Hangkai 3.6 hp River run test & Review

Overview of the Hangkai outboard boat motor. Test run on the Wabash river with current.

Hangkai 3.6 hp River run test & Review sentiment_very_dissatisfied 21

Reviews 3 years ago 42,901 views

Overview of the Hangkai outboard boat motor. Test run on the Wabash river with current.

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Hangkai 3.6 hp River run test & Review

Carl Hopkins
Carl Hopkins - 2 years ago
Just me but i dont think insulating the motor is a good idea. It will trap the heat inside. I could be wrong but i wouldnt chance overheating an air cooled motor.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Although I did leave all the vent areas open, I agree with you and recently had removed all the sound deadening padding. You were ahead of me. It really didn't change the noise level much if at all. But with all the vents open, I didn't have any overheating problems. But the area near the exhaust was a concern. I'll make a video update in the future explaining the end result and that I've removed it all. Thanks for the concern, watching and commenting. It will help others and me too!
Jesse Fex
Jesse Fex - 2 years ago
I’d drop a ryob 4 stroke weed eater engine on that bad boy.
the one and only
the one and only - 2 years ago
Throw that toy in the rubbish bin
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I appreciate your watching and taking the time to comment. Experience is a good teacher wouldn't you agree? :0)
xXspiderman98Xx
xXspiderman98Xx - 2 years ago
I have a 2.5 hp Mercury and it's more pepper then that
Etrician55
Etrician55 - 2 years ago
Seems like it should be much quicker for a 3.6 hp
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
There are several contributing factors: The raft is to giving which allows the motor to dip. Thus wasting some of it's thrust. The raft itself isn't a design for speed and has a lot more drag than a hard shell boat. I had one viewer advise his is on a 10 foot light weight hard shell boat and it goes 8mph.
Thanks for watching.
what?
what? - 2 years ago
Got one of these for free the other day. It will push my 12 foot aluminum at 8 mph. But its stupid loud.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Yes, noise is the down side.... But free is good!
Thanks for watching!
Woodland Hollow
Woodland Hollow - 2 years ago
A Honda CRF50F (50cc engine) makes 3.1hp
Brandon Botham
Brandon Botham - 2 years ago
I dont think you actually have to register it unless its 10hp or over, which is why 9.9 hp is so common
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I think it varies by state. Indiana requires any motorized boat to be registered. Not the motor though, it's the boat that is registered.
Thanks for watching and taking the time to comment.
Astrodiver 1
Astrodiver 1 - 2 years ago
I enjoyed your reviews of this little motor. I'd guess you won't ever be boarded by the coast guard.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Nope, they would blow by me so fast, they wouldn't even see me! (0;
Thanks for watching!

10. comment for Hangkai 3.6 hp River run test & Review

Rodger Roberts
Rodger Roberts - 2 years ago
Gonna rip a hole in the ground with that synthetic hear oil.
Rodger Roberts
Rodger Roberts - 2 years ago
That's a great choice for high speed regular 90 -. 120 is for slower rpm synthetic for anything enclosing he's oils but that choice you have(is good for transmissions )
Rodger Roberts
Rodger Roberts - 2 years ago
@BoilerDan1 that was a good choice on oils
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Rodger Roberts please clarify? I wondered if I needed to only use 90 weight. I’m a novice and still learning on this motor. Any expert advice is appreciated. Thanks for watching
Andrew Bilich
Andrew Bilich - 2 years ago
Dude put everyone to shame at the boat ramp
jody
jody - 2 years ago
you should be wearing a life jacket in that river in a inflatable just saying
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I have two life jackets on board, can swim, and the raft has three separate air compartments decreasing the odds of three simultaneous structure failures. But a sincere thanks for your concern, and watching!
Song of the Passaic
Song of the Passaic - 2 years ago
Not busting your hump, but I wouldn't trust that inflatable with an engine. Additionally that style of inflatable pushes water out of it's way as opposed to cutting through it like a canoe or getting on plane with a proper boat. Check out my vids, to see how i did something similiar.
Basically I bought a used Old Town Discovery Sport 15 and purchased a mud motor kit. 4 stroke engine sips gas and much more reliable. Although right turns are tricky...
Originally I had a Briggs outboard but it was the wrong tool for running the rock bottomed rivers here.
Cheers from New Jersey
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I'll check it out! I have big storage space limitations. But I looked at your boat and being solid would be a big advantage. Thanks for taking the time to watch and comment. I'll check out yours now.
W
W - 2 years ago
yur engine is broke, it should not sound like that, and should have 3 times as much power, lmfao
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Not broke, I just need a better system to have it hooked to the raft. It would do better on a hard shell craft for sure.
Thanks for watching... If you have suggestions, I'm listening :0)
Jim Catanzaro
Jim Catanzaro - 2 years ago
Your boat sucks
Luther Bryson
Luther Bryson - 2 years ago
Don't buy that Chinese shit
Henauder Titzauf
Henauder Titzauf - 2 years ago
You get the registration from the state, geeez.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
No motor registration here in Indiana. But the boat must be registered if you put any motor on it. So your canoe would need one, but not the motor.... Probably a little odd?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Yes, but you must have the papers from the manufacturer to take to the state licensing branch to get the registration. That's only required if you are putting a motor on the raft.
James Miller
James Miller - 2 years ago
Thanks for the review video.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
You're welcome. Hopefully the water levels will come down soon, and I'll do a follow-up video of an full day journey down the Tippecanoe River. It'll be about a 25 mile trip, and a good test for the motor for season #2.
Thanks for watching and taking the time to send you appreciation.
Virginia Serrano
Virginia Serrano - 2 years ago
Would you be so kind to explain how the reverse works?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
The motor turns completely around. There is no reverse, you just turn it so the handle is pointed backward, you have to steer by grabbing the motor housing and turning it. Maybe I will include showing that in my next video!
Thanks for watching. Please subscribe if you haven't already.

20. comment for Hangkai 3.6 hp River run test & Review

Arno Bashtar
Arno Bashtar - 2 years ago
Can you make a video on your launching wheel / trailer system?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I actually show the raft being launched with the PVC trailer in a video titled "Hangkai 3.6 hp River run test & Review." It begins at about the 8 min 15 second spot in the 15 1/2 min video. Here is a direct link: https://youtu.be/xqGVa8LDpSU
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I'm going to make a short update video and I'll include a launch.
I'm going to drill two holes in the top tubes to let air escape. It's tended to float a bit when trying retrieve the raft upon landing.
Thanks for watching. Subscribe and you'll get notice when I post the update...... So much rain and flooding this season, I've not gone out yet....
Built. Not Bought.
Built. Not Bought. - 2 years ago
horsepower isn't dictated by the displacement... The only way to measure the horsepower is by calculating the max RPM and torque of the engine... google is unable to do that...
Built. Not Bought.
Built. Not Bought. - 2 years ago
@BoilerDan1 I use the 4hp on a flat back canoe... doesnt have as much power as I want so looking at the 7hp version that seems like its probably closer to the advertised HP since its a 200cc motor (the "4hp" is like 50cc go figure..) theyre all decent for a canoe or dinghy to putter around or fish a lake, but where I am the river flows pretty fast so I want more powa... I was getting 7kph against the current, and 15kph with it.... Id like to see 15 against it with a real 4hp... good news is boat motors hold their resale pretty well where i am... so gonna pass the 4hp on to the next guy and go get the 7...
Built. Not Bought.
Built. Not Bought. - 2 years ago
@BoilerDan1 That being said though, I am also skeptical of the HP claims of these motors... I bought a "4hp" from the same manufacturer and I'm a small engine mechanic... I see A LOT of 4hp motors, and Ive never seen one this small... I think the 3.6hp 2 stroke and the 4hp 4 stroke are both closer to 2hp, maybe 2.5 or so... I'm sure they are testing the engine without the bottom end to get a rating that high... or their just marketing it higher than it is... still decent for the price as long as you're not trying to go fast!
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Thanks for your input. You're correct, I stand corrected!
Fresh and healthy Life is easy
Fresh and healthy Life is easy - 2 years ago
hi plz use proper boat the boat u use its not compatible for any motor its called toy boat sorry dont mind later i send u my video with same motor with 330cm inflated boat give me 30 days coz now is fasting month
any way thanks to read it
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I look forward to your advise on better boat! Yes mine is cheap and not for any rough use. Just for fun.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I agree with the overall quality of the Intex. I don’t go far in it and extra cautious. It’s very inexpensive, but also cheap! I’ll stick with it for another season, then check out your advice.
Thanks
Jack Fisher
Jack Fisher - 2 years ago
Ohh my god not another Intex boat. For your own safety stay away from any boat called Intex. They are made out of very thin and poor material. Buy a PVC boat or if your budget allow Hypalon boat if it have to be inflatable. If you sail in to a branch or any debrie in the water it will tear up entire boat, no matter how many air chambers you have.
arlene nowalk
arlene nowalk - 2 years ago
If the HP calculator you used was for 4 stroke motors, then the 3.6 HP for your 2 stoke is quite accurate.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I've had a few comments on this topic. I admit that I'm confused! But I did find factual information from the company web site under the tab for "Product" It listed the following details:
Two stroke water-cooling


3.6HP


55cc

10KG (weight of motor: 22.0462)

42CM
If interested, here is the link:

http://www.hang-kai.com/en/

Thanks for watching and commenting!
Chronic Awareness
Chronic Awareness - 2 years ago
where is this river? really pretty scenery , all that matters is that you can get out there and be happy and serene
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Sorry for the auto correct... James should have read jams.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
I'll give that a try later this spring. I might have reduced the sound for video quality? I don't remember if I did.... But going up stream is slow going. I'll post something if I get more speed.
Thanks for watching.
Manny Suarez
Manny Suarez - 2 years ago
Return and get a yammy or
merc/tohatzu lol A used 9.9 or 15 goes for a litte more than a new henkai good vid
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
Problem with a 9 hp or 15 hp... Too much for my little raft. Part of the reason I went with the Hangkai 3.6 was to put on the small raft. But a good merc would be nice! Thanks for commenting and watching.
RadioGnome
RadioGnome - 2 years ago
Did you manage to secure the engine mounts to the floor yet? I'd be most curious about that. Any more info about how that was supposed to be done? Any information on the matter would be appreciated. Thanks for the videos! Thanks a lot.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
So far I've not made much attempt at a better solution,,, I took a ratchet type strap and looped it around the motor and then around the seat post that I have mounted to the floor. I was able to pull the motor upward that way... But with the raft being so flexible I still think I'm loosing thrust. Being mid-winter in Indiana, I haven't tried anything else yet. You would think I'd work on it..... But I'm escaping winter in Florida and failed to bring the raft along! :0) I'll update maybe in the late spring when I get it out again.

30. comment for Hangkai 3.6 hp River run test & Review

#1 NatsFan
#1 NatsFan - 2 years ago
roughly how long does that motor run before it runs out of gas?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 2 years ago
#1 NatsFan . Sorry I don’t have that specific information. I’ll check it out this summer. But I have gone for an hour or so without adding fuel, but I always take additional fuel with me.
Drone Worship And His Dinghy
Drone Worship And His Dinghy - 2 years ago
feel free to join the Facebook group I have created for these Chinese off brand Motors so that we can compile all of the information into one place about these motors
https://www.facebook.com/groups/536817843464908/?ref=share
Luis Lopez
Luis Lopez - 2 years ago
do not waste your money do not buy this engine, amazon should not sell this, I lost my money
Manny Suarez
Manny Suarez - 2 years ago
Right go to offer up and get a used yammy or merc for a bit more
John Averick
John Averick - 2 years ago
All this is is a rebadged dressed up Cruise n Carrie
Rob Sevell
Rob Sevell - 3 years ago
The website you used is calculating four stroke displacement versus horsepower.
A better estimate is 15 to 17cc per horse power on average.
If you use 17cc per hp, you come out with 3.2hp.
I think they're going with 15cc per horse power and that comes out to 3.6hp.
That being said, some of the videos I've seen using 12 foot jon boats have 6hp Merc's and Evinrudes on plane moving close to 20mph and the Hangkai 6hp looking very slow.
I'd love to see one boat use each of the motors for a fair comparison of thrust and speed.
Michael Parkinson
Michael Parkinson - 3 years ago
To be fair. If this tinkering is occupying your mind and keeping it active in retirement from mending boilers then its money well spent for you. For me who is still working mending boilers it would be a pain. I just want to get out the boat and use it with as little babysitting as possible. I have three power options,sail,motor (if no wind)and if they fail its time for the oars. I think a better quality motor is the way for me. Thanks for your vids they've shown me these engines are too much hassle for me.
tdleedom
tdleedom - 3 years ago
I really like your reviews on this engine. I ran across them while researching this motor. I look forward to more of them as you get more time on the motor.

As stated by others, you can produce different amounts of horsepower from the same size engines, but I'm guessing this is the way Hangkai got their numbers.

Horsepower is a unit of measurement of power developed by engineer James Watt in the late 18th century. Although its original purpose was to compare the output of steam engines with the power of horses (hence its name), it has since been adopted as a unit of measurement for all sorts of engines.

Mechanical Horsepower, hp(I)—550 foot-pounds per second, approximately 745.7 watts. The most common definition of horsepower, mechanical horsepower is the horsepower James Watt invented in 1782.

- 3.6 Mechanical Horsepower is equivalent to 2,684.520 Watts (2.68Kw).

- Hangkai specs for this motor: 3.6HP 2.6KW 55cc
drmrjon
drmrjon - 3 years ago
10 hr break in ?! Holy crap !!!!
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
You can do the break in while using the motor. Just don't go full speed, and change your speeds from time to time.
TheNickIsyraf
TheNickIsyraf - 3 years ago
For a beginner like me, i think im gonna buy this hangkai motor.
But i need your suggestions. I've been looking at 4HP 2 stroke hangkai brand and 3.6 hp like yours. You think which one is better? 4hp or 3.6hp? So far do you have any problem with your hangkai motor?
Bahadir Dogan
Bahadir Dogan - 2 years ago
I suggest you to get yamaha 2.5 4 stroke very nice and realible but doest go to fast surely faster then 3.6 hankai.or get a 4 hp 2 stroke or 4 hp 4 stroke. 4 hp 2 stroke is very light engine and goes realy realy fast.
TheNickIsyraf
TheNickIsyraf - 3 years ago
@BoilerDan1 thank you so much sir. You are the best. I really appreciate it. Thank you again :)
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
1. Add Marine Gear Oil as outlined in one of my videos.
2. Use Non-ethanol gas, highest grade gas. (If you can't get ethanol free gas, then you need to buy a fuel additive to counter the effects of ethanol in your fuel.
3. To start, Mix 35:1 gas oil mix. 
4. You can take the boat out and run it as part of the break in process. Or run it in a large container with a hose to supply cool water. Make sure when running it, that water is coming out from the exhaust port. (2 cycle motor only) (see my other videos if unclear. During break in, you want to run it fast enough that water is coming out of the cooling port, but not full speed. You also want to vary the speed at around 10 minute intervals.
You will need to run it for about 10 hours total time with different speeds from slow to medium. Don't idle for more than just a couple of minutes as water will not flow at idle speed. after you get the 10 hours in, you can begin to run at full speed. Do that for a while still with 35:1 fuel/oil mix.

Once break in is done, you can begin to go with the 50:1 fuel/oil mix. I'd suggest working up to that level. I have been running mine at around 45:1 mixture for this summer. I'll go with 50:1 next season.

TODAY I LOOKED AT THE HANGKAI MANUFACTURERS WEB SITE:  HERE ARE TWO LINKS:
1. This page lists the manufactures recommendation (25:1 break in / then 50:1 after break in). I was told that 25:1 was a printing error, and I was told to go with 35:1, because 25 will make an oily mess I'd guess might foul the spark plug. 

Once you go to 50 to 1 it runs very clean.  I probably really am running closer to 45:1 just to be safe.  HERE'S THE LINK: http://www.hang-kai.com/en/nd.jsp?id=2&groupId=-12. This is the LINK TO home page for Hangkai. http://www.hang-kai.com/en/To find out information, click on the "Article" section that is at the top of the page in the black band.  Then scroll down to find other information on the motor.

Once you know it's running good, you will find that full throttle is what you will always do.... It has a clutch like system that once you reach a certain speed, the clutch will start catching and turn the prop and water pump. You'll be able to hear it. NOTE: on some of my videos you can hear a stronger metallic sound... That is actually the metal clips I used to hook the motor to the boat and the extension rods. I'm going to rubber coat or tape them so that will stop.
TheNickIsyraf
TheNickIsyraf - 3 years ago
@BoilerDan1 hi, can you make a video or maybe help me by telling the details for a beginner like me what to do before run the engine in the water for the new engine unboxing. I mean how much 2 cycle oil should i mix with the gasoline, do i need to turn off or turn on the choke before start the engine, how long do i need to run the engine in the bucket water for the first time start the engine, and other things that you think important. I am about to buy hangkai 4HP 2 stroke because it is 74.6cc and 4HP 4 stroke only 52cc. I really hope that you can help me out because im still learning about this stuff. Thank you so much :)
TheNickIsyraf
TheNickIsyraf - 3 years ago
@BoilerDan1 thank you sir. I really appreciate it. :)
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
TheNickIsyraf Correct, there will be no gear oil in the gear area down by the propeller. Also be careful not to over fill. There’s an a line etched that you fill to and it is a little below being totally full. Don’t over tighten the screws.... I did and stripped one by tightening too much. Just tighten to hold it together. The O ring seals the gear oil inside not a tighter screw.
TheNickIsyraf
TheNickIsyraf - 3 years ago
@BoilerDan1 thank you so much for the information. I already subscribed to your channel and i still learning how to operate the motor correctly by watching all of ur videos before i buy one. You helped alot.
This engine will come with no gear oil right? That's mean i need to fill in the gear oil first before run the engine. Is it right?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
TheNickIsyraf ;
I think the 4hp is 4 stroke motor. Advantage is you don’t have to mess with mixing 2cycle oil with the gas. It might have a little more power? It’s air cooled. Down side is that if you lay the motor down on its side oil can leak out or into the cylinder. I’m not sure which side you need to lay it on? But if you lay it correctly there won’t be a problem. Or if you can keep it upright. I went with the two stroke because I have to lay mine on its side a lot.
Two cycle was less expensive and you’re always using clean oil.
But if I didn’t always have to lay mine down, I’d have gone with the 4 stroke one. Might review all my videos and subscribe for new ones. I’ll be adding a new segment this fall with new suggestions.
nudohumanomex
nudohumanomex - 3 years ago
great video thanks for sharing, im building a proyect like your, could you tell me how did you fabricated the floor of your boat?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
nudohumanomex :
Here’s the link to the video on making the floor. https://youtu.be/Absc4KZU7xE
Someone suggested I use carpet tape and glue instead of staples to reduce risk of getting a hole in the raft.
KazunaiOwO
KazunaiOwO - 3 years ago
i could paddle faster than that.
KazunaiOwO
KazunaiOwO - 3 years ago
BoilerDan1 :3
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
True :0)
roy cornell
roy cornell - 3 years ago
i noticed dan you unscrewed the gas cap a little bit do you need to do this to run motor
roy cornell
roy cornell - 3 years ago
well dan took motor out this weekend she only bounced a couple times after having it on water for several hrs cant for aluminim prop to come in cant wait to try it
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I also would slow down when it happened. It really felt more like a fuel / air mixture problem and I didn't want too much stress on the motor. I'd slow down for just a little bit and then throttle back up. Mine rarely does it now, so give yours some time.
roy cornell
roy cornell - 3 years ago
yeah since adjusting the air mixture it is running just fine i was just wondering why you unscewed it mine is still bucking so i raised the prop to highest setting see what that does
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I'm still unsure about loosening the gas cap? It does have a release valve so to speak built into it. I loosened it because in the initial running of the motor it would buck or kick sometimes and it does create a vacuum in the gas tank... But that might be normal? The bucking has been greatly reduced as I have put more run time on the motor.
Archie
Archie - 3 years ago
a Honda is 5 times the price will last 10 times as long ear plugs optional unless wife is on board
Archie
Archie - 3 years ago
best sound deadening is ear plugs for motor and wife
ZZCopter
ZZCopter - 3 years ago
Thanks for the video with sound.. Now I know I wont buy such a motor. The gears are just crying "kill me now" :-D
ZZCopter
ZZCopter - 3 years ago
BoilerDan1 I think I am better on the way with a used brand motor like Mercury, Johnson, Yamaha...
ZZCopter
ZZCopter - 3 years ago
Sorry, the CC to HP Calculator ist BS.

I had a motorcyle with more then 64 HP and oly 350cc an other one I had had also 350cc and only about 26 HP
james baskins
james baskins - 2 years ago
So it probably is close to 3.6 hp
Scott Henry
Scott Henry - 3 years ago
Thanks for your review. Happy fishing
RoPower
RoPower - 3 years ago
1.2 hp engine it is. This is a waste of money and thanks for the review.
Peter Denton
Peter Denton - 3 years ago
I must agree with other people who posted; there is no accurate conversion from cc's to hp. cc is cubic centimeters displacement and hp is the amount of work that can be extracted from the running engine and a unit of power equal to 550 foot-pounds per second (745.7 watts). To get the proper horsepower measurement, it would have to be hooked up to a dynamometer. Otherwise a great and informative video with very in depth look at how to properly initialize and break in the unit to prepare for actual everyday use.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I wish I had known about the cc's to hp not accurate before I posted the video... :0( but at least it's known it is not very powerful… Don't misunderstand, I'm very happy with the little motor, and it works fine on small lakes or ponds. Just not real strong to go upstream in moving water!
Thanks for the overall positive review.
VBE INC.
VBE INC. - 3 years ago
Doesn't look to shabby. = ) I seen on another video that the AIR / FUEL mixture screw is never set properly on these motors. The instructions was to start the motor and run it until it is warm. Then Hold open the throttle while you make a quarter turn of the air / fuel mixture screw. You should notice an rpm increase and smoother running.
They didn't mention clockwise or counter clockwise though. = / ?
VBE INC.
VBE INC. - 3 years ago
Cool. I subscribed to your channel as well. I'm going to use your tips at first to lube it and break it inproperly first. Then if it spits and sputters like most say. I'll do the air/fuel mixture adjustment.
Worst case scenario, if the motor is useless. I was thinking to weld a plate to the top and put a 6.5hp Honda Lawnmower engine ( Vertical shaft ) on the lower end of this cheap chinese outboard.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I may try that tomorrow. I'm taking it out on a local river. I'd like to get a little more speed upstream!
Thanks. I'll subscribe to your channel and see how yours does if you post another video about it.

50. comment for Hangkai 3.6 hp River run test & Review

James Harper
James Harper - 3 years ago
love the video, but there is no accurate way to convert cc to hp, by googling it. cc is a measure of displacement, and not a measurement of power output in any way at all.
Kris Bassett
Kris Bassett - 2 years ago
@Stan Tuggs

you have had one on a dyno? Shear pins have nothing to do with the engine.
Stan Tuggs
Stan Tuggs - 2 years ago
@Kris Bassett You said these motors. These Hankai 3.5 motors make about 1 horsepower and barely hold up to that. The driveshafts bend, sheer pins break, tell me it's going to hold up to 10hp again.
Kris Bassett
Kris Bassett - 2 years ago
@Stan Tuggs

You obviously have no clue what you are talking about! They are getting up to 12hp out of 32cc engines for rc racing! Do some research before you open your mouth.
Stan Tuggs
Stan Tuggs - 2 years ago
@Kris Bassett bullshit
Kris Bassett
Kris Bassett - 2 years ago
These little motors are capable of 12-15hp with a few mods!
Randy Lewis
Randy Lewis - 2 years ago
2 cycle engines put out about twice as much power as a 4 cycle the same size had a 400cc 2 cycle triple that would run with 750cc 4 cycle 4 cylinders
Николай Горяев
Николай Горяев - 3 years ago
Медный патрубок на выхлопе обмотай алюминием,звук станет много тише.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Thanks for watching. Yes, unfortunately I didn't discover that until after I finished the video.... But none the less, no way it is 3.6 hp. However, that being said, I'm still very happy with it :0)
Evan Knight
Evan Knight - 3 years ago
converting cc is not an accurate way to measure horsepower
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Evan, thanks for your comment. Some would like to know a somewhat accurate HP for this motor. I just know there is no way it is putting out 3.6 HP. I'm happy with the motor, just want people to know it's about 4 to 5 mph in a loaded down rubber raft. Maybe a little better in a solid small boat?
Dronethat
Dronethat - 3 years ago
HI, I have the same inflatable boat like yours with electric motor. I'm thinking of mounting this motor too. I've subd to your channel, can you sub me too?Thanks!
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Sure!
Rich T
Rich T - 3 years ago
Doesn’t sound so good. You’re better off buying a good used motor from a name brand company.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I'm actually happy with it. If your referring to background noise, some of the odd sounds are the clip things I use as connectors. That rattle. I'm considering coating the clip part with a rubberized paint type material.

For me this entire project is just for fun. Retired and just playing around with it. But the more I run it, the better it seems to work... However I will say, if I were an avid fisherman, I'd get a regular boat, motor, and trailer... Problem is, I don't have a place to store it..... Downsized at retirement :0) Thanks for watching and commenting!
Daniel Pork
Daniel Pork - 3 years ago
these videos are so great lol but Dan this outboard just isn't workin out for ya!
Ethanol blended fuel does not gum up carburetor's, however using LOW octane, HIGH additive fuel from a non-top teir gas company definitely WILL. ALSO using low grade 2 stroke marine oil WILL. Use a synthetic type if it doesn't state otherwise that you should not. Just figure out the highest performing 2 stroke outboard oil and stick with that, as high performance often means smooth, clean performance. Then go ahead and run a lean mixture if you're finding a few different recommendations for this outboard, go with the leanest and use SUNOCO or SHELL 93 octane V-Power fuel! It is top teir, clean as can be and is the LEAST contaminated with crappy additives by FAR out of all other manufacturers. Do it regardless of if it says to do 87 octane or 91 octane or not, you want performance blended fuel or you're gonna end up with a lower true octane rating than what is stated. Trust me, this is what you want with 2 strokes. I've tried everything else instrumented testing. Also see if there's a throttle tube in the carburetor, if you shorten that slightly you can get around 4-5 hp. If they use said throttle tube. NON ethanol blended gasoline is only necessary if you're gonna put the engine away for a long time without bleeding it, often times, depending on where you go, comes at the MAJOR cost of performance, which is really unfortunate because it's a nice resource, just not well executed, and it won't ever be until the united states offers 106 octane or so at the pump and just charges an extra 15 cents! high compression engines are more efficient and it'll cost less in the end. Sick of this 87 octane bullshit, it's literal vodka folks are using! May as well be.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I really think something was mixed up in the translation from Chinese to English. No way this is 3.6 HP. But the type raft I put it on isn't going for speed. Tomorrow I'm finally going to a small lake along with a passenger and full load of equipment. I'll get a good reading of the speed and hope to test out very inexpensive Fish Finder. I'm hoping for at least a depth reading! I'll make a short follow-up video on all of that in the near future.
Thanks for all you comments. I'm sure all of this will help others trying out unusual ways of having a little summer fun!
Daniel Pork
Daniel Pork - 3 years ago
BoilerDan1 Awesome dan thanks for this awesome channel, Great reviews!
When i said that the outboard wasn't working I was just basing my words on how fast the 2.5hp outboards go and suggesting maybe something was off with this Hangkai, I guess we'll find out soon enough then
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I haven't really had any major problems, just showing people along my journey. I do and have always used the highest octane and agree with you on Shell JVJ-Power but no station close. Phillips 66 highest grade is working out for me. I'm due to get some 2 stroke oil and will take your advise. I did the same with the spark plug. I'm hoping others will read your advise too.
Thanks.
Daniel Pork
Daniel Pork - 3 years ago
in the 1983 Honda released their Honda Beat 49cc water cooled 2 stroke moped, which, from the factory, made 7.2 horsepower. I think it was capable of 56mph with stock gearing, may have had to remove a restrictor of some kind preventing the vehicle from exceeding the 35mph imposed limit on mopeds/scooters
Captainpegs07
Captainpegs07 - 3 years ago
NOT 3.5 hp. Maybe 1.5.
Bahadir Dogan
Bahadir Dogan - 2 years ago
I have 4 hp hidea 3 times faster then this.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
One of my video's does discuss that 1.6 hp is more accurate. :0)
david simpson
david simpson - 3 years ago
cc is just the engine size you could theoretically obtain just about any HP with any given cc. and 2 and 4 stroke engines with vary greatly as well. BTW good videos I may add. Very thorough. I was going to purchase one of those but instead decided to go with a 55 lb thrust electric trolling motor on mine.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Thanks for the info. Makes sense. But the motor isn't very powerful, but I'm having a lot of fun with tweaking the raft/motor as well as a little fishing. Something I haven't done in many years. Retirement, where every day is SATURDAY!

Thanks for watching and helping educate us all. :0)
Dani
Dani - 3 years ago
Hi, the exhaust is underwater ? Thank
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Actually, the exhaust is at about the same depth as the propeller so yes it is underwater. At an idle, the exhaust comes out above the waterline, at the same point as the cooling water exit is at. If that is the area you are referring too, it is actually above the water line by a few inches. I've since been able to raise the motor a little more and you will see that in my next posting. Subscribe to follow along with the things I learn along the way.
Thanks for watching.
Matthew Fischer
Matthew Fischer - 3 years ago
I think it would launch and pull out easier if you lowered the pvc platform to just a tiny bit higher than the wheels. Looks like the boat sits too high.
Matthew Fischer
Matthew Fischer - 3 years ago
BoilerDan1 I thought about that after I posted. I came across your video because I need to make a cart myself. Im going to use an electric trolling motor and they are pretty light. So I think I’m just going to put it in the boat and mount it after launch.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I had trouble with the motor dragging too. If I set the pvc platform to the back it works fine. The boat ramp was kind of shallow at the place I put in. But as the season progresses, I'll keep you thought in mind. I can easily chop off a couple of inches because that is the segment that isn't glued. Thanks for the idea! :0)
DavideoSolar
DavideoSolar - 3 years ago
STRONGIN5
STRONGIN5 - 3 years ago
I’d avoid part throttle on these motors, it will wear out the clutch... Wide open or idle
DavideoSolar
DavideoSolar - 3 years ago
Yep the clutch is the weak link.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I don't think I was clear. For break-in you need to vary the speed. I totally agree with you that when running you need the to go fast enough to have the clutch either be engaged or totally on idle so not wear it out at the medium/low speed. I went out again today and it ran very smooth and I did keep it at either full speed or slightly under. Or idle... but I try not to idle long either. Thanks again for your thoughts and advise.
Yolo Hansen
Yolo Hansen - 3 years ago
The site for the cc you used is rong I
Yolo Hansen
Yolo Hansen - 3 years ago
ok

i dont think its 3.6 but if the site was true my 10 hp yamaha was a 4 hp so thats a kind a strange thats why i think

but the motor works good?
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I can only show what the web produced. There are several comments regarding the low power of the motor. I'm fine with it as is, but it does seem less than 3.6 hp to me.
DavideoSolar
DavideoSolar - 3 years ago
I think the whirring sound is your clutch slipping. I solved this by replacing the worn out clutch and removing the clutch spring so the motor engaged the prop constantly. this gives better speed control and faster top speed. A Honda GX31 whipper slipper clutch fits.
crpth1
crpth1 - 3 years ago
If I may. I would suggest you play with lighter springs or heavier clutch elements. That way it will engage sooner, burn and slip less. But will give you a clutch anyway, which is always good. I do recall on scooters fine tune the clutch that way. For increased weight. drill some holes and fill with machine screws. Or melt lead into it. ;-)
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Thanks, I'll check it out.
DavideoSolar
DavideoSolar - 3 years ago
Check the centre of each clutch shoe. See that it has not worn down to the steel. If ok just remove the spring. You might need to raise the idle speed a bit with the clutch spring less.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
Does it need to be genuine Honda part? I've found several both at eBay and Amazon. Or could I just remove the clutch spring on my current one? It's only been through about 12 hours break-in and once on the water for about 2 hours max.
BoilerDan1
BoilerDan1 - 3 years ago
I'll check that out. Thanks!
Tomas Barreto
Tomas Barreto - 3 years ago
nice thanks for sharing

Similar videos
for Hangkai 3.6 hp River run test & Review

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,754 views 5 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Snorkeling

Found a Working iPhone X Underwater in the...

322,035 likes 19,673,830 views 3 years ago

Subscribe if you're new! Help me reach 5,000,000 subscribers on YouTube!! https://goo.gl/tXzZYd If you want to see...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,690 views 4 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,019 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,377 views 10 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,348 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Related videos
to Hangkai 3.6 hp River run test & Review

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,690 views 4 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,019 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,348 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,310 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,615,102 views 8 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

Reviews

Lego 7287 Police Boat Build Review

681 likes 1,412,265 views 9 years ago

Lego Police Boat (lego 7287) - Build Review 동영상을 재미있게 보았다면 동영상 구독버튼을...

About Hangkai 3.6 hp River run test & Review

The "Hangkai 3.6 hp River run test & Review" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!