JS "Monsta 8" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 74

No obligation, but these links & ads help support the site and keeps the reviews coming! If you decide to buy somewhere else or would like to support the show, please donate at https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow We got fun waves for this review, and the Monsta 8 performed very well. From 2-6' surf this HPSB carries good speed, and I found it to be very forgiving. Most high-performance short boards (HPSB) are pretty demanding, meaning hard to surf with small sweet spots and need a solid wave to surf well. The Monsta 8 accelerates off the bottom with speed and has soft, forgiving rails. This board is easier to surf than most HPSB boards in this class, and I highly recommend it for intermediate/pro-level surfers. The Monsta 8 shines bright in 4-8' surf and it surprised me how good it performs in 2-3'. Board DIMS: 5'9" x 18 1/2 x 2 3/8 Liters 26 My Height: 5'9" My Weight: 160lbs / 72.57kg

JS "Monsta 8" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 74 sentiment_very_dissatisfied 0

Reviews 2 years ago 16,889 views

No obligation, but these links & ads help support the site and keeps the reviews coming! If you decide to buy somewhere else or would like to support the show, please donate at https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow We got fun waves for this review, and the Monsta 8 performed very well. From 2-6' surf this HPSB carries good speed, and I found it to be very forgiving. Most high-performance short boards (HPSB) are pretty demanding, meaning hard to surf with small sweet spots and need a solid wave to surf well. The Monsta 8 accelerates off the bottom with speed and has soft, forgiving rails. This board is easier to surf than most HPSB boards in this class, and I highly recommend it for intermediate/pro-level surfers. The Monsta 8 shines bright in 4-8' surf and it surprised me how good it performs in 2-3'. Board DIMS: 5'9" x 18 1/2 x 2 3/8 Liters 26 My Height: 5'9" My Weight: 160lbs / 72.57kg

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for JS "Monsta 8" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 74

oMittch
oMittch - 2 years ago
Hi Noel, how does this compare to the pyzel shadow
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
oMittch Both boards are excellent HPSB’s but I think the Shadow is a bit more user friendly. The Shadow paddles better and a bit more stable under the front foot. The Monsta 8 might be a tad more performance in the pocket but it’s close.
ZymbaEffects
ZymbaEffects - 2 years ago
What do you like much ? The driver, monsta 8 or the phantom ? Hope you reply, thx for your great reviews btw !
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
ZymbaEffects Tough one... Phantom & Driver
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
X -MAN X MAN I don’t really have a favorite anymore. It used to be a Squash Tail now I have no real preference. They all go so good on the right boards.
X -MAN X MAN
X -MAN X MAN - 2 years ago
Surf show.what is your faevorit tail in aboard? Raund.?swallo?
X -MAN X MAN
X -MAN X MAN - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews tnx .i hope they will
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
X -MAN X MAN I asked JS to send that board and the Black Baron. I hope they do!!!
Matt Leontis
Matt Leontis - 2 years ago
Best reviews of all time man
Vitor Bidone
Vitor Bidone - 2 years ago
Hi Noel
Very good review on Monsta 8. I have the same weight as you and was planning on buying a Monsta 8 with the following measures: 5'9 x 18 3/8 x 2 1/4 x 25L. However this board has epoxy construction.
Do you think it will work because it is epoxy and will have better flotation?
Thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Vitor Bidone It will go good... I like EPS in 1-6’ surf.... any bigger I like PU.
Krumbzii
Krumbzii - 2 years ago
Hey Noel, ive just got one question for you
How do you get all of these boards, do they sponsor to do reviews on them or what ?
Cheers from Australia
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Krumbzii Boards are sent to us at no charge for us to review.

We used to pay for them at first... then we got some demo boards and had to send them back after the review. Now the boards are ours to keep.

No sponsors at this time but we do have a surf shop affiliate program where we license out our content So shops can use our reviews on their site for a monthly fee. I hope this answers your questions.

10. comment for JS "Monsta 8" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 74

Fab Tsalsa
Fab Tsalsa - 2 years ago
Hey man you need to look into these quobba fins from west oz. I only ride large futures and these only come medium but can definitely feel the extra speed and it feels like it glues more to the water. Feels different for sure but I need to try it in better conditions. Would be nice to see you having a go at it. Cheers and keep up your good work.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Fab Tsalsa Ok I will check them out
Dakota Kosh
Dakota Kosh - 2 years ago
Hi, really love the reviews! I was just wondering what you think the best all rounder, would be, for waves in the 1-5’ range?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Dakota Kosh Yes, I love the Spinetek construction. The Spinetek feels alive under your feet and gives great spring or pop in your turns compared to PU. It’s also more durable and it floats better by roughly 1/2 of liter compared to PU.
Dakota Kosh
Dakota Kosh - 2 years ago
Thanks! Also what do you think about the spine tek vs the regular poly construction does it make much of a noticeable difference or no?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Dakota Kosh CI Neck Beard 2 for performance or the Seaside for Hybrid/ Fish.
Youdig
Youdig - 2 years ago
hi noel happy xmass, will you make a video with your prefered boards for the year 2018 ? =) i hope you will . thanks =)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Youdig I did a Favorite Finds review for 2018. Not a ton on the boards but I did list them all except the Seaside. Check it out.... cheers
redh
redh - 2 years ago
Still waiting for an EVO review! Maybe not your high performance sled of choice but our favorite. Get us your take on "the most easy to surf shapes on earth" as stated on the FW website! Cheers
Rafhael Silva
Rafhael Silva - 2 years ago
Man, just loving your videos. Too bad that those boards ain't available In Brazil. But I'm trying to find something alike. Big cheers from Brazil, great job!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Rafhael Silva Yewww!!! Cheers for the kind words and we’re glad you found our show.
Wesley Chapman
Wesley Chapman - 2 years ago
Videos getting crispier by the month! Stoked to think how big this channel could be by the end of 2019. Also really cool to see Jordan's Solo Shot clips and mini review in there as well.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Wesley Chapman Yewww!! Cheers
UniqueStranger
UniqueStranger - 2 years ago
I've read the summary on the Italo Ferreira signature model by T. Patterson. Italo has not only won WCT events on his signature board model, but this board is know to perform well for weekend warriors too. Hopefully, you can do a review on this model.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
UniqueStranger Sound good... I will check into it. Thanks
UniqueStranger
UniqueStranger - 2 years ago
Try the Dane Reynolds model fin by Captain Fin. I would like to know which you consider the best all-around fin between the Dane Reynolds, Gabriel Medina, and Felipe Toledo fins.
UniqueStranger
UniqueStranger - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thanks, God bless you, and Merry Christmas!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
UniqueStranger I have used the DR fins a bunch. Used them in some board reviews too. They were some of my favorites for 2017.
UniqueStranger
UniqueStranger - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Wow, I'm surprised because the GM and FT are both FCS fins which is a major surf accessories platform compared to Captain Fin. Very interesting. Did you review the Dane Reynolds fin in any of your videos?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
UniqueStranger I like the Dane fins best out of those 3 models you mention. The DR fins are Honeycomb and they have good flex. The GM and FT are a bit stiffer.
UniqueStranger
UniqueStranger - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews yes, the Dane Reynolds black panther fins by CF.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
UniqueStranger Are you talking about the DR Black Panther Fins by CF?
YAK_uza Kauai Kayak Fishing
YAK_uza Kauai Kayak Fishing - 2 years ago
can you do a Spitfire review please
YAK_uza Kauai Kayak Fishing
YAK_uza Kauai Kayak Fishing - 2 years ago
Mahalo! Keep it up your reviews are the best
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
YAK_uza Kauai Kayak Fishing Maybe in the future. I think the next Firewire board review will be the Sci Fi.
Yorky surfboards
Yorky surfboards - 2 years ago
not sitting quite right for ya

20. comment for JS "Monsta 8" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 74

bodhi tree
bodhi tree - 2 years ago
I like your cutbacks on the JS shapes.
Tracey Baker
Tracey Baker - 2 years ago
looks like what simon anderson made ,designed and gave to the world.
joe Dirt
joe Dirt - 2 years ago
Transition from grovelers to real surfboards can be funky. You were Ripping, way more spray.
Philip You
Philip You - 2 years ago
Noel your reviews are awesome i am loving it super helpful. but can you also do tutorials an simple maneuvers (top turns and bottom turn)?? your turns look so clean and so easy.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Philip You Stoked you like our show and thanks for the kind words. I MIGHT do a little of that in 2019.
Riley Stubbs
Riley Stubbs - 2 years ago
Are you going to review the HS misc?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Riley Stubbs Yup!! Got two on order right now.....
The Surfboard Guide
The Surfboard Guide - 2 years ago
I loved the Monsta 8! I was a bit surprised how forgiving it was for a high performance shortboard. I ordered a shorter, wider and thicker one after our review and it went even better! Good to see the M8 in action in the nice walls of Trestles! Yew!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
The Surfboard Guide Cheers!!! Thanks for posting that your shorter, wider, thicker version went good.
Chris Andrews
Chris Andrews - 2 years ago
Hi great review. How would you compare this board to the wilko dhd.
Cheers from nz
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Buster_boo202 The Wilko is a small wave performance board like the Air 17x. This Monsta 8 has more rocker and goes better in hollow & bigger waves.
daniel vb
daniel vb - 2 years ago
Out of the all the HP surfboards you've tested, wich one has the lower rails? Sometimes I miss the feel from the boards I had as a teenager, they had such pinched rails.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
daniel vb I surfed a pinched rail HPSB in a long time.... I don’t have a answer for you on this one sorry.
Montana Weatherby
Montana Weatherby - 2 years ago
WOW PERFECT TIMING! Do you have the forget me not 2 on your bucket list?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Montana Weatherby You need to talk to JS then. Ha
Montana Weatherby
Montana Weatherby - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews I wanna see the forget me not 2 tho! Have to give your subscriber's what they want;) hah!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Montana Weatherby In the winter time we move around a bunch. But mostly the point breaks. Cheers
Montana Weatherby
Montana Weatherby - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews haha oh darn! have fun! hahaha hopefully ill see you out in the surf! you mostly surf lowers?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Montana Weatherby I would have Togo to Blacks.
Montana Weatherby
Montana Weatherby - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Not even 8ft salt creek?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Montana Weatherby Not at the moment. That board has way too much curve for the waves I surf. That would be a board for a surf trip.
Truth Seeker
Truth Seeker - 2 years ago
I tend to have a narrow stance as well, and also tend to put a lot of weight on my back foot. I have found that boards with the wide point rear of center and with low tail rocker and good nose rocker feel the best for me. If you are surfing a board with low entry and lots of flip in the tail with a narrow stance over the fins, you are basically putting the brakes on the board.

30. comment for JS "Monsta 8" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 74

Jonas Akyildiz
Jonas Akyildiz - 2 years ago
Ripping Noel!
wafertheen
wafertheen - 2 years ago
great review noel. i watch your videos religiously! i agree your stance is too narrow for this design. i've got a narrow stance too and have been trying to widen it. i've found that a wider stance is the key to making most modern high performance boards work properly. i rode a stock 5'9" monster 8 through awayco. it was nice and carvy but still loose. good in the pocket too. unfortunately it was 3L too small for me so i had trouble controlling it and getting into waves.
Ardy Aryan
Ardy Aryan - 2 years ago
Such a joy watching your reviews on a Monday morning while drinking my favorite drink coffee ;) awesome review as always Noel.
João Nunes
João Nunes - 2 years ago
Hi Noel, how about doing a review about the black box 3? thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Johnny Tejo I have asked for that board... hopefully the folks at JS send it for review.
Ryan The Rock
Ryan The Rock - 2 years ago
Hey noel you mention stance a lot in this review...are you adjusting that while up and riding?can you give some tips on doing this as i battle to adjust my back foot on and off the tailpad while up and riding
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Ryan The Rock My battle was more on moving my front foot forward to maximize speed, and stability.

Moving your feet around can be difficult. One tip I can give you for moving your back foot all the way back is be deliberate in moving it all the way back on a stomp pad. Make sure you feel the kick on the stomp pad before you try any turns when you first stand up. You will have to do this over and over again to create a new habit.
Woody Ousley
Woody Ousley - 2 years ago
Ripped the shit out of that board.
theholychink
theholychink - 2 years ago
for some reason it looks like the boards hard to control in turns compared to some of your other videos, is it because it’s under volumed?
gilbertrockstv
gilbertrockstv - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews I'm going through the same thing. I've been surfing that 5'2" RNF Retro and my 5'9" Fever is probably going to feel like a battle cruiser once I'm on it again. lol.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Bryan K. Volume is good... my stance is pretty narrow because I rode a 5’2” Fish for 2 weeks straight. That’s why it looks so hard for me to control.
Maurice Cureton
Maurice Cureton - 2 years ago
Thanks for review. Perfect timing for the incoming swell.
André Bonilha
André Bonilha - 2 years ago
Any plans to review firewire ”Sci-Fi” or Stephanie’s Gilmore and Mick Fannings boards “DNA”? Congrats for the show! Cheers!
elb2018
elb2018 - 2 years ago
+1 for the DNA
Gil Ribeiro
Gil Ribeiro - 2 years ago
Can you review the Rip Curl E Bomb?
gilbertrockstv
gilbertrockstv - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews No worries my man. Stay safe out there and keep ripping.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
gilbertrockstv Epic.. thanks for posting...
gilbertrockstv
gilbertrockstv - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Ripping Noel! I just picked up the brand new Heatseeker 3/2 and used it this weekend. One of the best suits ever! So warm and the flex is just unreal. Super rad not having a chest zip too. No cold water flushes what so ever. Still gonna keep my 4/3 Xcel Drylock, but gonna see how far I can push the 3/2. I', like you and get cold pretty easy, but this suit kept me super toasty. It is only about 59 or 60 here in SD, so will be cool to see how it goes in colder temps. Hope your getting some bombs right now. It was out of control down here today. YEw!
Gil Ribeiro
Gil Ribeiro - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Ok thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Fa do Ze Cenouras Ribeiro Not doing much wetsuit reviews at this time. If I were you I would check out Rip Curls new suit called the Heat Seeker.

Similar videos
for JS "Monsta 8" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 74

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,759 views 5 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,697 views 4 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,025 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,382 views 11 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,355 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,319 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Related videos
to JS "Monsta 8" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 74

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,697 views 4 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,025 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,355 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,319 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

What's inside a Tesla Surfboard?

32,933 likes 2,767,894 views 2 years ago

Tesla made 200 limited edition surfboards, We try to Surf it then CUT IT OPEN! This video was sponsored by LastPass....

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,615,108 views 8 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

About JS "Monsta 8" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 74

The "JS "Monsta 8" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 74" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!