now »
Seaview 180 V3 Full Face Snorkel Mask

Seaview 180 V3 Full Face Snorkel Mask

Shop now »

Most popular comments
for Dana 24 Boat Review

Rimas Meleshyus
Rimas Meleshyus - 4 years ago
Great Dana 24 sailboat the best sailing around the world ,look like me alone. Super awesome sailboat ,do not need bigger than this so perfect. Thank you so so much for this video. My all photos sailing around the world on Facebook page. My page extremely beautiful ,many people like it very much. Thank you.
Knapweed
Knapweed - 5 years ago
Not much point in going small when it costs more than the average thirty footer.
A Lost One
A Lost One - 5 years ago
Bob Bitchin???
Carlos
Carlos - 5 years ago
LED lights with dimmers to allow less power consumption, C'mon, looks like the dimmers will impact somehow the power consumption which is not true.
Monte W
Monte W - 5 years ago
The most beautiful sailboat under 25 feet I've ever seen! She's a looker !
victor pujalte
victor pujalte - 5 years ago
El velero más bonito de los que he visto.... es arte puro.....Gracias
PapaidoDeki e Kin
PapaidoDeki e Kin - 5 years ago
Beauty!!!!!!!!
John Collings
John Collings - 5 years ago
I want one?
SeikiBrian
SeikiBrian - 5 years ago
Is that a question? Aren't you sure if you want one or not? Or did you mean "I want one!"?
Mile Akin
Mile Akin - 6 years ago
What a beautiful little boat!

10. comment for Dana 24 Boat Review

symon smith
symon smith - 6 years ago
5 star. thank you
7.62 full metal
7.62 full metal - 6 years ago
I no longer have a chubby !
7.62 full metal
7.62 full metal - 6 years ago
bloody nice boats ! ive got a major chubby going on !
J T
J T - 6 years ago
Go small, go now...go broke.
Freddy R.
Freddy R. - 6 years ago
What is the new price for a dana 24
greetings from Germany
SeikiBrian
SeikiBrian - 5 years ago
The Dana 24 is no longer being made.
floflo617
floflo617 - 7 years ago
I truly find the dana24 concept beautiful but think you should offer packages with trimmed down interiors and less teak. Keep the old proven seakindly design coupled with strong build without the frivolous teak and needlessly expensive cabinets, stainless steel ports etc... Make it more affordable without sacrificing the basic and it could be a great package for explorers.
floflo617
floflo617 - 7 years ago
Full disclosure, I am considering switching my 29foot cutaway forefoot for a deep draft mini 6.50 type boat so I may be a little biased at the moment
floflo617
floflo617 - 7 years ago
Chucky cheese maybe, I'm no expert and I have not been in one but I would not say a 35 footer is of similar size. otherwise you could say an 18 footer is of similar size to a 24. Besides, appart from structural pieces, the interior is not critical. My boat has white Formica all over. I find it great.
Chris Wyse
Chris Wyse - 7 years ago
Have you checked out the Solana 33 or Beneteau Oceanis 35? Slightly larger boat then this at a good price, inside more akin to "chuck-e-cheese" level quality but def newer design/mfr.
floflo617
floflo617 - 7 years ago
I agree, they are pretty and probably quite tough. love the details like raised deck around stanchions etc. I do believe, though, that the future is with infusion building techniques to produce lighter hulls without sacrificing strength. it's also good to know no one has forfeited their lungs in the process. And for having spent days refinishing wood instead of sailing, the less wood on a boat, the happier I am.
Chris Wyse
Chris Wyse - 7 years ago
This video is pretty old, boat is not being built anymore. I don't know about you but I've been on many of the new boats (almost none of which are less $$ then this boat) and they might sail great, but feel no where near as solid.
floflo617
floflo617 - 7 years ago
beautiful boat but way too expensive. 150k for a slow 24 foot sailboat of yesteryears' design?? However, beautiful deck layout. Love the coamings and the bowsprit, The traveller looks like a toy on the other hand. Too much energy spent in cabinets and gizmos. I don't like the floor liner. If you're going traditionnal, at least leave the fiberglass fully accessible. That's one of the big advantage of old sailboats. And sorry but that engine is going to be a giant pain to maintain in this tight space unless there is another way to it from the cockpit. It's more about having a precious little jewel than "going small going now". Plenty of good old boats with solid bones to satisfy that saying.
BS Adventures!
BS Adventures! - 7 years ago
Its a nice looking boat! Ill give you $500 bucks for her!
SassyHershsey SassyHershey
SassyHershsey SassyHershey - 8 years ago
Pocket cruisers are the best, no matter how large the vessel, they still are on the same ocean and so, you will always feel cramped not cozy after one evening. I loved sailing for 20 years on an Alberg 30 - but it wasn't mine. My best friend had mechanics in his blood, owned a Marina and we enjoyed fall sailing (summer is too hot) and I loved those memories even now. I spent almost 10 years looking at Albergs' Cape Dory's (bankrupt) and of course fell in love with Pacific Seacraft - that "salty traditional look never fails or I wouldn't be writing you all. I noticed the open floor plan worked. A Dana was perfect. But you pay for that Bentley by twice. This particular vessel costs a cool  2200K - new, but because they are hand made you buy a machine worth 65K (say a BMW) and goes down in value right away. That warm tropical lagoon is the hook - cheaper to fly to the Islands and rent a boat. Trust me, 30 years of sailing I wanted a Dana 24, but as you get older you need dentists and doctors - good luck in the Islands 50 miles out at sea. If you must throw away a lot of money - and have to learn the hard way, go with the Dana. It has a decent resale value of loosing only about 2/3 in 10 years.
Jennifer Adamek
Jennifer Adamek - 8 years ago
Does the Pacific Seacraft still make the Dana24? I know you can purchase hardly used Dana24's and Flickas.. I know someone on the east coast that actually took their PS Dana24 sailed her across the pond to upper Europe and into the canals into the Med.. This little kick-started has some "Pep In Her Step!".... I prefer sailing anyday to power boating it... I mean. some say tomatoe so e say tamatoe...
Chris Wyse
Chris Wyse - 7 years ago
No. The deal that brought PS to North Carolina did not include the Dana. The Dana molds and templates all went to this company which only made the one you see here AFAIK. I hear they then sold the mold but not sure who if anyone has it now.

20. comment for Dana 24 Boat Review

wilvanlonden1962
wilvanlonden1962 - 8 years ago
Beautiful small yacht. Don't think it will be sold often; here in Europe you buy  a brand new International Folkboat for 32000 Euro with sails and equipment. I don't think that the mantra go small, go now applies to this Dana 24. With that mantra they ment at low cost!
Peter Mumford
Peter Mumford - 7 years ago
Does Marieholm still make folkboats? I can't find a link.
Gerry C
Gerry C - 8 years ago
TV ads have been replaced with YouTube ads. Welcome to the 21st Century!
KingThallion
KingThallion - 8 years ago
Bob, that boat was Bitchin,
Mick Scarborough
Mick Scarborough - 8 years ago
150K?  I can buy about twenty 24 foot sailboats for that price.
SeikiBrian
SeikiBrian - 5 years ago
Twenty boats for $150,000 would be $7,500 per boat. You can barely get a good dinghy for $7,500.
Macedonicus
Macedonicus - 8 years ago
Stop bitchin.
Gene Nelson
Gene Nelson - 9 years ago
This isn't a review, it's a commercial.
Mr. Midshipman
Mr. Midshipman - 9 years ago
 I'd get one, but I got a disease, Morbid Obesity I'd probably put my foot though the hull, or sink it anyway.  I need a big open boat, like a Boston Whaler. My friends call me Whale Bait. Please, feel sorry for me, I can't help I eat $800 in food a week and lie about it. This is the first time I been honest with anybody. Please, buy me a 70 foot sailboat so I don't drown.
SassyHershsey SassyHershey
SassyHershsey SassyHershey - 8 years ago
+Mr. Midshipman Leave port and starve. I mean it. It will save your life. Eat nuts, fruits and no sugar drinks. Fishing will help you. I'm serious. Don't use Narcotics to starve yourself - then you are addicted to them. So just bring what I said, buy a cheap boat, and just sail the coast to say Florida without stopping. Starvation is not a bad thing actually, your body will eat itself after 30 days or so. But do eat veg/fish to stay alive long enough to see the results. I say 5 months and you will be fine.
Jeremy M
Jeremy M - 10 years ago
The host is 'Bob Bitchin'.
Best name ever. 
uscgalpha91
uscgalpha91 - 10 years ago
OMG $150,000 you have got to be kidding. Their are hundreds of boats for 25% of that number used that would be wonderful. Also do you really want to do a 30 day run to the So Pacific in a 24 footer ???
SeikiBrian
SeikiBrian - 5 years ago
In 1965, Robin Lee Graham became the then-youngest sailor to set off on a circumnavigation solo. He spent the next three years on his boat "Dove," a 24-foot Lapworth sloop. Lin and Larry Pardey cruised the world for eleven years aboard "Seraffyn," a 24-foot Bermudan cutter, and when they "traded up" it was to a similarly-designed 27-foot yacht, "Taleisin." 30 days to the South Pacific on a well-found small yacht would be a joy.
Al Gentry
Al Gentry - 10 years ago
Beauty and build quality are two different things. Build quality, is a function of the care taken by the builder. A function of quality, also, is simplicity, actually the ultimate sophistication. He has a boat now, and before, he didn't. The one he owns, is therefore infinitely superior to the one that he doesn't. Like in the hunting world, beware the man who has only one gun. He may actually know how to use it. :o) Al in Oklahoma
MsDimasko
MsDimasko - 10 years ago
В Китае такая будет стоить 15000-20000$

30. comment for Dana 24 Boat Review

TheSailingChannel.TV
TheSailingChannel.TV - 10 years ago
Selected for TheSailingChannel on the free ReduxTV App for Smart TVs. Watch on Google TV and other Smart TVs under Cars / TheSailingChannel dot TV. On the Web at redux dot com forward slash sail.
pacificNWboater
pacificNWboater - 11 years ago
MelCanuck - MacGregors are GREAT boats. If that is what you want. If you want a trailerable, combo sail/power boat for multiple purposes, they can't be beat. We know dozens of MacGregor owners who are VERY happy with their boats. And we know a few former Mac owners who still fondly recall the fun they had with their boats. However, MacGregors do not even belong in the same conversation as the Dana 24. Two COMPLETELY different boats with two vastly different design purposes.
pacificNWboater
pacificNWboater - 11 years ago
MelCanuck - You make a valid point. But then we think the price of just about ANY new boat is too much! The sentiment behind go small go now is not just the initial outlay for a boat, but the ongoing maintenance and moorage costs. A 24' foot boat will be much less expensive overall. Plus, I think the person that wants to spend $150K on a new Dana wants something more traditional than a new Beneteau (which are also great sailing boats).
MelCanuck
MelCanuck - 11 years ago
Thanks for this. As I'm new to sailing I do not have $150k to spend on a boat. It would be nice but I have found a NEW MacGregor 26 for $23k. It may not have the quality but it is not as expensive, either. youtube.com/watch?v=R7mYTOnOs3Y Any opinions of anyone reading this would be most appreciated.
MelCanuck
MelCanuck - 11 years ago
This is a very nice boat, and this is a good review. But $150,000 for a NEW Dana 24, at time of writing, is a bit steep for a 24 foot boat. Think I would prefer a similar-priced Beneteau Oceanis 34 or 37. You said: 06:23 – “in these tougher economic times, going small and going NOW…” – that comment made seems a bit of a contradiction to me, bearing in mind the price of the boat!
richardmg9
richardmg9 - 11 years ago
such a genuine and unbiased review! This is literally the best boat ever made for any purpose, ever!
Bernster3040
Bernster3040 - 11 years ago
Love this boat!
Nigel Doyle
Nigel Doyle - 12 years ago
That boat is beautiful.
jaasun71
jaasun71 - 12 years ago
I have heard they use Gold instead of Lead ballast .

Similar videos
for Dana 24 Boat Review

Related videos
to Dana 24 Boat Review

About Dana 24 Boat Review

The "Dana 24 Boat Review" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!