Rob Machado "Moonbeam" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.65

Click to buy: SURF STATION - https://www.surfstationstore.com/products/firewire-moonbeam-surfboard?variant=8631520395325 No obligation, but if you want to support the Site and keep the reviews coming you can donate here. https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow In this episode Firewire sends me two stock 5’4” Rob Machado “Moonbeams” in their LFT construction for review. I got one board with FCS II fin plugs and the other board has Futures. Both boards have a five fin options and I enjoyed surfing them both as Quads and Thrusters with medium fins. The Moonbeam has many different attributes that make it unique in design. The outline has curves in all the right places coupled with its wide point a little back from center making it quick to maneuver top to bottom in small waves. I also enjoyed surfing the Half Moon tail coupled with Rob’s signature “board eat board” bottom design inspired by George Greenough. After surfing this board for roughly 3 weeks in 1-6’ surf testing multiple fin sizes, and set ups I have come to the conclusion this board is fast, responsive, and very fun. The Moonbeam is user friendly and excels in 1-4’ surf but if you find yourself in waves over head this board offers exceptional speed and hold do to its over all board design. I highly recommend this board for intermediate to advanced+ surfers. For me to truly enjoy Rob’s “board eat board” design I did a little studying on George Greenough’s “Edge Board” from the late 1960’s. To see photos and learn more click on the link below. http://www.liquidsaltmag.com/greenough-edge-board/ My height: 5’9” My weight: 160lbs or 72.57kg

Rob Machado "Moonbeam" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.65 sentiment_very_dissatisfied 2

Reviews 2 years ago 30,629 views

Click to buy: SURF STATION - https://www.surfstationstore.com/products/firewire-moonbeam-surfboard?variant=8631520395325 No obligation, but if you want to support the Site and keep the reviews coming you can donate here. https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow In this episode Firewire sends me two stock 5’4” Rob Machado “Moonbeams” in their LFT construction for review. I got one board with FCS II fin plugs and the other board has Futures. Both boards have a five fin options and I enjoyed surfing them both as Quads and Thrusters with medium fins. The Moonbeam has many different attributes that make it unique in design. The outline has curves in all the right places coupled with its wide point a little back from center making it quick to maneuver top to bottom in small waves. I also enjoyed surfing the Half Moon tail coupled with Rob’s signature “board eat board” bottom design inspired by George Greenough. After surfing this board for roughly 3 weeks in 1-6’ surf testing multiple fin sizes, and set ups I have come to the conclusion this board is fast, responsive, and very fun. The Moonbeam is user friendly and excels in 1-4’ surf but if you find yourself in waves over head this board offers exceptional speed and hold do to its over all board design. I highly recommend this board for intermediate to advanced+ surfers. For me to truly enjoy Rob’s “board eat board” design I did a little studying on George Greenough’s “Edge Board” from the late 1960’s. To see photos and learn more click on the link below. http://www.liquidsaltmag.com/greenough-edge-board/ My height: 5’9” My weight: 160lbs or 72.57kg

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Rob Machado "Moonbeam" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.65

Google User
Google User - 1 year ago
Gday Noel
Would the Rasta quads (futures medium) compliment the moonbeam
Cheers!
monkeypawism
monkeypawism - 2 years ago
This or Seaside?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
monkeypawism Seaside
Miguel Marquina
Miguel Marquina - 2 years ago
I want a bumper sticker that reads I love my moonbeam
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Miguel Marquina That would be classic!!!
Rodney Odgaard
Rodney Odgaard - 2 years ago
Saw this model in the shop. After your review i am torn between the Cymatic and Moonbeam for my smaller wave board :-I
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Rodney Odgaard The Cymatic needs a wave with a little push for it to go good. The Cymatic is more of a Daily Driver/HPSB
Joey Farrell
Joey Farrell - 2 years ago
Awesome review! What quad setup would you recommend for futures? JJF Alphas with different medium quad rears?
Joey Farrell
Joey Farrell - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thanks for the advice and such a quick response! Cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Joey Farrell If your using Medium Side fins then you should get Small Quad Rears.

Futures has new Quad Trailers coming out soon.
X -MAN X MAN
X -MAN X MAN - 2 years ago
Hi noal.what volume u recomend for advaced surfer.89kg?age45. .1.82h. I realy whant your opinion
X -MAN X MAN
X -MAN X MAN - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews glad you convise me.tnx.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
X -MAN X MAN then go down to 34... if you want to progress and get sharper turns then you need to drop a liter. If your an advanced surfer then you will work it out... less volume will help get that board going quicker down the line too.
X -MAN X MAN
X -MAN X MAN - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews 35
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
X -MAN X MAN What liters are you riding on your small wave boards?
X -MAN X MAN
X -MAN X MAN - 2 years ago
Medeterian sea
X -MAN X MAN
X -MAN X MAN - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews im on35liter.weak wavs..afraid to go to 33 liter.are you sure?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
X -MAN X MAN 32-33 liters
X -MAN X MAN
X -MAN X MAN - 2 years ago
Please
Miguel Marquina
Miguel Marquina - 2 years ago
Hey guys I tried this board with the AM2 aircore quad set up (fcs2). The set up was in a large and it had way too much hold. I’m not a fin expert but I did minor in physics in college and that knowledge could be applied to surfing. The new aircores are sick because the same theory of putting carbon on the board wether on the rails or down the middle, gives the board pop. If you put fins with carbon it will create less drag because of the weight, this means more drive down the line and the carbon makes the flex of the fins a lot quicker so just like ridding a board and popping back into its normal state quicker so do the fins so imagine extra pop in the fins to compliment the pop of the board. Mediums were way better on this board
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Miguel Marquina Good stuff.. thanks for posting.
Miguel Marquina
Miguel Marquina - 2 years ago
Hell of a break down
Nick Muzik
Nick Muzik - 2 years ago
Any chance of you doing a review of the MIDAS? Great reviews, thanks.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Nick Muzik I rode one but it was a little big for me... I needed a smaller one.
Nick Muzik
Nick Muzik - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews wow, really! Any idea if it’s as good as the moonbeam?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Nick Muzik The Folks at Firewire said they were not interested in us reviewing the Midas. Sorry

10. comment for Rob Machado "Moonbeam" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.65

Mike Dowell
Mike Dowell - 2 years ago
Noel,I've only surfed longboards but want to now try shortboards.I'm 6-3,185 lbs.What length and type of.board do you recommend? Thanks!
Mike Dowell
Mike Dowell - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews thanks!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Mike Dowell Maybe a first short board should be a hybrid type. Around 34-36 liters for starters. I would even try something used to keep it affordable to find the right feel for yourself. A few models to check out. CI Mini, Pod Mod, Pyzel Gremlin, Machado Seaside. These boards are fast and paddle very well and you don’t need much of a wave to get them going.
hazwaz
hazwaz - 2 years ago
Should i get this or the go fish waves were i live are small 1-3 most days and i dont like longboarding what do ya think. Or is their another board i should try
Paul Baker
Paul Baker - 2 years ago
Great indepth review as always. If you could pick just one machado board for waist to headhigh for a right hand point would you choose the Moonbeam, Midas or Go fish.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Paul Baker Seaside!!!
Matt Spak
Matt Spak - 2 years ago
Hey Noel I just bought a moonbeam and I'm curious what speed generating future fin you think would go well with the board and the channels. Or do you think the board with the John John alphas have enough speed to begin with? Cheers from New Jersey!
Matt Spak
Matt Spak - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thanks Noel you're the man keep up the good work, hope you get your voice back soon!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Matt Spak I think the Moonbeam will go good with the AM1 Blackstix. The JJF Alpha is epic too.
Ben Post
Ben Post - 2 years ago
that looked so good, especially smooth top turns throwing buckets. Might you review MACHADO SEASIDE?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Ben Post Yes, I am planning on it.
Miguel Marquina
Miguel Marquina - 2 years ago
Is it because of that bog that the board didn’t make the favs list?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Miguel Marquina Not at all. For me it took a little bit to connect with this board.... finding the right fins, fin size, and then it started to go really good. This model is so fun just did not make my favorites list. It was close though... two of my friends grabbed the two I did this review on and they swear by this model. Their favorites for sure. Cheere
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Robert Langdon We will try to get the Midas review on the review block soon.
Jimmy Danella
Jimmy Danella - 2 years ago
Amazing surfing! I watch all your reviews and this is some of the smoothest, fastest, most powerful surfing I have seen you do. You got the Machado Flow.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jimmy Danella Yewww! Cheers
D F
D F - 2 years ago
By far the best and most thorough reviews out there IMO, so helpful for me, rebuilding a whole new quiver after divorce, the ex destroyed ALL my boards. Anyway it looks like your throwing (way) more spray on this board than some others just an observation. This will be my next board for sure for small waves thanks again.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
D F Stoked you like this review and thanks for the kind words.
P R
P R - 2 years ago
Awesome detailed review. You should develop a scale for measuring rocker (for example, 2 inches front and 3 inches rear rocker), somewhat in the way that future fins give a ride number for their fins. You're the only one out there talking in a scientific way about boards. You can help take the mystery out of board design and bring more knowledge to us kooks! Keep dropping the science and thanks again for the great content.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
P R Sounds like a sick board
P R
P R - 2 years ago
Your reviews of unusual boards (bonzer, moonbeam etc.) are super instructive. Please get your hands on a Greedy Beaver from Firewire. Crazy wide longboard nose and pintail in the back (based on Takayama's Scorpion). Would be a trip to see you surf it. I just ordered one! can't wait to try it.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
P R Good idea and thanks for the kind words.

20. comment for Rob Machado "Moonbeam" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.65

Garrett Henricksen
Garrett Henricksen - 2 years ago
Selling my 5'5 Moonbeam it's in excellent condition: https://losangeles.craigslist.org/wst/spo/d/55-moonbeam/6705506695.html
Paul James
Paul James - 2 years ago
I love your show Noel. Seeing and testing all those boards, do you get more and more confused regarding what board you take out when you go surf just for you and not to test a board or does it help you really narrow your quiver ? All the best from France, where the quick pro will start very soon.
Paul
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Paul James Likewise!! Glad you like our show. Cheers
Paul James
Paul James - 2 years ago
Thank you for your work and sharing your knowledge the way you did it. I really enjoy the way you surf. wish you the best
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Paul James I don’t have a personal quiver anymore.... I am always testing boards and fins. I usually have a Groveler, HPSB, and a Retro Board in the line up for testing on a regular basis. So whatever the waves look like we are shooting for a review and trying to be productive.
Ben Post
Ben Post - 2 years ago
Smooth surfn! Rocket Wide vs Moonbeam; I take it the rw will turn a bit easier but which generates more speed without having to get your wiggle on?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Ben Post The MB can handle bigger surf in my opinion but the RW seems to grovel better. The RW has a tighter turning radius in smaller waves too.
Miguel Marquina
Miguel Marquina - 2 years ago
the song compliments the video, the board and the song flows nicely together
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Miguel Marquina I love Ron Artis’ music. Epic
Kahele Koki
Kahele Koki - 2 years ago
Would you please do a review on a asymmetrical board I think it would be interesting to see what you think because there's a lot of talk about these boards. ALOHA
Kahele Koki
Kahele Koki - 2 years ago
Rajadat! Keep your reviews coming I think it's the best on YouTube for sure MAHALO
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Kahele Koki The Asymmetrical I tried I could not get it to stop sliding out. I tried all kinds of different fins and I could not get the traction I needed to surf it well.
CW Rodriguez
CW Rodriguez - 2 years ago
Noel, did you size this similar to your normal shorty? I have the Go Fish in 35L, weigh 210lbs and it's the perfect volume but it's also a different shape than the Moonbeam. Should I stick with the 35L in the Moonbeam?
CW Rodriguez
CW Rodriguez - 2 years ago
for real?
Luís Pinheiro
Luís Pinheiro - 2 years ago
Thank you very much! that's what we need , try to understand what are the practial efects of the shape and fins we use on our boards and why, and you broke it down for us really good, good luck with your next reviews ;)
CW Rodriguez
CW Rodriguez - 2 years ago
Who's the one knuckledhead who thumbs downed this ish? Dummy...
Magnum Martinez
Magnum Martinez - 2 years ago
Great job hermano!!!
Marco Ramires
Marco Ramires - 2 years ago
Best review ever made. Amazing surfing!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Marco Ramires Wow.... cheers!

30. comment for Rob Machado "Moonbeam" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.65

Eric Disque
Eric Disque - 2 years ago
So the Moonbeam and the Midas are pretty similar in dimensions. Have you ridden both and why would someone get one vs the other?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Eric Disque I have not ridden the Midas yet but I hope to do a review on one soon. The Midas is more of a daily Driver and the Moonbeam is more of a Groveler from what I understand.
Offthe Lip
Offthe Lip - 2 years ago
Great review. Personally, owned a few Firewires. I really tried hard to like them. I just don't like the material. It's too corky, and feels slippery under my feet. A lot of people love them, so it's definitely me, and not the board.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Offthe Lip Thanks for posting your experience though. Stoked you liked the review. Cheers
ANDREW H
ANDREW H - 2 years ago
Excellent review. great fin breakdown and explanation.
Perhaps you can do a twin fin review. The MR (like Mason ho rides, and the Campbell Bros Alpha Omega (like Mick rode at rockies, and Rasta rode at backdoor). retro twins verse Steve lis twins. that would be a great review. thanks for all the hard work you put into these reviews. this has been a longtime overdue. You need more coverage via mags.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
ANDREW H Thanks for the kind words!!! I did order the MR Retro Twin in Carbon Wrap. Hopefully we’ll get it in soon. Cheers
Mario Viescas
Mario Viescas - 2 years ago
First off Noel your reviews are very good and technical which is really good to the advanced surfer , you give a interesting spin on the reviews thats not over the top for the beginning to intermediate surfers your surfing is really good you show how the boards are going to work in all types of conditions , and using different fin see-up's it takes a lot of guess work into buying boards .Im sold going to purchase some firewire boards thank you Noel
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Mario Viescas Yewww! Stoked you like our show. Let me know what boards you get and how they go for you. Cheers
Realistik Video
Realistik Video - 2 years ago
You rip. I like watching surf clips of guys like you, Rob, and Taylor more than the new school.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Realistik Video Cheers!!! I love watching Knox surf.
Louis Bernard
Louis Bernard - 2 years ago
for a minute I thought Rob shaved all his hair
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Louis Bernard Classic!!!
ev su
ev su - 2 years ago
Great review. I wanted to know of the performers you used in this video were the large or small ones
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
ev su I used the Large Performers but the Mediums would go better.
Deforest L. Cooper
Deforest L. Cooper - 2 years ago
I like how you explained the theory behind the board. I always wondered why Rob chose to shape it that way. Great review Noel!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Deforest L. Cooper Cheers
Meloosh Barrel
Meloosh Barrel - 2 years ago
Awesome video once again! Would you choose a gremlin, rocket wide, or moonbeam for small mushy surf?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Meloosh Barrel That’s a tough call... if the surf is 1-2” and super mushy then I would go Gremlin... it paddles best and it projects really good.

If there is a little push and a pocket to surf then Rocket Wide.

The Moonbeam would be my third choice and I would ride it as a Quad most of the time in 1-4’ surf.
P A
P A - 2 years ago
Nice review. I think if you raffle off your boards for $5. a ticket you would make bank$$ Just a suggestion because I would donate for a chance to get one of your boards.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
P A Thanks for the idea.... maybe we will try something like that in the future.
Grimmace
Grimmace - 2 years ago
Best review yet! I've owned the Moonbeam for two months and concur with everything you've said, (not that I'm pretending to be an expert). I run medium FCSII Firewire quad fins. I'm about 68kg/150lb and use a 6'4" because our wave is so flat...it's more of a longboard/SUP area. This board was a game changer for me. Unbelievable speed coupled with great turning performance. I can risk cutbacks now without risk of washing off on the smaller days. I thought the channel and tail might have just been marketing tools....but I'm a believer now. It's magic. Two pumps down the line, and Flash!....warp speed. Cheers.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Grimmace Stoked... thanks for posting your experience with the Moonbeam. This helps us all know how the Moonbeam goes in your wave conditions. Cheers
Rome
Rome - 2 years ago
Another great review Noel, you could surf a plank of wood and still be able to rip on it while also providing a comprehensive review on it :D
Love how you appreciate the feedback and stoke by replying to 90% of the comments.
Keep them coming!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Rome Stoked you liked this review. I’m stoked on our community and how engaged everyone is.
Geoff Smith
Geoff Smith - 2 years ago
I like the way this board works with how you surf. I really had written this board off and wasn't even going to think about getting one but I'm for sure interested now.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Geoff Smith Super fun board... now the Midas is in my radar big time.
Geoff Smith
Geoff Smith - 2 years ago
Also I live and surf in Hawaii so with a bit more power in the waves here I'm also interested in the Midas which seems to have that same "board eat board" bottom but shows that it works better in bigger waves. it would be awesome to see you ride both to see how you look on both and what you think they feel like in comparison to each other. Again as I was saying above, I really haven't thought about buying a board designed by Rob M. because I have never looked at him like a serious shaper for the masses. he surfs really amazingly well and has a style that is super fun to watch but I feel like his skill and retro style could make anything he designs look good. Ive watched, I think, all of your videos and I try to pay attention to how you look riding boards compared to the others. I even pull up two videos at once to try to feel them out sometimes. I really like how your style seemed to flow with the moonbeam. I was surprised about this board. I think it would be really great to see how you compare the small wave Rob board to the Rob board that is supposed to handle a bit more.

Great job in what you're doing here.
Garrett McKeen
Garrett McKeen - 2 years ago
Outstanding review. Your surfing clips are also really useful for average joe surfers looking to improve technique. Thanks Noel.
Patrick Cummings
Patrick Cummings - 2 years ago
Very similar to what Gary Mcneill has been shaping for Rasta for some time now. Venturi channel with concave on the side panels.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Patrick Cummings I have heard a few comments and it sounds like there are a few shapers out there have been messing with conclaves similar for a while now. Interesting and fun to learn. Cheers
Jason G
Jason G - 2 years ago
You make me want to keep buying boards with these great reviews Noel! Love how you went in depth with the bottom contour as well as experimenting with fins. The videos of you experimenting with different fins and how they perform are super helpful in visually understanding how the fins compliment a board. Hats off to another epic review buddy!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jason G Yewww!! Cheers... I am learning a bunch about boards and fins too.
Amit Rattenbach
Amit Rattenbach - 2 years ago
Another epic review from the creative house workshop of Noel Salas!
great job on the review, explaining about fins (some surfers don't understand how important that is) and some old school wisdom from George Greenough and Machado.
It seems that all boards by Machado have some magic to them, ha?
waiting for the next review!
excellent work man!
thank you
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Amit Rattenbach Stoked you liked this review and thanks for the kind words. Next up Slater Designs Cymatic!!!
Amit Rattenbach
Amit Rattenbach - 2 years ago
@Grimmace maybe try the Go-fish by Machado. I'm sure you will find some magic in it.
It is a twin fin for small days.
enjoy it.
Grimmace
Grimmace - 2 years ago
Honestly, this is truly the first "magical" board I've owned. (there's a stack collecting dust in the garage since this arrived)
monkeypawism
monkeypawism - 2 years ago
So...which fin set-up did you like best? Dang dude , you are going to make me buy another board. Between the Pyzel/DHD and now this.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
monkeypawism If the Go Fish is good at 25.5 liters then your good to go on the 5’4” Moonbeam at 25.8. Stoked
monkeypawism
monkeypawism - 2 years ago
I have a 5'1" go fish 25.5 and it's perfect. My shortboards are 22-24
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
monkeypawism It might be a little big for you. What is the volume on you small wave board right now?
monkeypawism
monkeypawism - 2 years ago
Also, if that 5'4" is the smallest in stock dims, I'm wondering if it's too big for me at 5'6" 130-135 lbs.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
monkeypawism They are all fun... I like the Quad set up the best.
Gabriel Acorda
Gabriel Acorda - 2 years ago
Hey guys, awesome review! question I am a beginner I rode the 6'8 and loved it. I Live in SF where the waves aren't as clean; whats your opinion of this board as you increase the length towards it's maximum size (6'10)? I am 6'0 195lbs
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Grimmace Epic... thanks for posting your experience with your Moonbeam!!!
Grimmace
Grimmace - 2 years ago
I'm 150lb and own a 6'4" Moonbeam. Our waves are thick, slow, small and crumbly and that board outperforms anything I've ever ridden in that size range. That said, It does shine best in cleaner conditions. I am considering the 6'10" to replace my 7.0 super fish for those longboard days.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Gabriel Acorda I think it will go good in Clean conditions but it might struggle in the chop. Sometimes EPS boards are a little hard to sink the rail in the heavy textured surf. I would try to demo one first and see how it goes in the chop.
Youdig
Youdig - 2 years ago
Noel, Evo he review for xmass ? :-P , i cant wait to see you surfing this board.
bodhi tree
bodhi tree - 2 years ago
This review is a must

50. comment for Rob Machado "Moonbeam" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.65

T D
T D - 2 years ago
Been watching last few videos. Trying to build a new quiver for San Diego waves. I was thinking of going with the pyzel gremlin and phantom. Then I saw your video with rocket wide and now this. Would like to start with a small wave board purchase first. I'm torn what would you recommend for me. I'm same height and weight as you intermediate surfer.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
T D That’s what I’m talking about. Get them all..., so fun.
T D
T D - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews I want them all!!! Thanks for the info keep the videos coming! Shoooooots!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
T D Great waves... I like the Rocket wide in the pocket... it also can do tight turns. The Gremlin is really fast and projects very well and paddles the best out of these three boards. The Gremlin is very user friendly. I would say the Moonbeam is somewhere in between the Rocket Wide and Gremlin. All three boards are epic. I would go to Your local shop and get a feel for all three and see what feels best.
T D
T D - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews usually Scripps la Jolla. I do ocean Beach and sunset cliffs a lot too though!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
T D So many good small wave boards right now... what spot in SD is your home break?
Truth Seeker
Truth Seeker - 2 years ago
First thing I’m thinking of: how would that bottom contour feel on a PU?
Truth Seeker
Truth Seeker - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews even in the eps it looked like it turned really well for having a wide tail. Cool design for sure.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Sean W. Hanley I would imagine good.....
Michael Pemberton
Michael Pemberton - 2 years ago
This is your best review yet noel. Super impressed. I love my moonbeam. I got one in futures and have it in medium alphas, quad set up too and love it. Not tried it as a thruster yet as I thought quad would be a better ride. Keep up the great reviews
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Michael Pemberton Stoked... thanks for posting how much you like yours and what fin size and set up your running. Cheers
bellpaleale
bellpaleale - 2 years ago
Loved the breakdown of the bottom contours!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
bellpaleale Yewww!! I was a little concerned with how long the review is but most surfers are stoked on it.
jasontalevi
jasontalevi - 2 years ago
Great job taking a complex bottom contour and relating it to the surfing you were doing. Awesome review! I love that you take time to include a very detailed fin breakdown, it has definitely opened my eyes to the importance of getting the right set up for the board and waves I typically ride. Thanks Noel.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
jasontalevi Stoked to hear our reviews helping you out. The right fins for a good board can make it magical.
wolf
wolf - 2 years ago
are you planning on doing one on the firewire cymatic.. i have a go fish already but after watching this... damn i want a moonbeam too.. hahaha... you are one of the few people talking about fins so in depth.. i have a few other boards that i just thought i didn't like until i started switching fin sizes, mix and matching and its a massive difference.. i've recently been doing for thruster large side fins then putting a medium back and its been a blast as well.. thanks as usual for the breakdowns its changed my surfing..
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
wolf So stoked to hear your messing with fin set ups and getting your boards dialed.

Yes, the Cymatic is next up!!!
daniel vb
daniel vb - 2 years ago
First time I see Noel surfing without a wetsuit.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
daniel vb I am a baby when it comes to cold water. Water has been warm lately... 75.
Richard Embery
Richard Embery - 2 years ago
Looked really good under your feet. Looked super smooth through turns.
A quick question on the new Kolohe paint job. Are they still stiffer then the old yellow ones or have they gone back to the original feel? Cheers mate great review.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Richard Embery I need to get a set of the Carver or HS Quad rears!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Richard Embery That is very strange... thanks for pointing all of this out. Super confusing but very important!
Richard Embery
Richard Embery - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews the fin data on the Australian site has the fins with exactly the same dimensions base, depth and area as the performer. Mine are exactly the same. Same 80/20 foil too. Most of the signature sets have the performer rears.
Interestingly though the upright Hayden Shapes five fin has the more raked back carver quad rear in FCS. I own them and it’s definitely the case. Very different to the HS in Futures which are very upright rears.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Richard Embery I just checked the Large AM Quad Rears to the Medium Performer Quad Rears like you suggested and they are really close. Not sure they are exact but it’s really close to the same size and template. With that being said I believe you that I was basically riding a Small Quad Rears with Medium side fins. This Moonbeam felt better with Medium fins compared to Large... basically a smaller fin works better with Rob’s “Board eat Board” design in my opinion. Thanks for helping me out....
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Richard Embery Interesting... I will have to check that out. Thanks for info...
Richard Embery
Richard Embery - 2 years ago
I don’t know if you realise that the Merrick quad rear in the medium set is actually just a small performer template quad rear. The lge Merricks have a medium performer template.
So you were actually riding a small quad rear with medium front fins on the FCS board.
Richard Embery
Richard Embery - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews Cheers mate
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Richard Embery They feel a like the older yellow ones but I need more time on them. I will continue to test them and make sure. Hit me up in a week or two. Cheers
Waxfoot
Waxfoot - 2 years ago
Surfing aside, we really need to acknowledge your skills as a presenter and reviewer. Incredible job Noel, thank you.

Ps: looks like the best board you’ve had so far, in the quad set it looks almost like the footage is sped up
Waxfoot
Waxfoot - 2 years ago
pierre badenhorst ja fok my, hy motor!
pierre badenhorst
pierre badenhorst - 2 years ago
flying on this board!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Waxfoot Cheers...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
bushkey Cheers... fins are everything to a good board.
Blade Runner
Blade Runner - 2 years ago
Great review, honest, and straight to the point, great job Noel, you are the best. i don't think the bottom of the board at 5'4", is working in hydrodynamics as you they said . the surface is too small to get an effect, too much lines under board. but the board looks good under Noel's feet, you make any board looks amazing. everyday surfers have to go over and search for the board they need. Best surf review !
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Blade Runner Cheers... thanks for your honest feedback too.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
jose rivera Stoked thanks for the epic comments. I hope you found some epic sleds along the way. Cheers
Charles Andureu
Charles Andureu - 2 years ago
Amazing job Noel!! This is more than just a review, you explain clearly all the concepts and dig into the details. Thanks for your hard work and keep doing what you do!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Charles Andureu Cheers bro... this one took some time and studying. Glad you appreciate the time we put into these reviews. Rob’s Board Designs are worth the time and effort and I love learning too.
Tomas Klimas
Tomas Klimas - 2 years ago
Been looking forward to this review. Totally exceeded expectations bro! Keep shredding!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Tomas Klimas Yewww!!! Cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Sean Silvestri My rage in PU is 25.5-26.8
Sean Silvestri
Sean Silvestri - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews Awesome thanks. What’s your range for PU?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Sean Silvestri Stoked you like our show!! I say EPS floats about 1/2 liter more compared to PU. My range in EPS is roughly 24.7- 26.3. If I add 0.5 liters to 24.7 then it will float like 25.2 or so.... I hope that helps.
Dustin Lingenfelter
Dustin Lingenfelter - 2 years ago
Oooo cymatic in the background??
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Dustin Lingenfelter Yup... the Cymatic review drops in roughly two weeks!!!
Maurice Cureton
Maurice Cureton - 2 years ago
Noel another fantastic review. It’s funny I’ve been waiting all summer for a moonbeam review from anyone. I ended up getting a Cymatic. Hopefully you a review for that in the pipeline. I’m still waiting on my board to come in. Very curious about fin set up with that board. Ps. Your gamma review helped me a ton with fin choices.
CW Rodriguez
CW Rodriguez - 2 years ago
I have noticed that I can't do as many maneuvers with it in typical mush. Probably starting bringing out on the the med/bigger clean days...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
CW Rodriguez I think it goes good in 3-6’ surf.... like a HPSB.
CW Rodriguez
CW Rodriguez - 2 years ago
I have the Cymatic too and love that shit. Though I'm still trying to figure out what conditions I can ride it properly in...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Maurice Cureton Yes I like the Alpha construction.... good flex and affordable.
Maurice Cureton
Maurice Cureton - 2 years ago
Thanks Noel for the reply. Do you like the Alpha series? I’ve mostly been riding Am2 or Black Sticks in futures. Looking to try something different!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Maurice Cureton So stoked you liked this review.

The Cymatic review is up next!!! Not sure on what day it will drop but it will be live within the next two weeks or so. Cheers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Pablo Fernández Thanks bro... this Moonbeam took some work but it’s a sick little board and fun studying surfboard design. Cheers!!!
Bon Summers
Bon Summers - 2 years ago
I could see it looking a little more solid with a little less width and little more length. But still, great surfing and some style points especially on the wrap-arounds.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Bon Summers Cheers!!!
Bon Summers
Bon Summers - 2 years ago
FCS fin boxes are ugly. Just make them foam-white,… like teeth. Ya'll got white teeth, right? Nothin' racist about that.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Bon Summers Classic....
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
christian reece Cheers
Charles Hawk
Charles Hawk - 2 years ago
Great review as always! You’re by far the best YouTube reviewer. Honest and fair. I’m 5’7 160 pound beginner/lower intermediate. Think it could be ridden as a 6’2 as a first shortboard?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Charles Hawk Epic... let me know how it goes for you.
Charles Hawk
Charles Hawk - 2 years ago
Grimmace thanks for the reply! This review and your comment was enough for me to go ahead and order a moonbeam, I’ve been on the fence for a couple months. Thanks again!
Grimmace
Grimmace - 2 years ago
Hey Charles. I'm 150lb and on a 6'4". I'm an older intermediate+ dude. Aside from duck diving the 40L, I'm leaving the beach with a massive smile every time out. It's my 7th short board, and by far the best one yet. I can't shut up about.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Charles Hawk Cheers... you will go down in volume yourself as you progress. Lots of practice like anything else.
Charles Hawk
Charles Hawk - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews will do. I’m 36 and started surfing late (32). I don’t know how you guys ride those short sizes and low volume. I need s minimum of 39. You’re surfing is sick!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Charles Hawk Yes, it should offer you good float, stability, and control. Let me know how it goes for you.
Miguel Marquina
Miguel Marquina - 2 years ago
I didn't like it, I loved it!!!!! Great job breaking down the mechanics of the board. I'm sure that alone was tough to do. I love that you put up the guy that inspired the whole board eat board technology on the screen that was great too. Do you have the jack freestone apple watch? LOL. One of the complaints that I got from friends on the midas was that the actual leash guard was digging into the knifey tail, disrupting the edge and creating a trip to the ding repair shop. I accidentally brought the board out on a bigger day at blacks were it was a few feet overhead and broken up so the sections and drops were super critical to make and to my surprise this board delivered into getting me into the pocket of some meaty beach breaks at blacks. So you recommend a smaller fin? That makes sense being that the board already has plenty of drive. I was hoping that you would introduce the 2 + 1 set up in the FCS2 fin boxes. I put in the MR's with the bright color blend on top and the board was fun in smaller surf, if you get a chance, you should check it out, if you still have the board. All in All, great review and great presentation although I did notice some bumps in the editing as the review rolled through. Cheers!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Miguel Marquina Cheers thanks for your feedback. This board review took some time and I edited out stuff that I said twice to shorten it down as much as possible.

I will run the 2+1 set up on the Midas when I get it. It should be a good review too. Cheers
Leon Leullier
Leon Leullier - 2 years ago
Nice review, very complete ! I have a question though, did you tryed it as a quad with a Futures setup ? I am interested to know which one you’d choose if you didn’t.
Thanks for all this !
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Leon Leullier You can run the Jack Freestone Medium with the AM1 Quad rears. You can also run the JJF Alpha medium side fins with the AM Quad Rears. Maybe try some other medium side fins that you already have and see how it goes before you run out and buy new fins.
Paul Barford
Paul Barford - 2 years ago
Excellent as always Noel
GGN
GGN - 2 years ago
Off course i Will never surf like u. But the brands must see Your show. I want every single surfboards you show us . Your message definitely reaches all world. You must be sponsored in order to reconized your effort. Great job man. congrats.
Ps: sorry about my poor english
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
GGN Great ideas and thank you for all the positive feedback. Stoked you found some epic boards too!!! Cheers
GGN
GGN - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews i've been watch your show for a while and I have became a big fan. I went california last year and bought the JS Nitro on hy fi and The SKX, just because your thougths. By the way, when the surf market will realized that you are a great (or the best) digital influencer? Some people receive a lot of money just to share some photos and influences all kind of markets. You have a hard work and deserve be payfull. Your main goal is the surfboards reviews. But you could do some sponsored reviews about clothes or gears. thank u so much again
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
GGN Thank you for the kind words and we are stoked you like our show!!!

What boards do you have in your quiver right now and what’s your favorite board?
Ryan The Rock
Ryan The Rock - 2 years ago
Hey Noel will you be reviewing the Midas?
Ryan The Rock
Ryan The Rock - 2 years ago
Thanks for the reply Noel
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Ryan The Rock I sure hope so. I have requested it a while ago and I think they are working on getting me a couple right now. Hang tight....
Julius Blicher
Julius Blicher - 2 years ago
Nice review

Similar videos
for Rob Machado "Moonbeam" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.65

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,546 views 4 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,483 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,807 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,150 views 10 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,170 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,087 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Related videos
to Rob Machado "Moonbeam" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.65

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,483 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,807 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,170 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,087 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

What's inside a Tesla Surfboard?

32,933 likes 2,767,526 views 2 years ago

Tesla made 200 limited edition surfboards, We try to Surf it then CUT IT OPEN! This video was sponsored by LastPass....

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,614,961 views 7 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

About Rob Machado "Moonbeam" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.65

The "Rob Machado "Moonbeam" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.65" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!