JS "Air 17X" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 62

No obligation, but if you want to support the Site and keep the reviews coming you can donate here. https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow In this episode I review a custom JS 5'7" Air 17X. This model is a small wave high performance board that excels in 2-6" surf. We got really fun waves in the 2-5' range and this board did NOT disappoint. The Air 17X is very fast, ultra responsive, and I highly recommend this board for surfers looking to up their game in small waves. I also had fun riding this board in 2-3' choppy surf. The board was easy to get on rail and it carried speed through flat sections very well. I think this board will best suit the upper end intermediate to advanced surfers. Board DIMS: 5'7" x 19 x 2 5/16 Liters 26 My Height: 5'9" My Weight: 160lbs or 72.57kg

JS "Air 17X" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 62 sentiment_very_dissatisfied 2

Reviews 3 years ago 18,180 views

No obligation, but if you want to support the Site and keep the reviews coming you can donate here. https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow In this episode I review a custom JS 5'7" Air 17X. This model is a small wave high performance board that excels in 2-6" surf. We got really fun waves in the 2-5' range and this board did NOT disappoint. The Air 17X is very fast, ultra responsive, and I highly recommend this board for surfers looking to up their game in small waves. I also had fun riding this board in 2-3' choppy surf. The board was easy to get on rail and it carried speed through flat sections very well. I think this board will best suit the upper end intermediate to advanced surfers. Board DIMS: 5'7" x 19 x 2 5/16 Liters 26 My Height: 5'9" My Weight: 160lbs or 72.57kg

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for JS "Air 17X" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 62

Kapukataumahaka Owheo
Kapukataumahaka Owheo - 2 years ago
Heya, one of your viewers mentioned the 17X was like the Lost Driver but it looks more like a balanced rocker with some kick in the tail as opposed to the drivers flatter tail. Did you find that the 17X suits a neutral/front or rare-footed surfer? Also, how do you think it would go with an upright fin like the WCT or the Reactor? Have fun.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Kapukataumahaka Owheo I also recommend the New P6 by Futures.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Kapukataumahaka Owheo I guess a little similar to the Driver. This board seems to suit a back/neutral footed surfer. I think the WCT or Reactors will go good in this board too
Jack Rogers
Jack Rogers - 2 years ago
YOU RIP!
Gabriel Stronda
Gabriel Stronda - 2 years ago
What the difference for air 17 performance? I have buy this model, an question for what the 2 models is more speed and power curves... thanks for the video bro good waves! Aloha.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Gabriel Stronda The Air 17 is for a little more wave. The Air17X seems to be more of a step down.
Trevor Hocking
Trevor Hocking - 2 years ago
Hi Noel.
What fcs fins do you think in this board? Pivot, balanced or raked?
Thanks for all the help so far
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Trevor Hocking peaky Beachies Go Pivot. I like a Neutral fin for that board... best of both.
JoramD Downes
JoramD Downes - 2 years ago
Hey Noel, where does the air17 x fit in between the blakbox - monstabox and monsta boards. Is it more or less high performance then the monstabox
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
JoramD Downes Yes the Air17X is more high performance. I think it’s a sick board for competing on the QS....
Stephane Ducos
Stephane Ducos - 2 years ago
Hey Noel, what's is the difference between a monstabox and the air17X? and what do you prefer ?
I have a Monstabox, sometimes I find that the tail slides a little bit to much. The Air17x maybe has more grip ?
thanks
Stephane Ducos
Stephane Ducos - 2 years ago
Thanks for your answer ! @Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Stephane Ducos Air17X is a small performance board and has more traction or hold for sure. So maybe the Air17X has a little more tail rocker. Cheere
Thiago Bona
Thiago Bona - 3 years ago
Hello Noel Salas! This PU blank have a wood stringer below the Carbon strips or have only carbon fiber?
Michael Harvey
Michael Harvey - 3 years ago
Noel, great reviews. Thank you very much! I had a question about pad placement. Is there a science about where you want your back foot in regards to the back fin? I usually just put the pad like and 1/8th above the leash plug. Just wondering whats your take on that and if different boards get different pad placement?
Michael Harvey
Michael Harvey - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thank you!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Michael Harvey Great question. The further you put your foot back on the tail the more precise and responsive your board will be. I put my pads as far back as possible. Right on the edge of the leash plug.
shortyyys
shortyyys - 3 years ago
Hi Noel, how does this compare with the CI Fever?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
shortyyys The Fever is a legitimate HPSB with continuous rocker. The Air17X is more of a small wave Performance Board. I think a better comparison is the Fever and Monsta 8 or Monsta 6. The Air17X has less rocker so it flies through flat sections and excels in smaller surf.

10. comment for JS "Air 17X" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 62

nickmaldini3
nickmaldini3 - 3 years ago
Noel, I think you shouldn't be only in the "what to surf" business, but also in the "how to surf" business. Just noticed your breathing patterns. Considering your teaching skills.... It would be pretty useful for all of us.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
nickmaldini3 Cheers for the kind words. We might do a bit of that in the near future. Yewww!
Ducati Drew
Ducati Drew - 3 years ago
Noel this board really looked good under your feet!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Ducati Drew I agree... it goes so good. Cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Chris Fan Great break down on the Air17X. Cheers
Chris Fan
Chris Fan - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Completely agree with the air 17x being more demanding. For me it is super drivey off the back foot. Takes off fast, but i feel like the sweet spot is definitely smaller than the monsta box. Air 17x wants to be ridden off the back foot in a technical and high performance way. Monsta box goes more on it's own, feels more neutral footed and a generous sweet spot. Both are fun to ride though
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Chris Fan The Air17X is more demanding... way more performance compared to the MB. The MB is more user friendly. The Air17X suits my style of surfing better but I think our community will connect better with the MB.
Chris Fan
Chris Fan - 2 years ago
Really? Looks like to me the air17x wanted to stay in the pocket and go vertical more. Looked like he was riding the shoulder and more cutbacks on the monsta box. He did look a bit smoother on the monsta box. Quicker more aggressive on the air17x. I thought he looked insane on both lol
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Jaime Guzman The Monsta Box is easier to surf.
Bon Summers
Bon Summers - 3 years ago
It'd also be interesting to see this surfed in sloppy beach break.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Bon Summers It will go good... quick and snappy.
james
james - 3 years ago
Have you ever surfed a Chilli Spawn? and if so how does the Air 17x compare to it? I use a Spawn as an everyday board and am looking for a step down for slightly junkier waves and was thinking of getting an Air 17x Hyfi but don't want it to be too similar to a Spawn as its a lot of cash!
james
james - 3 years ago
No worries, its a great board if you ever get a chance to try one out. I was thinking of getting the Air 17x in the hyfi construction and noticed that the same dims in Hyfi are about half a litre lower than in PU. From your experience using Hyfis should you change the dimensions you would normally go for? I'd be using it as a step down from my go to shortboard.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
james ross Sorry I have never tried a Chilli... I hope to review a couple soon. I ordered a couple but it’s been so long I forgot what they are sending me for review. I know it’s not the Spawn though sorry....
X -MAN X MAN
X -MAN X MAN - 3 years ago
Black box 3. New .this is intresting
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Erezdekel Erez123123 I want one

20. comment for JS "Air 17X" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 62

Nicollas Resende
Nicollas Resende - 3 years ago
What are the rocker measurements? What about the width at 12" from the nose and tail?
Nicollas Resende
Nicollas Resende - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews fair enough, I'll wait for it!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Nicollas Resende I can appreciate that... I might at in some nose and tail width at times but not going to do rocker. Sorry
Nicollas Resende
Nicollas Resende - 3 years ago
I'm a shaper apprentice, that's why I'm asking, I would like to mix the measurements with some of my own
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Nicollas Resende The PU will surf more solid under foot. You will be able to sink that rail quickly. The PU will go good. If you want HPSB surfing in 2-5’ surf then I would go Air17X over these two models.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Nicollas Resende I did the Monstabox review already... that board is sick. The Air17X has a more high performance feel to it. The MB is a little more user friendly but the Air17X is more precise in the pocket.
Nicollas Resende
Nicollas Resende - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews I saw the hyfi one, however I think is not the newest model and I was leaning to the PU, don't know how much it changes from each other...
Nicollas Resende
Nicollas Resende - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews do you know the 12" nose and tail?

Are you planning to review the monstabox? I live in Rio de Janeiro, I was thinking about the air 17x or the monstabox, do you have any thoughts on that?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Nicollas Resende I don’t do rocker measurements sorry. That can be a bit complicated.

Nose and tail is ok but not sure everyone is into that.....
Baker gx Mayfield
Baker gx Mayfield - 3 years ago
I love watching your reviews. Your voice is easy to listen to. Plus I hope I can surf like you one day.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Sasha Banks #boss Cheers
elb2018
elb2018 - 3 years ago
This footage looks sick, shredding Noel! I’d put this up with your best performances.. Tossing up between this Air17x or tomo skx, which do you think has a better low end and most user friendly?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
elb2018 I like the Air17X better compared to the SKX. More HP and sharper in the pocket. Both are HPSB daily drivers for 2-6’ surf and they are both about the same in user friendliness.
alon nir
alon nir - 3 years ago
Waited for this one!
I own 3 air 17s and it's one of my all time favorites!
When the x came out, wanted to try it in smaller waves..
Thanks!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
alon nir Sick.... did you get the Air17X?
A Morgan
A Morgan - 3 years ago
Noel - this is probably my favourite footage of you on a shortboard - looks so fast and responsive. Is this your fave shortboard at the moment? I have the Monsta 8 and love that but do you think this is better? Any other high performance shortboard you like better than the Air17?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
A Morgan I like the Air17X better... a bit faster and more responsive
A Morgan
A Morgan - 3 years ago
Thanks Noel - how does it compare to the HT2?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
A Morgan This Air17X is pretty sick... I have not tried my Monsta 8 yet. The other board that goes mental is the Pyzel Phantom. The Air17X has a bit more of a high performance feel... not as forgiving as the Phantom though.
Indra Gynell
Indra Gynell - 3 years ago
Noel, you're belting it! Looks like this model goes insane.
Ofek Almog
Ofek Almog - 3 years ago
Can you make a video about the Channel Islands "Joe"?
Ofek Almog
Ofek Almog - 3 years ago
thank you very much( :
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Ofek Almog Soory we’re focused on the newer models. It’s a really fun board and easy to surf. Great for small waves. Cheers
Harry Finley
Harry Finley - 3 years ago
Js look the best under your feet
Matt Rad
Matt Rad - 3 years ago
you rip everything
ronald roodhart
ronald roodhart - 3 years ago
best glass jobs came from the base comp in aus. but they doesnt exist any more....
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
ronald roodhart Bummer... a good glass job can be hard to find these days.

30. comment for JS "Air 17X" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 62

Shane 1
Shane 1 - 3 years ago
you should review a board from solid surfboards.
Andre Cruz
Andre Cruz - 3 years ago
Your reviews are just awesome. Thanks for sharing your knowledge Noel. That been said i've been looking for a new all-rounder but i cant decide. I'm stuck with the Js models Monsta box, Air-17 x or the Slater Gamma (HE). Not only i'm looking for a board that fit to a wide range of waves (mainly beach breaks) but also have a great durability in the materials ( im tired of having pressure marks on decks really fast). What to do you think about the durability and differences in JS PU vs Hify or the Slater HE? Sorry for so many questions but with this price range i really would like to be sure that i'll be buying the right board for my specs and it will long a lot of time :) keep shredding! Cheers!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
eran herzog I think they will still dent but the HYFY construction is a little more durable compared to PU.
eran herzog
eran herzog - 3 years ago
hey noel, i use to put a lot of pressure in tail area and i dent it very hard so i surf my pu boards with carbo strips. i've noticed that the hyfi boards don't have carbon strips on the tail. do you think that the hyfi construction can handle the pressure so the tail won't be dent so much like the carbon strips in pu do?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Andre Cruz I only tested on HYFY and it’s durability was good. The HYFY construction has a little less pressure dents compared to the PU in my experience and feels more alive under foot.
Andre Cruz
Andre Cruz - 3 years ago
Thanks Noel for the quick answer! What about the durability between a JS PU and Hify? do you think Hify is more durable than their PU construction? I've been reading a considerable amount of comments complaining that Hify's snaps pretty easily with some small waves...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Andre Cruz The HE is more durable and will last longer for sure. The MB is the most user friendly out of all the boards you mentioned. The Gamma is a HPSB and needs 3-6’ surf to go good. The MB and Air17X will go better in smaller waves.
DRFTR32
DRFTR32 - 3 years ago
Great Review. Had my Air 17x for a few months now, couldn’t be any happier with it.
Patrick Carter
Patrick Carter - 3 years ago
I think you should do a proctor board they look money
Patrick Carter
Patrick Carter - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews thats awesome! Love the videos keep em coming
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Patrick Carter We talked about it... maybe one day soon. Cheers
Noah Stone
Noah Stone - 3 years ago
U have fun with the south swell that came through?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Noah Stone Sorry to hear that...
Noah Stone
Noah Stone - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews took my new lovebuzz to uppers and recked my fin box for the center fin lol still have yet to try lowers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Noah Stone Sorry I charge for that kind of stuff.
Noah Stone
Noah Stone - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews I probably will soon! ive been surfing for little over a year and am going to trestles tomorrow will probably get some footage of my surfing and I would love for you to see it and tell me what I could do to improve is there any way I could do that?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Noah Stone I would get some good fins for the Live Buzz ASAP. Maybe buy some used ones just to give that board a fair chance to be a magic board.
Noah Stone
Noah Stone - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews futures I was riding an evo for a while still have it and used that in a quad which I loved but I wanted more board under my feet since it was 5’4 and I saw the love buzz
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Noah Stone What fin system? Futures or FCS?
Noah Stone
Noah Stone - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews future flex right now I’m just using some off brand nvs fins local based I save money and I’m not good enough to tell the difference yet but I might try to switch to name brand soon
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Noah Stone No I haven’t but I heard they go good! You got a good deal on that board... is it in Future Flex EPS or PE?
Noah Stone
Noah Stone - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews I went to d street and got some good ones but took a beating as well. Also I just bought a lovebuzz because I saw it in pretty much new condition and bought it for 250 was wondering if u ever rode one
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Noah Stone It was big and crossed up.... nothing too good footage wise. How about you?
Parker Ritter
Parker Ritter - 3 years ago
What's up Joel I was wondering if you could give me some slab advice. I am 16, 5'3" and weigh around 115 pounds. I currently live in Ocean City NJ were the waves are usually 2-4 feet. Right now I am riding a Firewire Dominator that is 5'8" which as a progressing surfer doesn't cut it at 31 liters volume. I am around a intermediate surfer but hope to advance to some real slashes and turns. I was looking a Psycho Killer and Uber Driver, but I feel you deep surfboard knowledge and dims would be super helpful for smaller waves . Cheers!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Parker Ritter I liked the HG better... there a lot of sick boards out there.
Parker Ritter
Parker Ritter - 3 years ago
Is it better than the Uber Driver in the PU or carbon Wrap, any other sick HS for these waves?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Parker Ritter The HG in Future Flex is unreal... super fun in 2-6’+. It will go in 1-2’ surf pretty good too.
Parker Ritter
Parker Ritter - 3 years ago
Was going to see if the Uber Driver came in the carbon wrap near me when I saw the Holy Grail, how is that board in the smaller waves, do you recommend it? Looks super fun and I love what HS is doing!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Parker Ritter up too you bro
Parker Ritter
Parker Ritter - 3 years ago
I think that the 5'6" or the 5'5" looks good!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Parker Ritter No sir... you need to look it up. Cheers
Parker Ritter
Parker Ritter - 3 years ago
Thanks so much! Do you know what dims the Uber Driver is at for 25- 26 liters?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Parker Ritter Uber Driver is sick for small waves. You might want to consider 25 liters... that will help you progress faster. If your doing cutbacks, floaters and generating your own speed then you need to reduce some foam to do everything faster. At 115 lbs 25 liters will float you good or even 26 liters... eventually I would like to see you progress down to 23 liters.
bellpaleale
bellpaleale - 3 years ago
https://youtu.be/m_aDlU03H4k

Is that you at 1:55? You’re the only guy on You Tube I see in a red wetsuit, that looks like Slater from the air, and surfs Trestles. Looks like it was a great day!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
bellpaleale That was a fun day for sure. Thanks for looking out and showing me that clip. Cheers
alex Galván
alex Galván - 3 years ago
the main diferences to the monsta 8 and the air 17 could be a great comparison review, Noel!!!!!! Im trying to figure which one would suit the best for a high level performance like CT events ... good punching waves!!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
alex Galván The Monsta 8 is made for good waves. It’s got continuous rocker and the Air17X is more for small waves. No comparison really. The Air17X is more of a small wave Daily Driver. The Monsta 8 is more for good waves in 3-8’ surf.
eran herzog
eran herzog - 3 years ago
hey noel, i'm looking for an allround board that will be a one board quiver. i'm surfing on fred rubble on 1-6 foot. is the air 17x in hyfi will answer my needs? how is the air 17x comparing to the mb? what board feels more like hpsb? great review rad surfing!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
eran herzog The PU will go better in bigger waves but if your going to surf that board over 5’ then you should maybe be on a Monsta 6 or Monsta 8. I would go Air17X in HYFY and surf it in 1-5’ surf.
eran herzog
eran herzog - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews i usually surf on 25.3 L in pu and lm not sure if i can surf on the air17x in 24.6L i'm guesing that surfboards in hyfi construction has more floatation. What board is better for bigger surf? The Air17x in hyfi or in pu?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
eran herzog The FR was just ok for me... nothing special. The Air17X is Spicy and fast. The HYFI construction is good too. The less volume HYFI will float more like 25 liters.... not sure what your question is?
eran herzog
eran herzog - 3 years ago
thanks noel!! how is the air 17x compared to the fred rubble? i saw that in hyfi, the volume is lower then in pu with the sizes.   the air 17x 5.8 in pu is 25.3 l and in hyfi version is 24.6 l with the same sizes. do you think that the buoyancy will be the same?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
eran herzog I think the Air 17X feels more like a HPSB compared to the MB. A little more tail rocker and.entry rocker. It would go mental in HYFY too.
Soulcali
Soulcali - 3 years ago
I could see you showing a such nice surf on this board Noel. Looks like that one works pretty good.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
SplinterBjj It does go good... thanks
David Woodman
David Woodman - 3 years ago
Air17x or Phantom?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
David Woodman I think the HYFY Nitro will grovel better in 1-3’ surf compared to the Phantom. A better comparison would be Nitro and Gremlin.
David Woodman
David Woodman - 3 years ago
Thanks Noel always helps with board selection watching your Videos, I would say Im intermediate . One last question is Hyfi nitro vs Phantom for a small wave ripper, currenty ride a monsta 8 and hyfi monsta box and very much enjoy them both
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
David Woodman That’s up to you... the Air 17X is very responsive and not as forgiving as the Phantom. The Phantom paddles better. If you are an intermediate surfer then Phantom.
ghost8050
ghost8050 - 3 years ago
wow i thought it was slater
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
ghost8050 Classic....
Valdo van Zyl
Valdo van Zyl - 3 years ago
Your backhand surfing looked mental on this board.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Valdo van Zyl Cheers
Richard Embery
Richard Embery - 3 years ago
Valdo van Zyl I agree. I thought it looked way better on the backhand.
Kahele Koki
Kahele Koki - 3 years ago
Age defying surfing I'm over 40yrs old and I found the right performance board and I find that I can hang with the young bloods unless their just giving me waves you certainly rip can you share in upcoming video how you stay surf ready when a swell is coming mahalo
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Kahele Koki Ok I will try to remember.... maybe a Vlog will be better. Cheers
Blade Runner
Blade Runner - 3 years ago
Noel, look like a daily Driver ? is'n it ? ..great review, great job man ! always with great pleasure i see your reviews.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Blade Runner Stoked you like our show. Yes this Air 17X is a great Daily Driver.... 2-6’ surf. Cheers
Chris Fan
Chris Fan - 3 years ago
Hey Noel, love the review. I've had the Air 17x for a few months in so I'll chime in for anyone interested. I'm 5'8" 145lbs and intermediate skill 8 years surfing (on and off) and 27 years old, surf 2-3 times a week riding the stock 5'8" Air 17x 25.4L. I surf San Diego waves, mostly Blacks. The board is great and is one of my favorites (I've ridden a ton of boards you've reviewed, mosta box, fever, rocket 9, voyager 1, driver, holy grail). It is my favorite board to use as as my daily driver and is reliable in a wide variety of surf. This is important because there is never a good surf report (no cams) for Blacks, so you need a board that will just work. Works in 2 foot mush, but
for me that isn't exactly where it shines. For me it's best in waves chest high to head high range with push, but definitely goes well around that range. Rocker is pretty ideal for Socal waves, flat enough that it paddles easy and gets wave easy enough, but takes steep drops and I've surfed it in overhead blacks where it goes good. Overall the board is great. I'm a huge fan of the single to double concave and love the feeling it gives me on my top turns. Feels similar to the Lost Driver in that you ride it off your back foot, the difference to the Drive is single concave (Driver) vs. Single to Double (17x). For an intermediate surfer that wants to progress I think this a great board that eases you into surfing a HPSB. But it still is a HPSB so definitely you need to be an excellent paddler and know what you're doing. Construction wise it is amazing and hardly any pressures for me.
João Pinto
João Pinto - 3 years ago
I love my JS 17x with JW FCS2 Large, but here in Portugal it's summer and the waves are small with a lack of swell, so i tried the board with FC2 Accelerator Large fins and the board got way fastter and flow on small waves (2-4ft). I'm going to try in bigger waves to see how these plays. For me the JS 17x is one of the best all around board i ever had and i have/had a lot different boards.
Chris Fan
Chris Fan - 3 years ago
The air 17x is more user friendly and an easier board to use in weaker waves. But they aren't too far apart. The driver has more overall rocker in both the nose and tail, more narrow nose and tail, but still paddles well. In weaker waves the 17x will win out for sure and is probably the better daily driver for a place like SD. The Lost Driver is super fun when the waves are good tho, loose and tons of control, a great HPSB. The Air 17x holds pretty well in bigger waves, really depends on the wave. On waves that aren't steep like North County, it will be perfectly fine in overhead. Sometimes when at a beach break and it's a steeper overhead day barrel day I've felt the tail feels a tad wide and the rocker is a bit low, still works but wouldn't be the perfect board. For me tho if I could only have one board in San Diego, I'd go with the Air 17x. But I'd want a groveler too for those 1-2ft days too lol
eran herzog
eran herzog - 3 years ago
hey chris, how is the air 17x compared to the lost driver? i think that the driver is more sharp HPSB, how is the air 17x feels in overhead surf?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Chris Fan The Air17X has a more HPSB feel. The OG is more user friendly and paddles better.
Chris Fan
Chris Fan - 3 years ago
Hey Noel also which do you think is a better daily driver for the bottom smaller end of surf, the OG flyer or air 17x? Thanks
Chris Fan
Chris Fan - 3 years ago
My board is FCS 2. My favorite is the AM2 mediums, feels super smooth on my carves. Currently I've been using the Kalohe mediums and those are pretty sick too.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Chris Fan Great post!! Thanks for helping us all with your experiences on this model. What fins are your favorite for this board.
King charles's approval
King charles's approval - 3 years ago
I would love to see a review of the FMN 2!!! The way it sounded to me as they were pitching it ....was that it's a forget-me-not for smaller waves. Would be sick cuz I'm not a huge fan of the monsta, i felt like they ride too high on the wave surface. I just use a smaller FMN , got a 6'3 for those Waste to chest /shoulder high days and a 6'4 for when its 5-7 days. Maybe the FMN 2 could be the board I'm looking for in that GOOD Knee to stomach high range at rocky's
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
King charles's approval Sounds like you know what you like... this Monsta 8 will be the first HPSB I have ridden from JS. Looking forward to it.
King charles's approval
King charles's approval - 3 years ago
You surf a good bit better on them Tractors
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
King charles's approval The JS Boards are pretty impressive.
Christian69James
Christian69James - 3 years ago
Hey Noel, another great review. Questions about the fins...1) Are they much different than the RTM Tech 1 large? What wave range would you ride...knee high to ??!! Are they with the money? Thanks
Christian69James
Christian69James - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews it's amazing how much difference a little rake makes. Fins drive me nuts lol...great job on the vids, you always get me pumped to surf...cheers!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
kingsofmayhem The HS1 is very upright so they aren’t super fast but they pivot well. I think the construction will change a little because the Filks at Futures will make necessary changes from the feedback of everyone.
Christian69James
Christian69James - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews thanks for your feedback Noel. I've been on the RTM Tech 1 Large for awhile now but after this lack of swell recently I tried the Generation HS1 which is a large fin but really lacked drive IMO. I'm weighing in about 165 lbs but I need that base lol. After the beta test is done do you think the construction will change much on these fins?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
kingsofmayhem The RTM Tech 1 is a Honeycomb Construction and they are roughly a 5 on the Ride number just like the Futures AM2. This new Beta AM2 set is a Speed Generating fin and it’s completely different. This fin is a full Carbon Lay up and I believe these Prototypes are hollow.... that’s why they are so light. Their ride number is roughly a 8 so they will have more flex compared to the RTMTech 1. I recommend these New Beta fins for waves in 1-5’ range. I think they are worth the money.... and you get to be apart of Futures Prototype program and offer feedback.
Chris Martinovic
Chris Martinovic - 3 years ago
do a pyzel amigo one day, super underrated board

50. comment for JS "Air 17X" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 62

clevelandindians
clevelandindians - 3 years ago
Always high quality reviews and great surfing!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
clevelandindians Cheers
Truth Seeker
Truth Seeker - 3 years ago
I’ve noticed the same thing about the Aussie glass jobs, they are a bit better than ours in my experience. It’s weird because some boards I have had the PU glass is durable and has almost a bit of softness, where some glass jobs the material is harder and more brittle.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Sean W. Hanley Summertime is best...
Truth Seeker
Truth Seeker - 3 years ago
So did any of those guys say which time of the year is optimum for glassing? This may be something to factor when ordering custom.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Sean W. Hanley Could have a lot to do with the weather when the boards are glassed. It seems like Resin dries a lot like paint in terms of weather. If it’s hot then paint dries fast... or if it’s cold then it dries slow. I think the same applies to glassing a surf board. Not sure... I am not an expert but some of my friends own glass shops and that’s what they tell me.
Sneekinabout Om'
Sneekinabout Om' - 3 years ago
Sick opening ride on this board Noel! The design reminds me a little of the Lost... Voodoo Child, maybe with a bit more nose rocker...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Sneekinabout Om' That’s a pretty good comparison. Both boards are good!!! Had fun on this Air 17X.
bodhi tree
bodhi tree - 3 years ago
Pumping out the reviews lately. \(^o^)/
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
bodhi tree Lots of boards coming for review. If we have the waves were going to blast a review every week. Try anyways.... Cheers
abir shaked
abir shaked - 3 years ago
which small wave (sort of performance but user friendly) did u like the most so far? out of the pjhp, rocket wide, air 17x, monsta box? currently im ridining the Sampler, and i want to get a little bit more performance on that kind of board
Richard Embery
Richard Embery - 2 years ago
elb2018 So good. I surfed mine in some heavy 3 to 4 foot also and it was so good in the barrel. Really surprised me on how well it holds in hollow waves. It’s so hard to get off. Awesome board.
elb2018
elb2018 - 2 years ago
Richard Embery finally got this board a week ago, 100% best small wave board I’ve ever ridden. Have ridden it in legit grovel sessions and also clean 3-4ft hollow rip bowl that you could easily be on your hpsb instead but this thing ate it up. I’ve had the sampler too and found it got out of hand pretty early once the waves had shape. Pjhp is a weapon, looks like the rest of the quiver is collecting dust for a while
elb2018
elb2018 - 3 years ago
Richard Embery thanks I have the HS already I’ll just have to pick up the biolos ones when the board is in. Thanks again can’t wait
Richard Embery
Richard Embery - 3 years ago
elb2018 also my mate who’s 75 kg also likes the lge Hayden’s and Matt Biolos medium combo in his as well. He actually works for Lost in Australia.
We both tried the Matt Biolos lge in the sides and although it felt good. The Hayden’s felt better.
elb2018
elb2018 - 3 years ago
Richard Embery legend!! Thanks mate
Richard Embery
Richard Embery - 3 years ago
elb2018 I ride mine as a quad with lge kolohe or lge Hayden Shapes in the sides. I ride the Matt Biolos quad rear which is exactly the same as a medium performer but has its own flex characteristics that I really love in small surf.
Hayden fins go great in smaller stuff and the kolohe’s when the waves have a bit more push.
I’m 5’7 and a fit 80 kg
I’ve ridden the board in really small stuff with the medium AM Aircore quad set and it went great too. Not good in bigger stuff as they don’t have enough drive.
elb2018
elb2018 - 3 years ago
Richard Embery glad to see your comments about the pjhp just ordered one in stringered eps.... have heard mixed reviews on it as a thruster vs quad... any insight what fins you like in it?
abir shaked
abir shaked - 3 years ago
Richard Embery again thanks for the advices , i got myself a shortboard for the better waves , was looking to be able to perform on smaller waves unlike on my sampler where i just get alot of speed but wired on maneuvers
Richard Embery
Richard Embery - 3 years ago
abir shaked I cant recommend the PJHP enough. I’ll never be without one in my quiver again.
I’ve also got a sub driver that also goes sick in smaller stuff but the PJHP is just so much faster and easier to ride. My PJHP is stringered epoxy construction.
I ride it .5 of a litre more then my PU performance boards and it feels perfect.
It’ll easily handle overhead waves too with the right fins.
So many choices it gets confusing.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Richard Embery Thanks for posting... cheers
abir shaked
abir shaked - 3 years ago
Richard Embery, thanks for the advice i tottally relate to the sampler part, right now thinking between hs love buzz , and pjhp !
Richard Embery
Richard Embery - 3 years ago
abir shaked I used to ride a Sampler and loved the speed but found it had a few funny idiosyncrasies. I loved it but it wasn’t great in really punchy waves.
Anyway I’m now riding a HPPJ and it goes as fast as the Sampler but has no weirdness. Smoothest board I’ve ever surfed. Actually I think it’s the best board I’ve ever had and I go through a lot of boards.
I surf Sth Straddie in Australia mainly and the HPPJ loves punchy hollow waves as much as weak fat stuff.
I can’t get off the thing. It goes mental.
abir shaked
abir shaked - 3 years ago
cheers noel , im current riding the Sampler, i will take ur advice and get either the rocket wide or the pjhp, still not sure witch :) 4th board from allmerick , so might go with the lost to check it out.
thx for ur reply ! ur awesome, keep it up.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
abir shaked Cheers!!! Ok I would say 1-3’ waves I recommend the Rocket Wide or PJHP. The Air17X is epic in 2-5+ but it’s very responsive so not extremely user friendly. If you want performance and have a HPSB feel then it’s between the Air 17X or MB. I also recommend EPS for small waves and I love each of these companies special constructions for small wave boards. HYFY, Spinetek, or Carbon Wrap, I also like Lost’snew C4 Tech.
abir shaked
abir shaked - 3 years ago
hey noel , first i LOVE ur videos man , u RIP and keep it up !, small wave size , about knee\waist to shoulder
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
abir shaked What range wave size?
ncsam 000000
ncsam 000000 - 3 years ago
That board looked really good under your feet! I've been a js fan for a long time have 2 boards from them love both of them. Keep up the great work man . Best board reviews on the planet for sure.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
ncsam 000000 Yewww! Cheers bro glad you like our show.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
bushkey Epic... thanks for posting your comments for the rest of us. I am becoming a big JS fan... their boards are epic and so far the 3 boards I reviewed are durable too.
Amir Vechter20
Amir Vechter20 - 3 years ago
Ripping ~ ! Board looks lively and great.
Brandon Chan
Brandon Chan - 3 years ago
Just wondering, how would you compare the phantom to the air17x? Did you like one better than the other?
Andrew Kim
Andrew Kim - 3 years ago
monsta box or air17x?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Andrew Kim I think the Monsta Box is a bit more user friendly. I think the Air 17X in their Hyfy construction would be next level small wave performance.
Kevin Tyrer
Kevin Tyrer - 3 years ago
Fantastic performance board

Similar videos
for JS "Air 17X" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 62

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,754 views 5 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,690 views 4 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,019 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,377 views 10 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,348 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,310 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Related videos
to JS "Air 17X" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 62

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,690 views 4 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,019 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,348 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,310 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,615,102 views 8 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

Reviews

Lego 7287 Police Boat Build Review

681 likes 1,412,265 views 9 years ago

Lego Police Boat (lego 7287) - Build Review 동영상을 재미있게 보았다면 동영상 구독버튼을...

About JS "Air 17X" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 62

The "JS "Air 17X" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 62" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!