Exclusive test: World's most powerful diesel outboard | COX 300hp | Review | Motor Boat & Yachting

The British-built COX 300hp V8 diesel outboard promises to challenge the dominance of petrol engines in this market. MBY editor Hugo Andreae sees if it's up to the challenge ► Become a FREE SUBSCRIBER to YBWTV's YouTube page now - https://www.youtube.com/user/ybwtv?sub_confirmation=1 ► For the latest reviews, new gear launches and tour news, visit our website here - http://www.mby.com ► Like us on Facebook here - https://www.facebook.com/motorboatandyachting ►Follow us on Twitter here - https://twitter.com/mbytimeinc ►Feel free to comment below! ►Remember to hit that LIKE button if you enjoyed it :)

Exclusive test: World's most powerful diesel outboard | COX 300hp | Review | Motor Boat & Yachting sentiment_very_dissatisfied 107

Reviews 2 years ago 169,969 views

The British-built COX 300hp V8 diesel outboard promises to challenge the dominance of petrol engines in this market. MBY editor Hugo Andreae sees if it's up to the challenge ► Become a FREE SUBSCRIBER to YBWTV's YouTube page now - https://www.youtube.com/user/ybwtv?sub_confirmation=1 ► For the latest reviews, new gear launches and tour news, visit our website here - http://www.mby.com ► Like us on Facebook here - https://www.facebook.com/motorboatandyachting ►Follow us on Twitter here - https://twitter.com/mbytimeinc ►Feel free to comment below! ►Remember to hit that LIKE button if you enjoyed it :)

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Exclusive test: World's most powerful diesel outboard | COX 300hp | Review | Motor Boat & Yachting

Bacnow
Bacnow - 2 years ago
Designed and built in Britain? Well...you better bring five gallons of oil, a full tool kit, an engine manual, an emergency radio, emergency rations etc....
Tony Rich
Tony Rich - 2 years ago
Austin, Morris, MG, Land Rover, Rover, Triumph, Worsley, Lanchester, Jaguar, British Leyland. Mmm thinks I will keep my OMC V6 250 HP Looper. And that is heavier than my older 235 Crossflow's. 35, 000-00 GBP? Right, ETEC, Mercury, Yamaha or even the old OMC Looper V8's. Buy's lots of fuel and you don't have to put up with carcinogenic diesel fumes, soot, diesel particulate filters and check engine lights with associated thousands to replace DPF's etc. Work has Volkswagen Caddy diesel "death tubes". I refuse to refuel them. Dirty filthy diesel, froths, spits back on refuelling and just makes a real mess on you and the driveway. Don't have that with Gasoline. Even with 40:1 premix in the Victa lawnmower. Sorry, yes common fuel in diesel for perhaps the military, but in reality no, not for me. Refine diesel/kerosene for turbines.
bryan nonya
bryan nonya - 2 years ago
To bad the customer service is lacking, its a great idea.
John Smith
John Smith - 2 years ago
Brits can't build anything reliable. A main factor in outboard design is weight. Evinrude 300hp = 537lbs this 300hp Cox diesel = 772lbs. Enough said.
Tom Bulger
Tom Bulger - 2 years ago
So, the other three occupants have on all this safety gear including helmets but the 4th, the person talking in this video, has nothing. So far its smoke and mirrors.
Derek Joffrion
Derek Joffrion - 2 years ago
So it cost more money, goes slower and is louder. Sign me up, i defiantly want to spend more money for less performance. Oh wait it's British so it must be more refined.. Maybe they should have touched more on fuel economy... Might have actually given a reason to consider something like this instead of pointing out how the gas powered 350 is superior. Lol, now that's how you market a new product for success. Let's not show them how it's better, let's show them how it's inferior, cost more but it's British so it's more refined.. Fucking jack ass.
Chris Cone
Chris Cone - 2 years ago
Did he say £35K quid? Damn...
Pacific Dynamic Builders
Pacific Dynamic Builders - 2 years ago
If it was Japanese it would be sweet, but being British they give you a free lire time subscription to Sea Tow!
zxggwrt
zxggwrt - 2 years ago
I like it but don't skimp on the head bolts and. . . where's the turbo??

10. comment for Exclusive test: World's most powerful diesel outboard | COX 300hp | Review | Motor Boat & Yachting

Gabe Davis
Gabe Davis - 2 years ago
Why do they not make computers in Great Britain? because they can't figure out how to make them leak oil
Dwight Bernheimer
Dwight Bernheimer - 2 years ago
A solution to non-existent problem...
Adam Hensel
Adam Hensel - 2 years ago
Dwight Bernheimer military purposes for the same fuel type as other vehicles, other than that yep. Too expensive, heavy, and added noise.
DeltaProMaster Lauj
DeltaProMaster Lauj - 2 years ago
I’ll pass, shit is loudassfuk
the man
the man - 2 years ago
British made stuff has been crap as long as yall have been breathing
Adam Laycock
Adam Laycock - 2 years ago
Most of the formula one grid and their engines?
its meeeeeeeeeeeeeee
its meeeeeeeeeeeeeee - 2 years ago
This is not even a real review he just says “it’s really smooth” like 10 times. Diesel r expensive, smelly,dirty and simply can’t rev high enough I would take a 300hp gasoline engine any day instead of that
dave manning
dave manning - 2 years ago
Way overpriced, only for the very wealthy !
Grant Dempsey
Grant Dempsey - 2 years ago
I can see a role for this on a heavy fishing boat doing a lot of hours, it will be interesting to see how it goes
Ashroyer86
Ashroyer86 - 2 years ago
Cool. Instead of feeding the fish more gas we just give them some coal. Fresh fish for dinner anyone?
Kyle Pfeiffer
Kyle Pfeiffer - 2 years ago
Most usless review of anything ever on you tube .
Kyle Pfeiffer
Kyle Pfeiffer - 2 years ago
@Duo lingo Owl i do. U just suck. Sorry.
Duo lingo Owl
Duo lingo Owl - 2 years ago
Not if you understand what owning a boat is like
m 88
m 88 - 2 years ago
350kg comparable to a petrol v8 ? A 5.7hemi weighs less than 230kg...
Vagabond MaReligion
Vagabond MaReligion - 2 years ago
are you retarded?

20. comment for Exclusive test: World's most powerful diesel outboard | COX 300hp | Review | Motor Boat & Yachting

m 88
m 88 - 2 years ago
Imagine the weight of that thing lol
yzgrassy
yzgrassy - 2 years ago
why ?
Kaven Gilbert
Kaven Gilbert - 2 years ago
Built and designed in britain ! Thats s big no no ! Ill keep my Merc
Sascha Funk
Sascha Funk - 2 years ago
All Aluminium Castings including the V-8 Block of the Prototype was made in Germany.
Cooper Leonard
Cooper Leonard - 2 years ago
For that sized boat its slow
robert P
robert P - 2 years ago
Wouldn't trust it, with all the emissions bull on diesels now a days
Old Mate Scano
Old Mate Scano - 2 years ago
The only thing I could see missing in this video was a large length of rope. That diesel outboard would make an awesome anchor at 300kg’s!. Waste of time and development $, developing a hybrid outboard motor would make far more sense.
Old Mate Scano
Old Mate Scano - 2 years ago
StabyMcStabsFace
Jeeze, i dunno, perhaps have half petrol half electric so you use less fuel? Or did you just want to burn as much diesel as possible and pollute the water even more.
StabyMcStabsFace
StabyMcStabsFace - 2 years ago
Hybrid for what? There's no braking, so what do you plan on doing with the electric portion?
ivan fitch
ivan fitch - 2 years ago
Not much louder than a gas four stroke? It's the first boat I have seen with a noise screen !
phuc ewe
phuc ewe - 2 years ago
It's not a noise screen, it's a spoiler to keep the rear planted for maximum traction.
tn sp
tn sp - 2 years ago
Why did you place a plexiglas in fron of the engine,to lower the noise?
phuc ewe
phuc ewe - 2 years ago
bingo
tn sp
tn sp - 2 years ago
Weight?

30. comment for Exclusive test: World's most powerful diesel outboard | COX 300hp | Review | Motor Boat & Yachting

mothridith
mothridith - 2 years ago
Its noticeably louder than a yamaha or mercury 300hp outboard at idle and while cruising
JD Spears
JD Spears - 2 years ago
That said, most all state and fed owend lakes these days frown on and some refuse to allow 2 stroke motors in the water. Reason!
Oil in the exhaust.
No way can this produce exhaust without oil in it..
Brian Faus
Brian Faus - 2 years ago
What's the point diesel engines are designed for pulling.all I can see is a lot of pollution in the water just saying
Robert Ayers
Robert Ayers - 2 years ago
@3:14 why isn't he wearing a helmet?
phuc ewe
phuc ewe - 2 years ago
@Robert Ayers I'm not worrying about that anymore. I just stumbled on this video...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xaW4Ol3_M1o
phuc ewe
phuc ewe - 2 years ago
Why are the others is my question.
John
John - 2 years ago
designed and built in britain, aka its garbage
Dany Big Game
Dany Big Game - 2 years ago
Lo único que he podido apreciar en este video es que hace más ruido que un 2t de hace 30 años.
No se habla de consumos, precios, velocidad crucero o máxima, mantenimientos, peso....nada de nada. Tiempo perdido.
adam chapman
adam chapman - 2 years ago
Sounds so good love Diesel.
jjdeady2021
jjdeady2021 - 2 years ago
Does it roll coal?
iBuytech 1
iBuytech 1 - 2 years ago
Sorry did you say it was smooth running?
Triple 4
Triple 4 - 2 years ago
So how do you chip it and make it roll coal? That’s what I’m interested in....
tlt40s&w 70
tlt40s&w 70 - 2 years ago
I don’t see this as a contender to the Mercury at all. Mercury has the direct injection 350 hp v6 that is quiet and built in America. I just don’t see this Diesel even coming close to 300
richard oakley
richard oakley - 2 years ago
Red diesel 67 p a litre.. petrol 137 p a litre.
In Europe that's a huge difference
Dan az
Dan az - 2 years ago
You can double the pitch of the prop because of the double the torque. Lower Rs twice the speed.
Иlya М
Иlya М - 2 years ago
Нахрен этот трёп. Пишите цену..что б народ охерел и купил 2 ямахи на бензине такой ж мощьности
Владимир Жигулин
Владимир Жигулин - 2 years ago
Согласен там поди насос форсунка и топливо как слеза требуеться
eamh2002
eamh2002 - 2 years ago
COX=Coal & NoX
lbbradley55
lbbradley55 - 2 years ago
I have a little Experience in the Gulf of Mexico. Gas powered Boats Snapper Fishing Diving ECT. I have NEVER been Seasick.
To many ppl on my Boats have.
DIESEL EXHAUST Makes PPL SICK ON DRY LAND...!
Sorry but I believe the EXHAUST will be first Big Problem with DIESEL OUTBOARDS !
phuc ewe
phuc ewe - 2 years ago
I get seasick in the bathtub.
Fred rombaft
Fred rombaft - 2 years ago
designed and build in britain... good luck
Charles Henley
Charles Henley - 2 years ago
He said £35,000? Which is $45,000 for a 300hp outboard!! A little pricey. Other than fuel economy what would be the advantage over gas? Dependability? Longevity? I’m intrigued but mildly so.
shingnosis
shingnosis - 2 years ago
It's fucking noisy, which is typical for diesel compared to petrol. And unlike petrol it's not a nice noise either, it's a hard fatiguing noise. Biggest issue will be to dampened, isolate and resonate out that noise. They need to work on that for sure.
cjeam
cjeam - 2 years ago
Apart from Land Rovers, or any other car.
cjeam
cjeam - 2 years ago
Apart from Land Rovers, or any other car.

50. comment for Exclusive test: World's most powerful diesel outboard | COX 300hp | Review | Motor Boat & Yachting

cjeam
cjeam - 2 years ago
No.
Rusty Climber
Rusty Climber - 2 years ago
God damn! They can't get 300 from a small Diesel truck engine... This thing is s game changer.
Paul Martin
Paul Martin - 2 years ago
awsome
Jonathan Palmer
Jonathan Palmer - 2 years ago
This isnt the first? Theirs one out of Miami that's already been selling for months.
Nicholas Christophorou
Nicholas Christophorou - 2 years ago
Guys just give it up, we are going electric from now on, thats the future...
cjeam
cjeam - 2 years ago
Justin Stanley Your figures are out of date. The cheapest form of energy generation is now onshore wind, then I think it’s solar. In some cases building new onshore wind farms have been calculated as being cheaper than keeping old coal power stations going (which is more due to how expensive it is to continue to run an old coal power station than anything else).
Indeed it’ll probably take a while for this to end up in boats though, because batteries are heavy.
Nicholas Christophorou
Nicholas Christophorou - 2 years ago
@Justin Stanley Explain this to Caravans with sun panels and jell baterries all over Greece and sailboats too... When electric bikes cars boats start racing you'll see...
Justin Stanley
Justin Stanley - 2 years ago
Free?! Those are the most expensive form of energy production we have. Forget the fact that we have no way, even theoretically, to store enough energy to power an outboard motor, for any length of time, natural gas and nuclear are probably the most cost effective way to create electricity moving forward for the next several decades.
Nicholas Christophorou
Nicholas Christophorou - 2 years ago
@Niklas Heikinheimo Free energy from the sun and wind...
Niklas Heikinheimo
Niklas Heikinheimo - 2 years ago
@Nicholas Christophorou Why is electric the future?
Nicholas Christophorou
Nicholas Christophorou - 2 years ago
@Justin Stanley For now... The FUTURE as i said is electric motor...
Justin Stanley
Justin Stanley - 2 years ago
@Nicholas Christophorou No, it really won't. The math is pretty simple. Using current high end battery tech from Tesla of 260 wh/kg, you would need a battery that weighed over 12000 Lbs to push a CC with twin 300s at 75% power for 4 hours. You would need to increase the energy density of current tech to 14X what is is before it would come anywhere near competitive with a fuel based motor. Right now they don't even know of a chemistry type that could do that theoretically. You would need some type of fuel cell that runs off either hydrogen or some other type of solid oxide fuel cell. It would be nice to have electric outboards in a recreational fishing boat, but I doubt we will see it in our lifetimes.
Nicholas Christophorou
Nicholas Christophorou - 2 years ago
@Justin Stanley Racing electric will show that.. Have a beer...
Justin Stanley
Justin Stanley - 2 years ago
Do you know of some super special, super secret battery that has 20 times the energy density of anything currently on the market?! If not, sit down....you're drunk...
Joel Reynolds
Joel Reynolds - 2 years ago
I couldnt knock away the feeling he was lieing to himself about the noise and smoothness
Paul Taylor
Paul Taylor - 2 years ago
Didn’t even watch more than ten seconds because I saw the British built it now if the Japanese’ built it in Japan then I would have watched it
Dana Coyle
Dana Coyle - 2 years ago
Ask about price was told by the only US dealer for the 150 hp was 100 thousand dollars installed so 300 hp????
Indo Surfer
Indo Surfer - 2 years ago
Smooth and diesel in the same sentence. Lol
Yeah right, what ever you say.
Multi-fuel outboards have been around along time.
Chad Moyer
Chad Moyer - 2 years ago
Sorry but gas 2 stroke engines are king. Period...
cjeam
cjeam - 2 years ago
Bill Allen Yeah ok weight but don’t have to premix, generally better fuel economy and burns cleaner both smell wise and fuel into the water wise. And what’re the maintenance differences really?
cjeam
cjeam - 2 years ago
Who doesn’t have a 4 stroke these days? Far better.
Marcus Young
Marcus Young - 2 years ago
Maybe on small boats
OffroadCanadian
OffroadCanadian - 2 years ago
Chad Moyer you are not wrong 2 stroke is very light and good power
James Young
James Young - 2 years ago
I don't think that these outboards were designed for the consumer market, more commercial, super/mega Yachts, military, commercial sportfishing boats. COX may found a hole in the market and as mentioned below in the comments is there a big military contract at the end of it?
Bill Walker
Bill Walker - 2 years ago
This is what happens when militaries ask for a quiet, powerful diesel outboard and cost is no object.
cjeam
cjeam - 2 years ago
John Buick Huh. That’s interesting. Maybe it’s because people want the ability to trailer boats between lakes so outboards are more common. We don’t have a huge number of inland lakes in the UK only a few that are isolated and big enough to be worth marinas. There are the canals and rivers and then the sea, so the marinas there will have diesel for all the boats with inboards that visit.
John Buick
John Buick - 2 years ago
@cjeam Well in Canada where there are tens of thousands of lakes most the marinas sell gas. Sure, you go to a big ocean based marina that has commercial fishing boats tied up you will obviously find diesel but nobody with outboards buys diesel.
John Buick
John Buick - 2 years ago
@cjeam Oh yeah, that's right, just look at all those diesel outboards running around out there. Every outboard manufacturer makes two cycles. Just go to there website and see. I know a guy that is a professional outboard motor mechanic and he hates 4 cycles. They're a pain in the ass to change oil and are heavier than two cycles. Go take a new Evinrude for a spin and you will see. Greater power to weight ratio than any 4 cycle.
cjeam
cjeam - 2 years ago
John Buick Where are you from? If a marina sells fuel at all it sells diesel, it’s petrol that they don’t always have here. And I can’t remember the last time I saw a new 2 stroke outboard for sale.
John Buick
John Buick - 2 years ago
Should have gone for a Seven Marine then. Quite and a shit ton of power. For 300 HP just get a gas machine. They are quiet, powerful and you don't have the smell of diesel all the time. Even the modern 2 strokes are quiet. I guess if you are trying to get mileage then go diesel but not many marinas sell diesel.
HyperXism
HyperXism - 2 years ago
Is there a regen on these? Do you need the DEF ?
Joel Francis
Joel Francis - 2 years ago
Only clicked coz u looked like clarkson
iceblue1969
iceblue1969 - 2 years ago
very expesive-noisy-smelly-,,good luck with that
John Wunder
John Wunder - 2 years ago
How much$$ let me guess...$250K
patrickwelch
patrickwelch - 2 years ago
Finally. I hate gas.
High Velocity
High Velocity - 2 years ago
I don't understand the need...  Diesels have their place, this isn't it.  A Mercury 400R will eat this things lunch, a 100 more HP and it sips fuel.  That being said, you'd need 14-400Rs to make a 63 foot Viking yacht to move out.
The Dude
The Dude - 2 years ago
Never make it the USA...especially with ocasio Cortez as our future president
gdog1195
gdog1195 - 2 years ago
Ur dumb asf kid check out the oxe diesels made in usa by desisgned by Detroit diesel
Russ Jamison
Russ Jamison - 2 years ago
Just tell her its a giant egg beater. Her handlers will understand
onerussian
onerussian - 2 years ago
Wait... but is it smooth?
Richard King
Richard King - 2 years ago
Next YouTube American spokesman gets this British guy doesn't have it in it
Shlomo Shekelsteinawitzberg
Shlomo Shekelsteinawitzberg - 2 years ago
Just a smooth as a petrol engine my ass lol
SYC Video HD
SYC Video HD - 2 years ago
Yesss
Steven Lindekugel
Steven Lindekugel - 2 years ago
I still rather have a Mercury outboard they much better motor
David Cavanaugh
David Cavanaugh - 2 years ago
Now just needs duallprop
Frank Nalej
Frank Nalej - 2 years ago
BUT NOISY
steel rampage
steel rampage - 2 years ago
Engine sucks. U suck. Video sucks.
Johanam Romero Rodríguez
Johanam Romero Rodríguez - 2 years ago
Esto no por favor;suena horrible, por no mencionar que el diésel es un combustible más sucio
EkremKTZ Ekrem2
EkremKTZ Ekrem2 - 2 years ago
medo
William Knabe
William Knabe - 2 years ago
Can I see it on a heavy fiberglass boat.its always on pontoon boats what’s with that ..an I hear it cost 75000 for a 200 hp .u can buy a lot of gas for that
phuc ewe
phuc ewe - 2 years ago
@Rusty Climber I suggest you spend a few more nights at the Holiday Inn, Gump.
Rusty Climber
Rusty Climber - 2 years ago
Some people think in long term... I know what you want your kids to inherit... Maybe if they build more than one the cost will go down??? I didn't go to college, but I did stay at a holiday inn Express last night...
Sjoerd Witt
Sjoerd Witt - 2 years ago
William Knabe Pontoon boats? You know this is a RIB right?
Jeff Denham
Jeff Denham - 2 years ago
So everybody else in the boat wears helmets and one guy doesn't?
The Metal Butcher
The Metal Butcher - 2 years ago
@Don Olypopper He can't be stuck on Detroit, Detroit had a successful Aluminum block.
Shlomo Shekelsteinawitzberg
Shlomo Shekelsteinawitzberg - 2 years ago
@Don Olypopper you've got no clue. Iron is much stronger than alloy and in a diesel, I know which I'd prefer
Don Olypopper
Don Olypopper - 2 years ago
@Perry Daniels just like I thought, you're a butthurt old timer that's stuck on Detroit and Cat diesel. There is a reason no outboards that are successful have cast iron blocks. Enjoy the cobwebs in the dust bin of history.
Don Olypopper
Don Olypopper - 2 years ago
Perry Daniels you must be living in 1985. Times have changed.
Brian.
Brian. - 2 years ago
sounds like a lorry.
James Ringler
James Ringler - 2 years ago
The benefit of diesel in the US you could use much cheaper off road diesel
phoenix love
phoenix love - 2 years ago
@brian mcbride I don't think a new outboard engine would cuase the outlawing of off-road diesel. Inhale no faith in my government, but I'm still realistic
brian mcbride
brian mcbride - 2 years ago
phoenix love off-road diesel is already used in diesel marine engines in the US? If so, The change I could see would be outlawing it, like the US does now with on road vehicles.
phoenix love
phoenix love - 2 years ago
@brian mcbride given that it's already used in diesel boats here I don't see what's gonna change?
brian mcbride
brian mcbride - 2 years ago
phoenix love correct. My point is, just like you can’t run the red stuff in your daily driver with a diesel. You can bet the US government will not allow you to run the red in these marine engines either.
phoenix love
phoenix love - 2 years ago
@brian mcbride in the US we have off-road diesel for this purpose already, boats aren't going to change that fact
brian mcbride
brian mcbride - 2 years ago
You can bet the government will prevent that.
Ian C
Ian C - 2 years ago
Is this not some weird 2 stroke horizontally opposed affair?
John Crowley
John Crowley - 2 years ago
No.
Will Riley
Will Riley - 2 years ago
I wish Penta would make diesel outboards the D5 would be a perfect engine.
Martin Andersson
Martin Andersson - 2 years ago
Will Riley oh let me get you the number to my old employer, since you are an expert on this
Will Riley
Will Riley - 2 years ago
Martin Andersson I'm not saying the D5 is necessary perfect as is. Some updates definitely could be made it is a pretty old engine design at this point.
Will Riley
Will Riley - 2 years ago
Martin Andersson Yeah but look at some of the engines OXE uses. Aluminum is key to outboards less weight. It's all about marineizing (not sure correct spelling) Meaning brass cooling ports etc. Its just got to stay cool and have good oil pressure also proper cams.
Martin Andersson
Martin Andersson - 2 years ago
Will Riley first of all
I have worked as a engine product developer at Volvo Penta
The D5 is not a suitable base engine
It’s a full aluminium engine that started it’s life as a automotive engine
An engine that has a average load of 35% during it’s cycle
A marine engine has 90-100% load factory
So it’s not just a matter of chipping the engine, so much more then that
The D3 is the worst that have left VP since the MD21 indenor
Will Riley
Will Riley - 2 years ago
@Martin Andersson I disagree the D5 is compact enough to be mounted as an outboard and chipped can make plenty of torque. However Volvo Penta invested heavily in Seven Marine for outboards
Martin Andersson
Martin Andersson - 2 years ago
Hahaha the inboard version of it is a disaster
ChicagoSox
ChicagoSox - 2 years ago
SO ITS SO QUIET YOU NEED A PLEXIGLASS SCREEN IN FRONT OF IT TO DEADEN THE NOISE.... LOL
Mitch Stout
Mitch Stout - 2 years ago
don't wanna smell that nasty fuel.
Michael Clark
Michael Clark - 2 years ago
It’s cute, but nowhere near ready to compete with a gas motor, period! I hope you guys get it figured out but you’ll need to aggregate way more data and present it much better if you plan on being competitive in the marine space, especially if diesel is in the discussion. Good luck...
jack lee
jack lee - 2 years ago
No smoke....?
Marcus Young
Marcus Young - 2 years ago
Smoke is a sign of inefficiency
james0611847
james0611847 - 2 years ago
By 1:40 in the video, they're already burned $4 worth of diesel. Hooray for living in the UK
Chloe Hennessy
Chloe Hennessy - 2 years ago
I want two.
I’ll give you the three Verado 300s I have. I’ve got two on my Grady White Freedom. And I’d love to switch to diesel. Than I can put my GW on my dads yacht and not have to worry about storing 500 gallons of gasoline in its aux tanks. I can just sip from his mains.

I mean his boat holds about 5,000 gallons.
kirk leaper
kirk leaper - 2 years ago
@Anchors Away best comment
Anchors Away
Anchors Away - 2 years ago
Are you single?!!
Chris Davies
Chris Davies - 2 years ago
For that price you could buy 2 petrol outboards
Martin Andersson
Martin Andersson - 2 years ago
Or one and shitload of fuel
ben riv
ben riv - 2 years ago
Nice setup!!
David Weigel
David Weigel - 2 years ago
Why did you block out the hole shot? Glad your impressed.
mixter7x7
mixter7x7 - 2 years ago
he didn't block it out - there isn't one.
karel overlaet
karel overlaet - 2 years ago
Congrats, your video made it to https://ribsonly.com. Check it here https://ribsonly.com/2/rib-tornado-with-cox-300hp-diesel-outboard/ and in our Facebook group.
Daniel Sundberg
Daniel Sundberg - 2 years ago
I have operated the mercury diesel outboard that produces 195Hp and were fitted in a twin setup on a similar sized boat. They were extremely quiet, quieter than Cox from what i could tell in the video, certainly did not have to raise our voices. Which is amazing as it was 2 stroke. The engine is based off the optima 200Hp block, 10:1, spark plugs to aid in detonation and emissions. These engines would push a 4 ton 7.6mt rhib at 40+ knots very quietly as quiet as any modern 4 stroke petrol i have driven. Only issue i had was the very clunky dog clutch gears shifting fwd to rev, my job was a lot of manoeuvring when not WOT but had no issue with the diesel at all. Fuel consumption was still thirsty at WOT, both engines would suck the 420lt tank in about 3 hrs but could manouver all day and only use 10lt

100. comment for Exclusive test: World's most powerful diesel outboard | COX 300hp | Review | Motor Boat & Yachting

Stuart Price
Stuart Price - 2 years ago
Developing a 300hp ELECTRIC outboard would be the way to go. Hard to see why anyone would spend money developing a diesel outboard at the moment. It's like developing a new betamax video recorder.
Juha Tuomala
Juha Tuomala - 2 years ago
Viking84 stuart didn’t think where he would get that electricity. Just an electric motor dream.
Svein Hanssen
Svein Hanssen - 2 years ago
Problem is you can't go very far with an electric outboard. And it would be even more expensive. Everyone wants a diesel outboard like this.
Viking84
Viking84 - 2 years ago
There would have to be a huge revolution in battery capacity to be able to run a boat at higher speeds with an electric outboard. It is the future though, no doubt, but I would guess it is at the very least 10 years away from being reality which is a shame as electric motors are awesome!
ririshow
ririshow - 2 years ago
What is the point of developing a new diesel engine when diesel engines are increasingly being banned?
cjeam
cjeam - 2 years ago
ririshow You are not going to have an issue sourcing diesel in a marine environment. Basically everything that floats and has an engine inside it uses diesel.
Shlomo Shekelsteinawitzberg
Shlomo Shekelsteinawitzberg - 2 years ago
@Bjarne Berg spot on. The military would be their number one client
Bjarne Berg
Bjarne Berg - 2 years ago
They make theese for military-/ and big yacht tenders. As they don't wan't to carry a lot of gasoline on board.
Svein Hanssen
Svein Hanssen - 2 years ago
Maybe diesel engines will be banned in 100 years. No problem.
Alexandros Retsinas
Alexandros Retsinas - 2 years ago
@ririshow 100% nonsense
ririshow
ririshow - 2 years ago
Well... that remains to be seen! As less and less cars need diesel, demand for diesel will fall. Consequently the price will increase and diesel will become more difficult to source.
arotom
arotom - 2 years ago
that is not gonna happen
Dave M
Dave M - 2 years ago
From the early news on other diesel outboards compared to gas outboards of comparable power is that the diesels are about 60% heavier. And about 125% pricier.
Svein Hanssen
Svein Hanssen - 2 years ago
This engine is about 60 kg heavier than a comparable petrol outboard (except the new Mercury V8). And a lot more torque. But it's not for everyone.
Matthew Holzmueller
Matthew Holzmueller - 2 years ago
Any plans to for sales in the states? Is there any need for d.e.f. fluid?
cjeam
cjeam - 2 years ago
Er do the emissions rules that make DEF necessary apply to marine engines too?
Ik Lam
Ik Lam - 2 years ago
Matthew Holzmueller they are showing it in US boat shows
Roy BM
Roy BM - 2 years ago
I love Cox
Svein Hanssen
Svein Hanssen - 2 years ago
Naughty you
michelcycles
michelcycles - 2 years ago
Ivy lake is no more than 6 foot deep
R E
R E - 2 years ago
There is a huge screen to protect in case it fails...since its a prototype.. and there you stand right next to the engine when it starts.. and not behind the shield... not wearing any protective glasses even.. hehe
Svein Hanssen
Svein Hanssen - 2 years ago
Why would it fail. It has probably thousands of hours of bench testing already.
tonchido
tonchido - 2 years ago
Very,very narrow leg
Chris Hudson
Chris Hudson - 2 years ago
How can you make a video on a deisel outboard and not comment on fuel consumption!?
Summit X
Summit X - 2 years ago
Right at 0:52 he says “ it should burn a lot less fuel” .. Again as he said this is a prototype so not all the technical information is known.
MotoTard Mason
MotoTard Mason - 2 years ago
Chris Hudson 50 seconds into the video they did, i assume u didn’t notice
BIG BOSS
BIG BOSS - 2 years ago
Exactly what I come to this video to watch after reading the comments I'm going to be disappointed I think
Motor Boat & Yachting
Motor Boat & Yachting - 2 years ago
The fuel consumption figures for this and the Oxe 200hp are included in the written review in the June 2019 edition of Motor Boat & Yachting magazine, out on Thursday.
mike force
mike force - 2 years ago
this could have been a 30sec commercial, instead of over 5min. just say "smooth" back to back 10x instead of jabbering in between. No economy, cruise, top speed or boat info. Just "smoothsmoothsmooth"....
phuc ewe
phuc ewe - 2 years ago
@mike force
Speaking of baby's butts, here's a quote from the movie "Neighbors" (1981) I always found funny...


Vic : "Ramona and I haven't eaten all day. We could eat a baby's butt through a park bench".

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0082801/characters/nm0000101
mike force
mike force - 2 years ago
@phuc ewe lol...just reported you to homeland security as a foreigner who talks about baby butts!
phuc ewe
phuc ewe - 2 years ago
@mike force
But it's smooth though.
Smooth as a baby's ass.
mike force
mike force - 2 years ago
@Zachary John 5 sec of a 4+min vid... that's smooth, bro.
Zachary John
Zachary John - 2 years ago
@mike force 4:12-4:17 they talk about prop size and top speed of what it currently able to achieve vs what they want to hit.
mike force
mike force - 2 years ago
@Zachary John and yet you didn't post it...
Svein Hanssen
Svein Hanssen - 2 years ago
@Zachary John It will likely be higher in the production motor
Zachary John
Zachary John - 2 years ago
They do say the top speed about 3/4 through the video
mike force
mike force - 2 years ago
@Svein Hanssen hi dumbakk. so that means it can only be shown on one type of boat? got it. you are stupid, shut up.
Svein Hanssen
Svein Hanssen - 2 years ago
It's a prototype for gods sake
mike force
mike force - 2 years ago
@Motor Boat & Yachting yes, that certainly makes it ok to have no meaningful info in the vid...
Motor Boat & Yachting
Motor Boat & Yachting - 2 years ago
The fuel consumption figures for this and the Oxe 200hp are included in the written review in the June 2019 edition of Motor Boat & Yachting magazine, out on Thursday.
mike force
mike force - 2 years ago
something wrong here. every test i've seen is on a rib...?
mike force
mike force - 2 years ago
@bigboatben ship refers to a size/weight, dumbakk. not whether it is "commercial" or "military". i didn't bother reading the rest of your mess, as you are clearly uneducated, yet egotistical....like most of the society you pretend to despise...
mike force
mike force - 2 years ago
@John Crowley hi phaggot grammar knotsie! no one asked you. now you know, so you can sit on a bod and squirm. you are dismissed.
John Crowley
John Crowley - 2 years ago
@mike force Use capitals at the beginning of sentences to avoid looking like a complete fucking cretin.
bigboatben
bigboatben - 2 years ago
mike force “ships” = commercial or military. “Yachts” = private sector. I’ve been talking to the manufactures of Diesel outboards at international boat shows for the last three years. The point I made is one of the first points they bring up when you talk to them.
mike force
mike force - 2 years ago
@bigboatben nope. they claim they are for commercial use. so much for your reading comprehension and fact-finding skills!
bigboatben
bigboatben - 2 years ago
These outboards are marketed for use on tenders aboard ships & large yachts. Large vessels have plenty of diesel aboard and prefer fuel commonality.
mike force
mike force - 2 years ago
@Alexandros Retsinas any engine will perform better on a lighter boat. that is my point. go to any marina...how many ribs are there, compared to other styles? and so, it makes no sense they ONLY show these outboards on ribs AND don't give any real performance/economy numbers...
Alexandros Retsinas
Alexandros Retsinas - 2 years ago
RIb is lighter so the effect of the Diesel's extra weight would be bigger. I think on a full polyester boat will be a better fit
DMC
DMC - 2 years ago
@mike force Apologies Mike, Let me ask again. In your opinion, what are the disadvantages of testing an outboard motor on a Rigid Inflatable Boat?
mike force
mike force - 2 years ago
@DMC you don't have critical thinking skills. you greatly overestimate yourself. being a contrarian is not "intelligent". also, you can't even write a simple sentence correctly.
DMC
DMC - 2 years ago
@mike force Answering my Q with another Q is not answering the question. Why wouldn't you use a RIB to test an outboard motor? Critical thinking is what made ask you to qualify your statement.
DaBrute
DaBrute - 2 years ago
Agreed. Would love to see one on a center console
mike force
mike force - 2 years ago
@DMC why would you always test diesel outboards on ribs? learn critical thinking. why is someone telling me this, what AREN'T they telling me...
DMC
DMC - 2 years ago
Why wouldn't you use a RIB?
gerard haubert
gerard haubert - 2 years ago
Would love to see a head on comparison between the COX and the OXE
Svein Hanssen
Svein Hanssen - 2 years ago
There is no comparison.
Lee Seaman
Lee Seaman - 2 years ago
Game changer indeed. Well done Cox!
mark hamnett
mark hamnett - 2 years ago
What was the economy of the diesel compared to the petrol...
Motor Boat & Yachting
Motor Boat & Yachting - 2 years ago
The fuel consumption figures for this and the Oxe 200hp are included in the written review in the June 2019 edition of Motor Boat & Yachting magazine, out on Thursday.
kempy535
kempy535 - 2 years ago
Sounds mint at the 2 minute mark.....
Russ B
Russ B - 2 years ago
NICE :-) How long before production models ?
Tankie Guy
Tankie Guy - 2 years ago
I’d say that outboard is perfect if you really love the sound of a ford transit going 110 down the motorway
Tankie Guy
Tankie Guy - 2 years ago
The Metal Butcher £42000 for a base model and it’s yours
The Metal Butcher
The Metal Butcher - 2 years ago
Well I do so...
Tankie Guy
Tankie Guy - 2 years ago
NeiI S. exactly
NeiI S.
NeiI S. - 2 years ago
I could not handle trolling with a 2 stroke at 1.7mph. Huffing diesel exhaust for 8 hours would be just as bad. Trolling with a 140hp 4 stroke purring away is great.
Svein Hanssen
Svein Hanssen - 2 years ago
There is now V8 Transit
Rob Colclough
Rob Colclough - 2 years ago
Hahaha a little bit louder?
Rob Colclough
Rob Colclough - 2 years ago
And want to produce cancer forming gases! Will they also ban new boat diesels in 2025, like cars?

Similar videos
for Exclusive test: World's most powerful diesel outboard | COX 300hp | Review | Motor Boat & Yachting

likes views

Related videos
to Exclusive test: World's most powerful diesel outboard | COX 300hp | Review | Motor Boat & Yachting

likes views

About Exclusive test: World's most powerful diesel outboard | COX 300hp | Review | Motor Boat & Yachting

The "Exclusive test: World's most powerful diesel outboard | COX 300hp | Review | Motor Boat & Yachting" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!