North Pacific 45 - New Boat Review

The all-new North Pacific 45 is the successor to the very popular North Pacific 43. A bevy of changes (many based on previous owner's suggestions) have made this new model a consummate coastal cruiser. And with North Pacific Yacht's direct sales business model, the new 45 is very competitively priced. For more information visit www.northpacificyachts.com or call 877-564-9989. For Waggoner's Pacific Northwest Boating review (complete with engine rpm/speed/gph data): http://digital.turn-page.com/i/564569-september-2015/86 And for more great boating videos including cruising guides, boat reviews, pNWb TESTED products and more visit www.pacificnwboater.com

North Pacific 45 - New Boat Review sentiment_very_dissatisfied 48

Reviews 5 years ago 280,261 views

The all-new North Pacific 45 is the successor to the very popular North Pacific 43. A bevy of changes (many based on previous owner's suggestions) have made this new model a consummate coastal cruiser. And with North Pacific Yacht's direct sales business model, the new 45 is very competitively priced. For more information visit www.northpacificyachts.com or call 877-564-9989. For Waggoner's Pacific Northwest Boating review (complete with engine rpm/speed/gph data): http://digital.turn-page.com/i/564569-september-2015/86 And for more great boating videos including cruising guides, boat reviews, pNWb TESTED products and more visit www.pacificnwboater.com

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for North Pacific 45 - New Boat Review

noelbot
noelbot - 1 year ago
right where he talks about all the little details; https://youtu.be/cyLm6B5nQhE?t=399 - LEDs to the right of first step.
Screwdriversteve1
Screwdriversteve1 - 1 year ago
Somebody tapped a 1/2" flushing connection in to the plastic lid of the sea stranger! see it at 4:16 good way to sink your boat!
Doug Shirley
Doug Shirley - 1 year ago
No exterior teak to maintain. Huge plus right there. As the owner of an Albin I love a single diesel though a little more HP would be a good option. Loads of access room with the single. Fuel tankage? Freshwater tankage?, blackwater tankage? This is what is important in a cruising boat, not speed. Amusing to see to see how many comments are from people who know nothing about boats or have at best only owned a trailerboat. Trawlers like this are not built for marina hopping day trips. They are designed to be self supporting for days at a time & have a range of hundreds of miles.
Earl Lewis
Earl Lewis - 1 year ago
About how much does a boat like that cost
pacificNWboater
pacificNWboater - 1 year ago
Get a hold of Trevor at www.northpacificyachts.com for pricing information.
joe woodchuck
joe woodchuck - 1 year ago
I like the large proportion of sheltered interior space to be out of the weather. Are flying bridges really all that useful especially considering the extra costs?
pacificNWboater
pacificNWboater - 1 year ago
Even in the "rainy" PNW, those that love flying bridges use them all the time, no matter the weather. They typically do provide the most commanding view from a vessel and are easily worth the cost to those that want them.
SALTY DAWG
SALTY DAWG - 2 years ago
One thing I did not like all the chrome, polishig all the time. least with wood, maybe once a year varnishing or replacement.
caligula minus
caligula minus - 2 years ago
The price? Of course you have to take soundings of the customer's pockets first, then accordingly pull as much money as possible from his pockets.
Capt Steve
Capt Steve - 2 years ago
We'll see you on the water??? Really? Anything else I can give you? Want me to write the review for you too?
Arthur 1305
Arthur 1305 - 2 years ago
Best walkthrough video I've ever watch on Yachts. Cheers mate!!!

10. comment for North Pacific 45 - New Boat Review

Gage
Gage - 2 years ago
230 hp ? Seems a bit under powered. ....by about 100 hp.
DC
DC - 1 year ago
I think the first 45's came with 255 hp. Mine came with a 355 and a software tweak will bring it up to 400 but that voids the warrantee. When I have to get out of the way of a ferry or cargo ship the 355hp cummins moves the boat at over 11 knots and it gets there pretty quickly. I believe that all of the new NP45's come with the QSB6.7, 355hp Turbo Charged Cummins as standard. I believe that you can order other engines, even twins. I've heard Trevor tell people that they will do whatever you want.
SeikiBrian
SeikiBrian - 2 years ago
You're very welcome. If you'd like to delve more deeply into this topic, Robert Beebe's book 'Voyaging Under Power' has a chapter devoted to "Technicalities of the Seagoing Motorboat," and it has many of the formulas, speed:power:range curves, etc. that come into play for design decisions. It's a fascinating book that includes narratives of how Captain Beebe's plans for building Passagemaker came to be, anecdotes from his voyages, etc. It also has new sections written by James Leishman and illustrations by Jeff Leishman. (I'm not sure if it's still in print; my Third Edition is copyrighted 1994.)
Gage
Gage - 2 years ago
Thanks very much for the info.
SeikiBrian
SeikiBrian - 2 years ago
The hull speed for a boat with a waterline length of 43 to 45 feet is only 8.7 to 8.9 knots, and the boat could be easily driven at that speed with less than 120 horsepower. Add 130 HP to cover acceleration to hull speed, powering into head seas, etc. and the standard 250 HP Cummins seems pretty good. More power would just waste fuel. You could run at lower power to match the fuel burn of the standard engine, but running diesel engines at low power for extended periods is hard on them.
DR CHARLES BRONDER
DR CHARLES BRONDER - 2 years ago
what is the list price
manbeastx69
pacificNWboater
pacificNWboater - 2 years ago
Get a hold of Trevor, the owner of North Pacific Yachts. You'll find his contact info on the website: http://northpacificyachts.com/
Leon Perry
Leon Perry - 2 years ago
I like but I need to win the lottery. Is it a sea going boat?
Leon Allan Davis
Leon Allan Davis - 2 years ago
Hmmm. shoddy workmanship at 6:39. The stair treads and risers are messed up. The LED bead lighting strips are short or coming loose. Bad juju. Look no further.
DC
DC - 2 years ago
Lol, good catch! They fixed mine during commissioning and now they are perfect. I'm sure Trevor, (the owner of NPY) was very embarrassed by it and has had a few words with the factory. You're going to find issues like that on any new boat. Not that it's OK but it does happen. The thing that you need to be concerned with is the service after the fact. Trevor has been great. I've owned other new boats and have had a much different experience. You can't go wrong with North Pacific. I've been cruising the PNW for the last couple of months without any issues and I love the boat. The fit and finish is better than some of the more expensive brands. I did some side by side comparisons at the Seattle and Bremerton boat shows and was pleasantly surprised.
peggyt1243
peggyt1243 - 2 years ago
Just one opinion but I think the boat looks old fashioned both inside and out.
peggyt1243
peggyt1243 - 2 years ago
Well SeikiBrian it seems we have come full circle. Perhaps we can agree that your taste and mine are opposite and just leave it at that.
SeikiBrian
SeikiBrian - 2 years ago
Which brings us back to MY original point: One man's "old fashioned" is another man's "classic" and "functional." (And yes, the use of teak in humid environments has a functional element, so your comment that "orangey brown wood has nothing to do with reliability or functionality" is incorrect.)
peggyt1243
peggyt1243 - 2 years ago
... which brings us back to my original point. This boat looks old fashioned although you call it "traditional". .
SeikiBrian
SeikiBrian - 2 years ago
peggyt1234 "Wood can also be chocolate brown, dove grey, and other colors"

Yes, but certain woods are traditionally used in boatbuilding because of their characteristics: teak and holly for soles, caulked-teak decks (which this one doesn't have), teak furniture... Hmmm; teak seems to be a theme in boatbuilding. Oak, pine, ebony? Not so much.
peggyt1243
peggyt1243 - 2 years ago
Wood can also be chocolate brown, dove grey, and other colors.
SeikiBrian
SeikiBrian - 2 years ago
peggy1234 "orangey brown wood has nothing to do with reliability or functionality."

Well, that would be more a part of the "classic" side of the equation, but it does also have something to do with functionality: wood is easy to repair, materials are readily available, and almost anyplace you go in the world there are carpenters and woodworkers. Fiberglass layers and composite technicians? Not so much.
peggyt1243
peggyt1243 - 2 years ago
I am not disagreeing with you but orangey brown wood has nothing to do with reliability or functionality.
SeikiBrian
SeikiBrian - 2 years ago
One man's "old fashioned" is another man's "classic" and "functional." The sea hasn't changed, and what worked 50 years ago still works today. Many buyers of "modern" boats have found that they're only suited for looking at while berthed at the local marina.
DC
DC - 2 years ago
I think that's the idea.
helen elliott
helen elliott - 2 years ago
nice
brahma ardiansyah
brahma ardiansyah - 2 years ago
Seep ....
brahma ardiansyah
brahma ardiansyah - 2 years ago
Wes ta...
Andy Sjostrom
Andy Sjostrom - 2 years ago
I really enjoyed watching the tour of this boat.however it did leave me with one important question at least important to me. Why hasn't the yacht building industry moved to a jet drive propulsion over the older slower prop driven systems? the US navy has been using the jet drive in patrol boats the size of most yachts built today. why haven't the civilian boat builder followed suit?
SeikiBrian
SeikiBrian - 2 years ago
Andy Sjostrom "Why hasn't the yacht building industry moved to a jet drive propulsion over the older slower prop driven systems?"

Because most yachts are intended for long range cruising, and propellers running at lower RPM are more fuel efficient than jet drives, giving longer range for the same amount of fuel.
SeikiBrian
SeikiBrian - 2 years ago
Dale Elder, it's not that governments don't care about cost, it's that they use (or try to use) the best tool for the job. On some patrol boats that means jet drives for higher speeds and shallow draft, at the cost of lower efficiency.
ed plow
ed plow - 2 years ago
IF YOU DID YOUR HOMEWORK YOU WOULD KNOW THAT JET D RIVE BOATS ARE DEPENDENT ON HIGH SPEED ENGINES NOT A 2500 RPM DIESEL WILL NOT WORK . OK FOR A JET SKI WITH A 5000 RPM ENGINE .AND THE JET IS 33% LESS EFFIEIENT. THUS SUCKS FUEL
DC
DC - 2 years ago
They have on some go fast boats. I don't think it makes much sense for a displacement hull due to the inherent speed limitation.
wontee2
wontee2 - 2 years ago
I don't think that the US navy has to worry much about cost or fuel consumption.
Dale Elder
Dale Elder - 2 years ago
As a power engineer jet drives are way less efficient over propellers. a displacement hull and a diesel engine with a prop is the the most effeicient way to get around. Governments may use jet cause money means nothing to a government, just tax people more they dont care.
James McCarthyNH
James McCarthyNH - 2 years ago
jet drives are very pricey and more maintenance
pacificNWboater
pacificNWboater - 2 years ago
Andy Sjostrom Good question! I don't know the answer, though. Have you asked any boat builders?
Fly-Away
Fly-Away - 3 years ago
The yacht is "cute". It's design has "character". Bottom line? Beauuuuutiful! ;<)
Would liked to have seen the range, top speed, and cruising speeds.
DC
DC - 2 years ago
400 gallons of fuel gets you about 1100 miles at 7 knots; 680 miles at 8 knots, both with a 10% reserve. Cruising speed is 7-9 knots; top speed is about 11 knots. With a change in the software 12 knots but that invalidates the Cummins warrantee. The engine can be bumped up to 400 hp which gets 13 knots. You can also order two engines which gets you about 16 knots, if my memory serves me correctly. It all just costs more money. I came from a 30 knot Carver C34 and enjoy setting a course at 7.5 knots while I relax on deck. I don't miss the fast boat not even one little bit. By the way, I'm a customer not an employee of North Pacific; although I do try to help them out because I like their products and the company. I've owned my own company for 30 years and I always appreciate a well run company with quality products and/or service. Cheers! :-)

20. comment for North Pacific 45 - New Boat Review

jauchiu
jauchiu - 3 years ago
Any tackle box or rod holders ?
DC
DC - 2 years ago
no
DC
DC - 3 years ago
Does the NP49 have a soft chine? I'm surprised that you stabilized the boat.
SeikiBrian
SeikiBrian - 2 years ago
DC "I'm surprised that you stabilized the boat."

Why are you surprised? As Robert Bebe proved with Passagemaker, stabilization is essential for safe, comfortable voyaging under power. Sailboats are stabilized by the wind against the sails, but seagoing power boats need some sort of additional stabilization over and above hull design: a hull that's optimized for efficient movement through the water isn't the best for reducing roll, and one that resists roll in mild sea states is going to be too stiff when things get rough. Some form of stabilizer -- whether active fins, an internal gyro, or outriggers and flopper-stoppers -- gives the best of both worlds.
ed plow
ed plow - 2 years ago
how many times are the jerks going to ask
Stephen Van GORDER
Stephen Van GORDER - 3 years ago
Very nice and well thought out.
I am nothing without my kush
I am nothing without my kush - 3 years ago
What is the MPG on this boat?
DC
DC - 2 years ago
I get about 3 gph at 8 knots, 2 gph at 7knots. These are average values. If I did the math right that is about 3 and 4 mpg respectively. If you check me don't forget to convert knots to miles. About 1.15 miles/knot
I am nothing without my kush
I am nothing without my kush - 3 years ago
Very fast response thank you, good video.
pacificNWboater
pacificNWboater - 3 years ago
I don't know. Best to ask the folks at North Pacific Yachts. They'll have all the specifications. http://northpacificyachts.com/
quikgt
quikgt - 3 years ago
I'm new to trawlers, and would like to know why the reverse rake on the pilot house windows?
pacificNWboater
pacificNWboater - 2 years ago
While running at night there are no reflections from instrument lights. And some say a wave over the bow would be less likely to “cave in” a window. Other than that it’s a traditional workboat aesthetic. We think it looks great on some boats, including this one.
major jevin
major jevin - 3 years ago
Its so the spray runs off the windows
Russell Coight
Russell Coight - 3 years ago
Looks and makes the bridge feel a bit roomier
Rien van den Bergh
Rien van den Bergh - 3 years ago
If not already equipped with stabilizers a Magnus stabilizer by RS Marine would improve her sea worthiness even more. No stabilizing needed? It will fold away itself. Check out www.rotorswing.com or www.demo-yacht-arnolda.com for my personal blog. For an explanatory video go to www.youtube.com/watch?v=0dxNaS8p1rI&t=35s or www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ZChcHfdB6I
Rien van den Bergh
Rien van den Bergh - 3 years ago
pacificNWboater I am currently working in SaudiArabia. For more info or just to chat contact me on vandenbergh.rien@Gmail.com because I have limited internet
pacificNWboater
pacificNWboater - 3 years ago
Rein - Like many other boaters in North America we have not heard of RotorSwing before. I took a look at the links you provided and am very impressed. In fact I am quite interested as we live and workaboard a very round-bottomed Cheoy Lee 46 Long Range Cruiser. Hence we are prone to uncomfortable rolling in certain sea conditions! Thank you for sharing.
YADEZ
YADEZ - 3 years ago
Great video thanks for sharing :)
Looking For A New Boat? -. www.vikingmarinegroup.com
JoJo/Clem Kadilihopper
JoJo/Clem Kadilihopper - 3 years ago
Looks Like a Nordhavn
North Pacific Yachts Channel
North Pacific Yachts Channel - 3 years ago
Ed, what seam are you referring to? Please clarify. The hull is solid fiberglass and comes out of the mold as one piece.
Guillaume Gilbert
Guillaume Gilbert - 4 years ago
the best of best , what about the price in euro ? is there a sample or even a photo to put it in a frame ?
Mr. Sebnup
Mr. Sebnup - 4 years ago
Unlike some other promotion videos, this one is very well made. I truly enjoyed it.
Adriano Botto
Adriano Botto - 1 year ago
Mr. Sebnup g tcbhhb
Clifton Scott
Clifton Scott - 3 years ago
Boat test
Sandy Grungerson
Sandy Grungerson - 3 years ago
Gotta break a few eggs lol....VERY well done vid.
pacificNWboater
pacificNWboater - 3 years ago
Thank you! It would have been even better had we not lost the drone on take off... :-( (Gust of wind hit and it hit the railing and went straight down into the water)

30. comment for North Pacific 45 - New Boat Review

Kirk Bronson
Kirk Bronson - 4 years ago
What is the price?
mcanning51
mcanning51 - 2 years ago
I guess it could be had for 1.2 Million
skidoc2go
skidoc2go - 2 years ago
don't be so bitter
Sbr Morrow
Sbr Morrow - 2 years ago
Kirk Bronson 2 dollar
Sandy Grungerson
Sandy Grungerson - 3 years ago
$3-4 million - just for the fuel....its a lot cheaper to just make friends with wealthy (white american) ppl, they're absolutely desperate for ppl they can impress with their toys....
Sandy Grungerson
Sandy Grungerson - 3 years ago
@Mike - lol no it's not true at all. Most ppl purchasing custom recreational equipment are perfectly OK with the idea of negotiating an asking price.
M_Kenny. 40
M_Kenny. 40 - 3 years ago
$300,000-400,000
icu GTT
icu GTT - 3 years ago
David Gibbard hahaha very true
Wolf Pak
Wolf Pak - 3 years ago
Kirk Bronson --you ask you can't afford it
FFM0594
FFM0594 - 4 years ago
Too beamy!
Kirk Williams
Kirk Williams - 2 years ago
Can you say stable?
Kirk Williams
Kirk Williams - 2 years ago
Perfect beam for it's size and intended use....GEEEZ.....
DC
DC - 3 years ago
13.8" beam with an over 45' LOA. You think that is too beamy? A comparable length Selene or Nordhavn is 16'. Defever 15' beam. My Carver C34 is 13' just 8" shy. You must like skinny boats.
popeythesailorman1
popeythesailorman1 - 3 years ago
Absolutely the truth. Great dockaminium.
RICHARD DAMROW
RICHARD DAMROW - 4 years ago
Good presentation. Building on success, while easier than not, not often done well.

Similar videos
for North Pacific 45 - New Boat Review

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,357 views 4 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Snorkeling

Jay Alvarrez in South Pacific (Alexis Ren)

146,035 likes 14,089,717 views 5 years ago

Follow my Instgram @JayAlvarrez for more! + follow my everyday adventures on snapchat - "Jayalvarrez" if you want to...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,334 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,644 views 4 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,001 views 9 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,070,994 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Related videos
to North Pacific 45 - New Boat Review

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,334 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,644 views 4 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,070,994 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,478,943 views 2 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,614,856 views 7 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

Reviews

Lego 7287 Police Boat Build Review

681 likes 1,412,002 views 7 years ago

Lego Police Boat (lego 7287) - Build Review 동영상을 재미있게 보았다면 동영상 구독버튼을...

About North Pacific 45 - New Boat Review

The "North Pacific 45 - New Boat Review" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!