Kelly Slater Designs "Omni" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 68

Click to buy: SURF STATION - https://www.surfstationstore.com/products/firewire-x-slater-designs-omni-surfboard No obligation, but if you want to support the Site and keep the reviews coming you can donate here. https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow In this episode I get two Slater Designs “Omni” surfboards sent down for review. One board is a stock 5’4” with FCSII fin plugs and the other is a stock 5’3” with Futures. Both boards feel good under foot and I couldn’t really feel the difference in paddling between the two even though the 5’4” has 1.1 liters more foam. However I did notice a difference in transition from turn to turn and the 5’3” had a bit more snap to it. When I talk over the waves on these two boards I can really see the difference. I also spend some time comparing the attributes on the Omni to the Cymatic because they look so similar. After gathering some knowledge and surfing both models in similar wave conditions my conclusion is they surf completely different. The Omni surfs more like a HPSB with a little more entry rocker and excels in steeper more hollow waves. I found the Omni to be a little more demanding (harder to surf) compared to the Cymatic. The Omni wants to be surfed off the tail compared to the Cymatic and favors a back footed surfer due to its board design. The Omni has a round tail so it holds speed through turns very well and likes to carve. On the down side I felt it struggled to go vertical in the pocket due to the natural characteristics of a round tail wanting to do rounder turns by design. I found the Cymatic to be a bit more user friendly (easier to surf) and faster compared to the Omni because its double Bat Tail design and less entry rocker. The Double Bat tail has a Flyer (Wing) on the tail so it has a great pivot point that allows the water to break free from the rail enabling it to turn board quickly and get it vertical in the pocket freely. I also believe the Cymatic favors a back footed surfer but offers a bigger sweet spot on the tail making it easier to surf. You move your foot around on the tail of the Cymatic and still get precise surfing compared to the Omni. The Cymatic is faster because it has less entry rocker and more surface area in the tail making it more versatile for smaller flatter waves compared to the Omni. All in all the Omni is a fun board and it excels in 3-6’+ hollow waves and I recommend it as a HPSB for intermediate to pro level surfers. Board DIMS: 5’4” x 18 7/8 x 2 5/16 Liters 26 5’3” x 18 5/8 x 2 ¼ Liters 24.9 My Height: 5’9” Weight: 160 lbs or 72.57 kg

Kelly Slater Designs "Omni" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 68 sentiment_very_dissatisfied 2

Reviews 3 years ago 22,337 views

Click to buy: SURF STATION - https://www.surfstationstore.com/products/firewire-x-slater-designs-omni-surfboard No obligation, but if you want to support the Site and keep the reviews coming you can donate here. https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow In this episode I get two Slater Designs “Omni” surfboards sent down for review. One board is a stock 5’4” with FCSII fin plugs and the other is a stock 5’3” with Futures. Both boards feel good under foot and I couldn’t really feel the difference in paddling between the two even though the 5’4” has 1.1 liters more foam. However I did notice a difference in transition from turn to turn and the 5’3” had a bit more snap to it. When I talk over the waves on these two boards I can really see the difference. I also spend some time comparing the attributes on the Omni to the Cymatic because they look so similar. After gathering some knowledge and surfing both models in similar wave conditions my conclusion is they surf completely different. The Omni surfs more like a HPSB with a little more entry rocker and excels in steeper more hollow waves. I found the Omni to be a little more demanding (harder to surf) compared to the Cymatic. The Omni wants to be surfed off the tail compared to the Cymatic and favors a back footed surfer due to its board design. The Omni has a round tail so it holds speed through turns very well and likes to carve. On the down side I felt it struggled to go vertical in the pocket due to the natural characteristics of a round tail wanting to do rounder turns by design. I found the Cymatic to be a bit more user friendly (easier to surf) and faster compared to the Omni because its double Bat Tail design and less entry rocker. The Double Bat tail has a Flyer (Wing) on the tail so it has a great pivot point that allows the water to break free from the rail enabling it to turn board quickly and get it vertical in the pocket freely. I also believe the Cymatic favors a back footed surfer but offers a bigger sweet spot on the tail making it easier to surf. You move your foot around on the tail of the Cymatic and still get precise surfing compared to the Omni. The Cymatic is faster because it has less entry rocker and more surface area in the tail making it more versatile for smaller flatter waves compared to the Omni. All in all the Omni is a fun board and it excels in 3-6’+ hollow waves and I recommend it as a HPSB for intermediate to pro level surfers. Board DIMS: 5’4” x 18 7/8 x 2 5/16 Liters 26 5’3” x 18 5/8 x 2 ¼ Liters 24.9 My Height: 5’9” Weight: 160 lbs or 72.57 kg

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Kelly Slater Designs "Omni" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 68

Matt Hall
Matt Hall - 3 years ago
I think I oversized my 5'6 omni. I'm 5'9 148lbs. Board feels rock solid stable but hard to turn. Maybe I need to surf it more before I say for certain that it's too big. See how this season goes...
Matt Hall
Matt Hall - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews ya my "Indo" board for good quality waves is 26L. I was having trouble getting into some waves in Japan and I'm getting a bit older so I thought I'd go up in litres. I do have a 28L board that I had shaped back home and I can whip it around just fine so I thought.. right! I'll try this 29L board to help me get into the wave but then I realized it just goes so bloody fast it's hard to get it on rail. I'll try surfing really back footed for the season and sell it at the end of typhoon season in Japan. Cheers man you're a legend!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Matt Hall Your liter range should be roughly 24-26
Jody Blackwell
Jody Blackwell - 3 years ago
Noel the bottom line is that a lot of us out here can not afford buying two boards at once to experiment with volume rates. and fins oh my very over the top in cost.
Jody Blackwell
Jody Blackwell - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews i do enjoy your videos and have learned a lot and no im not a novice i have been surfing 59 years i just do not have very much knowledge in short boards of today so thank you for the information and for helping me in that area of surfing .
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Jody Blackwell I agree... that’s why I started our show. I’m here to help
Clement Dang
Clement Dang - 3 years ago
Hi Noel, great reviews. Cheers
Any chance you do soon a spitfire helium review soon?
Clement Dang
Clement Dang - 3 years ago
Ok one day maybe! Thanks for replying and all the good reviews
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Clement Dang Looks like a fun board. No one else requesting that board. Lots of request for the EVo..
El Bison
El Bison - 3 years ago
Hey brother, love the videos...moving back to north shore, how do to you feel this board would hold up is steeper hallow waves like vland, log cabins, rockys etc?

I’m 5’9 185-90lbs
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
El Bison Stay the liters as your HPSB
El Bison
El Bison - 3 years ago
Do you recommend going up from my normal 31L I ride here in South OC?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Jay Merrifield It will go good in those waves.
Matthew Rhodes
Matthew Rhodes - 3 years ago
I know this isn’t really a beginner board but could it work for someone who’s surfed a year, surfs everyday and is serious about getting better?

I’m 6’2 tall and 176lbs, I tried a friends Omni in 5’8 and was able to catch waves.. in fact I liked it more than I thought and it paddled well and still got into some smallish waves, but I think a 5’10 or 5’11 is probably best for my size??.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Matthew Rhodes If you had fun on your friends then grab one. I agree with you getting a 5’11 so it’s easier to stand up on.
David Pham
David Pham - 3 years ago
Hey Noel, Got a 5'8 Skx at 25.8 liters, and 5'3 Cymatic at 25.4. I hover around 160 lbs. If you could only own one, would it be the 5'4 or 5'3 Omni. From the review, the 5'3 looks livelier under your feet, just worried that it will bog in flatter sections of a wave. Thanks.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
David Pham I would go 5’3” for me and yes it will OG w bit by board design with the belly rocker. If you want good glucose in flat sections consider a board without continuous rocker.
Rodney Odgaard
Rodney Odgaard - 3 years ago
Awesome review dude, I have a 6.0 Gamma, bought the 6.2 Gamma and its too buoyant :-P I am 6.3 and 220lbs. Just bought the Omni because I don't like sliding at 12Oclock, The Omni grips and rips and it's a 5.6!!! I had a SciFi too that I loved before it got guillotined by a wave, it was too buoyant as well at 33 liters. I used to ride Channel Islands PU 33 liters and feel best on These EPS boards 29-30 liters.
I want a Cymatic now to replace my SciFi, love the rounded nosed, light swing weight of the Omni and can't wait to get me a Cymatic for less punchy waves.


Keep ripping brother, once a grommet, always a grommet :-D
Miguel Marquina
Miguel Marquina - 3 years ago
Love the comparison, you should do that more often in your reviews
Hugh McKendrick
Hugh McKendrick - 3 years ago
Technical design points broken down well, that I could even understand. Excellent review.

10. comment for Kelly Slater Designs "Omni" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 68

bob burchell
bob burchell - 3 years ago
Noel, I saw that you reviewd the Seaside and the Cymatic. Which would you recommend for small Del Mar beach break 1'-5' ? I'm 5'11 180lbs. and usually ride about 32ltrs. Thanks!
bob burchell
bob burchell - 3 years ago
Thanks Noel!@Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
bob burchell Seaside... it’s so fast and fun in 1-6’ surf.
L Dupree
L Dupree - 3 years ago
Are these clips from Lowers?
L Dupree
L Dupree - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews :(
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
L Dupree Sorry we don’t talk about locations....
Leigh Wilson
Leigh Wilson - 3 years ago
Another great review. Sci-Fi vs Cymatic would be a great comparison. I am 66 and use a 5' 10" Sci-Fi 30.7 litres and looking at a Cymatic 5'8" 32.9 litres. A bit extra float without going bigger (not getting any younger). I am interested in the performance differences. I still love my 2nd Sci-Fi (wore the first one out) Thanks Noel for the best reviews on the net.
Bryce Mo
Bryce Mo - 3 years ago
Excellent breakdown Noah. I spent a lot of time on this board over a one year period and you nailed all the points I would say, and more. Especially, your points about length. I think if I could have dropped down a few inches I would have liked this board a lot more. It was solid in any wave that came along, but I definitely needed to drop another 2" in order to still be able to whip it around; which is crazy because that meant I'd be riding a 5'11". At 6'5" 200# that sounds absolutely ridiculous as a bigger/more hollow wave board.

Always stoked on on what you do for us surfers through your reviews. It is an INVALUABLE resource and fun nerding out on board/fin design! Respect brother!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Bryce Mo Thanks for the kind words!!! Cheers
John Sahakian
John Sahakian - 3 years ago
Really helpful Noel! Thanks!
Taylor Duncan
Taylor Duncan - 3 years ago
Thank you for doing a side by side review with the cymatic, that has helped me tremendously. Best reviews in the game!
Tim Johnson
Tim Johnson - 3 years ago
Thanks the review Noel. I have a sci fi that i love and was looking at the Omni to be a step up type board for point breaks or reefs or beaches when the daily driver starts to feel a little too small. Seems like the drawn out nature of Omni would be good for that
Any thoughts?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Tim Johnson Sounds about right... Omni will be a great little step up.
Robin Van Rossum
Robin Van Rossum - 3 years ago
Hi Noel, thanks for great review again! Since you're into Tomo's lately... any chance of reviewing the Evo as well?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Robin Van Rossum Maybe next year. A lot of request for the EVO but that’s up to Tomo and Firewire.
RemainForever Healthy
RemainForever Healthy - 3 years ago
So the Omni is not as user friendly with small waves?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
RemainForever Healthy Correct... it can surf small waves but it does have a bit too much rocker in the belly.
RemainForever Healthy
RemainForever Healthy - 3 years ago
Great camera footage. You really good.

20. comment for Kelly Slater Designs "Omni" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 68

RemainForever Healthy
RemainForever Healthy - 3 years ago
sounds like a cool short board. I love surfing. Mine is called a Love Child. It is 7ft and can make it a quad, tri, or single.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
RemainForever Healthy Sounds fun!!!
Gabriel Miranda
Gabriel Miranda - 3 years ago
Great Review Noel!
sega686
sega686 - 3 years ago
hey noel- great videos! i'm debating this omni vs cymatic for north shore oahu smaller days, head high to overhead. i am 6' 155lbs. also trying to decide on size. any thoughts? also considering pyzel ghost but wouldn't mind trying something a bit more out of the ordinary
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
sega686 Can’t Go wring with the Ghost for the NS HI. I think the Omni will hold better and be very maneuverable in the barrel there. I had more fun on the Cymatic but I am not surfing hollow reef break. Slater shreds that Cymatic at Haleiwa though.
Amit Rattenbach
Amit Rattenbach - 3 years ago
i did exactly what you said:
i poured my favourite drink, relaxed and watched the review and had a blast...
super informative as always but still fun review.
thanks Noel!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Amit Rattenbach Epic
Amit Rattenbach
Amit Rattenbach - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews i have a few favourites...
but that was my nightcap: baileys on the rocks.....hmmm.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Amit Rattenbach Epuc!!! What’s your favorite drink???
Justin Compton
Justin Compton - 3 years ago
Hi Noel, thanks for your reviews, super informative and insightful . Quick question - I find the omni to be much more forgiving on rail than the SKX in everyday surf. I find the SKX sometimes catches rail and bogs a bit. Is that because the omni has a fuller rail and the SKX rail is lower? Thanks again, Justin
Justin Compton
Justin Compton - 3 years ago
Thanks Noel, much appreciated!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Justin Compton In my opinion both boards are suited for back footed surfers. That means if your not all the way back over that 3rd fin you will catch a rail here n there. The SKX is longer and a bit more demanding on feet position and turning off the 3rd center fin. I had similar problems with the SKX for vertical pocket surfing and tight raps in the pocket. The Omni does it all a bit quicker and will be less likely to catch a rail because it’s shorter.
Eric Peniata
Eric Peniata - 3 years ago
Where can I get a surfboard floor stand like that I’ve been looking for them everywhere with no luck
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Eric Peniata Boardraxx.com
josephtube24
josephtube24 - 3 years ago
Awesome write it in the description, helps to made a decision between the OMNI and Cymatic board. Thumbs up!
eric knowlzy
eric knowlzy - 3 years ago
Noel, great reviews! how tall are you and how much do you weigh? just trying to get a feel for surfers dims compared to surfboard dims. I'm 5'11, 170lbs. i have a 5'7 cymatic and love it as a thruster with K3 honeycomb carbon fins. I'm currently playing with quad setups now.
Paul Hogan
Paul Hogan - 3 years ago
great review, thanks for such a professional job. And i love my Omni even at 66 years young.
P R
P R - 3 years ago
Another awesome review. Please review the Evo as the Tomo groveler right? I owned the Evo and found it to generate a lot of chatter whenever there was any wind or texture on the face. Not sure if you have noticed the same with EPS constructions. Other people tell me PU absorbs chatter better, but who knows.
Surfer Dad
Surfer Dad - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews IMHO the impact of 'chatter' with EPS / Epoxy style boards is due to the weigh of them ... get a PU/PE in a comp lite blank and glassing and you have the same impact. Most surfers don't ride, or have never ridden, a comp lite PU/PE board so only get the feeling from there 'standard' density PU blanks and PE glassing schedule and then find the 'chatter' feeling on the EPS/Epoxy boards. The 'modern' EPS/Epoxy boards like the Firewire LFT construction are the 'standard' by which most surfers get to compare to their 'standard' PE/PE board.

I'll also add that the 'twang' or 'zip' that you feel in the Firewire LFT style EPS / Epoxy is the same as you'll feel in 'comp lite' PU/PE ... but, the strength and longevity of the EPS/Epoxy will most likely outlast the 'comp lite' PE/PE. When a pro gets a good board, they 'put it on ice' and only surf it in comps - they can't risk surfing it all the time as the construction of a 'comp lite' PU blank, and a comp lite PE glassing schedule just won't last ... it's also why more 'standard' PU/PE boards are not 'comp lite' ... they avergae surfer can't afford the replacement process, or cost.

The EPS / Epoxy style boards seems be providing a compromise, but, yes, the lighter weigh means they need good clean surf conditions.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
P R PU does absorb the vibrations better... I think the more I ride EPS the more I like it. I struggle with EPS board a bit when it’s choppy but I don’t surf those kinds of conditions much. I also think a lot of the new EPS constructions are getting better at reducing the chatter.

30. comment for Kelly Slater Designs "Omni" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 68

Bodhi O'Connell
Bodhi O'Connell - 3 years ago
have you considered doing a review for the Pyzel Radius?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Bodhi O'Connell Ihave talked to the folks at Pyzel and for right now they have new models coming out for me to review. Hopefully in the future we can get to more of the Pyzel models.
Rob Wallace
Rob Wallace - 3 years ago
Hey Noel great reviews would really be interested in Scifi v Cymatic
garretwatson1701
garretwatson1701 - 3 years ago
Great review. I was stoked on the Omni, but you pushed me towards the cymatic. Great points about the round tail. Question, does the cymatic have a tight sweet spot for your front foot? I'm stuck between two sizes and I'm afraid if I go too short I'll be forward of the sweet spot. Thanks in advance!
garretwatson1701
garretwatson1701 - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews I'm between a 6'0" and 6"2. I'm 6'4" and 245lbs. I'm just starting to up my volumes now after a year of packing on the lbs. I'm coming from a range of boards around 37 liters that felt good when I was 220lbs and surfed a few days a week. I had the 6'0" cymatic under my arm today at a shop and it felt small, but I've been riding my 5'11" baked potato so much that im not sure if it was just my mind playing tricks. Tomo can hide the volume! Thanks!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
garretwatson1701 the Cymatic seems to have a bigger sweet spot. What two sizes are you thinking of? What liters feels good under your feet on your favorite Daily Driver?
wef 0909
wef 0909 - 3 years ago
Hi Noel,

Great review! For hh waves & up with bit of push. What board would you rather use? Omni or Gamma?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
wef 0909 If it’s hollow then Omni... if it’s just got some power then Cymatic.
Tracey Baker
Tracey Baker - 3 years ago
from what i hear off the pros is quads get more speed from the top of a wave turning down and have more speed going straight ahead and thrusters get more speed of the bottom of a wave turning up the wave .So it is what you like best,also quads are more easy to tube ride on ,great review mate .
Surfer Dad
Surfer Dad - 3 years ago
IMHO, quads are best surfed and though of as little go carts ... they need and love to stay 'on edge' rather than stop start style surfing. Just like a go cart if you lose speed and flow, it takes a few seconds for it to build up speed again. But, keep it flowing and on edge, on rail and speed out of turns is insane. You need to let a quad 'run' a bit and then surf it with the speed.
Matt Denyer
Matt Denyer - 3 years ago
thanks for the great review. can you explain how this board felt compared to the SKX? thanks.
Matt Denyer
Matt Denyer - 3 years ago
cheers man. thanks for the info!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Matt Denyer The SKX felt too long for me.... it was hard to get the SKX vertices in the pocket on 2-4’ waves. Both boards are legitimate HPSB and need a wave to go good but if I had to choose one of Tomo’s boards based on what I have ridden so far I would go Cymatic.
Ambient Cotton
Ambient Cotton - 3 years ago
Another great review!
El Pasota
El Pasota - 3 years ago
The turn at 5:03 doooopppeeeee
Ben Post
Ben Post - 3 years ago
Yeah I had this for kiting. It comes alive with speed but hard work without. Definitely a better wave board.
Waxfoot
Waxfoot - 3 years ago
I think you should have tried a smaller fin/set. I’m usually on large fins, but feel that the omni prefers a smaller size.
Waxfoot
Waxfoot - 3 years ago
Daniel Campbell hey Dan. I’m short(ish) at 177cm (think it’s 5.10) and stocky at about the same weight (maybe a keg lighter). I use a medium set of Shapers fins in them, with a slightly more upright shape to them.
Daniel Campbell
Daniel Campbell - 3 years ago
@Waxfoot, I just picked up a used Omni, and noticed how much natural hold it has, and am thinking about trying some smaller fins. Do you have a preferred set? I'm a bigger guy 6'1"/185 lb (84 kg). Usually I surf large fins, but I was thinking a medium set may be more in order, and could allow for more pivot without having to work so hard.
Waxfoot
Waxfoot - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews probably a personal thing, but as a rule of thumb to start with, I use larger fins on boards with wider tails, and smaller fins flr narrower tails. The Omni’s tail is , for me, on the “pinnier” side of round tails. The reason for this loose rule, is how much control i need to exert on the tail. The wider ones need more control as they will tend to slide, and the round tails the opposite.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Waxfoot I tried a smaller fin size on the Cymatic but nothing special. Maybe your right... so many things to try and learn and every board is different. Thanks for commenting
Peace Soup
Peace Soup - 3 years ago
Noel you wold make a great teacher.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Peace Soup Cheers
Randall Vincent
Randall Vincent - 3 years ago
a good surfer can rip on any board. A wide nose digs in critical situations. 12 inches one foot back is optimal. For a board under 7 feet put the widest point six inches ahead of center. This will draw out the turn in a small board. For bottom, flat bottom only, v bottom spins out, concave is better in slower waves. For rocker, the bigger the board, the more rocker you need until you hit nine feet then the game changes again. In my youth we tried them all. Todays generation is merely repeating what we did fifty years ago.
Dean Payne
Dean Payne - 3 years ago
Best board reviewer on the planet. Brilliant Noel
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Dean Payne Thanks bro!!!
Simon Paterson
Simon Paterson - 3 years ago
Great review as expected Noel, thanks. How about the evo - is it on your radar in helium?
Cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Simon Paterson A lot of surfers asking for the EVO and SciFi next.
Jon Salvador
Jon Salvador - 3 years ago
Another epic one
mounproject
mounproject - 3 years ago
Here in les Landes the omni is definitly my actual daily driver it's natural down the line capability make it a must , particularly in the south of Capbreton where the wave are generally fast peeling punchy beach breaks even if it's 2 or 3 feet, it makes those kind of waves, near closing out, friendly. Noel as usual you're review is a blast, make me a bit jealous of your surfing, technic analytics and hardware getting.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
mounproject Yeww stoked you like this review!!! The waves in your hood sound sick. Thanks for posting.
Rob Arnold Bik
Rob Arnold Bik - 3 years ago
Hi Noel,

As always I really liked the review, and I love to watch you surf! Seeing you ride this blunt nose carvy board makes me wonder what you think about the Meyerhoffer Slip in, and how you'd be surfing it.
Looking forward to your next review :)
martinwajda
martinwajda - 3 years ago
Thanks for another great review, very informative.
Troy Robinson
Troy Robinson - 3 years ago
Be good if you could get the omini in different tail options to suit your needs.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Troy Robinson That would be epic...
Jon 82
Jon 82 - 3 years ago
What’s your favourite groveller for 1-3ft Surf?
Rob Cook
Rob Cook - 3 years ago
Puddlejumper OG or carbon wrap quad
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Jon 82 CI Rocket Wide or Pyzel Gremlin
Esteban Eordogh
Esteban Eordogh - 3 years ago
Great review! Love how you compare both models. Could you review the Evo next?
Esteban Eordogh
Esteban Eordogh - 3 years ago
Thank you!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Esteban Eordogh Stoked you like this review. Not sure what’s n XTR on Tomo’s Designs.... surfers are asking for the Sci Fi and Evo. Hang tight.

50. comment for Kelly Slater Designs "Omni" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 68

DWson808
DWson808 - 3 years ago
another awesome review..could you review the evo please?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Doug Clark Thanks for your comments and sharing your experiences with us.
james williams
james williams - 3 years ago
Great review, this totally backed up what I found with the omni . I mostly surf beachbreaks in the thigh to overhead size and the omni just wasn't versatile enough for me. Round tails in small surf just feel a bit dul in my opinion...
joe Dirt
joe Dirt - 3 years ago
Thanks Noel , The round nose high performance boards like the Omni just still look out of place for me. How hard and at what performance loss would it hurt to just make the nose rounded to a point. Reinvent The wheel?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Tomo has a couple models that have a pointed nose for surfers that can't get past the round nose boards. The Sci Fi and SKX have the pointed nose with the modern planning hull design. His boards are really fast and highly functional from my perspective. I am having fun surfing them and learning more about surfboards. Thanks for commenting....
GeniusUnleashed
GeniusUnleashed - 3 years ago
Maybe look into moving the "surf" intro to after you say your "grab a drink" line. That dissolve doesn't really work.
GeniusUnleashed
GeniusUnleashed - 3 years ago
haha, yes I can. But the goal is to never have the pause button get hit because then people move on to something else. if I've seen the theme song a few times, I can jsut run and grab something and let it run in the background and then get back as it's finishing up. Old school TV psychology still works for some reason even though we have DVR and pause buttons.

Hit me up if you want to implement any of those ideas and I could talk you through them or show you examples, they're all pretty easy to do.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
GeniusUnleashed I used to title each segment of the reviews like you mentioned but some people said I was loosing them in those titles.

I like all your ideas... maybe we will try to implement some of them. Thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
GeniusUnleashed Thanks for your suggestions... I really appreciate them. Cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
GeniusUnleashed By the way you can pause the review anytime and go grab a drink...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
GeniusUnleashed Sound like good ideas... not exactly sure how to implement them but it all sounds reasonable.
GeniusUnleashed
GeniusUnleashed - 3 years ago
P.S. Just the simple act of changing to a darker, more contrasty backdrop made a huge difference in the watchability of your videos. Literally nothing else changed, but it made it seem more professional and interesting to watch.
GeniusUnleashed
GeniusUnleashed - 3 years ago
Your videos are great. But from a story telling standpoint, you tell people to go get their favorite drink but then you dissolve directly into the show and don't give them time to go get a drink. Having a kickass theme song/video is always great for generating more of a following and can give people a second to actually go get the drink.

Since your vids are so long (not a bad thing) it might be good to break it up a bit to make them easier to navigate. Some people may only be watching for your fin recommendations, having links below with where each segment lands would be really helpful.

So thinking of it like a sitcom: Cold open/teaser (what you're already doing with the surf shots on the board and then intro of you introducing the board). Cut to your theme song with the very best clips of you on all the different boards you've tested (think Taylor Steele openers of his videos). Titles of the board your testing out with the dims written down and your physical stats for people who may not speak english but want to watch you surf in the review, and breaks with title cards when you jump to new sections like fins or if you switch to a different volume model.

The show is already great, but these things would actually make it feel faster and more fluid. It's always good to break up how you're presenting info to a viewer; visual, aural, visual, aural, etc. Just suggestions, if I'm overstepping and you think these ideas are garbage, I won't be insulted.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
GeniusUnleashed Really....
Ken Kohncke
Ken Kohncke - 3 years ago
Another great review Noel, really like the comparisons between models in particular and sizes.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Ken Kohncke Stoked... maybe we will do a little more of this. Cheers
Mike H
Mike H - 3 years ago
Awesome review! Time to hop on an Evo....
Eddie Dingle
Eddie Dingle - 3 years ago
I agree! I just ordered my evo and I can’t wait to try it!!
pierre badenhorst
pierre badenhorst - 3 years ago
yes pls!!! evo
Chasingwaves
Chasingwaves - 3 years ago
Question what do you like using for Board Wax ??
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Chasingwaves When it’s cold and I don’t have to use booties I like FU Wax. The rest of the time I like Sticky Bumps.
syler219
syler219 - 3 years ago
Really good job. Keep at it!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Vaughan Heilman Yewww! Cheers
bodhi tree
bodhi tree - 3 years ago
Also bummed your not the Stab in the dark surfer this year, but, there's still more SITD's to come.
Ryan Brett
Ryan Brett - 3 years ago
love these reviews....very helpful in board choice. one thing i wish is that we got more footage of non-lowers breaks. 90% of other CA surfers who aren't near south OC are typically surfing more close out beach breaks, etc.
Tosh Jaoudi
Tosh Jaoudi - 3 years ago
Ryan Brett that’s true. As a person who usually surfs from tabletops/seaside to ponto, it would be cool to see Noel surf waves like seaside reef or swamis.
gilbertrockstv
gilbertrockstv - 3 years ago
Awesome! Yeah, South Jetty is super fun! I'm about 4 miles from Ponto and it gets fun there too. Hope you get some good ones this week. And, don't stab yourself in the eye like I did first wave. lol.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
gilbertrockstv Pier or South Jetty. I like Ponto too
gilbertrockstv
gilbertrockstv - 3 years ago
Come on Noel, nothing is better than dropping straight down the face and going straight onto the beach and tearing your fins off. lmao. I will see you at Oside this winter for sure. Where do you like to go...Harbor..Pier? Great review my man!
Ryan Brett
Ryan Brett - 3 years ago
Tosh Jaoudi agreed. From a consumer perspective just thought it would help to see a variety of conditions. Example one day at lowers compared to a day or two a seaside reef or el Porto etc. either way super polished great reviews
Tosh Jaoudi
Tosh Jaoudi - 3 years ago
I actually think lowers is a great wave for board tests. The waves are all very similar and hollow, so you can get a great comparison between different boards/fin setups.
Ryan Brett
Ryan Brett - 3 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews If I surfed as well as you and had access to Lowers on a regular basis I wouldn’t surf beach breaks either. Keep shredding man looking forward to more videos
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Ryan Brett I understand... however me surfing closeout beach breaks won’t allow us to learn much about a boards characteristics. Plus I have no desire to surf close out beach breaks. Sorry..., I will probably surf some Oside Beach Break this winter as Lowers shuts down for the winter months.
Youdig
Youdig - 3 years ago
Is the hydronaut is in your review radar ? im quite curious about this step up. good job as always thumb up.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Youdig Not sure the Hydronaut is going to make it for a review. It needs a pretty heavy wave. Sorry
Blade Runner
Blade Runner - 3 years ago
Great review, the way the board's shape is under deep analysis is really awesome. Great Show Noel, great job. you are the best.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Blade Runner Cheers!!! Stoked you like this review.
Dru Kiesel
Dru Kiesel - 3 years ago
Thanks again, Noel! As an owner of both boards, I felt that you were spot on in your analysis.
And I really liked that you rode two different sized boards. Excellent job!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
Dru Kiesel Yewwww! Stoked you like the review. Cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
swooshcdl Stoked this review helped you!!

When I referenced the 5’4” is was about paddling and how it felt under my feet. When we looked at the footage together I said the 5’4” looks big under my feet and I could not get it to have that snap compared to the 5’3”.

What things feel like don’t always translate when you see it on video. Both boards felt good under foot but the 5’4” looked big to me on video and the 5’3” looked Spicy.

I highly recommend the Cymatic for SO Cal waves.... more versatile, & user friendly. Sounds like the 5’7” is the right one... like you mentioned.
Dru Kiesel
Dru Kiesel - 3 years ago
swooshcdl Hey man. Maybe I can help, also.
I am 40 and 175lbs. I have a 5’7 in both shapes. They feel good for me when I travel and have good waves to ride. But I live on the Texas Gulf Coast and will probably get a 5’8 to help with the weak surf, here.
I don’t think you could go wrong with either size. Unless you’re a really good surfer I would recommend the 5’8, since you’re probably sporting a wetsuit every session.
But living in California, you probably have the opportunity to find a demo day or rent one from those awesome shops that you guys have!
Hope that helps.
Equalized
Equalized - 3 years ago
Dude,, You should be a stand-in for Kelly Slater.. You look and surf just like him.
RemainForever Healthy
RemainForever Healthy - 3 years ago
Yeah, He good
jose rivera
jose rivera - 3 years ago
Great review as always Noel!! Will you review the Sci-Fi?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
jose rivera I will try to get that next from Slater Designs. It’s really up to them. Enough of our community has asked for it so I want to do it for us all.
יכין ינקלביץ
יכין ינקלביץ - 3 years ago
Great review today, !!! Do u think u could even go shorter? Seeing the footage it looks like u can.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
יכין ינקלביץ Not sure what’s next on Tomo’s Designs... I have been getting a lot of requests for the Sci Fi.
יכין ינקלביץ
יכין ינקלביץ - 3 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews so many do the Evo next with shorter board and share it with us. I think it has bigger volume.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 3 years ago
יכין ינקלביץ I think the 5’3” is the shortest I would go because of Volume.

Similar videos
for Kelly Slater Designs "Omni" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 68

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,884,114 views 6 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,664,111 views 5 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,511 views 6 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,747 views 11 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,776 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,676 views 4 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Related videos
to Kelly Slater Designs "Omni" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 68

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,664,111 views 5 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,295,511 views 6 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,776 views 7 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,676 views 4 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

What's inside a Tesla Surfboard?

32,933 likes 2,768,363 views 3 years ago

Tesla made 200 limited edition surfboards, We try to Surf it then CUT IT OPEN! This video was sponsored by LastPass....

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,615,433 views 9 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

About Kelly Slater Designs "Omni" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 68

The "Kelly Slater Designs "Omni" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 68" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!