Rob Machado "Seaside" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.73

Click to buy on SURFSTATION: https://www.surfstationstore.com/products/firewire-x-machado-seaside-surfboard No obligation, but if you want to support the Site and keep the reviews coming you can donate here. https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow In this episode, Firewire sends down two of Machado’s latest performance fish called the “Seaside” for review. I test this new model thoroughly in 1-5’ surf with Machado’s new Quad set up designed exclusively for the Seaside. After a couple weeks of surfing these two stock 5’2” fish-shaped boards, I was shocked at the level of high performance they can do. I thought we were done shooting for this review as we captured great footage in epic surf as a Quad. Then, I thought, “How will this board go as a Twin Fin?” To my surprise, it went insane with Channel Islands new fin called AMK by Futures Fins. (Al Merrick Keel) I highly recommend the new Machado Quad set designed for this board but, if you cannot afford the board and fins right away, no worries…. I tested this board with a normal set of Quads, and it goes good that way too. The Seaside has a fish-type outline with a lot of foam under the chest for good paddling and low rocker for warp speed in 1-6’ surf. Don’t be fooled like I was by its outline…. this board looks like a cruiser, but the performance level is unmatched for a fish-type board from my perspective. If you’re looking for a good Groveler in 1-3’ surf or a fun daily driver in 3-6’ surf with a fresh performance vibe in a fish package, then look no further. The Seaside is very versatile in wave range and fin options, coupled with Firewire’s Helium Technology, is very lively under foot and next level durability. Enjoy the full review!!! Board DIMS: 5’2” x 20 x 2 5/16 Liters 26.5 My Height: 5’9” My Weight: 160lbs or 72.57kg

Rob Machado "Seaside" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.73 sentiment_very_dissatisfied 14

Reviews 2 years ago 72,919 views

Click to buy on SURFSTATION: https://www.surfstationstore.com/products/firewire-x-machado-seaside-surfboard No obligation, but if you want to support the Site and keep the reviews coming you can donate here. https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow In this episode, Firewire sends down two of Machado’s latest performance fish called the “Seaside” for review. I test this new model thoroughly in 1-5’ surf with Machado’s new Quad set up designed exclusively for the Seaside. After a couple weeks of surfing these two stock 5’2” fish-shaped boards, I was shocked at the level of high performance they can do. I thought we were done shooting for this review as we captured great footage in epic surf as a Quad. Then, I thought, “How will this board go as a Twin Fin?” To my surprise, it went insane with Channel Islands new fin called AMK by Futures Fins. (Al Merrick Keel) I highly recommend the new Machado Quad set designed for this board but, if you cannot afford the board and fins right away, no worries…. I tested this board with a normal set of Quads, and it goes good that way too. The Seaside has a fish-type outline with a lot of foam under the chest for good paddling and low rocker for warp speed in 1-6’ surf. Don’t be fooled like I was by its outline…. this board looks like a cruiser, but the performance level is unmatched for a fish-type board from my perspective. If you’re looking for a good Groveler in 1-3’ surf or a fun daily driver in 3-6’ surf with a fresh performance vibe in a fish package, then look no further. The Seaside is very versatile in wave range and fin options, coupled with Firewire’s Helium Technology, is very lively under foot and next level durability. Enjoy the full review!!! Board DIMS: 5’2” x 20 x 2 5/16 Liters 26.5 My Height: 5’9” My Weight: 160lbs or 72.57kg

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Rob Machado "Seaside" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.73

CW Rodriguez
CW Rodriguez - 1 year ago
I have the woolite 5'8". I'm 6'2" 215 lbs. I haven't been this pumped on a board for a looooong time
Mark Gomez
Mark Gomez - 1 year ago
I am 5'10" and 195lbs. Do you think the 5'6" 32.7 liters will be okay for me?
CW Rodriguez
CW Rodriguez - 1 year ago
I have the 5'8" and I'm 215/6'2". It feels just right. I'm very fit though and have been surfing for a long time. Just an FYI. Hope you score
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Mark Gomez That’s on the low side... if your a strong intermediate/ advanced it will go good. If not then go 5’7”
Ricardo Tavares
Ricardo Tavares - 1 year ago
Does anyone have an opinion on this board vs puddle fish ??
Seb Bodle
Seb Bodle - 1 year ago
do js black baron
surfing4truth
surfing4truth - 1 year ago
Hi Noel, I'm 5-11 and 150 lbs. My current go-to small wave board is a 5-6 twin fin fish with a little over 31 liters. My HPSB is a 6-0 with about 26 L. The fish I've been riding is a fun board, but I feel like it's a lot of board to crank around sometimes and I'm thinking I would like to be somewhere closer to 28 L with the volume on this board - meaning a 5-3 seaside. Just wondering if a 5-11 dude surfing a 5-3 makes sense. Seems short, but I could probably pull it off. Thoughts? Mahalo!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
surfing4truth 5’3” all day... your going to freak on the fun.
jeremy aldred
jeremy aldred - 1 year ago
song at the very start???
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
jeremy aldred Ask the guys at Surf Station... it part of their commercial
David Rodriguez
David Rodriguez - 1 year ago
Noel - First, I love your reviews. They are the most in depth and professional I have found, regardless of topic.

I am looking at the Seaside as my daily driver to progress my surfing. My current daily driver is a 5'8" x 2 5/8 x 21 1/4" Becker LC3 fun shape/egg that I ride Quad South of the Pier in Manhattan Beach year round. I also have a 6' Monsta Box hi fi 33 L that I have only been able to ride well in 4-5' Barbed Wires. I am 56 , 170LBs and 5'9" and surf 3-5 times a week. I consider myself an intermediate surfer looking to improve . I am thinking 5'8" or 5'9" Seaside as a daily driver and keep the JS as a step up.. wanted to get your take..? Your opinion is much appreciated!! Thank you and Keep on Ripping!
David Rodriguez
David Rodriguez - 1 year ago
@Surf n Show Reviews awesome ! Thank you!!!! I'll let you know how it goes!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
David Rodriguez 5’7” sounds good
Z D
Z D - 1 year ago
Hi Noel, Thank you for your review! Can I have your recommendation for the size of the Seaside? I am 5'10 160ish, and I consider myself as a beg/inter level surfer. I have a 5'5 Go fish, I can paddle into waves with it, but it's just too slippery for me, I think it beyond my skill. What do you say if I get a seaside, what size do you recommend? Thanks!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Z D Make it easy on yourself and 6’0 on the Seaside. Really short boards like the GO Fish and Seaside are really responsive and easy to turn. Go more foam until your intermediate level only. Most beginner/Intermediate surfers I suggest the biggest sizes for extra stability.
Alessandro Picco
Alessandro Picco - 1 year ago
Hi guys! Sorry for the 100th size suggestion comment but I'm ordering it online and wanna get it right!
Im 6'2 and 180 lbs, I'm riding a 5'8 hypto with 31lt I believe. I'm looking at the 5'7, what ya think?
Alessandro Picco
Alessandro Picco - 1 year ago
@Surf n Show Reviews cheers boyss!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Alessandro Picco 5’5” is the one.. the 5’7” will be too much float

10. comment for Rob Machado "Seaside" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.73

Matteo Biazotti
Matteo Biazotti - 1 year ago
Hey Noel! Fantastic review as ever, thinking about about committing to getting my first brand new board here, but struggling with the sizing.
I've been surfing 30ltr boards last couple of years now, I'm 5'10 and a strong 90kg. Looking for something to be my one board quiver and help catch more waves in Scotland where the surf can be shifty and kinda weak. Thinking 5'8 or 5'7.
Would the extra volume in the 5'8 feel a bit much on the bigger days?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Matteo Biazotti I recommend 34-35 liters for you. If the water is cold and you wear a ton of rubber then go 5’8”
mauritano
mauritano - 1 year ago
Great review, Noel, as usual. Ordered one last week after I watched it (it was the push I needed). Got the board yesterday and tested it today in 2-4 feet range with clean conditions. You were right on the money: it's one of the best small wave boards I've ridden and by far the most fun. Keep up the amazing reviews, you're changing the game for us average Joe's.
Eric S
Eric S - 1 year ago
Sick board, great in depth review. You're killing it man. I'm 5'7" and 165lbs, picking up a 5'3" for gulf coast pitchy beach break. You definately talked me into it, not that I needed haha.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
FreeDom Now Yewww!! Stoked you found some magic through our show. All those boards are next level fun!! Seaside is insanely fun...
Louie del Sol
Louie del Sol - 1 year ago
really great review, thanks! considering the seaside as my next pickup but wondering about the size. I'm 5'8 and weigh 130lbs. Intermediate surfer. My groveler that i typically ride is 5'8 / 29.4liter thruster..The 5'2" seaside seems a little short even tho its still full of volume...what would you recommend in my case?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Louie del Sol The 5’3” is right up your alley. Perfect liters compared to what you’ve been riding. I think the 5’2” could go good too.... maybe a bit too loose and skateboard like if your surfing isn’t solid.
Jake Stone
Jake Stone - 1 year ago
Awesome review! I'm torn between the seaside and the lost rnf retro fish. What are the major differences of these two boards?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Jake Stone Seaside has more down the line speed and more performance in the pocket.

The RNF Retro Fish has a more classic feel.
Erasmo Wong
Erasmo Wong - 1 year ago
I just tried this board as a twin fin with the machado keels in 4 ft waves. Such a fun board. Thanks for the review Noel.
Benbenmaui
Benbenmaui - 1 year ago
Bought one!!!
Beefaroni
Beefaroni - 1 year ago
noel - puddlefish or seaside for versatility in unpredictable summer surf?
Beefaroni
Beefaroni - 1 year ago
@Surf n Show Reviews thanks noel. that's kinda what i was thinking. great video and knowledge as always.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
James Ryan Seaside.. without a doubt
Roscoedolittle Smith
Roscoedolittle Smith - 1 year ago
I was sure this dude was Shelly Kater at the beginning of the video then,it was this dude that absolutely kills it. But,not Shelly Kater.

20. comment for Rob Machado "Seaside" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.73

Sergio Leon
Sergio Leon - 1 year ago
Hi Noel from Spain.
Im riding my seaside with MR fins.ok when its small but slides too much carving at the pocket.
Do the Machado quads holds better when i puts the brakes... saludos amigo great work.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
Sergio Leon Yes they hold great
Graham Allen
Graham Allen - 1 year ago
Just a quick question mate rocket wide or seaside in 1-4 beaches?
luisbgp
luisbgp - 2 years ago
Hi Noel. Congratulations for your reviews. I'm Thinking on buying the seaside, but I´m not sure in which size. I'm advanced-intermediate level, my height is 5,11 and my weight is 185, without the wetsuit. My everyday surfboard is a Hypto 5,10 with 33,73 liters. I already tried a 5,8 seaside, but my feeling is that I a had to surf it with my feet too much forward, making the turns harder. Which size do you recommend for me? I want the board for waves up to 6 feet. Thanks.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
luisbgp I would go with 31-32 liters max
Chris Findlay
Chris Findlay - 2 years ago
Noel, I surf at the east coast of Northland, New Zealand. We aren't privileged with point breaks but we do have the odd estuary bar break and beach breaks. The waves are generally in the 2-4' range and not often hollow. I am 62years young, 88-90kg of intermediate ability, advanced in my young years. I love the look of the Machado Seaside. I need decent volume, stability and the plan shape looks almost retro but very advanced in every other way. Do you think the 6'1" would be too small for me. I have surfed a short board of 6'6" with very similar volume. During the 70's my best surfing was done on a 6'4" twin fin made in NZ and then purchased a 6'2" MR twin fin which I loved.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Chris Findlay The 6’1” will be so much fun for you!!! A couple of my friends that are 60-70 years old got a couple and swear by them. They are catching lots of waves and having a good time.

I say get a 6’1” with confidence and go Shred. Excellent paddler in extremely fun in small waves... even in beachies.
rabid wookie
rabid wookie - 2 years ago
Man I love your reviews. Love the fact that you show videos of you surfing the board instead of just babbling about how they surf. Too bad I don't surf shortboards anymore. Can someone do this with midrange and longboards?
igor
igor - 2 years ago
hi Noel, thanks for the great review. I'm going to buy a seaside, need some help choosing the right board size 5'3'' or 5'4''. I'm 165cm 65kg (around 5'4'' tall and 143 lbs) and my only board is a sci-fi 5'8'' 27.7 L (with medium FCS II performance quad fins). I'm intermediate level and want to surf 1-3 ft waves. I live in AU/NZ so half of the year I'm wearing a 3/2mm wetsuit. Thoughts? Would same quad fins work with the seaside? thanks heaps
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
igor Your liter range should be 28-29 liters.
Beau Oliver Ewan
Beau Oliver Ewan - 2 years ago
Great review. I'm thinking of getting one of these for sure for town waves this summer (I live in Honolulu). My current high performance quasi-groveler is a HIC Eric Arakawa "Bandit." Great board, and I've been riding them for years, but I'm looking for something a bit more skatey---yet something that will still hold up in head high surf. My "Bandit" is 5'10, 31.6 liters. I'm 38 years old, 6'2, 187 pounds, and I can surf decent. That said, the older I get, the more paddle power I want. To that end, I was wondering what size you would recommend? I'm thinking 5'7 but I wanted your perspective. Thanks again for the great reviews and taking the time to answer questions.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Beau Oliver Ewan The 5’7” might be a bit much... it’s EPS so it will float more like 34 liters. I think the 5’6” could be epic... up to you. You will have fun on both.
trappinz
trappinz - 2 years ago
I m a begginer. Can i ride this board? I m 1,70 m and 85 kg. Ty
trappinz
trappinz - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Ty very much for answer.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
trappinz Yes... maybe get the 6’0 or 6’1 and make it easy for yourself
Dan French - Frenchenviro
Dan French - Frenchenviro - 2 years ago
Hi Noel. Great reviews. Just coming off a hypo 36l. I'm 6'3" @ 87kg.....any recommendations re size for the seaside? Cheers
Dan French - Frenchenviro
Dan French - Frenchenviro - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews cheers buddy
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Dan French - Frenchenviro Seaside is mental... you can go roughly same liters as your HK.
El Bison
El Bison - 2 years ago
Hi Noel, thanks for all you do brofessor!

Quick question, I normally ride 31L boards...I’m 5’9 & 185-190... however, the only stock dems at my L’s is the 5’5 Seaside. I’m concern that will be to long... thoughts?

Does the helium tech float better? Can I get away with the 5’4 at 29L??

Shoots!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jay Merrifield HE does float better but I think the 5’4” will be a little small for you. I would go 5’5”...

30. comment for Rob Machado "Seaside" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.73

Jason Trevascus
Jason Trevascus - 2 years ago
Hi Noel, I want to update my CI Pod (which i love but just creased) and was caught between this and the CI Rocket Wide in Spinetek. It will sit between by Firewire Baked Potato Timbertek (true groveller) and my JS Monsterbox (I use for good overhead waves). Any advice in choosing between the 2?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jason Trevascus Both the PM and RW are mental. The PM paddles a bit better because of more foam under the chest. The RW has a bit more performance feel underfoot in 1-3’ surf. I prefer the RW in Spinetek. Cheers
Gary Haworth
Gary Haworth - 2 years ago
Hey Noel, would you ride this in your normal Litreage? im normally about 29L, 5'4" looks the go -thoughts? PS Loving all of your reviews!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Gary Haworth yes I would ride it at your normal liters. Sick board
Nick Hewett
Nick Hewett - 2 years ago
Love this board! Watched this review a few weeks back and ended up opting for the 5’5 (I’m 6’0, 80kgs and intermediate to advanced). It paddles well, it’s so fast down the line and turns well in the pocket for a fish. Thanks for the excellent reviews!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Nick Hewett Thanks for posting
sancho184
sancho184 - 2 years ago
Thank you, your reviews are fantastic
glauber silva
glauber silva - 2 years ago
tem como eu assistir essa diga em português brasil
Goodseed Clothing
Goodseed Clothing - 2 years ago
How does the seaside compare to the sharp eye modern 2?
Goodseed Clothing
Goodseed Clothing - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews awesome, thanks!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Goodseed Clothing Seaside is the ay faster and has great performance as a fish. The Modern 2 will pivot a little better in the pocket.
Eamon Shields
Eamon Shields - 2 years ago
Hey Noal im fairly new to surfing. Already have some good time on a longboard. Road a few of my buddies shorter boards, looking to step down to something much shorter. Summer time in jersey brings small/mushy 2-3 foot waves most of the time. I want to challenge myself with either a Lost Puddle Fish, Machado Sea Side, or a Go fish. Any advice ? Also say a cool soft top 5'8 Mahi hybrid from South Bay Boards that looks like a fun, cheaper option
Eamon Shields
Eamon Shields - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thanks Noal ! Your reviews are the best on Youtube !!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Eamon Shields Yes go 5’10
Eamon Shields
Eamon Shields - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Maybe I should step up to the 5'10 with 40 liters
Eamon Shields
Eamon Shields - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Just a 6"8 fun shape. Had fun with it. Definitely want to go smaller, but also don't want to struggle to catch waves. Want something thats more of a challenge, but i can have a blast with
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Eamon Shields That sounds pretty good... you could with a little more foam if you don’t want to work too hard.

What size board did you try from your friend?
Eamon Shields
Eamon Shields - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Found one 5'8 35 liters, think thats a good fit ?
Eamon Shields
Eamon Shields - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thanks man !!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Eamon Shields I have no comments on the Soft top....

The board I recommend for you is the Seaside. I would get it with a good amount of flotation so you have lots of fun.
Eamon Shields
Eamon Shields - 2 years ago
Im 6 foot, 180 pounds athletic build
Alexandre Verdan
Alexandre Verdan - 2 years ago
This board looks insane! I would like to try it, but I think it will take some time to arrive here in Brazil. Besides, when it comes it will be too expensive. I'm willing to replicate this outline with my local shaper. Do you know the nose and tail measures, proportional to the middle? I'm thinking of a 5'8
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Alexandre Verdan No sorry...
Alejandro Osorio
Alejandro Osorio - 2 years ago
Somebody please tell me the name of the song in the intros first 13 seconds of the video. Well appreciated
Jetlee Ganado
Jetlee Ganado - 2 years ago
I’m really looking forward to you doing a review on the Midas
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jetlee Ganado Sorry no Midas review at this time.
Ryan Reichlyn
Ryan Reichlyn - 2 years ago
jesus noel rips
surfvocals
surfvocals - 2 years ago
This is a DICK VAN STRAALEN RIP OFF so sad
L Dupree
L Dupree - 2 years ago
Dude, you are FLYING down the line on that board. What's your height / weight and what dimensions did you get?
L Dupree
L Dupree - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thanks, man. Saw that about 30 seconds after I posted.... Great review, per usual.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
L Dupree That info is down below in the YouTube description field.
James Agius
James Agius - 2 years ago
Hey Noel sorry to be the hundredth person to ask for dimensions advice but would really appreciate it before I spend the cash on this board! I'm 5'9 165 pounds and would call myself an intermediate surfer who sees myself becoming advanced within the next year or so. I want to avoid getting to the advanced level and wishing I got a smaller board. What do you think? Appreciate your time mate.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
James Agius The Stock 5’4” or 5’5”....
James Agius
James Agius - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews thanks for the quick response! 5'11 × 19 not sure on the width or volume sorry it's an old board so the market has rubbed off.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
James Agius What are the DIMS on your small wave board right now. Liters too if you know them.
Lance181
Lance181 - 2 years ago
Great review! Love the surfing with the board review. Just wish I could surf as good as you.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Lance181 Cheers for the kind words. Stoked you like our show.
Christopher Wright
Christopher Wright - 2 years ago
44 year old 5' 10"/165 pound longboarder looking for my first fish. I've been surfing for a little less than a year. I've got my longboarding fairly dialed and also ride a 7/4 funboard and a 6/10 thruster/big shortboard. I like the idea of this board but wonder if it's the best bet for someone of my skill level? I'd call myself intermediate, dropping down to beginner when I hop on my "short" board.
Christopher Wright
Christopher Wright - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thanks for the quick reply! Much appreciated. Your vids are the source!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Christopher Wright I think it will be a challenge for you but still super fun. Just get a Seaside with a good amount of Volume.
Ian Scholz
Ian Scholz - 2 years ago
I’ve been testing some fin options on the seaside, the large AM2 with medium reactor trailers, and the Machados seemed to be the best so far. However, I feel like there’s something more to tap into, the board’s missing the last 3rd of the turn. I’m looking for a better combo of drive and release. Do you think the lost quad keel MB’s might work well? Kolohe’s RnF edit with the lost quad keels showed the fin control I’m talking about.
Ian Scholz
Ian Scholz - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews I demoed the split quad keels today and they were the perfect combo i was looking for with my 5'5 Seaside. In a sense exactly like you described, fast when going straight and pivoted well on my turns. With the stability of such a wide board, the pivoting keel quad counter balanced the overly tracking outline of the seaside.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Ian Scholz I don’t like Split Keels much.... they go straight fast and do turns with very little arc.
Sky Aycardo
Sky Aycardo - 2 years ago
Hey Noel, I've been riding a 7'0 funboard for a few years now and have been looking to ride a shorter board. Would you recommend a seaside as my first shorter board? Cheers.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Sky Aycardo Both boards paddle about the same. The Gremlin will be a little more predictable in turns and little easier to control. Both boards will go good for you and the Seaside can handle a little bigger surf.
Sky Aycardo
Sky Aycardo - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Hi Noel, thanks for the feedback! How would you compare it to the Pyzel Gremlin in terms of ease of use and paddling? Thanks.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Sky Aycardo Absolutely... such a fun board. Just make sure you don’t go too short. The transition from your 7’0 to the Seaside will feel like a skateboard.
Tim Johnson
Tim Johnson - 2 years ago
Ripping on that board!
Alessandro Sozzi
Alessandro Sozzi - 2 years ago
Hey Noel, is it me or does it look like the CI's Pod-Mod?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Alessandro Sozzi This Seaside is a Fish and the PM is a small wave Groveler. They surf completely different and draw different lines too. Both boards are insane though.

50. comment for Rob Machado "Seaside" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.73

Sean Denney
Sean Denney - 2 years ago
Noel , great review. Always enjoy them. Looking at buying this board myself.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Sean Denney Cheers!! This Seaside is next level speed and fun. Get one... you won’t be sorry
P R
P R - 2 years ago
Amazing review - but man you're making me want to buy everything single one! Also viewers, be aware if you try to surf Trestles, you won't catch bc the place is swarming with pros like Noel! Trust me I've tried. But it's beautiful to watch for sure. I've been surfing only 3 years but pretty consistently (age 45 - weight 160 lb). Here's been my sequence of boards: 1) Wavestorm, 2) Torq 6.10 Fish (big epoxy log nearly cracked my skull open on second ride - never ridden again) 3) Liquid Shredder (went to softtop after Torq accident): 9.0 Longboard, 6'10" Mini-Mal, 5'8" Fish (Love them all still esp. the Fish with keel fins), 4) Firewire EVO 5.7 (way too much epoxy chatter on my messy local porto beachbreak, and broke into 3 pieces after one year) 5) Firewire Greedy Beaver 5.8 Timbertek - enjoying it - still trying to figure out how to ride such a narrow tail. NOW time for number 6! I'm trying to decide between Neckbeard 2 PU, Pyzel Phantom PU, and now thanks to your review, the Seaside. I'm looking to buy my first "real" performance board to challenge myself, but I do really love surfing my LS keel fin fish and your review made the Seaside look sooooo good (does Helium chatter like EPS boards?). Dammit. High class problems.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
P R I agree with EPS sucking in water if you don’t fix it ASAP. There is also Extruded Foam which is a closed cell foam that will not suck in water like the Expanded Polystyrene Foam does. Check out the XTR website and the Vlog I did with Javier from Epoxy Pro. Great information there....
P R
P R - 2 years ago
Thanks for the tip - I also think EPS is unforgiving if you ding it and don't repair right away - the EPS foam absorbs water and then the board starts to corrode from the inside and will buckle or break. Not sure if you agree with that. I'm defn gonna try PU Neckbeard 2 or Phantom next - and see if they hold up longer than the one year I got out of my EVO eps (that board had a small ding I missed and I think that destroyed it once water got in).
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
P R Yes the Helium has some chatter to it. I don’t notice it much anymore. EPS goes well for me unless it really windy and there is a lot of texture on the water surface
warmachine1770
warmachine1770 - 2 years ago
Do a midsize review.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
warmachine1770 What is that?
wef 0909
wef 0909 - 2 years ago
Has anyone tested the Seaside with the Machado Keels?
autuche naiki
autuche naiki - 2 years ago
yep, very good reviews , what's the name song ? thank you
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
autuche naiki @ronartisii A Family like Mine.
Yann Corlay
Yann Corlay - 2 years ago
Quick question. I'm 6'' for 155lbs and I'd say I'm "lower intermediate" level, mainly surfing 1 to 4/5 ft waves. Would you rather go with the Go Fish or the Seaside? And what length? I currently ride a 6'4 Fish from Hughes that is probably too long for me. Thx a lot
Yann Corlay
Yann Corlay - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thanks for replying man. Really appreciate it!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Yann Corlay Seaside and maybe go with a 5’6” or 5’7”.
Adrian Martin Sandi
Adrian Martin Sandi - 2 years ago
Best surfboard reviews of the internet for sure. I like how you explain the shape design aspects on the surfboard and their infuence in performance. It could be interesting to take some measures of concave depths of the different surfboards you review in order to have a better understanding of the bottom contours comparison. I am really interested in the amount of concave depth of the seaside, from the video it looks like it is a lot of concave depth involved in the design, but how much is a lot? As the board is not abailable in Europe untill March 2019 I can't take a closer look in the store, could be possible for you take some measures of the concaves? Best regards from Spain and happy new year!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Adrian Martin Sandi I think taking measurements on the concave is a bit difficult. The Seaside has more than most boards I have reviewed and I tried to show that with the straight edge. Sorry I will not Be measuring concave depth on our show at this time. Cheers
smac22
smac22 - 2 years ago
Noel your reviews and surfing are simply fantastic! Keep them coming. Hard question for you, what would be your say 4 board quiver today to cover the variety of surf conditions we get in good old California?
smac22
smac22 - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Cheers thanks!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
scotty888 1-3’ surf I would go Seaside & CI Rocket Wide. Daily Driver 2-6’ surf I would get Neck Beard 2. HPSB I would go Driver, or Fever. Mini step up I would go Ghost.
Mathias Höchst
Mathias Höchst - 2 years ago
Hi Noel,
great review as always! Having a 6'2 Monsta Box, 35l, I'm 184 cm and 88 kg advanced surfer but not often in the water at the moment. Thinking about a FW Seaside in 5'7 or 5'8. Could you recommend a size? Is the Helium construction more boyant than classic constructions?
Thanks for your help.
Matze
Mathias Höchst
Mathias Höchst - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews thanks a lot Noel, I think I'll keep it fun and go with the 5'8! Greetings
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Mathias Höchst You might want to go 5’8” if this board is going to be your small Groveler. I think both will float you fine but you will work harder on the 5’7”. The 5’7” will turn sharper because you can bury the tail faster. If your not in the water much then keep it fun and go 5’8”. If you plan on getting in the water more then go 5’7”.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Mathias Höchst The HE Technology does float better. The 5’7” will float like 34 liters and the 5’8” will float like 36 liters. I say most EPS foams floats 1/2 liter more compared to PU. Others say 1 liter more but I like to be conservative on this matter.
alon nir
alon nir - 2 years ago
Great review as always!
Would love a review of the black baron by JS ;)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
alon nir I have asked for that board for review. We will see what JS says.
Martin Buhr
Martin Buhr - 2 years ago
seems like the board works best with your back foot over the front fins instead of the quads. True?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Martin Buhr The further I get my foot back the better it goes. It does good turns a little further up too.
Dan Thomas
Dan Thomas - 2 years ago
Hey Noel good review, I went with a 5”9 I’m 86 kg , bought a Machado futures keel twin, only surfed once incredibly go fun . Keen to grad Machado quad set . Next level.
Can’t wait to get back in the water
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Dan Thomas Stoked!!!
Ellobuddha101
Ellobuddha101 - 2 years ago
Hi Noel. Excellent review. How do you think it compares to the Lost Puddle fish. The Seaside sounds like its a bit more lively. Great choice to have to make....
Ellobuddha101
Ellobuddha101 - 2 years ago
Thanks heaps Noel. You are a legend. Your reviews are so in depth and unbiased. Best out there.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Ellobuddha101 The Seaside is a bit more performance and it’s faster. Both boards are sick. The Seaside pretty much blew my mind. Very fast and really fun to surf as a Quad and Twin Fin.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Luke B If you love your GO Fish at 5’5” then I would say go 5’4” Seaside. If you want a little less foam and want that performance feel then go 5’3”. The 5’3” will still float you really well and you will be able to turn it quicker compared to your GO Fish. I would go 5’3” and surf the Seaside completely different than your Go Fish. Cheers
Jeremy van den Bogaerde
Jeremy van den Bogaerde - 2 years ago
Hi Noel, I'm 6ft2-3 at 85-90kgs, intermediate surfer, don't like riding boards too much shorter than my height. Do you think a 6"0 would be too floaty for me? Love the look of the board and great review!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jeremy van den Bogaerde I would put your liters around 35-36 so that 6’0 is way to big for you. You would be best in the 5’8” or 5’9”. Maybe this board is too short for you with the stock Dims. I say demo one before you drop the cash...
R Watty
R Watty - 2 years ago
Hi Noel,
Cool board and review! Got a few boards based on your reviews and love them all, CI-pod mod,sampler, & fever. Interested in getting a twin fin, saw a dude ripping at my local break on a Xanadau-wing twin fin-looks cool and now considering Seaside.
How does it, if at all, compare to pod mod?
My boards are all 5'10,short boards are 29-31ltrs, but I got pod mod at 36ltrs and more like a fun board but with performance for me and Catches Everything at those litres, always fun!
Thanks,
Rick
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
R Watty The Xanadu Twin sounds fun and he is a great shaper.

The Seaside and PM are decent comparison... they both can cruise or have that performance vibe. The Seaside will be a 2 in 1 board, you can go Quad or Twinnie. Super fun board and durable too.
Rafhael Silva
Rafhael Silva - 2 years ago
How much do this board costs? Can't find it anywhere..
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Rafhael Silva I think around $800.00. Reach out to the folks at Surfstationstore.com and see if they can help you find one.
Chadikenz
Chadikenz - 2 years ago
How do you say this compares to the CI fish and the CI twin?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Chad Nahale The new CI Fish did not go well for me... hard to turn. The CU Twin Fin goes good and it has more of a Shortboard feel to it. The CI Twin Fin is a bit longer and pivots different because of the center fin you can put in.

The Seaside has s feel of its own both as a Quad and Twin Fin. Very fast board and responsive too.
Toby Gillam
Toby Gillam - 2 years ago
Hi Noel I am a intermediate surfer that weighs about 65 kilos. What size do you think I would need. Thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Toby Gillam Just go 5’5” it will be fast.
Toby Gillam
Toby Gillam - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews or bigger because the last board felt slowish
Toby Gillam
Toby Gillam - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews so should I still go with the 5’5
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Toby Gillam Yes a Board can be faster than another board with the same volume. It’s all about rocker, concave, Foil, fin set up... etc.
Toby Gillam
Toby Gillam - 2 years ago
no but is the seaside a faster board than quite a thin groveller type shortish board withe same volume. What I am saying is that will can a board be faster than another with the same volume
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Toby Gillam Add 1 liter more for every 10 pounds you gain. Example... if I bought a board and liked it at 160lbs and then I gained 10lbs that same board might feel a bit slow or hard to paddle into waves, or it sinks too much on my turns. I would add 1 liter more if I weighed 170lbs.
Toby Gillam
Toby Gillam - 2 years ago
promise last question. My last board was a 6'2 shortish type board with a volume around 31.5 laters and I have gotten heavier since I last surfed and it felt slowish on early weak waves. Will the seaside feel faster on the same waves with around the same waves. or should I go bigger than previously mentioned
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Toby Gillam Go 5’5” and make surfing more fun for yourself. The 5’4” might be a bit to squirrelly for you right now.
Toby Gillam
Toby Gillam - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews so just to clarify a 5”4 or a 5”5. I surf across the wave and can do a few manoeuvres
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Toby Gillam Yes... that board will last a long time for you. If anything you will get better and want something more responsive eventually.
Toby Gillam
Toby Gillam - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews
Will it last me long as I look to surf a lot more in the coming year and want to get better
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Toby Gillam That changes it a bit.. now I am leaning towards the 5’5”.
Toby Gillam
Toby Gillam - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews sorry last one. I probably am a beginner intermediate leaning more towards intermediate. Would you still say 5’3 or 5’4
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Toby Gillam It will be a bit big for you... maybe try to demo one...
Toby Gillam
Toby Gillam - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews sorry just one more question. Do you no think a 5’4 would be good either
Toby Gillam
Toby Gillam - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews thanks so much
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Toby Gillam Getting it bigger will be good for obvious reasons but if you go too big it will be hard to turn and sink the rails. You are really tall for your weight too. I say 5’3” and you still have 20-30 pounds to gain and that board will still work for you. If you go bigger you won’t be happy.
Toby Gillam
Toby Gillam - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews thanks for the reply. Just one more question. I am 14 years old, 5 ‘11 and 65 kilos. I want a board that I am going to have for a while and this board is ideal for my type of conditions. I believe I am still growing and I am quite light for my height, so I will probably get a bit heavier. I was wondering if a bigger option would be better given I still have some growing and I was wondering what size I should get. I haven’t really had a really good board before and I was wondering if I should get a bigger volume than my recommended because I have never really knit picked with what volume I get. My recommend was 28 L on fire wires calculator and I was wondering what you thought. Thanks in advance.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Toby Gillam Maybe the 5’4” or 5’5”
hazwaz
hazwaz - 2 years ago
How would this go in bumpy surf compared to the gofish
David Pham
David Pham - 2 years ago
Hey Noel, I was about to pull the trigger on a 5'3 Cymatic, but just saw this review. If you could only get one, which would it be and why?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
David Pham I would get something wide and with less rocker for those high tide days.
David Pham
David Pham - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thanks Noel, my only other firewire is a tomo SKX bought after your review, which I find requires a larger wave face and likes a wave that's drawing clean water. We get a lot of winter high tides in Santa Cruz in the mornings where the waves are more slopey with the occasional steep section, from your review it seems like both can carry speed in sections that get a little fat. So I guess it comes down to a feel thing. Thanks for the advice.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
David Pham The Cymatic is aDaily Driver and surfs more like a HPSB for 3-6+. The Seaside is a Quad Fish with a performance feel for 1-6’ surf. Really hard to compare these two boards in my book. If your looking for a fun board then go with the Seaside. If you want performance in the pocket then go Cymatic.
RICARDO HIDALGO PONCE
RICARDO HIDALGO PONCE - 2 years ago
Great video Noel. I use a Hypto Krypto 6´0 and need more volumen ... do you think Seaside 6´0 would be ok?... feeling worried about it would be too long ... what do you suggest?... IT S FOR 3 TO 5 FOOT. WAVES . Thank you :)
RICARDO HIDALGO PONCE
RICARDO HIDALGO PONCE - 2 years ago
thanks ...the problem is that i have to order the board from usa...then no option to feel it...i agree is the best way.... love your reviews , ping when you come to perú. Thanks Noel
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
RICARDO ALONSO HIDALGO PONCE Might have a little more foam under the chest on the Seaside. Go to your local Shop and feel a Seaside up.
J T
J T - 2 years ago
What would you recommend for 5’5 155. Looking at 5’2. I usually ride a 5’7 performance board but being in Florida the majority of our surf is 1-6 feet so idk if I need an inch more for float.
J T
J T - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews thank you!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
J T Get the volume close to your Groveler DIMS. If your a advanced surfer then 5’2” is good. I wouldn’t be too concerned about length... unless your super tall.. like 6’2”. Then the 5’2” will look really short for you.
J T
J T - 2 years ago
Board looks amazing wish it was a little cheaper but you get what you pay for
sincitychembuster
sincitychembuster - 2 years ago
Great video again Noel. I am actually thinking of pulling the trigger on one of these seasides. but just wondering, if i usually ride boards in the 26 L range but a lot longer. like 5'9-10' would you recommend the 5'2 or the 5'3.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
sincitychembuster Go with the 5’2 because your so light weight.
sincitychembuster
sincitychembuster - 2 years ago
i@Surf n Show Reviews i am a 5'7 145 lbs intermediate/advanced surfer and ride a Pyzel Phantom the is 5'6 at 25L
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
sincitychembuster How tall are you? I am 5’9 and my HPSB are 5’9” too but I like the 5’2” at 26.5 liters. I don’t like too much foam on my Grovelers with all that foam under the chest. It messes with swing weight and the foam up front dictates how the board turns. I would go 5’2” if your advanced. If your intermediate then go 5’3”.
Surfdocsteve
Surfdocsteve - 2 years ago
Noel, I ride a CIS Pod Mod and that is my favorite board. I have tried a bunch of other boards but always seem to go back to the Pod Mod. How would you compare the Seaside to the Pod Mod. I was at a surf shop and they had the spine tech version of the Pod Mod and it felt better than the EPS one I have. What do you think of Spine tech vs Helium?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Surfdocsteve The PM is legit and it would be insane in Spinetek!!!

The Seaside is a performance fish and has a bit more speed compared to the PM. The PM pivots and turns a little more vertical in the pocket.

The HE Technology is more durable and lighter compared to Spinetek. They are both Sick and have amazing flex and pop in your turns.

If your looking for Thruster performance then go PM Spinetek, if you want a performance fish with warp speed then go Seaside!
redh
redh - 2 years ago
Do a Tomo Evo review already! Thanks
Jan
Jan - 2 years ago
Hi Noel, awesome videos and great surfing! Love how you actually surf the boards and comment on how a board performance on a specific wave or section and why, that makes all the difference! Quick question. Love the look of this board, but I already have a Pyzel Phantom in slightly higher volume than my hpsb (about 0.5L more) which works great in waist / shoulder high and up. My local is a pretty hollow beach break, even when small. In your opinion, would a board like the Seaside add anything to my quiver?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jan The Seaside is really fast and it would be fun to ride in some small barrels. I like a really short board in the barrel so you can maneuver it quickly and pump easy. I think a shorter board will fit better in the hook on small hollow surf too... the Phantom might be a little long in 1-2’ hollow waves.
Jules Prual
Jules Prual - 2 years ago
Is the Helium technology durable?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jules Prual Yes... one of the most durable I’ve tested to date with good flex.
Dina Gurna
Dina Gurna - 2 years ago
i love watching you surf
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Dina Gurna Yewww!! Cheers
BAP
BAP - 2 years ago
JS Black Baron. Please :)
BAP
BAP - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thanks Noel, fingers crossed they come through eventually. Love the show, keep it up!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Blake P I asked for it from the folks at JS. I wouldn’t hold your breath... I’ve asked for the BB3, BB2, etc... nothing from them in a while. I do have the JS Monsta 8 review dropping soon.
Porter R.
Porter R. - 2 years ago
nice review noel might have to pick me up one of these
Porter R.
Porter R. - 2 years ago
have always been hesitant on eps but usually only surf 2-6 ft surf. Generally I'm getting they are better for airs(just cause they are lighter) quicker turns but kinda only work when it's glassy am I right? A little less drive? Think burying a rail feels a lil different too(more on top of the water, can't dig as hard) I tried a hayden shapes a few years ago and that's what I got at least. Interested to know what you think. When would you use a eps over PU and vice versa
C S
C S - 2 years ago
Hey Noel I am 5'11" and 170lbs. I have a lost PJ 5.5 -- 31.44CL (PU) that I love, and I am looking at the Seaside at 5'4" 29.8 L or 5'5" 31.5L. Because of the EPS, i am thinking the 5.4 as the extra float gets me up more around the feel of a 30ish CL board. I am in good shape and surf often. I surf local around here Pink House, Creek mostly, and sometimes Barbed Wires, Cottons or Uppers. What do you think? Thanks for all of the great info and reviews! Keep it up!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
C S I think the 5’4” will go fine but if it’s going to float like 30.3 liters you are going to loose about 1 liter in volume compared to your PJ. We are wearing a bit more rubber with winter here so that 5’5” isn’t sounding so bad. For your height the 5’5” might be a better call in smaller gutless waves. The 5’5” is still 6” shorter then you are so it should turn like a skateboard. I say 5’5” with a 4/3mm suit on. Cheers
Mark Cooper
Mark Cooper - 2 years ago
Hey Noel! Great review!! The seaside looks great online but picked 1 up today and it feels soo wide.. Am i looking at the wrong board to surf it high volume like a retro fish? Im surfing a 6"1" SKX, 6'0 Midas and wanted a fish for full/soft waves. I was looking at the 5'10 but its 22 5/8 wide!! Any thoughts?
Mark Cooper
Mark Cooper - 2 years ago
@wef 0909 they are shapers carbon flare keel. The only pic i could find on Google...
https://www.dhdjapanstore.com/smp/item/shapers-fin171125-03.html
wef 0909
wef 0909 - 2 years ago
@Mark Cooper what keels are you riding?
Mark Cooper
Mark Cooper - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews
Twins, keels and quads!
I'm in love with this board!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Mark Cooper Yewww... I love to experiment with different fin set ups.
Mark Cooper
Mark Cooper - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews
Just had my first surf on my 5'8 in 1ft slop. It went pretty good! I could easy surf it in a 5'6 but wanted my fish a little easier. Surfed it with my shapers modern/ power 2+1 fins with an extra +1. It felt really natural once i got my feet in the right place!
Not sure how to add pics but is love to show you the fin options i have...
So stoked :)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Mark Cooper let me know how it goes!!!
Mark Cooper
Mark Cooper - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews thanks so much for your advice!!
I really appreciate it.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Mark Cooper Get the 5’8” Seaside. The Seaside paddles a little better compared to the Midas. The 5’10” Seaside is much too big for you.
Mark Cooper
Mark Cooper - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews my SKX is 33L, Midas 35L and 5'10 seaside is 40L. (A 5'8 seaside is 35L)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Mark Cooper What is the volume on the Seaside compared to the Midas?
Raphaël Gysel
Raphaël Gysel - 2 years ago
Hey Noel, maybe a stupid question, but on which spot(s) is this footage filmed? They seem like the perfect waves and not over crowed.. I’m planning a surf trip and don’t have that much experience outside Spain - Portugal - France and would like to go to some different places so it would really help me out
Cheers :)
Raphaël Gysel
Raphaël Gysel - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews yeah no problem I totally understand it, still thanks for the great video tho:)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Raphaël Gysel Stoked your coming to CA for a surf trip. I am sorry to say I don’t talk about surf spots.
peter mcgrath
peter mcgrath - 2 years ago
Great surfer, knows how to advertise and hit his niche market of sudo hippie,s, hope you rip if your going to buy one. As i see people buy them that don"t, and thats funny!
't
Cary Ladd
Cary Ladd - 2 years ago
Nice review, as always. I'm wondering your opinion on volume. I'm 6'1 and 150 lbs so think tall and lanky string bean. My HP shortboards are all around 25 litres. I've always been afraid to try a fish because the volume is always so generous and I prefer a vertical style of surfing. I'm looking at this board tho and wondering if the 5'2" would be too short. I'm hesitant to go with too much volume as anything over 27 liters always feels like too much foam for the style of surfing i prefer, and anything above the 5'2" would be a generous step up in volume for me. With that being said, would going with the 5'2" 27 liter be too short? I do have a bit of a closed stance if that helps.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Cary Ladd Sounds like the volume is fine but maybe a little too short. For how tall you are. I would try to Demo one before you spend the cash.
Karen Styan
Karen Styan - 2 years ago
WHERE are u surfing in this video?
Beautiful waves! LOL
Looks like an awesome board!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Karen Styan Cheers... waves were epic for this review. Sorry I don’t talk about surf spots.
noutsmaile
noutsmaile - 2 years ago
Hi Noel, thank you for your advice ..I have taken a psycho killer in 5.11 20 1/4 2/56 33.5l and a bonzer biscuit in 5.8 20 1/4 2 3/4 in 35.9 l and it's perfect! ! the sizes that you advised me are perfect .... I would like to order seaside firewire ... but I hesitate between ĺa 5.7 and 5.8? I am 84 kilos and 1m86 ... again thanks and any beautiful video ..bravo
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
noutsmaile Use your Biscuit Bonzer as a guide in volume to get your Seaside volume right. They both paddle about the same with foam distribution. Obviously they don’t shred the same... and the tail on the Seaside is tapered down a lot more so it will be more responsive.
Phaidrus
Phaidrus - 2 years ago
Excellent review!
88jonpaul
88jonpaul - 2 years ago
INCREDIBLE review! I wish I saw your reviews before buying my boards!

Saw this one and the Cymatic review. Going to try to hunt down the sci fi review After this.

So a bit of a challenging question. I’m an (advanced) beginner, 150 lbs, 5’7, and 39 years old.

I used to barely catch waves with my Al Merrick until someone told me to up the Liters.

So I bought a used Sci fi 6’2 at 37.5L 11 months ago and suddenly I’m catching 4 to 10 waves an hour depending on the crowds in Santa Cruz, driving down the line, and doing turns. I sold that board when the Cymatic came out and bought a 6’2 Cymatic 42.5L and have progressed a lot since - BUT now the thing feels like a boat under my feet. Especially now that I have more wave knowledge and can position myself better.

1. what size Seaside do you recommend for me?
2. In your opinion, what would be the ultimate quiver? I know you don’t have one since you’re testing boards during your surf time.
3. What song is playing on this review?

By the way, your surf style is so smooth - kind feel weird saying this but it’s so damn beautiful!!

Will tell all my friends to check out your reviews - best surfboard reviews on YouTube - Thanks!!!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
88jonpaul when your 33.6 liters feels like it’s turning too slow. Ride that volume for a few months then maybe demo a board at 30 liters... and see how that goes.
88jonpaul
88jonpaul - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews OK sounds good. I'm just conscious that you said to " start reducing volume now" in a previous post so I've been working to shave off Liters to get closer to 28L over time. I surfed a 33.6L seaside demo today and caught 23 waves according to my Ripcurl GPS watch - it was a nice glassy day with 2-5 feet. I'll leave my order of the seaside at 33.6L unchanged and try to dial that in first before moving onto other boards. Here's the tricky question I guess: At what point will I know I can decrease Liters to get closer to 28L? thanks!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
88jonpaul Please listen to what I said... if your SciFi feels good under foot and paddles good then your Seaside is good.
88jonpaul
88jonpaul - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews OK makes sense, let's focus on the seaside. Since I'm trying to decrease Liters, would you recommend I decrease Liters (My sci Fi is 34L and I've ordered a 33.6L for my seaside)? I think I could go down a touch, however, do I need these Liters since the Seaside is for smallerish waves? Thanks!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
88jonpaul If your SciFi feels good then your new Seaside will go good too.

At the moment I would stop buying boards and work out your liters. Ride the Seaside and get that dialed... after you do that we can work on your daily Driver. The Phantom is a great board... but let’s work on the Seaside first. Don’t be in a rush to build a quiver when you don’t know what feels good liters wise.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
88jonpaul You should start reducing volume now.... keep your small wave full of volume for a while because you have to generate your own speed. Bigger waves have their own speed and you just focus on your turns.

Your weight at 150 you should be riding 28 liters when you graduate to intermediate / Advanced level. For now keep surfing fun by catching lots of waves... it’s the only way to get better quickly. If your not catching waves then your not standing up, if your not standing up then your not getting better.

I review their biggest board brands out there and for the most part all of their boards are awesome.
88jonpaul
88jonpaul - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews thanks for the advice and comments! I saw about five more of your reviews last night - the way you ride us just another level!!! You make all the boards seem awesome!

I see bigger people, like yourself, riding smaller boards. When do you think it is time to reduce to those levels (around 28L I think I saw you ride a bunch that size).

Also for the ideal quiver, should I be getting boards around the same volume for each different type of wave?

Thanks again for sharing the knowledge and the stoke!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
88jonpaul Thanks for the kind words and stoked you found our show.

Now that your getting better you should reduce your volume... I would say you can drop to roughly 36-38. So check that range on the Seaside and pull the trigger.

Ideal quiver....
Seaside / Favorite Fish
Rocket Wide / Groveler 1-3’
Neck Beard 2 / Daily Driver 1-6’
Lost Driver and CI Fever / HPSB
Ghost / Mini step up

This song is by Ron Artis II and it’s called “A family like mine.” You can find his tunes on Spotify.

I also put the Artist and name of every song at the end of my reviews in the credits. Lately I put it on the first wave of each review.
Bo InternetHobo
Bo InternetHobo - 2 years ago
It looks like Rob Machado's Fishcuit from Channel Islands
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Len Rafael I had one of those... it was a sick board too!!!
Stuart Cargill
Stuart Cargill - 2 years ago
Can't get this board or this song out of my head!
Bon Summers
Bon Summers - 2 years ago
I think a wood ruler is easier on the glass job. Nice little roundhouse 360 at 11:44. I don't understand why the move is called 'reverse',… it's a 360.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
79pejeperro interesting...
79pejeperro
79pejeperro - 2 years ago
Forget back or front side. A spin is regular or reverse considering if you start it towards the face of the wave or away from it
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
I never thought about that on my front side... your right it should be called a round house 360. Backside it would be called a round house reverse because the spin is counter clockwise.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Bon Summers It’s a reverse 360 because I spin it counter clockwise.
Rome
Rome - 2 years ago
Awesome review Noel as always!.....I'm super keen on this Seaside, looks like a fun addition to anyone's board collection.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Rome Agreed!!! Fun
djconeuk
djconeuk - 2 years ago
Highest quality surfboard reviews out there! What google are for search engines, surf n show are for surfboard reviews!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
djconeuk Sick bro thanks... what a compliment!!!
Robert Marlin
Robert Marlin - 2 years ago
She will be mine, yes she will be mine...
jake marlow
jake marlow - 2 years ago
Great review and great surfing. Super smooth and super stylish. I would kill to be able to surf like you.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
jake marlow Cheers for the kind words!!! Stoked you like this review.
Ant hony
Ant hony - 2 years ago
How tall is he
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Ant hony I am 5’9”. I always put that in the You Tube Comment Description of each board review.
surfcrs
surfcrs - 2 years ago
Great Reviews! Helps save us money on this endless surfboard experimentation. My question is how do you think this board compares to the baked potato? I'm late 40's, about 160lbs, and gravitate towards boards that are short, thick, and wide. I like quads for the most part..not so much thrusters so I thought this board might work well. I surf a lot of Ocean Beach SF and find 41L to be about my bottom end for volume due to the shoulder strain of fighting current...or at least that is what I am blaming it on:) I stick to days that are 6ft under for the most part. What size board do you think would be right for me regarding Seaside? I'm thinking 5'11 or 6' to get the right volume but I know some shapes don't hold up as well as the longer sizes.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
surfcrs Not sure i would compare the Seaside to the BP. I would stay around the same liters though.

The reason you like Quads better... the tail on the boards you choose are super wide.

100. comment for Rob Machado "Seaside" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.73

Hugo de Sousa Oliveira
Hugo de Sousa Oliveira - 2 years ago
Hi Noel. Great Review. What would be the best to compliment a hpsb, Seaside or PuddleJumper hp? What would be the main diference in sufing?
Hugo de Sousa Oliveira
Hugo de Sousa Oliveira - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews Thanks for the input.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Hugo de Sousa Oliveira The PJHP is more HP compared to the Seaside Fish. If I had to choose 1 Groveler for HP surfing in 1-3’ surf I would go CI RW.

The Seaside is a performance fish... I would never compare a fish to a HP Small Wave Groveler Board like the PJHP or RW. They do NOT draw the same lines.

That’s why I do NOT classify them in the same category on our website.
Hugo de Sousa Oliveira
Hugo de Sousa Oliveira - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Thanks Noel. In your review looks like you are surfing more vertical with the PJHP. Is it apropriate to say it?
If you had to choose 1 groveler and 1 hpsb as only boards for the next 2 years, what would be your choice today?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Hugo de Sousa Oliveira The Seaside is faster and a bit more HP. It can also handle a little bigger surf.
Hugo de Sousa Oliveira
Hugo de Sousa Oliveira - 2 years ago
I've been struggling on what groveler for low end waves should I get to make a 2 board quiver. My RNF Retro is great down the line and carving, but not in the pocket.
bodhi tree
bodhi tree - 2 years ago
Have you tried a helium evo?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
bodhi tree Not yet.. everyone is asking for the EVO review though.
Karl Jakobsson
Karl Jakobsson - 2 years ago
Great review thanks Noel! Do you have the new lost beach buggy 2 in the pipeline by any chance?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Karl Jakobsson Not at the moment. I do have some new Lost models coming up though.
Clinton Flavell
Clinton Flavell - 2 years ago
Another informative review, I own a rocket wide, Holy Grail, and a pod mod thanks to your reviews. My question is how does the seaside compare to the mod pod. I ask because I don’t want double up on boards which are too similar. Thanking you Clint
gilbertrockstv
gilbertrockstv - 2 years ago
@Clinton Flavell Man, would love to surf the Gold Coast one day...with the rest of the world. right? lol. I'm in San Diego and I'm pretty much on my shorter boards (HG, RNF, RW) 90% of the time. That being said...The Fever is an amazing board. I have ridden it in 8 foot solid surf and felt more than confident. It surprisingly goes really good in smaller stuff too. I think you would love it in those punchy beach breaks you guys have around there. I gotta say...I'm having a ton of fun on the RNF Retro and can't seem to get off it. It's like a little skate machine. So many great choices for all of us. It's good and bad that I live so close to Noel. He's draining my account way to fast. lol. Keep ripping brother.
Clinton Flavell
Clinton Flavell - 2 years ago
Nice quiver Gilbert, we surf the same litres. Almost mirrors my surfnshow line up. I don’t have a step up from my Holy Grail but probably need one as we get a couple of cyclone swells here on the Goldcoast Australia per year.. How does the fever go ?
gilbertrockstv
gilbertrockstv - 2 years ago
@Clinton Flavell I'll go...5'9" Fever...5'6" Holy Grail...5'5" Rocket Wide...5'2" Lost RNF Retro... Dream quiver for sure. Perfect for SoCal waves of San Diego. Peace.
Clinton Flavell
Clinton Flavell - 2 years ago
Great, thanks for the feed back Noel. The seaside will be added to my surf n show quiver.
Anyone else out there care to share there surf n show quiver haha
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Clinton Flavell Sounds like you have a solid quiver going!!! The Seaside is a HP Fish and none of the boards you have will ride like it. It draws different lines but extremely fast and you can still do Performance surfing.

The PM is a Thruster that shreds in the pocket of small waves. The PM & Seaside surf completely different but they both Grovel good.
Rick Takahashi
Rick Takahashi - 2 years ago
I think you should do the Rusty Hustler
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Rick Takahashi The Folks at Rusty haven’t been to keen to send down a couple boards for review in a while. Sorry
Jason Posnot
Jason Posnot - 2 years ago
Nice Noel! What do you think about trying a keel on your toe side and robs quads on your heel side?? Would love to hear if you give it a go! Yeww
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jason Posnot Sounds fun... how about you give it a go and tell us?
T D
T D - 2 years ago
How does does this board compare to the gremlin? Which one would you prefer overall?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
T D The Gremlin is a small wave performance Groveler... it will pivot better because it has a center fin. The Seaside is a Performance Fish... different lines and the Seaside is a bit faster.
Craig Runnalls
Craig Runnalls - 2 years ago
Wish they did these boards in bigger longer dims and volume for us big guys 7x23x3 would b perfect as always another great review noel keep it up
CW Rodriguez
CW Rodriguez - 1 year ago
how much do you weigh? I'm 215 and about to pick up the 5'8"...
Philthy 4221
Philthy 4221 - 2 years ago
Awesome review! I'm 5'11 183lbs intermediate and ride between 32 - 33L in a shortboard. What size/litres would you recommend. I surf on the east coast of Australia, Gold Coast mainly 1 - 3 ft.

Cheers in advance!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Philthy 4221 Size this board the same as your small wave performance boards. Maybe 33-34 liters.

I would try some of your Quad set ups first. If you don’t have any then get the Al Merrick Large 5 fin set up. It comes with medium Quad Rears.
Philthy 4221
Philthy 4221 - 2 years ago
Also if i can't get my hands on the machado quads what other quad setup would you recommend?!
Rob Wallace
Rob Wallace - 2 years ago
Hey Noel have seen the new seaside made using wool. It looks pretty cool. It would be great to have a comparitve review one day. Keep up the great work
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Rob Wallace Yes it looks sick. I cannot wait to get in one.
Joe Joe
Joe Joe - 2 years ago
How about sizing the board?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Joe Joe I suggest the same liters as your small wave performance boards or your Groveler. If you size up I would NOT go up more than 1 liter.
Ben Costantini
Ben Costantini - 2 years ago
Hey Noel. Great review again. What do u think is a better small wave board. Lost puddle jumper hp or the seaside?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
hazwaz CI Neck Beard 2 in PU/Poly Construction
hazwaz
hazwaz - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews cheers for the reply. if you could pick any board(or boards) for 1-5 foot (mostly 1-3)bumpy surf what would it be. i sturggle with the surf where i live and im looking for a board so i can get the out most of it.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
hazwaz Seaside over the GO Fish. The Seaside will do better in the chop. Both boards will struggle a little though because they are EPS. If you surf the EPS boards a lot then you will get used to riding them in all conditions.
hazwaz
hazwaz - 2 years ago
Was wondering the same witch it better for bumpy surf
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Ben Costantini The PJHP is more of a HP small wave board. If your looking for a performance in the pocket then you have many options like the PJHP.

The Seaside is a high performance fish.... it draws different lines compared to a Small Wave HPSB. The Seaside is so fast, it carves really well, and you can do good turns in the hook. The flow is next level too.... it’s really about what are you looking for in a board?
Yorky surfboards
Yorky surfboards - 2 years ago
carve @ 1:08 was epic
X -MAN X MAN
X -MAN X MAN - 2 years ago
To make abig spray in the turns ..what kind of tail i need?tnx..best show
Michael Yankaus
Michael Yankaus - 2 years ago
Best surfboard reviews ever. And consistent. Also, salas is a very good surfer. Many thanks! Did you ever do a review on the Firewire Taj model? I'd like the link...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Michael Yankaus Stoked you like our show!! Sorry I did not do a review on that model.
Brian Navarrete
Brian Navarrete - 2 years ago
What booties were you wearing in the footage? I need to get some, the mornings in San Diego are getting colder, making my feet numb when I'm walking on the streets and sand lol
Brian Navarrete
Brian Navarrete - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews Awesome! My actual foot size is 8.5. The booties from other brands that I have tried on did not offer half sizes, and size 8 was too tight and 9 felt big. Thanks for letting me know!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
I also just picked up a pair of Xcel Dry Lock 3mm booties in size 9.5. Super warm and fit great.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
b navos I am not a big fan of booties but I got a good pair of O’Neill Mutant 3mm boots. They are last years model... and what I love about these is they are size 9.5. O’Neill made this boot in 1/2 sizes.
GO SURF
GO SURF - 2 years ago
Killer review and riding Noel. This one you have the Machado mojo going, speed power flow looks sooo smooth.Thanks for all your help and advice Noel your a star in the community we all look forward to these reviews... Legendary stoke giver :-)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
GO SURF Cheers for the kind words!!!
Catch the Wave
Catch the Wave - 2 years ago
Yeeww! Good vibes and awesome info, I really enjoy these videos.
Stephen Chard
Stephen Chard - 2 years ago
Hi Noel great surfing and review how do you think a 5.2 would perform for lighter surfers being the smallest size they make , im 64 kg usely surf 23 to 25 lts, thanks Steve
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Stephen Chard The RW in Spinetek is epic. Good idea to go custom on that model if you need too.
Stephen Chard
Stephen Chard - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews thanks for your reply , what about the rocket wide custom a bit shorter and wider thanks Steve.
Stephen Chard
Stephen Chard - 2 years ago
@Catch the Wave Yes my thinking to thanks for the reply mybe the rocket wide .
Catch the Wave
Catch the Wave - 2 years ago
Stephen I have the same issue I weigh about the same, and from my experience these epoxy boards are going to be way too floaty if its not in your normal volume - for me its around 24.5 - 25.5 liters - if I go beyond that, the epoxy board starts to feel like a boat under my feet with the extra buoyancy.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Stephen Chard it might be ok... I would hate to see you get it and it feel way to big.
Andre Pecoraro
Andre Pecoraro - 2 years ago
great job!!
Kwami p
Kwami p - 2 years ago
My $0.02 from a fellow string bean. 6'3 and 170lbs. I usually ride about a 5'6 fish but 32ish volume for Florida waves 2' to head high. As he mentioned in the video, I find if I "don't muscle it", a fish with a little more volume than my shortboard definitely Smooths out my surfing. I also find a read the wave better.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Clement Dgt I hear the Lib Tech is super durable but I have not ridden one yet. I think the HE Tech will have better flex and maybe a little more foot wells compared to the Lib Tech.
Clement Dgt
Clement Dgt - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews thanks a lot for your awnser! And in term of durability, I was wondering how is the construction compare to the libtech. Is it less durable, similar or more durable? Thanks
Clement Dgt
Clement Dgt - 2 years ago
@Surf n Show Reviews I'm riding a 6'0 libtech bowl 28,8cl in every day conditions 1-6 foot waves most of the time.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Clement Dgt I think you should be around 30 liters but since your 6’2” maybe 5’5” would be better
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Clement Dgt What Liters do you ride on your small performance boards?
john doe
john doe - 2 years ago
nice flow
J G
J G - 2 years ago
Hey ! Thanks for the review. For me the best tests in the game...
How would u compare the seaside to the puddle fish (hability in 1-4ft weak waves, paddling, carving, speed) ?
And do u think this one would work with extra foam (some of those lil fat board start to be too bulky with too much volume)? I'm an intermediate 172lbs surfer, and i think 35L would be ok for me (in small waves) as i surf my hypto kripto in 33L and classic shortboard around 32 ?

Oh and last but not least ! Does lengh affect the hability to paddle and catch wave : ie : a 35l 5'8 will catch waves and paddle more easily than a 32L 6'2 (same kind of outline) ?

Well that may be a lot of question, but cheers from France anyway !
J G
J G - 2 years ago
This is why I love this show so much... You really are able too explain tech stuff so clearly ! Thanks again.@Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
J G The length of board does not matter with catching waves. It’s all about volume.,,, how the foam is distributed and the rocker on a board. Rocker creates drag which slows you down when paddling so these little boards are really fast because they are pretty flat. When the waves get bigger, or hollow then you will need that rocker to surf hollow waves good.

The foam distribution on your HK is somewhat similar to the Seaside. Use the liters of your HK to be a guide on purchasing your new Seaside.
J G
J G - 2 years ago
Thanks for your answer !
Because of the outline and the fish tail, the seaside should catch waves more easily than the HK event if it's 3inches smaller for the same volume ? @Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
J G This Seaside out out performs the PF and has a better wave range.

I think you should go with similar volume as your HK.
Ryan Dewitt
Ryan Dewitt - 2 years ago
This guy is good. Always great and informative reviews
Tomek Kosalka
Tomek Kosalka - 2 years ago
Phenomenal review, you made me so stoked on this Seaside! Is it a favorite for 2018 for you, and if so where does it rank if you could only buy one board?
Tomek Kosalka
Tomek Kosalka - 2 years ago
L Dupree I’m 6’1” and 185 and ride on a 5’10”. Stick to your sweet spot when it comes to volume. I would assume you probably should be on a 5’6” to 5’8” given your size
L Dupree
L Dupree - 2 years ago
@Tomek Kosalka What dimensions did you get? I'm 5"9" 165 and the Channel Islands website says I should get a 5'0" in the NB 2 which can't be right....
Tomek Kosalka
Tomek Kosalka - 2 years ago
L Dupree I actually ended up getting both the NeckBeard 2 as well as Rocket Wide. The NB2 is the most versatile board and covers me on most days. When it’s a little smaller the rocket wide is super fun but not the best in descent surf. I think I’ll still get a seaside for those really small and soft summer days.
L Dupree
L Dupree - 2 years ago
@Tomek Kosalka did you end up getting the Seaside? Would love to hear your input. I don't have the money to have a big quiver so just looking for a board that will suit me in SoCal/LA area
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Tomek Kosalka If I could only buy 1 board i would probably buy a Daily Driver like the NB2 or Seaside. All the boards I tested for 2018 these two boards were the most fun for me in 1-6’ surf. The NB2 more on the performance side and the Seaside.... Fish with a performance feel..., both boards make for fun 1 board quivers.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Tomek Kosalka Yes it’s a Favorite of mine for 2018. You can always go to www.surfnshow.com and see what my favorites are for 2018.

This board would fit in a 6 board quiver for me that I reviewed for 2018. I would have 1- Fish type board “Seaside” for fun 1-4” days, 2-Small Wave Performance boards “Rocket Wide & Gremlin” 1-Daily Driver NB2, 1- HPSB “Gamma or Monsta 8, 1- mini step up “Ghost.”
The BenSman
The BenSman - 2 years ago
Must-get-one-immediately!
george norcott
george norcott - 2 years ago
love these reviews. have you had any experience with shapes from Luke young or Celtic connections? from the UK
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
george norcott Stoked you like our show!! No I have not... we are focused on the bigger board brands at this time. It will help out the surf community on a bigger scale.
Matias Mandagaran
Matias Mandagaran - 2 years ago
Love tbe review Noel! Great work!
What about sizes?
I am similar to you (height and weight) and surf with a 5’9 go fish, but think it’quit big and could be a 5’7.
I Was thinking to get a 5’5 seaside. What do you think?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Matias Mandagaran How much do you weigh and skill level please?
Miguel Marquina
Miguel Marquina - 2 years ago
The board looked fun, I took the Helium Gamma out today because what I am looking for is a board like the Rocket Wide that’s ideal in 3’ to 4’ range, Those days like it has been kind of sluggish out the gates so I ordered the untitled because of the versatility that I get through a swallow tail, I’ll let you know how it goes soon. Cheers
Blade Runner
Blade Runner - 2 years ago
Great review Noel, it's always a real pleasure to see your Show. The way you go deep with the sequence of waves analysis is really a plus. great review. as always Noel, you are the best. Cheers !
Richard Selby
Richard Selby - 2 years ago
How did you find it for volume, being eps helium construction, did it feel like 26.5 litres? Love your reviews
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Richard Selby It felt more 27 liters but it’s so so short I could still turn it quick and sink the rails.
Jason Hines
Jason Hines - 2 years ago
Killing those lefts! Your backhand game might just be stronger than your forehand! Looks like this board has nice flow and squirtiness!
Kaspar Torp
Kaspar Torp - 2 years ago
Amazing review as always
Louis Anthony
Louis Anthony - 2 years ago
Never clicked on a YouTube video so quick. Loves these reviews
Lucas Herrero
Lucas Herrero - 2 years ago
Thank you Noel, great review!
Jayson Websther
Jayson Websther - 2 years ago
thanks Noel for the review, its definitely the best board for small 1-6ft waves.. Hope Santa will drop this quiver for this christmas
Sergio De Anda
Sergio De Anda - 2 years ago
I like this board, I wish it was a thruster tho.
Great review Noel.
Sergio De Anda
Sergio De Anda - 2 years ago
True, I'll give this one a try.
Thanks for the review.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Sergio De Anda What makes it really fun is that it’s something different. Thrusters are SICK but venture out and increase you fun bro. Cheers
Waller Whittemore
Waller Whittemore - 2 years ago
Great review as always man! I dont buy a new board until I see one of your reviews on it! I'll see yall next summer at lowers
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Waller Whittemore Cheers
Thomas V.
Thomas V. - 2 years ago
Amazing review!! Thank you!!
Dthraco
Dthraco - 2 years ago
As always, great review from a great surfer!
Ben Peterson
Ben Peterson - 2 years ago
Great review!

I bet the Futures AMT set would be great with this board!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Ben Peterson Might be too upright and loose.... but give it a try.
Ricardo Laranjeira
Ricardo Laranjeira - 2 years ago
Wow, thank you Noel once again. Trully expert and wise. Just a quick question for you. As an everyday board for one to four foot waves, sometimes mushy and windy, sometimes clean would you rather go with a seaside or the CI rocket wide? I had a go fish but sold it right away cause i just wasn`t dialing with it! Seeing you surf with the seaside after seeing you surf with the go fish you can tell the diference between boards. Anyway Sea side or rocket wide? Thank you in advance and keep up with this amazing channel ;)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Ricardo Laranjeira The Seaside has a performance vibe to it and it has a bit more traction for me compared to the Go Fish and I think you will love this Seaside. You can shred on it as a Quad or Twin.

The RW is epic too and surfs more like a small wave performance Thruster. Hard to compare these two boards because they surf so different.

If you want a small wave performance Thruster then go RW, and if you want a Quad/Twin shrewd sled and mess with fins a bunch go Seaside.
Maurice Cureton
Maurice Cureton - 2 years ago
Thanks Noel. Great review. I surfed mine this weekend in about chest to head high huntington pier, on shore slop. Could not believe how well it turns in the pocket. Truly amazing how the Machado Fins work with it. I have the K3 twins and the EN Fins. Which do you think would work better as a twin? The only twin I’ve ever ridden is the GoFish
L Dupree
L Dupree - 2 years ago
Maurice, what are your dims and what size did you get?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Maurice Cureton Sick thanks for posting your experience in HB slop. I like a Twin Fin set up with a bit more rake in it because I want to tighten it up a bit. Sometimes Twin Fins can be too skatey and slide a bunch so more rake and a fin with more depth will tone it down a bit and give me more traction.

At this point I say try what you have in Twin Fins and see what you like better. Cheers
Felix Lux
Felix Lux - 2 years ago
Awesome review, loved that you tried so many fin options, thank you!
Woody Ousley
Woody Ousley - 2 years ago
Just by watching you surf you like that board
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Woody Ousley Check the Firewire website.
Woody Ousley
Woody Ousley - 2 years ago
Do you know what the largest Seaside they make I'm 6-4 200 pounds
Nelson Jr Fuentes
Nelson Jr Fuentes - 2 years ago
I really like your reviews! I was waiting this one as much as the one for the RNF RETRO! Now I know what fish I'll buy for this summer jaja regards from El Salvador!

Similar videos
for Rob Machado "Seaside" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.73

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,539 views 4 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,480 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,807 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,148 views 10 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,168 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,087 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Related videos
to Rob Machado "Seaside" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.73

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,480 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,807 views 5 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,168 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,479,087 views 3 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

What's inside a Tesla Surfboard?

32,933 likes 2,767,522 views 2 years ago

Tesla made 200 limited edition surfboards, We try to Surf it then CUT IT OPEN! This video was sponsored by LastPass....

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,614,960 views 7 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

About Rob Machado "Seaside" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.73

The "Rob Machado "Seaside" Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep.73" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!