JS "Bullseye" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 96

Where to Buy: The Surf Station: https://www.surfstationstore.com/collections/js-industries/products/js-bullseye-round-surfboard-hyfi Jack’s Surfboards "Fins Only": https://jackssurfboards.com/collections/surf-fins/products/fcs-ii-reactor-pc-tri-set-fins-1 Surf Ontario "Fins Only"(Canada): https://surfontario.ca/collections/future-fins/products/futures-amt-twin-mini-trailer Surfboard Empire "Fins Only" (Australia): https://surfboardempire.com.au/collections/futures/products/p8hcthruster-burgundyblk In this episode I put Occy’s new model called the “Bullseye” by JS Surfboards through the paces in 1-6’ surf. The board testing started on a stock 5’5” x 18 7/8 x 2 ¼ PU/Poly (polyurethane foam / polyester resin) with 25.1 liters. The stock board dimensions fit me good, but the liters are on the low side of my range for a PU/Poly. The PU/Poly felt good in 3-6’ surf but it struggled to go fast from the take off in 1-2’ surf with a Thruster set up. As the waves got smaller (chest high and below) I began testing different fin setups to give it the speed I expect from a small wave performance board. After multiple days of board testing in 1-2’ surf I found that riding the Bullseye as Quad or Twin + Trailer offered the most speed and release in chest high and under surf. After a week or so of testing the PU/Poly I asked JS for the same stock board in their Hyfi construction to get a little more speed and pop in smaller waves. The EPS Hyfi construction felt more alive under foot and it offered the projection I was hoping for in the smaller surf. I highly recommend the Bullseye for intermediate – pro level surfers as a Daily Driver. This model performs best in 3-6’ surf. If you’re looking for the Bullseye to be your go-to board in 1-5’ surf, then I recommend it in the Hyfi construction as a Quad. My Height - 5’9” My Weight – 160 lb or 72.57 kg Suggested Fins and fin Setup: Futures – (Quads) Legacy P8 or HS1 Side fins with HS Quad Rears FCSII – (Quad) Reactor (Large side fins) w/ Reactor Medium Quad Rears Twin + Trailer: AMT (Al Merrick Twin + Trailer)

JS "Bullseye" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 96 sentiment_very_dissatisfied 1

Reviews 1 year ago 7,744 views

Where to Buy: The Surf Station: https://www.surfstationstore.com/collections/js-industries/products/js-bullseye-round-surfboard-hyfi Jack’s Surfboards "Fins Only": https://jackssurfboards.com/collections/surf-fins/products/fcs-ii-reactor-pc-tri-set-fins-1 Surf Ontario "Fins Only"(Canada): https://surfontario.ca/collections/future-fins/products/futures-amt-twin-mini-trailer Surfboard Empire "Fins Only" (Australia): https://surfboardempire.com.au/collections/futures/products/p8hcthruster-burgundyblk In this episode I put Occy’s new model called the “Bullseye” by JS Surfboards through the paces in 1-6’ surf. The board testing started on a stock 5’5” x 18 7/8 x 2 ¼ PU/Poly (polyurethane foam / polyester resin) with 25.1 liters. The stock board dimensions fit me good, but the liters are on the low side of my range for a PU/Poly. The PU/Poly felt good in 3-6’ surf but it struggled to go fast from the take off in 1-2’ surf with a Thruster set up. As the waves got smaller (chest high and below) I began testing different fin setups to give it the speed I expect from a small wave performance board. After multiple days of board testing in 1-2’ surf I found that riding the Bullseye as Quad or Twin + Trailer offered the most speed and release in chest high and under surf. After a week or so of testing the PU/Poly I asked JS for the same stock board in their Hyfi construction to get a little more speed and pop in smaller waves. The EPS Hyfi construction felt more alive under foot and it offered the projection I was hoping for in the smaller surf. I highly recommend the Bullseye for intermediate – pro level surfers as a Daily Driver. This model performs best in 3-6’ surf. If you’re looking for the Bullseye to be your go-to board in 1-5’ surf, then I recommend it in the Hyfi construction as a Quad. My Height - 5’9” My Weight – 160 lb or 72.57 kg Suggested Fins and fin Setup: Futures – (Quads) Legacy P8 or HS1 Side fins with HS Quad Rears FCSII – (Quad) Reactor (Large side fins) w/ Reactor Medium Quad Rears Twin + Trailer: AMT (Al Merrick Twin + Trailer)

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for JS "Bullseye" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 96

The Dictator Investigator
The Dictator Investigator - 1 year ago
Boring af.
Luke Mitchell
Luke Mitchell - 1 year ago
Great review noel, as always
could you please do a review on the chilli "Volume 2" it looks like a sick daily driver!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Luke Mitchell Trying to get Chili’s on the show.
Vladimir Zhibak
Vladimir Zhibak - 1 year ago
Great review, Noel (as usual, ha-ha)! I always had the same concern - how to get more speed (I.e. reduce drag), while maintaining enough control in weaker waves. What changed my life (not sure if you ever tried or even considered it) was asymmetrical fins! The board itself doesn’t have to be asym (I actually found it a total waste of money) - just take your favorite quad and put a twin fin in a toe side box, while keeping your favorite side fin and rear quad in the heel side boxes. This offers all the speed of a twin, combined with control of a quad. after I seemed to have exhausted all possible combinations of quads and twin+1’s, I saw a review on Disasym by The Surfboard Guide and decided to try this new fin setup (I wasn’t totally sold on the asym design, but trying the fin setup alone wouldn’t cost me anything, so I went for it). On my very first wave, after few turns I was like “I need bigger fins!” And this after struggling with either too much drag or tail sliding out with any other fin combos. Bigger fins = more drive and snappier turns! Not sure how this would work on bigger waves, but it’s definitely been a lifesaver for me in weak Gulf Coast surf.
Vladimir Zhibak
Vladimir Zhibak - 1 year ago
It’s worth a try, Noel. After I tried it, the biggest question I had was “why didn’t I try it earlier “ ))
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Vladimir Zhibak Sick... I was messing with asymmetrical fin set ups too. Not as extreme as the Twin on the Toe Side and on heel side but messing with different fin templates as a Thruster setup. Example... AM2 on my toe side, Neutral center fin, Pivot fin on my heel side. This setup made for good drive off my toe side and a quick pivot on my heel side. To loosen it up I can use a medium center fin and keep the large sides to have max drive and hold.
Johnny Utah
Johnny Utah - 1 year ago
Hello !!!
Plz, how would u compare this board to the monsta box ?
TKS
Johnny Utah
Johnny Utah - 1 year ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thank you very much
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Johnny Utah The MB is faster down the line and more responsive. The Bullseye might paddle a little better but not by much. If I were try to choose between the two boards I would go Monsta Box for 3-5’ waves
bushkey
bushkey - 1 year ago
It’s cool that you called out the inferior foam makers. I have been saying for years that JS’s foam is superior. JS boards last me 3x longer then Lost boards do. Another solid review. Thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
J Boy Surf Sounds like your HYFI might be soft. Bummer... sorry bro that sucks.
J Boy Surf
J Boy Surf - 1 year ago
@Surf n Show Reviews yeh maybe . . . I've got 4 other eps boards tho and they seem to be holding up sweet, (2 spineteks 1 helium and one supbrand eps)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
J Boy Surf Maybe... or maybe your just hard on boards like me??? A few of my friends can ride a board for a couple months and have extremely light pressure dents on their PU or EPS.
wozza77able
wozza77able - 1 year ago
Pity when you're using future's you don't give a run down in fcs
banga
banga - 1 year ago
@wozza77able you're an idiot.. Listen with understanding not with your own opinion in mind..
wozza77able
wozza77able - 1 year ago
No you missed mine I’ve seen you do reviews where you have waffled on about the future fins you have used to point where my ears have bleed with BOREDOM and not once mentioned an fcs equivalent that’s my point just 30 seconds of info. And bye the way epoxies suck!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
wozza77able Maybe you missed mine...
wozza77able
wozza77able - 1 year ago
Yeah you’ve totally missed the point
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
wozza77able FCS doesn’t really support our show.... these stock boards came with FCSII plugs so I did the review anyways. It’s a shame FCS doesn’t see value in what we do for the surf community.

10. comment for JS "Bullseye" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 96

Ken Kohncke
Ken Kohncke - 1 year ago
No Salads, LOL, Great review, really liked how you went into depth on the tail design, and it's effects on your surfing. That was really helpful! Thankyou, have a wonderful New Year Noel!
Patrick Carter
Patrick Carter - 1 year ago
Great review noel! Have you ridden any Gary McNeill boards?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Patrick Carter No... they look epic too. He wants us to pay for his boards and review them for free??? Our reviews are free to the shapers but we do not pay for boards. My brother and I work way to hard on the production of these reviews and we’re not about to into debt with the cost of buying a couple boards to do a review that educates our community on a shapers board. Just saying.....
Yaniv Zimmerman
Yaniv Zimmerman - 1 year ago
Surf n Show Reviews It’s most appreciated Noel and 100% agreed regarding the volume. I purchased the Pyzel Ghost, Pyzel Gremlin and Slater Cymatic yet at much more volume that I need... (Finally learned from your inputs to keep even groveler at the same anchor volume as our daily driver!). Replaced only the Cymatic. I heard great feedbacks regarding the Psycho Nitro. Never miss a review. Best!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Yaniv Zimmerman I agree... the smallest Stock Psycho Nitro is 27+ liters. A little big for me... I tried to order a custom but nothing back from the folks at JS yet. Hang tight... I’m trying to get a couple. Cheers
surfer
surfer - 1 year ago
Great job champ.


this is realy big guys board..the round tail look good..cheers.
Matthewjihj Post
Matthewjihj Post - 1 year ago
Is it ever flat in SoCal?
resident of san clemente
resident of san clemente - 1 year ago
Been flat here in San Clemente - and doesnt look any better for the next week
Metal Bear
Metal Bear - 1 year ago
Yes finally you've reviewed the model of my all time favourite surfer. Thank you so much. Amazing review as always.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Metal Bear Occy’s mental!!! Cheers
Ardy Aryan
Ardy Aryan - 1 year ago
Hi Noel, as always thanks for the great review. I have a Monstabox Round Tail and the outline seems to be very similar to the Raging Bull except for the nose that looks narrower on MonstaBox. I've never tried a quad setup on the MonstaBox and its a HYFI, watching your review made me really curious how it would perform with 4 fins.
Ardy Aryan
Ardy Aryan - 1 year ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thanks Noel!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Ardy Aryan I think it will go good! Give it at try if you have a good set of Quad Rears
Alonso Velarde
Alonso Velarde - 1 year ago
Hey Noel, Did it feel a bit heavy due to the glass job/foam? It could be resistant, but heavier than the other PU brands? Did you feel any stiffness with the carbon stringer? Last question, Do you recommend 2+1 on a narrow tail shape too, or does it excel better with a wider tail?
Alonso Velarde
Alonso Velarde - 1 year ago
Excellent, huge thanks!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Alonso Velarde This PU/Poly was not heavy at all and it was not stiff either. Most of my Stock PU/Poly boards weigh roughly 5.5lb and this one weighs roughly the same.

I have been testing the AMT Twin + Trailer on Other Daily Driver type boards in 1-3’ gutless surf and they go good in some of those too. The side fins are super upright so lots of pivot and drive due to the large base.
Roger Pye
Roger Pye - 1 year ago
Another solid review mate. I 've been riding this board for the last 4 months or so. Started with the PU. I liked it so much, I then got the hifi. Have been really happy with it as a thruster. Started with Large FCS AMs and then tried the Large FCS KAs. I like them both, but my current favourite combo is the hifi and the FCS KAs - offers good hold and drive on the wave face, but also surprisingly good release in turns. Yep, agree that the hifi is more lively and a bit more nimble - may be in part because it is a lot lighter. Tried a JS Monstabox in hifi a while back and didn't like it.It felt a bit stiff to me. But, the Bullseye in hifi doesn't feel stiff. It has become my 'go to' board. It is a great 'daily driver' for the Sydney Northern Beaches, where I live.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Roger Pye Epic post... thank you! This will help others.

20. comment for JS "Bullseye" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 96

cooolas
cooolas - 1 year ago
If you need speed, just try Quobba fins, their speed and hold is instantly addictive. I was a fin junkie, but now I cannot use anything else, as well as anybody else I know who tried them. Especially with round tails, which benefit a lot from some extra speed. https://quobbafins.com/
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
surfer soldier for Christ Cheers for the kind words!! I will check out the bell suggestion too thanks.
Tyson Tone Pickups
Tyson Tone Pickups - 1 year ago
Great review as always!! Those boards looked pretty clunky.
Matthew Jones
Matthew Jones - 1 year ago
Nice review as always Noel....do you think it was lacking in get up and go speed due to it being at the lower end of your volume range? Would extra volume of helped?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Matthew Jones Yes a little... however going longer would have hurt the quickness in transition from turn to turn in the little waves.
Luke
Luke - 1 year ago
You can tell it lacked speed and power on alot of the waves Noel rode.
yann dabadie
yann dabadie - 1 year ago
Hi Noel. Awesome review once again. In a nutshell, how do squash tail and round tails differ from each other? And, what makes a good paddling board in terms of volume and width disposition in the board? Thanks, keep up the awesome videos
yann dabadie
yann dabadie - 1 year ago
@Surf n Show Reviews ok. Thank you so much. It was very helpfull
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
yann dabadie Boards with more entry rocker favor waves that have more curve... or better said hollow waves. You want to match the curve in your board to match the curve of the wave. If the wave is small and mushy or even if the waves 3-5’ but not steep then you want a board with low entry rocker to match the flatter wave.
yann dabadie
yann dabadie - 1 year ago
@Surf n Show Reviews alright, thank you so much. And one more thing, what are the benefits of high rocker? Thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
yann dabadie On paddling... low rocker boards with the wide point front from center will often add more foam under the chest. The low rocker is key in small gutless surf.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
yann dabadie Just add to those good comments.... a Squash Tail also offers a bit more release, and it enables you to pivot faster.
yann dabadie
yann dabadie - 1 year ago
@Luca Peluffo thanks
Luca Peluffo
Luca Peluffo - 1 year ago
Not a total expert but here is what I know. A round tail will make your turns a bit wider eith morr circular motions, so you can make eider cutbacks or whatever. A squash is in between of a swallow and round, so it can break the line and pivot more, but still get round curves. A good paddling board is when the wide point is in front of the board, so you have more volume on the chest area. Hope I explained well.
Jody Blackwell
Jody Blackwell - 1 year ago
what for a guy like me at 6ft 1 in and 164 lbs
Jody Blackwell
Jody Blackwell - 1 year ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Noel i ride in thigh to waist high surf a 90 by 23.5 x 31/2 thick single fin longboard in waist to head i ride a 6-2 x 22 x 3 thick clever surfboard shaped by Jay smith of Ormond beach Florida it is a 5 fin set up FCS 2 spring flex eps core green rood epoxy systems by Halifax glassing in Florida i do not know what liters it is i forgot to mention that i am 70 years old been surfing for 69 years
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Jody Blackwell What are you riding now in 1-5’ surf and how is it going for you? What are the Dimensions and liters that you like?
Jody Blackwell
Jody Blackwell - 1 year ago
for got to add im 70 years old been surfing 60 years
João Da Anunciação Nunes
João Da Anunciação Nunes - 1 year ago
Hi Noel, love your reviews and your surf. YOU ARE RIPPING!! Can you share with us what kind of traning/ fisic prepartion do you do for keeping on ripping those waves like you do? Thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
João Da Anunciação Nunes Cheers for the kind words. At 47 years old it’s really about eating healthy and stretching. I try to surf 5 days a week and that helps me burning the calories. No other real training... it’s all about my diet and going surfing.
nicholas tovar
nicholas tovar - 1 year ago
Hey Noel, I have the aipa fish 2+1 set up with Akila’s fins and a tiny trailer fin. I have noticed that on some bottom turns the board will slide out from under me. I love this board, but I am curious if you have another fin set up you might recommend?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
nicholas tovar First try a little bigger Trailing fin. It will give you more pivot and hold.
Peace Soup
Peace Soup - 1 year ago
Nice one Noel, saving for the Raging Bull model at present.
bodhi tree
bodhi tree - 1 year ago
Loved the fin break down.

Similar videos
for JS "Bullseye" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 96

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,754 views 5 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,690 views 4 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,019 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,377 views 10 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,348 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,310 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Related videos
to JS "Bullseye" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 96

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,690 views 4 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,019 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,348 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,310 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

What's inside a Tesla Surfboard?

32,933 likes 2,767,889 views 2 years ago

Tesla made 200 limited edition surfboards, We try to Surf it then CUT IT OPEN! This video was sponsored by LastPass....

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,615,102 views 8 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

About JS "Bullseye" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 96

The "JS "Bullseye" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 96" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!