Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor Review (please subscribe)

Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor review

Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor Review (please subscribe) sentiment_very_dissatisfied 48

Reviews 3 years ago 82,129 views

Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor review

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor Review (please subscribe)

Scot Kounalis
Scot Kounalis - 2 years ago
There's some errors in translation, but I was able to figure it out by using a little common sense and learning Chinese from Kung foo movies.
barrie watson
barrie watson - 2 years ago
The old British seagull always had water in the gearbox you put in marine oil there were no seals but it was always ok
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Thanks, I will worry less about the issue. I figure I'll check it from time to time, and swap it out if looks like too much.
Thanks for watching and taking the time to comment.
Tumbadoraable
Tumbadoraable - 2 years ago
How many props come with the engine ???
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Only the one prop. The motor I bought came with an extra pull start and water pump wheel. I ordered a metal prop off of eBay. it was cheap.
eamh2002
eamh2002 - 2 years ago
Man that thing sounds like a big chainsaw thats about to explode :D Why is there an impeller when the cylinder is clearly aircooled?

Suddenly my 4hp 1980's johnson twin sounds very smooth :)
rbrADV
rbrADV - 2 years ago
The price is RIGHT! A 3.6 HP outboard will make the WavewalkBoats.com W700 kayak FLY! See the video: https://youtu.be/n7gb7qdi_7k
David North
David North - 2 years ago
A crappy Chinese outboard with outdated technology and unreliable performance.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Yes, I bought there crappy outboard in hopes they buy our farmers grain.... It's a win win....
My motor is still running, but am I an avid outdoor fisherman? Nope, just having a little fun on the water! I always go upstream due to that reliability issue you mentioned. So far, I've not had a break down on the water :0)
Regardless, thanks for watching and taking the time to comment.
dj FeelAir
dj FeelAir - 2 years ago
Hi. What is the song used in the intro? Thanks
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Sorry, it was a packet of intro type stuff that I purchased years ago to use in presentations. I don't know the name of it.
impacc44
impacc44 - 2 years ago
piece of shit,u would be better off making you a ash tray out of that P.O.S.
Jack Rabbit
Jack Rabbit - 2 years ago
You have to put gear oil in it after each use? Seems rather inconvenient...
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
No, you do not need to put gear oil in more than once per season. I was putting too much in, and that apparently causes problems allowing a little water to come in... I just didn't know where the fill line was. I'm getting better with it. I'm just being extra cautious I guess.
Thanks for watching.

10. comment for Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor Review (please subscribe)

Jonathan Cahill
Jonathan Cahill - 2 years ago
Buy cheap buy twice. Was going to buy one of these outboard engine glad i didn't ended up with a mercury.
Stan Tuggs
Stan Tuggs - 2 years ago
@Danny t I ordered it, an email was sent from eBay saying the product shipped. Then I got an email from the seller saying his eBay account is under review. It wasn't supposed to be delivered yet, but after talking with some people it's become apparent it was a scam. I was weary about it when buying, I figured I'd take the $16 gamble.
Danny t
Danny t - 2 years ago
@Stan Tuggs really that sucks I saw them for the same price and was debating buying one did they send you anything at all
Stan Tuggs
Stan Tuggs - 2 years ago
@Danny t Nope, got scammed.
Danny t
Danny t - 2 years ago
@Stan Tuggs Did it come with everything for 16$
Stan Tuggs
Stan Tuggs - 2 years ago
I just bought one of these for $16. That's shipping and all.
Jim Catanzaro
Jim Catanzaro - 2 years ago
Great video you seem like a great guy I love to tinker and upgrade thinks myself thank you
tjj300
tjj300 - 2 years ago
Most outboards have no air cleaner at all, similar to snowblowers. Both engines operate in relatively dust-free conditions, so they don't need them.
Jim Catanzaro
Jim Catanzaro - 2 years ago
I always add a little marvel mystery oil in my mix and ethanol stabilize in mine since all the gas in Massachusetts has 10 percent I’ll be switching out the cheap gas lines at the end of the year
tjj300
tjj300 - 2 years ago
@BoilerDan1 Welcome Dan, had a feeling I wasn't the first one to point that out. Probably not the first one to point this out, either. But you can clean that filter every couple of years. The manual should have the procedure. Real simple if they don't. Wash in dishwashing detergent, air dry, and then a light coat of mineral oil or ATF.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Thanks for the confirmation. I had others tell me that too. So I did not change anything with the little air filter, I'll leave it as is.
Thanks for watching and sharing your advise!
William Steele
William Steele - 2 years ago
What’s the black star thing that’s not in the motor
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Took me a minute to figure out what you were referring too? But I do have the answer. It is an extra water wheel used in the water cooling system. With the motor you get an extra one of those plus an extra pull start cord/spring assembly. Sorry I didn't point that part out in the video. Thanks for watching and asking.
Kris Bassett
Kris Bassett - 2 years ago
Do you think this would make a decent trolling motor for a 17.5' aluminum bass boat? I troll from 2-4mph mostly.

I would imagine at an idle the water pump isn't even turning because the clutch isn't engaged. I read where people have put lighter clutch springs in it so it will engage at idle. It looks like it uses an engine from a gas rc boat. If that's the case there are cheap mods to get a lot more power out of it!
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Yes, I think it would work better than on my little raft! Note that the exhaust does exit below the water line, so there is sound that will go out from the motor, so it's not quiet like an electric trolling motor. But as far as pushing you along, it should work very well. Break-in of the motor is important, but if you watch the series of video's that I've posted, any issues should be covered. Tinkering a little with the motor and it seems to run fine for me. Fuel lines and fuel with ethanol seems to be a problem. I carry extra fuel lines with me just incase one breaks. You can also buy non-ethonal fuel in stores, a little pricey and I'm currently putting in an additive that helps with the ethanol problems...I'll see how that works out over time. All in all I'm having fun with mine.... Well, if the river ever get's down to normal levels.... Not comfortable in a raft in high water.... I'd take an aluminum boat out, so that's another advantage. Thanks for watching.
Hitech
Hitech - 2 years ago
Great review pal. I almost bought one after watching your video. I came across a Mercury motor that runs great instead
.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Thanks. The used Mercury is probably a great choice. I'm actually happy with mine for the price, but still only go upstream on a river and not to far out on a lake... Time will tell, and I try to give an honest review. It seems like a simple design, and I like to tinker with stuff, so I don't mind at all messing around with it.
Thanks for watching and leaving your comments.
Mr.Cummins Hrdz
Mr.Cummins Hrdz - 2 years ago
I just bought one, but the propeller wont turn, does anyone know if theres a lock to it or something? Let me know please, thanks
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
You're welcome. I agree if is a new motor, I'd want it replaced or a refund. If you bought it used, the clutch could be worn out, and it's a fairly easy fix. Good luck.
Mr.Cummins Hrdz
Mr.Cummins Hrdz - 2 years ago
BoilerDan1 yup, 90 oil, i will check that, you have been very helpful, thanks again, it looks like more likely it will be returned, thank you
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
In my last reply, I ended with saying that I thought "This one should fit" But I was referring to the first link I sent you, not the second one for the 4 stroke motor.
Hope all this helps...
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
By oil you're specifically talking about gear oil, 90 weight that you put in after removing the propeller and the two bolts behind it, not the oil you mixed with the gas.
I'd open that area back up and look at the gears that are visible. If they are intact, then there has to be a problem with the clutch system. I'd consider returning it.
If that is not an option, you can buy a new clutch system on eBay for less than $15
Here is a link to show you the item:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/232564536839
It looks like the one on mine, but I searched for the Hangkai 3.6 hp clutch and this came back... It looks much better, but I really don't know if it would fit? It says it's for the 4 stroke, and mine is a 2 stroke motor.... You could ask the seller if it would fit? Check this link out too:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Heavy-Duty-Outboard-Clutch-Assembly-Hangkai-3-6-HP-3-6HP-4-Stroke/323400927913?_trkparms=aid%3D555018%26algo%3DPL.SIM%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20131003132420%26meid%3Dc34653a0562a49c3ac988f7f5d9bd01b%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D3%26rkt%3D12%26sd%3D163473812056%26itm%3D323400927913&_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851
Note: I think this one will fit, but you need to confirm that yourself. It will take a while for one to arrive as most ship from China....
Mr.Cummins Hrdz
Mr.Cummins Hrdz - 2 years ago
BoilerDan1 i did put oil in it, and i did accelerated the motor, but it only bubbles the water, it just doesn't turn, but it is a little stiff when turning it by hand
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Two important items:
1. Did you put gear oil in down where the propeller is?
2. The propeller won't turn at low/idle speed. As you throttle up, the centrifugal force allows the clutch type mechanism to catch and the prop will start turning. You also will not get the water cooling unless the propeller is turning.
Those are the two most common issues. If it's new, and it doesn't turn after the above issues are covered, I'd consider returning it for a replacement or refund. Let me know how it works out.
Mitch Stout
Mitch Stout - 2 years ago
put string hub on it, make a good weedeater.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
That's my back up plan :0)
This Is Me Can’t u see It’s a CZ
This Is Me Can’t u see It’s a CZ - 2 years ago
The best Review I have seen thank you for sharing
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Thanks! Stay tuned, I'll add more as any issues present themselves.
Dewey Lee
Dewey Lee - 2 years ago
Hey Dan. The idea of a filter for the intake of the carburetor is a mute point because outboard motors don't use an air filter anyhow . The environment that they operate has little dust and there is to much of a chance of moisture getting them wet and choking the airflow. All and all a great review and informed review. Thanks and we will be awaiting the on the water review.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Not the first to point that out to me. Fortunately I had not changed it, and I will leave as is! Thanks for watching and taking the time to comment. I hope to make a full day journey on a small river that I'm familiar with (Tippecanoe River)... Once the water levels come down to normal!

20. comment for Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor Review (please subscribe)

Henauder Titzauf
Henauder Titzauf - 2 years ago
Oh, while you got it running, you could cruise over to the neighbors, 3 houses down, your brother is in his boat, but needs a tow back to the main yard. The neighborhood kids are complying he is disturbing their snorkel class in the snow. Brahaha! All these small 2 cycle motor have their quirks, but when broke in, they are great. I had a 7 hp Eska back in 1973, it ran good and powerfull. Enjoyed it very much, especially after I got the bugs worked out. Thanks for sharing this video.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Thanks for watching. I hope to take it on a full day (downstream journey) passing by a little cabin my parents had along the Tippecanoe River. Just waiting for water levels to return to normal! It'll be about a 20 mile trip, so it should be a good test of the motor now that it is broken-in. Speaking of the "snow snorkel class", I remember taking an old V bottom boat of my dads out in the winter when there was a thin sheet of ice extending out on the river about 10 feet. I went slow, pretending the boat was an ice breaker and chipped away at the ice. It was an old two cycle motor on it.... Wish I still had it!
But I wouldn't repeat the bit of foolishness again!
…...What were my parents thinking :0-(
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Unfortunately, my little dingy (rubber raft) won't take that big a motor.... So I'm having to stick with my weedwhacker. (0:
Douglas Adams
Douglas Adams - 2 years ago
I just bought one of these motors - my is called a Seahorse but basically the same motor - little different in cover design. Anyway thanks for your videos Boiler Dan you kept me from having to deal with a lot of repairs/modifications. I just got the gear oil, marine grease, new spark plug and will use bow string wax instead of the bees wax since I couldn't find it today. Thanks again and I'll let you know how well it works on my first outing this weekend after I get all the tips you provided done.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Glad to hear my videos have helped! It will be better doing the break-in during the summer.
On the gear oil... Don't over fill it. I discovered there is a line inside the casing. There is also markings on the outside that says fill to here.... very faint but it is there. And if you've watched all of them, you know not to overtighten those nuts!
In the summer, you can take it out and just run it slow and medium until your tired of running. Keep track of the time run. The more I have run mine, the smoother it has gotten. Although I haven't even gotten out this summer at all.... The water is still too high for going out in a raft. A hard shell boat would be better. But I'll get out eventually!
Thanks for taking the time to comment.
Rare Form
Rare Form - 2 years ago
Plastic prop will turn flat out loose some pitch and cavitate . Run it on a boat ?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I changed mine out and put on a metal prop.
Thanks for watching.
Aussie Gamer
Aussie Gamer - 2 years ago
The air filter you can just about remove it, there isn't many outboards that use air filters
善净狮子
善净狮子 - 2 years ago
Hi, does it tell u how important the paddle is?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I wouldn't leave shore without them! :0)
Voxguitarsrock
Voxguitarsrock - 2 years ago
Good review and video thank You! Internally it reminds me of a weed eater at least a little bit.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Yep, kind of sounds like one too :0)
Chuck Elders
Chuck Elders - 2 years ago
Thanks for the info. How fast will she run?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Due to mine being on a rubber raft with a lot of drag, only around 4 -5 MPH. In some of my video's you can see going upstream in a river it is about the speed of a person walking. Down stream it is about 7 MPH like a brisk run!
I think it would do better on a light weight hard shell boat. But I'm happy with it. Kind of like a gas powered trolling motor :0)
Lee Watson
Lee Watson - 2 years ago
Made in China Guaranteed for one long day when it fails use it for boat anchor or build your own Artificial Island. So Slorry One Hung Low.
Lee Watson
Lee Watson - 2 years ago
@BoilerDan1 Buy American nothing wrong with trade Love those lead painted tool boxes that they sold our kids, What about the Plastic rice, Lets not forget about the Malem that they were dumping in our pet foods that were killing our cat's. remember that when there shooting missals at out ships.Made in America inexpensive Like these people Buying Cadillac don't they know there made in China? that is why they always break down. Good place to buy outboard motors. https://www.smalloutboards.com/j9094.htm
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
No problem, nothing to be Slorry for. Cheap for sure, but I've still had fun with it. International trade can be a good thing.....but we need to win that war.... :0) but trade overall is a good thing.
MrJames6674
MrJames6674 - 2 years ago
remember that the base oil is 90 weight and the top number is just when its cold so REALLY your fine !!!!
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I hadn't thought about hear lube being the same as conventional oil on the numbers. Thanks for the info!

30. comment for Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor Review (please subscribe)

Simple Ton
Simple Ton - 2 years ago
Never run an outboard without the prop. It needs the friction of the prop or you will damage the motor. Also never tune your engine without the prop and you need to be underway.
Simple Ton
Simple Ton - 2 years ago
9324 lion just don’t ever..also use bigger bucket that engine needed a t least a 30 gallon trash barrel to run in not a five gallon bucket..
善净狮子
善净狮子 - 2 years ago
Do u mean running in high speed?
gerald takala
gerald takala - 2 years ago
Noisy ?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Don't compare the motor running in a bucket being a true sample of noise. When it's running on the boat it's quieter... But it does make more noise than an expensive outboard motor.
georgiaridgerunner 79
georgiaridgerunner 79 - 2 years ago
Motor is absolute garbage not worth buying that little motor struggles to push a ten ft Jon boat and overheats because the water pump can't move enough water to cool the struggling engine
Joshua Ikerd
Joshua Ikerd - 2 years ago
How much faster between the motor and a 45lb thrust trolling motor , I don’t go far but need more speed
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
One other thing to add to my first reply.... If you have a more solid boat, that is still light weight, I think you will do better going upstream. I have mine on a spongy air filled raft and I'm sure I lose some thrust do to that.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Sorry I can't specifically answer your question. I've never used a battery powered trolling motor. I can tell you that I chose to go with this little gas powered motor to eliminate the battery lugging around and the possibility of running out of power. That being said, if you watch a few more of my video's you can see me going up stream. The river (Wabash) has a pretty swift current. More than I ever realized growing up in the area. Going upstream, by looking at the shore line, it's a little faster than walking, but definitely not even a slow jog. Going downstream however, I'd estimate about 7 mph. I hope that helps you some. A part of me thinks the 4 cycle (4 stroke) would be a better choice? I had some left over fuel from last season.... Finally decided to try burning it off in a all metal Tiki torch. That worked, but I don't recommend that... Just saying what I did. With the 4 cycle, any left over could be put in a vehicle.
crematedable
crematedable - 2 years ago
Would this push my 15.5ft fiberglass?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I think it would but understand it is not very powerful. It is able to push my inflatable raft and it has a lot of drag. Your boat should work better.
On a river going upstream I am lucky to go 3 mph. Looking at the shore, it's about a moderate walking speed. Downstream is much better. About 7mph. On still water like a pond, I'd guess 5mph? But again, I have so much drag with the inflatable. I've posted several video's. Check them out as some show me going upstream. Subscribe and you can join my adventure with any repairs I have to make, plus see how it hold up....
Robert Clark
Robert Clark - 2 years ago
I got mine in last season. Used it a few times. Decent motor, I ust need a bit more speed. Keeping it anyway though!
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
It works well going downstream! :0)
Dr Draws
Dr Draws - 2 years ago
Looks like the water cooling is only for the exhaust?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Not sure what you mean? But the water cooling lines do flow into and out of the engine block, so it does something to cool the motor.
Raider Man
Raider Man - 2 years ago
So when doing the brake in, does that mean you have to leave it at idle for 10 hrs?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
In my earlier reply, there were a couple of auto corrected words that were wrong. Ie… "rec" should have been "rev". The last sentence should have read... But in the first hour or two, I'd change the speed ever 10 - 15 minutes.

Hope you were able to figure it out
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
No! You want the motor to run at various speeds but not full speed. It also must run fast enough so that the propeller turns so that water flows to cool the motor. You can hear the clutch disengage, it a little bit of a slipping metallic sound. Once you start the motor rec it up so the propeller engauges, then back it off to slower speeds, then keep it going but vary your speeds up and down. I let it remain on one speed for up to 30 minutes.... But I'm the first hour or two, I'd change the speed every 10 to 15 minutes.
Raider Man
Raider Man - 2 years ago
Which 2 cycle mix brand do you recommend ?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
So far, I just picked up what was available on the shelf at a local Walmart. It is Quick Silver Marine Lubricants: 2-Stroke Synthetic Blend.
Also important is adding gear oil at the bottom of the shaft at the propeller. I ordered Mercury High Performance Gear Lube SAE90 from Amazon. But next time I think I'll get the full synthetic at the store that has a range of SAE applications.
Raider Man
Raider Man - 2 years ago
My state does have non ethanol gas so I have no choice but to purchase already mixed non ethanol 50:1 fuel on line. Can I still do the break in with that cause the next already mix available is a 20:1
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
It's very important to use the higher amount of oil in the fuel during break-in. So don't use the 50:1 during break-in. Regarding the fuel, I discovered that I have been using ethanol gas all along. I get the highest grade fuel though. So I would recommend getting the most expensive gas at the pump, then break the motor in with the correct fuel / Oil mix and mix it yourself. So far the only problem I had which probably was due to ethanol in my gas too was one of the fuel lines rotted out. That's a cheap and easy replacement that you could even do right away. Or start out with the 20:1 mix. Just know that even the 35:1 mix (or was it 30:1?) will result in excess oil coming out the exhaust port. But once break in is done, the 50:1 mix will run clean. Have fun with the motor! Check out the other video's I've done, I will keep posting as things happen. So far nothing major, but making some easy changes that I have covered in the video's might help you along the way. Thanks for watching!
Raider Man
Raider Man - 2 years ago
Omg. I saw all the reviews on this motor and I think I'm gonna return it before it's first use. You have basically rebuilt and modified the whole motor cause I see a defective POS.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I wouldn't day that I've rebuilt the entire motor, but the fuel lines are junk. The pull cord is thin, but bee was corrected that. And I recommend replacing the spark plug. I'll see how it holds up this summer for season two. I hope you can get a refund of you think it's your best option.
Patrick Hascall
Patrick Hascall - 2 years ago
I am guessing this motor no longer runs in 2019.
Steven Baker
Steven Baker - 2 years ago
Thank you!!!!
Jiri Stipek
Jiri Stipek - 2 years ago
Congrats for making this heap of junk to look almost like something what actually works. I bought one of these about 8 months ago. Didn't work properly from the start so I contacted the supplier. Without much fuss, he simply sent me another one and didn't want the old one back. Definitely kudos for PR here - but that is where the positives end.
The new motor broke down after 10 minutes of use (the seal on the leg shaft wasn't properly pressed in and let water in the upper part) and from that point everything went downhill. The weakest spot is the cooling system that has so many issues you can bottle them (I am not wasting my time going into details here) and from there the problem cascades to other parts. At this stage I ran already of spare parts I used from the first engine and I have just order new clutch bearing, the clutch arms, down shaft seals and spark plug. I can't remember one single trip longer than 1 mile I would have finished without having to use oars or asking somebody to tow me.
I anybody is going to buy this gizmo after reading the above, well, good luck. You need it.
Jiri Stipek
Jiri Stipek - 2 years ago
@BoilerDan1 My pleasure! By the way, if you bin the motor (and that is what you should do to save yourself money and frustration), keep the instructional manual. Absolutely top entertaining value, worth the price you paid for the motor :-). And printed on a top quality glossy paper too! The author's mother shouldn't have marry her brother ;-).
BTW: if you are using the motor in a reasonably cold environment and fresh water, it may JUST do the job. I am using it at Australian Coral Sea and the idiotically designed cooling system is just not up to the job here.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Excellent review! If mine does start falling apart, I will make a more negative video. I've probably got less than 40 hours run time on it. We will see what happens this summer. I also only go upstream, just in case I have a breakdown. I have documented some issues I have had in either comments or additional videos. I hope those considering one reads reviews and follow along as time progresses.....and check out the follow-up videos that I've put out there. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.
Kim Fagerström
Kim Fagerström - 2 years ago
Why have watercooling on a weed cutter. My friends when i were kid had aircooled outboards from late 1960s and they worked geat and never overheated. And as a 2 stroke its probably illegal anyway dont get caught using it.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Not sure why the bothered water cooling it? It also has a few fins for air cooling, so I think it's a combination of both. Contrary to what some believe, the 2 stroke motor is not illegal, but is prohibited from some lakes. However with improved technology, they burn much cleaner than the old weed eaters (Once broken in). But on that note, I've notice a lot of smaller lakes ban all motors. Heck, why don't we just ban all combustion engines! Get a cow and have it eat your grass to keep it trimmed down! Oh, wait........They want cows outlawed too! (all meant in fun, no seriousness intended from my end.
RISKY GAMING
RISKY GAMING - 2 years ago
I 700th sub
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
GREAT. Thanks!
twdarcy
twdarcy - 2 years ago
They are good little motors. 30 year old tech, so you have to break them in. Thanks for all of the tips. :D
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Overall I've been pleased with the motor. I'm looking forward to this summer to see how it holds up. I'll post more as issues arise, but it's a simple motor, so working on it is half the fun for me.
Truebluexpat
Truebluexpat - 2 years ago
Best review I have seen yet, thank you
Bw Yyy
Bw Yyy - 2 years ago
I just bought a 1985 Johnson 4.5 ho two cylinder for 300 CAD, it’s had little use and runs great, I thought about a Chinese motor, but the Johnson will run for years, even tho that engine is new, you don’t get any warranty
clay 66
clay 66 - 2 years ago
Dan the Champion plug is about as good as the one that failed so put an NGK in , Way better than rowing and most of these Chinese engines have cast iron piston rings so have a long break in period so plenty of short trips with a cool down in between as well.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I have replaced the plug with the NGK as suggested. Thanks!

50. comment for Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor Review (please subscribe)

Joseph Leister
Joseph Leister - 2 years ago
Nice video, thank you.
Caleb Rhoads
Caleb Rhoads - 2 years ago
Did this motor come with title
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
The motor is small enough that Indiana does not require a title.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
The raft/boat that I made required a title and I was able to get that through the manufacturer and state of Indiana, however the motor did not and nothing came with the motor. If your state requires one, you can get the paperwork needed from your BMV.
CsokisMorisz
CsokisMorisz - 2 years ago
4:24 you have water in your oil Sir.... bad news...
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Yes, I've been advised on that. Took some preventative action and will check out the gear lube later this winter before going out in the spring. Thanks for your expertise and noting the issue.
cuximan Fahrer
cuximan Fahrer - 2 years ago
Ich hatte diesen Motor auch gekauft. Totaler Schrott... Keine Leistung (ca. 1,5ps) total laut und am stinken war er auch noch
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Ich einverstanden nicht mit Ihnen, auf die Kraft und der Geräuschpegel. Aber für mich hat es noch ein lustiges Abenteuer!
Ken Moran
Ken Moran - 2 years ago
Thanks for all the work you put into these videos. They have been helpful. I just bought the same 3.6 HP from eBay and have been making all of the updates you have suggested. So far it feels like a pretty solid motor (for the price) once you take care of the known issues. I noticed on this video that you were able to give some throttle and have it stay at that speed without having to provide continual pressure (turn) to the throttle handle. On mine I can turn it freely, but when I let go it turns back to the idle position on its own. Did you do something to allow it to maintain throttle without keeping constant pressure on the handle? I did try tightening the little hex bolt on the end but it hasn’t worked so far. Thanks
Ken Moran
Ken Moran - 2 years ago
Thanks for the reply, I’ll see if I can’t find a way to keep the throttle handle turned without holding it. Maybe it starts to “stick” a little after some use. I’ll keep an eye on the water temps in my bucket during break in.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I don't recall adjusting anything? I the beginning I also had to hold it to go full throttle..... Maybe the handle extension that I put on had something to do with it. I ended up putting some small wooden slats inside the handle extension to allow it to grip better, I'm guessing that did it. I want to mention that during break-in I kept a close eye on water temperature in my bucket. You need to supply cool water so you don't over heat. I broke it in last winter and added snow or cold water to the bucket from time to time, but didn't show that on the video's. I'm enjoying the little motor and will get it out again in the spring. I'll try to document any problems that I have along the way and update with a video from time to time. Good luck with yours.
Mr. Raab
Mr. Raab - 2 years ago
Thank you for the review and detailed "take apart". The build quality scares me. You just saved me a couple hundred bucks.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Mr. Raab I’m glad you found the review useful. Although I am very happy with the motor, I understand you not wanting to take the risk or messing with it. For me it’s an adventure!
Thanks again for watching.
Luis Lopez
Luis Lopez - 2 years ago
Is trash, never buy this engine in Amazon, very bad quality, I lost my money
Silas Dogwood
Silas Dogwood - 2 years ago
Real Americans don't support slave labor.
Silas Dogwood
Silas Dogwood - 2 years ago
@BoilerDan1 BTW, I stumbled on your video because I'm rebuilding an old OMC Johnson 6. Got it for $50, put $35 into it plus about 6 hours of labor, and I fully expect it to last 400 hrs before needing more work. Cheap Chinese manufactured goods are the consumer equivalent of crack cocaine. We're definitely better off without it.
Silas Dogwood
Silas Dogwood - 2 years ago
@BoilerDan1

I don't want to come down too hard, I watched your video and I firmly believe you're a good guy. But we have to stop sending money to people who hate what we stand for. We're supposed to be the good guys. Whenever you see something from China that's too cheap to pass up, you're looking at a product made by a political prisoner. In Xi's China, that means people who believe in individual liberty and democratic rule.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Hope you only ride a horse...… Some of all most every production product has parts / pieces make from all over the place. But I respect your opinion..... and both our freedom to choose.... and support free enterprise and capitalism!
Tournoux Roland
Tournoux Roland - 3 years ago
Bonjour, ou pourrais je trouver le manuel en français, ou la vidéo, d'avance merci
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Désolé, que je ne suis pas en mesure de vous aider à traduire comme mes talents sont limités.
Dennis Alexis
Dennis Alexis - 3 years ago
Hi thanks for the tutorial I was given a 3.5 older mode, l had to check it out but runs fine no problems I didn't know about the oil next to the prop so will check it tomorrow. Keep up the good work.
Steve
Steve - 3 years ago
Thanks Dan, very usefull videos, just wish I had seen it or spent the time to look over my Hangkai 3.6HP before taking it out. I have mine mounted off the side of a canoe, its really just an inexpensive project. First failure was the choke setting. After inspecting the air filter I realised the choke settings were backwards and got it going in a bucket. Next time out my pull start and claw pawl failed with bits everywhere. $20 on ebay and I’m good to go again. Maybe this time.

Ive added marine grade 75-90 gear oil to the gear box. Marine grade silicone grease to the seals and shaft. Pulled the water pump apart and coated all surfaces with the silicone grease and put it back together with thread lock. Couldn’t get a NGK-BM6Y, got a NGK-BPMR7A and a Honda/Denso W22MPR-U.
Steve
Steve - 3 years ago
Thanks Dan, the water stayed cool, started fist pull. Thanks, my cord came waxed as with the spare, the new one wasn’t though. I was tempted to canabalise into an electric and like the look of the Hangkai 4HP electric I found on Aliexpress but Ill stick to the gas for now.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Thanks for sharing. I didn't indicate in my early videos that when using a bucket, make sure you keep the water cool. Running a hose so it doesn't overheat. I actually kept adding snow and ice but failed to show that.
Sounds like my videos have helped! Especially on the backwards choke! Also put some new wax on that pull cord, it will last a lot longer..... Mine shows no wear at all (0:
junkiehunter
junkiehunter - 3 years ago
cheers for the info dan me and the boys are making plywood boats this summer and the cruize n booze will be on.
Huy Ha Anh
Huy Ha Anh - 3 years ago
How much.
Huy Ha Anh
Huy Ha Anh - 3 years ago
Thanks
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Price varies, check eBay for prices. I paid around $200
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Actually I did keep adding cooler water and even some snow. I would feel the water to make sure it didn’t over heat.... I probably should have been clear on that!
THOMAS SODOMIZER
THOMAS SODOMIZER - 3 years ago
You are asking for more trouble than its worth with one of these. I mean if you are pretty comfortable with tearing down Outboards I guess its not bad for the price. For the average consumer its going to be a headache.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I went with not bad for the price! To me, the motor itself is sound. The cheap parts like fuel lines, spark plug and the two wires to the shut off switch are possible issues. I've had it for just short of a year, so time will tell. But I do agree, it's not bad for the price (0:
Serh Hupper
Serh Hupper - 3 years ago
The 6hp hankai s much wayy quality always if it don't have a nut holding on the prop it's cheaper for the price id get the 4 stroke 6.5 hp actually very good deal . The others are weedeaters
Serh Hupper
Serh Hupper - 3 years ago
@BoilerDan1 in know what u mean it just say u should check out the 4 stroke 6.5 they may seen it for 700 on ebay very nice and more relable ez to start
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Yes, the 3.6 hp is a weedeater! :0) But I've had fun with it. I'm not a serious boating enthusiast, just wanted to putt putt around, so the small 3.6 works for me.
SR JR
SR JR - 3 years ago
Thanks for the review, very informative, Im gonna add my comments here as this seems the best resource regarding this engine on the net. Like a 60’s era car this engine is very simple so if you have any mechanical inclination your gonna be able to deal with it. Its a 200$ motor where as something high quality is gonna be a minimum of 4x more expensive so im not gonna criticize its crudeness, for 700$ im gonna deal with it. The engine is listed as water cooled but its really not sure there is any circulation through the block, the thing is a loud screamer like a fully air cooled. The water cooling might just be injected to cool the exhaust. There seems to be some sort of inertial transmission where at a certain rev a gear engages that will turn the prop and engage the water pump. This presents difficulty at docking as you have no steering or propulsion at low power. Also not sure the type of transmission or clutch geared or friction. Gets very low propulsion at anything less than full power. I have this on a dinghy i transit to my sailboat on a mooring. I have to deal with wind currents and chop, at full power the engine moves the boat well but at anything less its nowhere near good enough. The power curve is a hockey stick at 90% power.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Nice review. The transition you mentioned is inertia. There have been some comments on mine making metallic noise. Actually I discovered that the quick fasteners that I use on the metal side poles have the metal hinge vibrating on the metal pole causing that noise on the video.

That being said, you can hear the clutch as it is partially engaged at slower speeds. The water pump system is also very simple, no gears, it just fits over the square shaft leading to the gears for the propeller. I'm planning on a video this fall of how to disassemble that area an replace the pump wheel. Not that it's needed, I'm just having fun with the motor. And yes, full speed or idle are about your only options with it.
Thanks for responding.
Николай Горяев
Николай Горяев - 3 years ago
Если его доделать,то воплне неплохой получится моторчик.
Senapspiser
Senapspiser - 3 years ago
Chinese outboards are OK as long as you're willing and capable to rectify all those small issues (it can be quite a lot) to make it run reliably and last for a long time. They require a lot of babying. If you are not willing or capable, I personally wouldn't recommend buying a Chinese motor at all, but rather go for a well known brand name, high quality units, like Honda, Tohatsu, Suzuki or whatever. I have fixed many things on my small 4-stroke Aquaparx 1.2hp and finally I can say that I have a good little motor. Well, hopefully...
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
For me, playing with the motor is half the fun! It's simple in design so any adjustments have been easy so far.
I'm completing one season with the motor and not been stranded on the water yet (0:
Thanks for watching and commenting.
Bryan Mcpherson
Bryan Mcpherson - 3 years ago
Don’t buy one . The gears and the impeller are plastic and rubber . Mine locked up after 5 trips out . Took it to a shop and they said it’s trash . Now I have a 7 horse mudskipper and love it .
Jim Catanzaro
Jim Catanzaro - 2 years ago
Bryan Mcpherson sounds like you didn’t put gear lube in it and break it in also during break in only use 60 to 30 percent throttle and also various speeds
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Actually the gears are not plastic, but the impeller as in many outboard motors is plastic. Sorry you had a bad experience. But for me it's still working fine.

For other readers: Make sure you add gear lub prior to any running of the motor as well as mixing oil and gas at recommended rate during break in.
libinqw
libinqw - 3 years ago
Why on my manual it says 30:1 mixture ratio under normal usage?
libinqw
libinqw - 3 years ago
I C, Thanks Dan, I went to the manufacturer website again, they have some tech videos and docs(I do read chinese), one of the video says 30:1 and the doc says 25:1:
http://hang-kai.com/cn/nd.jsp?id=4#_jcp=1
LOL, I guess probably it is not that strict, as long as it's between 25:1 and 35:1 you are gonna be ok.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
That was actually an optional item specifically for the Intex inflatable raft. So if you are mounting it on an Intex raft, here is a link to Amazon where you can get one. https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B000NNM4BW Out of stock now but will be available early September. When I looked it was less than $18.00. That's less than I paid!
Or search for: Intex Motor Mount Kit inflatable Boats.
I'm posting a new video tonight and another in the coming days on a motor preventive maintenance topic.... Stay tuned!
libinqw
libinqw - 3 years ago
Thanks for the info Dan. Yeah I think the manual is probably wrong, I will stick to 25:1 and then 50:1.
BTW, I saw in your another video you mounted the motor to a horizontal plastic board kind of thing, did that board come with the motor? I don't see it in my package.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I looked back over what I received with my motor. Your correct the manual does say 30:1 mix during break in. HOWEVER, I received an email from the seller that there was a printing error in the manual and that the break in gas to oil mixture should have read 35:1. The email also says that after the run-in period the mixture should be 50:1. SO TODAY I LOOKED AT THE HANGKAI MANUFACTURERS WEB SITE: HERE ARE TWO LINKS:
1. This page lists the manufactures recommendation (25:1 break in / then 50:1 after break in). I'd go with 30 or 35, 25 will make an oily mess I'd guess. Once you go to 50 to 1 it runs very clean. I probably really am running closer to 45:1 just to be safe. HERE'S THE LINK: http://www.hang-kai.com/en/nd.jsp?id=2&groupId=-1

2. This is the LINK TO home page for Hangkai. http://www.hang-kai.com/en/

To find out information, click on the "Article" section that is at the top of the page in the black band. Then scroll down to find other information on the motor.

If you haven't already, please subscribe to my channel. That will reward me for my research on this topic (0:
Redfish Incorporated
Redfish Incorporated - 3 years ago
You said you paid less than $200? That's amazing! That is about a quarter of the price of more mainstream brands of similar rated power. Very tempting to give it a try.
David Monroy
David Monroy
David Monroy - 2 years ago
I saw one for 30
salam alaykom
salam alaykom - 2 years ago
@BoilerDan1
Yes l just order same one from ebay for 180$ . It was fantastic deal
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
The block of the motor seems very solid to me. Some of the exterior parts are questionable, but I've replaced some of those things. I've mentioned before that I do like the motor and it continues to run just fine. The price does seem to fluctuate, so if you keep your eye open, I bet you kind find a good deal too. I did buy mine between Christmas and New Years Day. Maybe it was a slow time? I've gotten more than $200 in fun with it for sure!
KazunaiOwO
KazunaiOwO - 3 years ago
buy yamaha
KazunaiOwO
KazunaiOwO - 3 years ago
BoilerDan1 yeh its more expensive but you get a lot more reliability or whatever
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I'm content with what I have. Thanks for watching and commenting.
John Doe
John Doe - 3 years ago
hi sir you seem to be good with outboards. i have an outboard where water is not coming out of the water discharge, its water cooled. it runs ok other than this, what do you think keeping it from discharging water? i ran it for a few minutes before i noticed no water discharged from the pee hole/water discharge hole.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Good suggestion, I originally thought that the person might be running at idle speed under which circumstances the water pump will not run. I hope he takes your advise too.
Thanks for commenting.
Serh Hupper
Serh Hupper - 3 years ago
The hose that pees out sides only purpose is so u can see that waters pumping disconnect hose from water jacket check if clog or try without if no water then u need pull gear case and check water pump
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
If it is the exact same Hangkai 3.6 hp motor.... It has a very simple plastic water impeller that is attached to the rod that runs the propeller.  At an idle speed the propeller does not turn, nor will the water impeller.  If you are running it while on your boat, it is sometimes hard to see the water coming out.  It's not all that much that comes out.  So to be sure, run the motor by setting it up inside a large tub of water.  Then you can actually confirm that no water is coming out.  There is also an opening that has a filter grill on the underside of the flat part of the shaft below the waterline. That is where the water enters. Make sure it is not blocked by debris. You can also unhook one of the actual black water lines going in/out of the motor. They have a simple spring clip. Once unhooked, you can confirm if water is or is not coming out. If no water is coming out, then the blades of the plastic wheel impeller might be damaged? The motor came with a spare water impeller, so you might need to replace it? I've not done that as of yet, but if you research some more on YouTube, maybe you can find something on that topic.
Techguy
Techguy - 3 years ago
I wonder if a predator could be bolted to the lower half without a lot of modifying.
geo g
geo g - 2 years ago
Look at the air cooled Honda 2.3hp or Briggs and Stratton , there are many similar setups on ebay and other manufacturers like Mud Buddy etc. It's been done and they suck too.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I wondered what that was? I'm not that much of a mechanic to know the answer to that idea...
Redfish Incorporated
Redfish Incorporated - 3 years ago
@BoilerDan1 it's a brand of Chinese 4 stroke engine carried at harbor freight.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Enlighten me? What is a predator? I hadn't fished or boated since I was in High School. I'm just winging it with this project.... But I will add that the motor gets better the more I run it! :0)
Robert Clark
Robert Clark - 3 years ago
Are you using marine grade 2 cycle oil or just regular 2 cycle oil?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Marine Synthetic Blend, "Quicksilver 2-Stroke Premium Plus.
Bumble Blimfield
Bumble Blimfield - 3 years ago
It just looks like the Chinese aren't ready to build Outboards just yet..
Nemo
Nemo - 2 years ago
nah they actually make a lot of good outboards for major companies (mercury being one) but even they can't offer a top tier product for $199. the chinese have put men in space, compared to that an outboard motor is pretty simple.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Time will tell. No offense taken :0) Yes, I do remember the Yugo!
Bumble Blimfield
Bumble Blimfield - 3 years ago
BoilerDan1 it's a great video that you made it just reminds me when I was a kid at a car lot that sold new yugo cars.. a VW Rabbit with a million highway miles was still a better car than a brand new you go.. I think this is a case of spending just a little bit more on a used name brand outboard .. you will be Miles Ahead
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I hope I didn't give that impression? I'm having a lot of fun with it, and minor adjustments just add to the adventure. But for the serious fisherman that wants speed.... This is a trolling motor that runs on gas instead of the hassle of a large battery. My thoughts anyway. :0) Thanks for watching and commenting.
Aquelina Lauzid
Aquelina Lauzid - 3 years ago
hi dan i just got this motor and im asking when greaking in motor do you use 50 to 1 ratio or the 35 to 1 ratio
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
35 to 1 for the break-in period. That way your getting a little extra oil for better lubricating. It will result in a little oil residue, but that will go away once you are done with the break-in period. Remember to not go full speed during break-in, and vary your speeds over that time too.
ed kamar
ed kamar - 3 years ago
I bought the 4hp 4 stroke. Almost the same exact motor. However, mine is overheating because it has no water flow, even with that plastic cap off. Please help...
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I'm sure you should run it at about 1/2 half speed as the motor is new. For mine it was about a total of 12 hours run time. also vary the speeds, not just one speed for the break in time. You can do it on the water, just refrain from full speed for about 12 hours or so. You can go 3/4 speed as you progress as well. And after several hours within the 12 hours, maybe full speed for just a very short time.
Have fun.....Ps.... So far, I only go upstream, just incase I have a problem. No lake close to me, so I will probably wish I had gotten the motor you did... Mine only hits about 3 mph going upstream... very slow.
ed kamar
ed kamar - 3 years ago
Thanks for the super fast reply. I just assumed it was overheating because the engine was extremely hot. I was scared to take it too far from my house on the lake because I didn't want to have to paddle back.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Ed, I think you can relax. The 4 hp 4 stroke is an air cooled motor. You won't have water flow at all. It will be much like a lawnmower engine, and may seem to run hot. I hope this helps, but if it truly is overheating, I'm not sure what or how it could happen being air cooled.
philip blick
philip blick - 3 years ago
Hi there I have had some experience with servicing outboard motors, I suggest your comment about the air filter being inadequate is really not that important simply because outboard motors are never used in conditions where dust is an issue.
Most outboard motors use some kind of spark arrester type of devise where an air filter would normally be fitted in case of backfire igniting leaking fuel.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Thanks for the suggestion. I have not replaced it, so your input will be put to use :0)
joeyaus1
joeyaus1 - 3 years ago
The biggest problems with these Chinese outboards bought on line is that no pre delivery service is done. Unlike mainstream motors who are delivered via a dealer.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Fun to play with none the less :0)

and you can't beat the price..... But for a serious fisherman, probably not the way to go. I'm still happy with mine.
jason bishop
jason bishop - 3 years ago
sorry did you say you bought it new ?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Be sure to break it in. You can do that on the water, but don't stress the motor to start. Also, it may buck for the first several hours, even after break in. But that will go away. For me it stopped after about 25 hours of run time. Thanks for watching, subscribe if you'd like to keep updated on any issues I have with the motor.
jason bishop
jason bishop - 3 years ago
+BoilerDan1 Thanks for your swift reply, great review and I'm looking into buying one myself thanks to you.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Yes, the motor was purchased new. The price is higher in the summer months, but all things considered, a good deal. I'm happy with the little motor.
Michael Gonzalez
Michael Gonzalez - 3 years ago
I have had zero problems with my hangkia 3.5. It did not have oil in gear box that was easy fix. Also replaced plug wires cj8 replacement "E"nergy premium plug from Home depot. Aside from that engine as easy to maintain as garden " weed whacker." On my inflatable Sea Eagle ex380 we fly along. Easily 7-9 mph depending on tidal flow.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I'm very happy with mine too. I have yet to run it in a calm water environment like a lake or pond. No tidal flows in Indiana! :0) I agree, the motor is a very simple design, and parts look easy to come by via eBay.
I hope to soon get on a small lake and see how it does in calm water. I expect the 7-9 mph you described.
Thanks for watching and commenting.
cuximan Fahrer
cuximan Fahrer - 3 years ago
Habe mir auch gerade einen bestellt, weil diese wieder lieferbar sind
Neng Thor
Neng Thor - 3 years ago
I bought this Hankai 3.5hp last year on Ebay but hard to use. It was hard to staring up. It took me a lot times to get starting but when I shut of the engine and try starting again it won't start. Had to try so many times when lucking it started but most the times it won't. I hate to use it. Any suggestion. I might throw in the trash. It was brand new motor. It cheap but it not good.
geo g
geo g - 2 years ago
Buy a used tohatsu or nissan 2.5 3.5 hp 2 stroke. Ive owned many some of which were blue and from the 80's that ran extremely well and reliably. Thats the best $200 solution to your problem
Huber Lawn Service
Huber Lawn Service - 3 years ago
Neng Thor don't throw it away. If you are interested in selling it let me know.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Not sure how to help. If you did everything correctly.... 35:1 oil fuel mix. Make sure you turn the choke to "OFF" and then turn the throttle handle about 1/2 inch toward higher run. Mine starts every time on second or third pull of the starter cord. Also, did you put gear oil in the bottom, near the propeller? (watch my other video's to see what I am talking about). Good luck, hope this helped.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I was getting ready to do a 25 hour run time review. When I removed the cover to pre-inspect the motor, one of the fuel lines broke off. I will definitely add in a recommendation to change the fuel lines at the time of purchase. It did spew gas around until I removed the cap to relieve pressure.. Could be a serious fire risk if there had been any spark around.
I'll cover this in my next video post.
Jack Fisher
Jack Fisher - 3 years ago
I still have my motor.. I don't know why people comp[lain.. It is a working engine.. Right fuel mix, and remember the break in process and the engine will last you years.
Jack Fisher
Jack Fisher - 2 years ago
@BoilerDan1 I had my hangkai for like 6-7 years. I am still using it due to its light weight. I was out on the sea yesterday to put up fish nets. I sail very far out on it, so no one steal my fish or destroy my nets. There are plenty of fish and equipment thiefs on the water. It is probably time to change the spark plug as the engine started to choke a litle.. Beside that I dont have any problems with it. Also it is important to say that anyone who have the engine should not screw the fuel cap on hard, so the air can come in.. I had one fuel cap break because of that, and that too can be the cause of engine choking, if it cant suck in enough fuel. Your model is the new one with bigger tank.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I agree! I've run mine now for a little over 25 hours. The longer I run it the better it is running. It is by no means fast, but that isn't what I was expecting. I'm running the 50/1 mix now and it even runs clean with no oil residue at the exhaust ports. No rotting fuel lines, but we do have non-ethanol fuel available.
Thanks for watching and commenting.
jetguy1205
jetguy1205 - 3 years ago
looks like you have water in your gear oil
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Yes, initially I over filled it. I've corrected that and will add an updated video soon.
Tammy Boyd
Tammy Boyd - 3 years ago
First off I want to say thank you for your detailed videos on this Hangkai motor. My fist experience with this was last summer when I purchased a used 12f Pelican jon boat that came with a 2 stroke 3.5hp motor. Of course it only worked once but I don't think it was properly taken care of in the first place. I have watched many vidoes about this motor some good some not so good. Being that all the good American outboards are far outside my price range I bought a brand new Hangkai 4 Stroke 4hp. I have followed all your videos and they are great. But we all know the instructions are terrible. I was wondering about how much oil it takes on initial fill up. The dipstick must have been made by a dipstick. Lol. It is very confusing on the marks and the picture in the instructions makes it look like you should fill it to the point you can look down the fill hole and actually see the oil. I would appreciate any input on this. Thank you.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Glad I could help.
Tammy Boyd
Tammy Boyd - 3 years ago
It is in fact air cooled. I did wonder if that was the case and now it makes complete sense. I greatly appreciate your help and look forward to watching more of your vides. Thank you very much for your time.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I think you stated that you purchased the 4 cycle motor. From what I have seen on line, it is air cooled instead of water cooled. So you won't have water coming out. Here is a link of what I think you ordered and this one is air cooled. https://www.ebay.com/itm/2-4-Stroke-Outboard-Motor-Fishing-Boat-Motor-Engine-7HP-6-5-6HP-4HP-3-6-3-5HP/332632568029?_trkparms=aid%3D555018%26algo%3DPL.SIM%26ao%3D2%26asc%3D50544%26meid%3D4972393d25644486946bd62579ac2faa%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D4%26rkt%3D12%26sd%3D282595525253%26itm%3D332632568029&_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851
HOWEVER if your model is watert cooled, water will only come out when you speed the motor up above idle. It has a clutch that allows the motor to idle without the propeller moving. So if you speed the motor up so that the propeller is turning, then water will come out if - it is fact a water cooled type. You can also see the water tubes when you remove the engine cover. On mine they are black plastic with one inlet going in on one side of the piston area and the outlet on the exhaust pipe side. At the 14:52 time mark of this video link you can see the two clips and tubes on the sides of the motor. They are the water cooling tubes. Here is the video that shows it> again fast forward to the 14:52 time mark. https://youtu.be/322Aq735A9c
Tammy Boyd
Tammy Boyd - 3 years ago
Thank you for your reply I realize I was looking at the wrong videos when I asked my question. sorry about that. I just started my motor and it started right up and sounds great but I noticed that even when idle is turned up there is not water coming out the water exhaust port (  or whatever it is called) that is half way up the shaft. Just wondering if yours is that way? I already took the cover off to make sure there is no blockage and there is nothing.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Here is something else I found. It's helpful hints from the manufacturer. Some how to kind of things.
http://www.hang-kai.com/en/nr.jsp
But I didn't find anything on oil capacity...sorry.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I purchased the 2 cycle version (mix of oil & gas). I choose it due to the fact that I have to lay the motor down in the back of a Subaru Forester. I read that the 4 cycle because it holds the oil can also leak out if you lay it on the wrong side...?
But to answer your question the best I can... It sounds like a similar system to some lawnmowers. You fill until it almost runs out but not quite.... With the 4 cycle, it's more like a car, you have oil in a reservoir that gets splashed or circulated on the engine parts and you will change it from time to time. The 2 cycle you add it to the gas and it burns up with no bulk amount of oil in the engine.
For sure still do a gentle break in, as well as add good gear oil....I'm sure it came with none too.
I'm in the process of making my final "On the water" test video. I'll post it when complete. Then I will add more if and when I have any complications.
Thanks for your encouragement. Wish I could provide specifics on your 4 cycle motor.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
To find a source to purchase search eBay but only search the item as: outboard motor 3.6 hp
Here is a link that will also give you a sample of one available on eBay.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/3-6-HP-Outboard-Motor-Engine-Water-Cooling-Boat-Canoe-Marine-2-stroke-Engine-USA/253293218952?hash=item3af973cc88:g:6CYAAOSwF6dZd3~b
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
It will work for your needs. Be sure to add gear lube and take your time breaking it in for several hours at medium and slower speeds.
flyrod1000
flyrod1000 - 3 years ago
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I've been on their web site several times. I located a little bit of a conflict of stats in that they list the motor as 3.6hp, but then list it as 55cc. I'm no expert, so I looked up the rating for a 55cc motor on google, and it comes back as 1.6 hp. That may explain why some are disappointed with the speed. I'm fine with it..... Well if the weather ever improves enough for me to get it out! I'm working on an updated video and will mention the 55cc documentation.
Brandon Capone
Brandon Capone - 3 years ago
That was a good fact about the gear oil using a synthetic 90 weight thanks guy.
yamaoutboard
yamaoutboard - 3 years ago
Looks like a yamaha lower unit and mid. Section
the goldman24
the goldman24 - 2 years ago
@BoilerDan1l bought a 30hp vortex 2 stroke outboard which is made in china most of these Chinese outboards are Yamaha copys l just replaced the reed valves using genuine Yamaha parts. motor runs great.
Isidor Fist
Isidor Fist - 2 years ago
My 2 hp Yamaha has oil drain and fill plugs on the lower unit, allows keeping the gears completely submerged in oil. But this sure looks similar. They just cheapened it up a bit.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I don't think this little motor can compete with the Yamaha.... But maybe parts could be used as needed?
jerwood007
jerwood007 - 3 years ago
By far one of the best review/demos I’ve watched on any product. It’s appreciated by many. Have you had the opportunity to try it under a load yet? Would you purchase again?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Thanks! I have not had a chance to try it out on the water yet. I will test it out as soon as the water levels here go down. Near record floods on the Tippecanoe river where I'd like to run my test. Hopefully early April 2018. I also discovered that in Indiana you must register and title a raft if putting any motor on it. I completed that this morning. (I may make a video on that process as you have to get special forms from the seller.)
I will continue making video's with any little snags that occur as I use it. I would definitely buy it again. Mid-winter it was just under $200. It will probably go up a little due to seasonal demands. But for my use, spending upwards of $1,000 wasn't going to happen..
Tomas Barreto
Tomas Barreto - 3 years ago
Thanks for sharing I am thinking of getting one for my Gheenoe
ga jumbo
ga jumbo - 2 years ago
Did you purchase one for your gheenoe?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I was motivated because of some negative reviews. In watching, many looked bogus to me. Like they had purchased a used one that had been abused to start with. I won't be using mine in salt water, but I've run it for about 15 hours and no problems that were serious. I'm keeping an eye on the fuel lines, and I did change the spark plug... But all in all, I'm very happy with it. I will make another video of it actually on the water with the Intex 4 raft that I have. Thanks for subscribing!
Leslie Velazquez
Leslie Velazquez - 3 years ago
Can you use ethanol fuel if you replace the fuel lines with better ones?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Let me update: Tom (see below) is probably totally correct, don't use any ethanol. But if you are in a state that only offers ethanol blended fuels you might try this: I found that there are products that help with ethanol problems. I've cut and pasted info. (can get at Amazon, Walmart...Other places too.
 
Lucas Safeguard™ Ethanol Fuel Conditioner with Stabilizers was developed to specifically address issues associated with using ethanol based fuels. This applies to E-10, E-15, E-85, pure ethanol and any mixtures in between including gasoline. Our Product is completely soluble in all ethanol fuels and will not harm filters. Lucas Safeguard™ Ethanol Fuel Conditioner with Stabilizers contains effective additives to prevent rust and corrosion associated with the use of ethanol fuels.
Key Benefits
Recommended for use in automobile and marine applications.

Cleans injectors, valve seats, combustion chambers and other critical fuel components
Stabilizes fuel and prevents varnish & gum formation in ethanol and gasoline
Combats deposits and protects your engine oil lubricants from the harmful effects of alcohol combustion

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR DIESEL APPLICATIONS


One ounce treats five gallons of ethanol fuel. Our new 5.25 oz bottle treats up to 25 gallons (94.6 liters) of ethanol fuel.
Tom Kiker
Tom Kiker - 3 years ago
Any gas with ethanol well eventually gum up the jets in the carburetor. Always use non-Ethanol gas on any engine with a carburetor especially a 2 stroke
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
an ethanol blend - Yes I would think if you replace the lines with better ones it would be fine. I also had someone tell me the lines will go bad regardless. So I will keep an eye on mine for the first season.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Ebay: Seller name was listed as super-medical-shop. I had very good customer service and item arrived in 4 days.
powerdog242
powerdog242 - 2 years ago
This is a 2-cycle engine, so for an engine like this you will need to mix the engine lubricating oil into your gas at a 50:1 gas to oil ratio.
If you run a two-cycle engine without oil mixed with the gas, you will severely damage your engine.
Esmaylyn Reynoso
Esmaylyn Reynoso - 3 years ago
BoilerDan1 hello my friend
Where do you put the engine oil for lubrication??
Abdul Ahmad
Abdul Ahmad - 3 years ago
Where did you buy yours from
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I had posted this information, but it didn't get to you. Ebay has several sellers and price points. I think someone buys a shipment of 100 or so, then sell them until they are gone. Mine was from Ebay: Seller name was listed as super-medical-shop.  I had very good customer service and item arrived in 4 days. I looked today 3/7/18 and they don't list any of this motor for sale. Just some replacement parts. But there are several sellers listing the same item. Price ranges from around $200 - $350 so keep looking for one with a good price and free shipping.

100. comment for Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor Review (please subscribe)

Peter Ellis
Peter Ellis - 3 years ago
Thanks Dan. I'm retired too and have a new Hangkai in my shed ready for me to fire up.  It helps when somebody else has been to the trouble of trouble shooting problems, to reduce problems for other people.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Great encouragement for me! I'll be adding more.... The pull start has a defective plastic piece that comes lose. It can result in the pull cord catching when you release it too fast (Mine did and broke the cord.
Solution. glue that little guide into place and wrap it with a little electrical tape too. I'll make a shorter video soon showing exactly what happened and the fix.

Similar videos
for Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor Review (please subscribe)

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,754 views 5 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,690 views 4 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,019 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,377 views 10 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,348 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,310 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Related videos
to Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor Review (please subscribe)

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,690 views 4 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,019 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,348 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,310 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

Flytec 5 Generation Electric Fishing Bait RC...

9,833 likes 4,944,742 views 3 years ago

【Flash Deal- Get in fast!】:https://ban.ggood.vip/8gwq 【Flytec 5 Generation】:https://ban.ggood.vip/d9rm...

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,615,102 views 8 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

About Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor Review (please subscribe)

The "Hangkai 3.6 hp Outboard Motor Review (please subscribe)" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!