JS Surfboards "Monsta Box HYFI" Review by Noel Salas Ep. 29

This video is about JS Surfboards Monsta Box in the hyfi construction. JS calls the Monsta Box their Daily Driver for those 2-4+ days which would be in between your high performance surfboard Monsta 6 and small wave Groveler Blak Box 2. The hyfi construction has a patent pending for its unique construction process. It has a Epoxy Stringer less core that has incredible flexibility coupled with JS's new carbon Diamond construction. The White Diamond shape mesh on the bottom of this board a Polypropylene (synthetic plastic mesh) and this combined with Carbon strips give this board the right flex and tension This board felt really good under my feet. I liked how it loaded on my bottom turns as it projected me into my desired turn with incredible speed. The construction felt similar to that of a PU/Poly in small waves but it is lighter and stronger. The board was really fast down the line and very responsive in and out of my turns. The Monsta Box in the hyfi construction is a winner and I highly recommend this board as a daily driver for waves in the 2-4+ range. Super fun, fast, light and durable. Here is what the JS website has to say about the Monsta Box hyfi: MONSTA BOX HYFI HYFI’s enhanced flex and mind-blowing speed combines with the Monsta Box’s versatility to create a board that flies down the line, springs through turns, and can be surfed in everything from average, everyday grovels to the most fun sessions you can imagine. One of our most well received hybrid models ever, the Monsta Box is a blend of our two global favourites – the Monsta 6 and Blak Box 2. The result is an outline that hides a surprising amount of area for ease of paddling and generating speed, yet maintains a responsive, high performance feel thanks to its perfectly balanced entry and exit rockers. With a lot of the most fun R&D you could imagine under the team’s belt, from Hawaii to the Gold Coast, Mikey summed-up the HYFI Monsta Box perfectly: “On smaller days I hardly ever veer away from surfing it – even if the waves suck it hasn't let me down and in better surf or contests it still has that spark you need to go as hard as you want.”

JS Surfboards "Monsta Box HYFI" Review by Noel Salas Ep. 29 sentiment_very_dissatisfied 7

Reviews 4 years ago 51,145 views

This video is about JS Surfboards Monsta Box in the hyfi construction. JS calls the Monsta Box their Daily Driver for those 2-4+ days which would be in between your high performance surfboard Monsta 6 and small wave Groveler Blak Box 2. The hyfi construction has a patent pending for its unique construction process. It has a Epoxy Stringer less core that has incredible flexibility coupled with JS's new carbon Diamond construction. The White Diamond shape mesh on the bottom of this board a Polypropylene (synthetic plastic mesh) and this combined with Carbon strips give this board the right flex and tension This board felt really good under my feet. I liked how it loaded on my bottom turns as it projected me into my desired turn with incredible speed. The construction felt similar to that of a PU/Poly in small waves but it is lighter and stronger. The board was really fast down the line and very responsive in and out of my turns. The Monsta Box in the hyfi construction is a winner and I highly recommend this board as a daily driver for waves in the 2-4+ range. Super fun, fast, light and durable. Here is what the JS website has to say about the Monsta Box hyfi: MONSTA BOX HYFI HYFI’s enhanced flex and mind-blowing speed combines with the Monsta Box’s versatility to create a board that flies down the line, springs through turns, and can be surfed in everything from average, everyday grovels to the most fun sessions you can imagine. One of our most well received hybrid models ever, the Monsta Box is a blend of our two global favourites – the Monsta 6 and Blak Box 2. The result is an outline that hides a surprising amount of area for ease of paddling and generating speed, yet maintains a responsive, high performance feel thanks to its perfectly balanced entry and exit rockers. With a lot of the most fun R&D you could imagine under the team’s belt, from Hawaii to the Gold Coast, Mikey summed-up the HYFI Monsta Box perfectly: “On smaller days I hardly ever veer away from surfing it – even if the waves suck it hasn't let me down and in better surf or contests it still has that spark you need to go as hard as you want.”

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for JS Surfboards "Monsta Box HYFI" Review by Noel Salas Ep. 29

Harrison Farley
Harrison Farley - 2 years ago
Noah, love your reviews man. Did you ever try the board with Futures? If so, what did you like in them? Thanks
Brett Weeks
Brett Weeks - 2 years ago
@Harrison Farley Wondering if those john john fins are alpha?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Harrison Farley Its Magic bro...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Harrison Farley No sorry... only FCSII. I would go with a Neutral fin like F8 or JJF fins.
abir shaked
abir shaked - 2 years ago
Hey noel , as usual u are ripping !! Would you say this boatd grovels well? I usually ride 1-4 waves how well would u say it will perform in that lower range?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
abir shaked It goes best in 3-4’ surf... it goes ok in 2’ surf a little long to fit in tight transitions. Good speed though
Michael Short
Michael Short - 2 years ago
Hey Noel, how do you rate the pressure dents
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Michael Short it’s been a while since I did this review and I don’t remember very well. Sorry...
CustomsB
CustomsB - 2 years ago
Your reviews are the best, thank you! Was wondering if you could describe what you think are the difference between the hyfi construction, future flex, carbon wrap and spine tech in terms of how it feels, and which is more durable (harder to ding).
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
CustomsB They are all roughly the same in hardness and ding about the same. However the flex and pop feels different in each Construction. The CW flexes most with the least amount of pressure applied to your turns.Future Flex pops back the quickest due to the Carbon on the rail. Spinetek might be the stiffest of the techs mentioned and it’s pop feels good too and it seems to be the stiffest. The more pressure applied to Spinetek the harder it rebounds and its pop seems to be the most consistent. The HYFY Tech feels most like PU due to the weight... less chatter or vibration at high speed or in choppy surf. The down side to to the HYFY Tech is the weight of the board in 1-3’ surf. Because it’s weight is heavier and nearly the same as a stock PU it takes more out of me to get it going down the line quickly because it’s heavy.

That’s my two cents on each tech... they all pressure dent the same and when touring them they will suck water in. Fix them all quickly.
Matthew Hayes
Matthew Hayes - 2 years ago
Hi Nole. Do you prefer this model over the Pyzel Phantom? How do they compare?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Matthew Hayes I like the Phantom better. The Phantom has a better wave range too 3-7’.
Building Inspections Australia
Building Inspections Australia - 2 years ago
Shredder.. you could body double for Slater
Shane Wright
Shane Wright - 2 years ago
Hi Noel, i was just wanting to know what you personal opinion was on the hyfi construction (eps) as opposed to traditional PU boards. I’ve heard a lot of mixed things and i’m torn on which way to go with my next board. Cheers
Shane Wright
Shane Wright - 2 years ago
Thanks so much!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Shane Wright I love eps boards in 1-6’ surf. The HYFY tech is legit in my book. It’s been a while since I’ve ridden one but I like the extra pop and spring in my turns in the Monsta Box compared to a PU in smaller waves. If you surf a lot of choppy surf then maybe go PU... the EPS foam in general struggles a bit in the chop. It’s somewhat topical and if your not used to surfing it then it can disengage and you can skip out. I am used to riding EPS now and I like it in 1-4’ surf even if there is a bit of texture on the surface.
Felipe Segatto do Carmo
Felipe Segatto do Carmo - 2 years ago
or PU surfboard is much better for 3-6 ft?
Felipe Segatto do Carmo
Felipe Segatto do Carmo - 2 years ago
this technology HYFI construction is recommended to good and perfect waves too or only to small waves? monsta box surfboard work well for good waves but i don't know in HYFI construct? I say because a time ago epoxy EPS were good only for really small waves.
Felipe Segatto do Carmo
Felipe Segatto do Carmo - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Felipe Segatto do Carmo The answer to your question really comes down to a preference for each surfer. I like HYFY and other EPS Constructions for 1-5’ surf. Bigger surf 4-8’+ I like PU. Some surfers only ride EPS now even when it gets bigger, other surfers like EPS in smaller surf, and others surfers only like PU.

10. comment for JS Surfboards "Monsta Box HYFI" Review by Noel Salas Ep. 29

Ooyz Beats
Ooyz Beats - 2 years ago
im 150 pounds 6,2 and a intermediate surfer, im growing pretty quickly so i dont know if i should get a 30+ litres or 25-30 litre board. what should i get?
Ooyz Beats
Ooyz Beats - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Cheers!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Ooyz beats I say your liters should be around 26-27 liters. Since your growing so fast maybe Go 27-28. If you go bigger than that I think you won’t have much fun trying to turn a board with 29-30 liters.
Thiago Marciel
Thiago Marciel - 2 years ago
Im exactly your same numbers, 5'9 and 72kg. Dont know wich to pick, the 5'9 19 x 2 5/16 26.4 or the 5'8 18.75 x 2 5/16 25.6L. both monsta box hyfi. Kinda going more to the 5'8 side. Do you think the 5'8 would suit you good as well? Scared of the 25.6 beeing a bit "skinny" and the 5'9 beeing too big for a epoxy..
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Thiago Marciel 5’8” HYFY for sure. It will float like 26.1 because it’s EPS. No doubt... pull the trigger on the 5’8” HYFY.
John Tsunami Carr
John Tsunami Carr - 2 years ago
I love your reviews. I’m not sure if you’re able to say but what’s your favorite boards for 2-4ft so-cal surf? It’s really hard for me to pick my next one.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
John Carr CI Neck Beard 2 Spinetek, Monsta Box HYFY, Pyzel Gremlin, CI Rocket Wide. Check out our website for all of my boards for 2-4’ surf. Www.surfnshow.com
chicoxiba
chicoxiba - 3 years ago
board way too big for ya
IzandEva Inmyheart
IzandEva Inmyheart - 3 years ago
Monsta box, Wilko F13 or Holy Grail? Help please.
IzandEva Inmyheart
IzandEva Inmyheart - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews i have a lost driver thats pretty good. Thanks chief. You could be awesome on ESPN but...we need you here bro
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
IzandEva Inmyheart I would choose any of those 3 Boards for Blacks in the Winter Time. I would go with Pyzel Ghost, CI Fever, Lost Driver. Something like that....
IzandEva Inmyheart
IzandEva Inmyheart - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews
Im getting a CI twin for smaller O side stuff after your review of that. I'll need a winter board for returning to blacks where I grew up.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
IzandEva Inmyheart What size waves? All 3 boards are mental and you cannot go wrong with any of them. I suggest getting to a shop and feeling them up a bit and then pull the trigger.
Noah Stone
Noah Stone - 3 years ago
Just got one stock 5’7 so stoked
Noah Stone
Noah Stone - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews love it haven’t used it in anything too good yet waiting for that south swell but works great even as a small wave performance really fast too
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Noah Stone Sick!!’ Let me know how it goes....
A T
A T - 3 years ago
I have a monster box (6'2, im 90kg)) based on your advice, I love it awesome board. I have mainly used it with Futures AM2, these usually seem a good starting point. What do you think about other futures options? I have an older set of Large MB lost fins, they are flat and very stiff, i guess they would be best for more powerful days? How about foiled fins for smaller mushy days? Maybe Blackstix F8?
A T
A T - 3 years ago
CW Rodriguez enjoy, awesome boards
CW Rodriguez
CW Rodriguez - 3 years ago
AT Sick man, thanks for the info. I actually ordered the 35.4 as well, instead of the 34L 6'2". I'm about 95kg and live in SoCal. Can't wait to get that beast in
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
CW Rodriguez 26.5 Liters
A T
A T - 3 years ago
CW Rodriguez mine is a 6'2, which is 35.4 l... I'm 6ft and 90kgs. I think mine is ideal size wise, I could provably ride an inch or two shorter but I'd sacrifice wave count for it. However, my friend in 83kgs and he has a 5'11, he reckons his sizing, so I guess that's proof you can go smaller than I have with it.
CW Rodriguez
CW Rodriguez - 3 years ago
AT what volume did you get? I'm buying one now. Thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
A T The F8 are great but I like the Jack Freestone Generation better. A little stiffer and a bit more upright compared to the AM2 and F8’s. Get the Jack Freestone’s their sick.
Ardy Aryan
Ardy Aryan - 3 years ago
Hi Noel! thanks for the great reviews, I have a question about the Monsta Box, JS has released the Round Pin version of it too, I am indecisive between the Squash tail or Round Pin, do you have any input on that?
Ardy Aryan
Ardy Aryan - 3 years ago
Thank you!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Ardy Aryan I say Squash Tail for smaller waves 2-4’ surf and if you want more hold then go Round tail.
Puerto Sandino Surf Resort
Puerto Sandino Surf Resort - 3 years ago
Got one on the way to me here in Nica. Thanks for the review. Stoked as we got an awesome run of swell ahead tomorrow and thru the week
Kapukataumahaka Ōwheo
Kapukataumahaka Ōwheo - 3 years ago
Super Reviews Noel. Could you do a review on the AIR17X in PU? The AIR17X looks a little like the Lost F1-Stub, which was Julian's favorite board of all time!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Kapukataumahaka Ōwheo I have one on order... just waiting for it to come in. Hang tight

20. comment for JS Surfboards "Monsta Box HYFI" Review by Noel Salas Ep. 29

Ethan Hughes
Ethan Hughes - 3 years ago
Can you review the AIR17 X please!?!?
Co3 Aqua
Co3 Aqua - 3 years ago
Hi noel, probably the 10th time I've watched this video now, ripping as always, I've got the monsta box hyfi roundtail in a 5' 10" and I'm 70kg, I want a fin which will be nice and responsive, slide out a bit but still be forgiving in the slightly bigger surf around 4ft, would the reactors still work for me or do you recommend sticking to something more common like accelerators or performers??
101unz
101unz - 3 years ago
Co3 Aqua try the almerric fins they do what you want. Drivey but can release with the smaller sized back fin. They good 2 - 4 foot.
Co3 Aqua
Co3 Aqua - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews alright sweet thanks man, so you reckon the ka's for me as I'll be messing around in 2-3 ft most of the time with it turning on from time to time with slightly bigger surf
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Co3 Aqua A little more Rake compared to the Performers. The Accelerators need a wave with some power for them to go good and I have not tried the Carvers yet. The KA’s are my favorite fins in 1-6’ surf. When it’s bigger with some punch I like the Filipe Toledo and Mick Fanning fins. The Face Time fin is a bit stiffer compared to the KA so you can push harder on them. The MF has more Rake and I like those in 4-8+
Co3 Aqua
Co3 Aqua - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews thanks Noel, I'll mainly be surfing 2-3ft surf but need the flexibility to be able to surf in slightly bigger, do those two fins have similar templates to the r accelerators, performers or carvers just so I can get an idea
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Co3 Aqua I say the KA or the Filipe Toledo fins. You will want a fin with some Rake or Sweep so it doesn’t slide out on you. The Reactor Fin is much too upright for that board in bigger surf. Maybe if that board had more tail rocker like the Monsta 6 or 8.
Mathieu Revel
Mathieu Revel - 3 years ago
The original monsta box and this one are the same except for the construction ? I m not a big fan of epoxy board as a general rule, PU feels better
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Mathieu Popey I agree with that but I don’t surf a lot of choppy surf. If the waves are choppy I don’t surf...
Mathieu Revel
Mathieu Revel - 3 years ago
Interesting, what wave range you consider as small ?  My problem with EPS is when it s windy and bumpy I find that the board doesn't sit properly in/under the water
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Mathieu Popey PU does feel good but EPS is way more lively for small waves. A PU board only feels good to me in small waves with a light glass job.
xjoshsauce
xjoshsauce - 3 years ago
monsta box vs hypto krypto. can anyone give some input?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
xjoshsauce These two boards are epic but not a good comparison. The Gamma is a legitimate HP board and the Monsta Box is more for the less than average days. The Gamma needs a good wave for it to go good and the Monsta Box will go good in a not so good wave.

I recommend the Tomo SKX or the JS Air 17 for waves in 2-6+. If you surf bigger waves then this then I need to know how big the waves get and what kind of wave.... point break, beach break????
xjoshsauce
xjoshsauce - 3 years ago
hey bro, what about the monsta box vs slaters gamma? im looking for short board thats closest to do it all, in all kinds of waves, but leans more on the big waves, any suggestions are appreciated.. and which is better for airs??
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
xjoshsauce Monsta Box In HYFY is EPIC... really fast and responsive. I have not tried the Hypto.
Marko Markovic
Marko Markovic - 3 years ago
i got one of those yesterday!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Marko Markovic Cheers we appreciate that!!!
Marko Markovic
Marko Markovic - 3 years ago
your reviews were spot on everybody should watch you i'll tell the other gromets to suscribe
!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Marko Markovic What??? So stoked for you. Let me know how it goes after you ride it a bit.
Mikey Statts
Mikey Statts - 3 years ago
Bro, I live in Hawaii and I look to you for when I get one new board. Mahalo Nui
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Mikie Statts Cheers... stoked you like our show.
MrDeadsurfer
MrDeadsurfer - 3 years ago
When are you going to ride a Vulcan surfboard?  Archie and Boo are riding them.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
MrDeadsurfer Sorry to hear that... I am not sure if and when I will review a Vulcan board. I will need a bunch of requests for it.
MrDeadsurfer
MrDeadsurfer - 3 years ago
No, I'm dialysis, no surfing for me anymore.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
MrDeadsurfer Not sure.... are you riding one?
zane’s world
zane’s world - 3 years ago
I just got mine, after a month and a half of waiting for the board to be shipped from San Diego. Hopefully it goes well at Honolua bay.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
zjgvergara Epic... let me know how it goes....
fatin shafiqah
fatin shafiqah - 4 years ago
why not u make review about baby buggy from mayhem.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
That board look sick.... maybe we will.
fishskulls76
fishskulls76 - 4 years ago
Hey I have a monsta box in pu if I was to get one in hify would you suggest going down a size?

30. comment for JS Surfboards "Monsta Box HYFI" Review by Noel Salas Ep. 29

Ardy Aryan
Ardy Aryan - 4 years ago
Loved the review Noel, how do you compare this with V3 as a step up?
Thank you
Ardy Aryan
Ardy Aryan - 4 years ago
Makes total sense! thanks Noel!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Stoked you like the review. I would say that neither the Monsta Box or the Lost V3 Stealth I would use as step-ups. I think the ideal surf for the Monsta Box is 2-5+ and the Lost V3 Stealth is good for 2-6+. If I were going to buy a step up I would choose different models from JS or Lost. The Monsta Box and V3 Stealth are great daily drivers which I would ride 80% of the time. When the waves get bigger I would get a JS Monsta 6 or the Lost Driver from the two brands you mentioned.
Daniel Turner
Daniel Turner - 4 years ago
Hi Noel. Do you have any info on the FCS ii HS fin set? I bought the JS Mosta Box HyFi 6'1" roundtail. I'm 6 feet tall and 190lbs.
101unz
101unz - 2 years ago
@Daniel Turner I have both those fins.. If you ever do quads on the forehand those hs are the best.. Backside on snaps as a tri I find the hs lift out of water and reconnect which is sketchy, am2s will slide.. Mf fins calm a board down, they take a lot more turning.. Hs go good small waves.. Am2s upto 5foot. Fannings if it's bumpy big or both.. Sometimes I ride fannings in small wave boards on biggish days, works to a certain extent, especially if you took the wrong board for conditions
Daniel Turner
Daniel Turner - 4 years ago
No it's fine. I love the HS FCS ii quad set I have, works well with the board as quad or thruster. I don't normally ride inside foils but I like these, solid off the bottom with just the right amount of drift in the last part of the turn and nice tight arcs. I'll try something like the MF with more rake for comparison. I am looking forward to your review of the Hayden Shapes stuff because I am really loving this all this new epoxy stuff. The old epoxy boards I had a while ago where real dogs in comparison!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Daniel Turner Sorry I don't have any info on the FCSII fins yet. My Futures are a bit more upright so they pivot quickly. Sorry
Daniel Turner
Daniel Turner - 4 years ago
It's a rocket! Goes great for me with the HS fins but I am going to try it with the MF large fins too. I love it, thanks again.
Daniel Turner
Daniel Turner - 4 years ago
Will do Noel and thank you. Fast and lively in smaller/ weaker surf is always a good idea here in the UK most of the time and I like the idea of the 5 fin set, possibly using a quad rear as a back fin on smaller days. He seems like an interesting cat Hayden Cox and it's a great time equipment wise to be surfing through. I look forward to the review. Cheers n gone.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Daniel Turner I am currently reviewing those fins in the HS Untitled board . I have used them twice now in 2-4 surf and they feel fast and lively so far. I think they feel good in smaller waves so far. They are a speed generating Fin so I would probably ride them in in 4 feet surf and under. Stay tuned as I will be surfing them for the next 3 weeks.
Anthony
Anthony - 4 years ago
Great review and btw that board looks really good under your feet.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Anthony DiFranco Glad you like the show. Thanks for the comment and Monsta Box HYFI is epic!!!!
Travis Butler
Travis Butler - 4 years ago
Top notch reviews. just came across your channel the other day and cannot stop watching. Thank you Noel, aloha from sunset beach!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Travis Butler Stoked!!! So glad to hear you like the show.
julien jan
julien jan - 4 years ago
Hi Noel, did you get the opportunity to test the HYFI Blak Box 2? For mushy waves, I am hesitating with the Sampler Flexbar and this HYFI Blak Box 2, which one would you recommend?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
julien jan I have not ridden the BB2 in HYFI yet but it's on my list of boards to review. It will be a while though...,

However the HYFI technology is epic and so is the Flexbar Tech. You can't go wrong with either board and constructions. I wish I had more info on the BB2 for you. The Sampler is one of my favorites for sure. Let me know what you get and it goes for you! Cheers
Nimrod Iny
Nimrod Iny - 4 years ago
I have the HYFI Blak Box 2, riding it mostly on mushy 2-4 ft conditions, EPIC EPIC board, really. Also tried the Sampler on another session and didn't get the same lively, fast, feeling as I did on the BB2. Noel, would be indeed great to hear your thoughts on the BB2 HYFI since you already liked the Monsta :)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
julien jan I have not tried the BB2 yet but it's on my list to review for sure!!! The Sampler is epic. A couple of my friends have the BB2 and love it too. I am sure you are good with either!
William Russell
William Russell - 4 years ago
Hey Noah! Killing it man! Quick question. Do you think the Monsta Box in Pu would handle a little more than 2-4?

Thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
William Russell Yes I think it could go to 3-5. Stoked you like the show. The Monsta Box is so good!!!
daniel vb
daniel vb - 4 years ago
what tailpad is this?
daniel vb
daniel vb - 4 years ago
ty
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
daniel vb It's called the No Logo Pad by Channel Islands.
koby shemer
koby shemer - 4 years ago
hi,noal :) how would you compare the monsta box hyfi , to lost VD carbon wrap.
thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
koby shemer Great comparison... both boards are epic! The VDC has a bit more kick in the tail so you can really push on your turns and the MB HYFI is super fast down the line. I recommend both so you really can't make s bad choice on these two boards you are comparing. Both have good flex, feel, and spring in and out of turns!!!
Caetano
Caetano - 4 years ago
Great review! Could you please do a review on FW sci-fi ?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Caetano Thanks glad you like the show!!!
Caetano
Caetano - 4 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews , Noel that will be great , I think nobody out from FW team had do it so far ...don't know why so much mystery around it ;-) . Will be waiting your review and keep up the good job and show ! Cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Caetano I will get to it eventually.... that board looks so fun.
bushkey
bushkey - 4 years ago
I watched again tonight, I was comparing the fins, and after watching you surf on the different fins, it was very clear to me the KA's were the money fin in that board for you. You surfing was electric with the KA's, Tracky and awkward with the MF's, and more Stable with the JW's. I see why you said the KA's were the winner.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
bushkey It's cool you can see what I felt. All three fins work and feel good but like you said the KA's had that special spark that made this board alive. Cheers!!!
Jack Pool
Jack Pool - 4 years ago
Absolutely love your board reviews! I like the fact that you
actually rip the boards that you are reviewing. 
It fully legitimizes your reviews compared with the rest! nice work!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Jack Pool Cheers glad you like the show. Yew!!!!
Mama Teresa
Mama Teresa - 4 years ago
Congrats on 2k
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
AUZZIE BBQ Cheers!!!
The Surf Show by Magnum Martinez
The Surf Show by Magnum Martinez - 4 years ago
Great review Noel! that board looks lively for sure! You are surfing solid! Stoked brother!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
The Surf Show by Magnum Martinez Yea Mags thanks brother.... that Monsta Box goes mental. You gotta get one buddy.
Water Dog
Water Dog - 4 years ago
I was looking hard at the Monsta Box for a long time, nothing but good reviews out there, but could not find a PU version in my area. Ended up getting a Pyzel Amigo. How would you compare the Monsta Box to the New Flyer in terms of low end/high end of waves.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Water Dog My pleasure... I do like EPS boards in small surf for sure. They are light and lively. Cheers!!!
Water Dog
Water Dog - 4 years ago
Getting the rails to dig in was my concern with the HYFI (or any non PU) construction and why I was looking for a PU Monsta Box. Have a NF and really like it, but hard to paddle into steep/hollow waves, and does not have instant speed. Partly due too much foam/too "corky" (1.5L more than needed), but think also rocker. Once up you can generate speed, but if dumping, getting in late and not having instant speed is an issue for an old man like me. JS has very limited distribution/availability, especially in PU. Surprising considering how popular their boards are.
Thanks again.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
I think the New Flyer can handle bigger waves because it has more rocker but I don't think it Grovels very well in general. To much rocker for my likings on small waves. I am sure many surfers out there would disagree with me on that.I think the Monsta Box is really fast and responsive for 2-4 waves but it will struggle a little in the 5+ waves for me in the HYFI construction. I have a hard time getting the rail to bite when the waves get bigger with EPS foam in general. Nothing against the HYFI construction but I like EPS foam best in small waves.I think the Monsta Box in the PU would be very versatile and would go good in the 2-5 which makes it a very good daily driver. Cheers!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
HYFI Construction Correction: SORRY for the correction on this review but the White Diamond shape mesh on the bottom of this board is NOT Carbon Fiber. It is a Polypropylene (synthetic plastic mesh) and this combined with Carbon strips give this board the right flex and tension.
Peace Soup
Peace Soup - 4 years ago
This is a great review. Good to see other surfboard company's getting involved with Noels show.
Malcolm Hill
Malcolm Hill - 4 years ago
Hey mate. I've watched most of your videos, and for sure your surfing looks best on this board. Much better than any of the channel islands boards in my opinion. Keep up the epic videos.
John Doe
John Doe - 4 years ago
the best surfboard tests online , but the comment about hyfi construction..... unidirectional carbon tape and diagonal stitched glass are the very basic composite materials, theres no diamond in...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Thanks for the props on the show and you are correct on the Hyfi diamond shaped material on the bottom of the board. I just posted this correction because of your comment and one other guys that commented earlier yesterday. My Corrections is this: HYFI Construction Correction: SORRY for the correction on this review but the White Diamond shape mesh on the bottom of this board is NOT Carbon Fiber. It is a Polypropylene (synthetic plastic mesh) and this combined with Carbon strips give this board the right flex and tension.   Thank you for posting your comment.... Cheers!
Troy Robinson
Troy Robinson - 4 years ago
I would love to see you ride that volume in a 5.8 or 5.7. (similar to the other boards you've ridden.). i think you look good on the shorter boards as it seems to look like help's it get more critical in pocket and responsive on open face. It would be a more accurate comparison if the boards were all around similar lengths as well as the volume but i understand like you say it's nice to build a quiver for different conditions.
Can you get hifi in custom dimensions?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Yes, you can order the HYFI construction custom if they are making it in the board model you are looking for. My friend custom ordered the Air 17 in HYFI and loves it. Cheers!!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Troy Robinson I would like this board at 5'7 in the smaller stuff for sure. I am not sure if you can order the HYFI custom or not. I will check and hit you back.
Craig Steven
Craig Steven - 4 years ago
Can elaborate on the Julian fins what you felt compared to the two performance core fins. (It's Kreeg)!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Paul Ricco Sounds about right. The KS 2.1 is pretty upright too.
Paul Ricco
Paul Ricco - 4 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews cool i was told they are based on the old slater ks 2.1 fin, my favorite fin
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Paul Ricco I like the Reactor fin too. Thanks for posting what you like!!!
Paul Ricco
Paul Ricco - 4 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews i use reactor pc large that feel perfect
Craig Steven
Craig Steven - 4 years ago
Thanks mate
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
The Julian fin in the Performance Glass is quit a bit stiffer and it feels more solid in my turns. What I mean by solid is there is little to no flex from the fin in my turns so I am getting all of my speed from the wave, board, and my technique. The fin holds the line I want to draw with no waiver in the fin and it gives me more confidence in my turns. I feel like I can push as hard as I want and the fins will not feel like they are going to slide out. The Julian Fins feel a lot like the MF fins but just a bit stiffer which I like when the waves get steep or powerful. Cheers

50. comment for JS Surfboards "Monsta Box HYFI" Review by Noel Salas Ep. 29

fishskulls76
fishskulls76 - 4 years ago
I've been stoked with the pu monsta box, such a good board!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
I think it would go good in PU too!!!
Chris Maclachlan
Chris Maclachlan - 4 years ago
Do you think you will review the Monsta 6?
Daniel Hidalgo
Daniel Hidalgo - 4 years ago
i have watched several videos of yours and you always mention your instagram. you should put the link to your instagram in the video description. its easier for people to click on it instead of trying to remember what you said later.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Daniel Hidalgo Agreed... I will try to implement that in the next one thanks.
Jonathan Parkinson
Jonathan Parkinson - 4 years ago
Great review! Board looking extra spicy, fast, and loose, looking better than any CI you reviewed! :) Nothing better than something made proudly Australian!! Cheers, bru!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Jonathan Parkinson Cheers!!! This board does go good. Glad you liked the review.
Spasalonsupplier Sekarshopkuta
Spasalonsupplier Sekarshopkuta - 4 years ago
Dear My Teacher,
Great as Always
Super Responsible Daily driver Sounds like Nissan Maxima today for me Good Day mate Teacher
101unz
101unz - 4 years ago
what would you like better the monsta box in hifi or the sampler in flex bar tech? and maybe some feedback on each as to why or why not. love your vids
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
101unz That's a tough one... I love them both. I would choose the Monsta Box in HYFI over the Sampler Flexbar in 3-4 surf because it has more rocker. I can push harder on my bottom turns and better traction in the pocket. I like the Sampler Flexbar in the 1-3 waves. Fast down the line because it has less rocker and still has good performance qualities.

I think the real comparison is between the Monsta Box HYFI and the Fever Flexbar. Both good performance boards. The HYFI construction is roughly $100.00 less.
Luke
Luke - 4 years ago
is the fever still your favourite board noel?.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
luke Armstrong This Monsta Box is right up there with the Fever for me. For me to decide I would need to have the Monsts Box in PU and see what I like better. Both boards are epic....
ncsam 000000
ncsam 000000 - 4 years ago
really like your reviews very detailed oriented. I've been a js fan for about 8 yrs now and this board will be my next one in the quiver for sure. thanks for all the info made my choice a lot easier keep up the great work
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Sam Wells This Monsta Box is so good. I am bummed the review is over... but this board is staying in my quiver and is one of my favorites for 2017. Cheers!!!
surfvocals
surfvocals - 4 years ago
Great Review Noel and Great new Website, can i ask what kind of Watch you are wearing? Cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Cheers.... glad you liked the review and new website. I am wearing the Nixon Lodown.
JEFF TheWayOfThePineapple
JEFF TheWayOfThePineapple - 4 years ago
You made that board look really good and fun.. looks like competition for the CI sampler that you love lol
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Jeff Holmes Agreed those boards you mentioned sound fun too. This Monsta Box is so smooth and fast. Really fun board.
JEFF TheWayOfThePineapple
JEFF TheWayOfThePineapple - 4 years ago
Looks like good competition for the Pyzel electralite stubby bastard too, my fav board.
Since summers approaching and I'm moving back to Long Island from Hawaii I been looking more into the short grovelers, def the superbrand superflex fling and the new carbon wrap round nose fish redux look amazing
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Cheers. This Monsta Box goes so good. I agree it will rival the Sampler for sure. Very fast down the line and responsive too.
bushkey
bushkey - 4 years ago
another great review, and one on my favorite daily drivers. I ride the 6'0" with the new JS fins. Im glad you dug the board. Board looked fast and free under your feet. It still surprises me you are able to ride such small boards with your weight and height. Such a pro! One question, I know that there is carbon fiber strips down the middle of the board, but I always thought the bottom diamond weave was a layer of Innegra woven into the cloth, Innegra is a polypropylene material? THanks Noel!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
I wish I had the Monsta Box on a couple of the bigger days we shot video on. I love PU/Poly boards.
bushkey
bushkey - 4 years ago
lastly, I also ride/have this board in PU. I just love the overall shape. perfect board for everyday shredding So Cal.
bushkey
bushkey - 4 years ago
my same view point. at some point, all epoxy boards start doing the "ping-pong effect" and becomes hard to bury the rail with bigger faster waves; especially with some bumps on the surface. THanks again Noel. Until the next review!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
bushkey Epic stuff thanks for posting this. I would never ride it in bigger stuff either. I am the same as you. So Cal 1-5 for me then it gets a little hard for me to set the rail on my turns. Cheers and thanks again for your post here.
bushkey
bushkey - 4 years ago
I was in the crowd when Jason (JS) did a presentation at my local surf shop with the HYFI boards last year, and I know its not Carbon fiber, but a poly plastic material. I wonder if the Olefin and Innegra are the same. I know CHilli uses innegra in strips to strengthen the bottom of there boards, but in a different way then JS. JS uses it woven in the whole bottom cloth layer. The Combination of the Carbon and poly weave is the magical HYFI formula that took 2 years to get it right with Parko and the crew. I Am a big JS fan. I just got back from Tavi, and surfed Cloudbreak on a Monsta 6. I would never ride the MB HYFI out at cloudbreak, but its perfect for my local SoCal spots 2-6 foot. flatter boards are great here. Need narrower more curvy boards for Cloudbreak. cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Stoked you like the review and the Monsta Box goes so good. I like my boards really fast and responsive and that's why I ride the volume as low as I can go.I think you could be right on the material because JS does not mention too much about what they use and how they use it. I was going off of what I could see. They do mention on the JS website that they use Olefin  to strengthen the board along with Carbon fiber. I could not find out what material did what on the board I was just trying to describe what I could see and feel.
Vaughan Heilman
Vaughan Heilman - 4 years ago
cool board and great review (par usual)!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Vaughan Heilman Cheers!!! Great board.
Geoff Koop
Geoff Koop - 4 years ago
That board looks sick.  Great review as always!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 4 years ago
Geoff Koop Cheers Geoff!!! Board goes good.

Similar videos
for JS Surfboards "Monsta Box HYFI" Review by Noel Salas Ep. 29

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,754 views 5 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,690 views 4 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,019 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,377 views 10 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,348 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,310 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Related videos
to JS Surfboards "Monsta Box HYFI" Review by Noel Salas Ep. 29

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,690 views 4 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,019 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,348 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,310 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,615,102 views 8 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

Reviews

Lego 7287 Police Boat Build Review

681 likes 1,412,265 views 9 years ago

Lego Police Boat (lego 7287) - Build Review 동영상을 재미있게 보았다면 동영상 구독버튼을...

About JS Surfboards "Monsta Box HYFI" Review by Noel Salas Ep. 29

The "JS Surfboards "Monsta Box HYFI" Review by Noel Salas Ep. 29" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!