Roberts "Star Chip' Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 60

No obligation, but if you want to support the Site and keep the reviews coming you can donate here. https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow In this episode I review the Star Chip by Roberts Surfboards. Roberts shapes me two stock 5’5” boards. One board is PU/Poly and the other board is a special EPS construction he calls RFT TDD. Both boards go great in 2-5’ surf using the large Futures Roberts Generation Thruster fin set up. The Star Chip model is fast and surfs very well in the pocket as a Thruster and I highly recommend this board for intermediate to advanced surfers. I also rode both boards with a new fin set up that Roberts calls a Twonzer. He sent me a set of medium and large to see what worked best for me. After testing both fin sizes the large worked best for me as the depth of the fins helped stabilize the board and offered more traction in my turns. Board DIMS: 5’5” x 19 1/8 x 2 3/16 Liters 25.86 My Height: 5’9” My Weight: 160lbs

Roberts "Star Chip' Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 60 sentiment_very_dissatisfied 4

Reviews 2 years ago 8,583 views

No obligation, but if you want to support the Site and keep the reviews coming you can donate here. https://www.paypal.me/surfnshow In this episode I review the Star Chip by Roberts Surfboards. Roberts shapes me two stock 5’5” boards. One board is PU/Poly and the other board is a special EPS construction he calls RFT TDD. Both boards go great in 2-5’ surf using the large Futures Roberts Generation Thruster fin set up. The Star Chip model is fast and surfs very well in the pocket as a Thruster and I highly recommend this board for intermediate to advanced surfers. I also rode both boards with a new fin set up that Roberts calls a Twonzer. He sent me a set of medium and large to see what worked best for me. After testing both fin sizes the large worked best for me as the depth of the fins helped stabilize the board and offered more traction in my turns. Board DIMS: 5’5” x 19 1/8 x 2 3/16 Liters 25.86 My Height: 5’9” My Weight: 160lbs

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Roberts "Star Chip' Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 60

vanislandsurf
vanislandsurf - 1 year ago
Have a Roberts White Diamond 2 and Black Thumb. The White Diamond 2 was great but its had it. Is this Star Chip a White Diamond 2 with an updated tail (plus the twonzer option)? The dims are exact same for a 6'2" except volume is slightly higher on Star Chip (maybe just due to different tail)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 1 year ago
vanislandsurf Not sure... I never rode the WR2. I would talk to Roberts about it.
Jody Blackwell
Jody Blackwell - 1 year ago
killer videos i just ordered a 6-2x15.5x22x16x3 with 45 liters of volume and an fcs2 5 fin setup from Jay Smith Clever surfboards for 565 including fins
Mark C
Mark C - 2 years ago
I loves this new format. Feels "live" and exciting. The music choice was lively without distracting from the review content and your surfing seems to be getting better... more flow, style and faster. Looking really good on this board!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Mark C Epic thanks for your feedback.
P R
P R - 2 years ago
Another super interesting episode - nice work! kook question - why would too much buoyancy/volume make your surfing look sluggish. Shouldn't too much volume make you go too fast rather than too slow?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
P R To much volume for me looks sluggish due to its harder to turn quickly. I find boards that are over volume for me have no pop or snap to my turns. The turns look solid and throw good spray but not fire in them.
Scuurpro
Scuurpro - 2 years ago
Robs such a good guy
leon melamed
leon melamed - 2 years ago
Use surfboard stock dimensions
Wyatt Bauer
Wyatt Bauer - 2 years ago
Review the Channel Islands high five surf tech model
Jon Salvador
Jon Salvador - 2 years ago
Thanks Noel, epic review and great insights. Interesting how you adjusted with the Twonzer and did some really good carving with that set up relatively quick all things considered. I also enjoyed the comparison on different constructions and how in this particular design / case PU felt better.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jon Salvador Cheers!!! Glad you liked this review. The Twonzer set up was starting to feel really good after I got the hang of it. Super fun review.
Vinny Pro
Vinny Pro - 2 years ago
Tell me if I’m wrong but isn’t it called a twinzer? I have a board with that fin set up and the shaper called it a twinzer.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Vinny Pro There is set up called the Twinzer but Roberts calls his a Twonzer. The fin set up is little different. Check out the Roberts website.... pretty sick. Cheers

10. comment for Roberts "Star Chip' Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 60

Noah Stone
Noah Stone - 2 years ago
Love the new format
lowercase_nate
lowercase_nate - 2 years ago
Epic surfing! Definitly need to give the twonzers a try
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
If you get a set and try them out please let me know how they go for you.
dopixes
dopixes - 2 years ago
Another great review Noel. On the subject of different fin setups, have you experimented with the s-wing fins?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
dopixes No I haven’t... sorry
Jack Reed
Jack Reed - 2 years ago
I only have one fullsuit.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Jack Reed You need a couple more. I love Wetsuits
Tomas Klimas
Tomas Klimas - 2 years ago
Hey man sweet video and great surfing! Really enjoy watching them. It would be awesome if you could try to get your hands on a FireWire moonbeam. Keep it up man!
Tomas Klimas
Tomas Klimas - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews Good to hear. My buddy says the moonbeam holds its own in bigger waves, might wanna give it a try. Anyways, loving the videos keep ripping man!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Tomas Klimas I got a Moonbeam and that review will be done soon. Just waiting for the waves to get smaller. The waves have been so good lately and I’m not sure the Moonbeam can hang in overhead surf.
Stuart Sullivan
Stuart Sullivan - 2 years ago
Best review yet mate. So much detail. Was really cool.
Cameron David
Cameron David - 2 years ago
You should do a video about a Quiet Flight board. I can give you direct contacts. I'm not affiliated with them, but I really love their boards.
Ducati Drew
Ducati Drew - 2 years ago
Cameron David Florida Boy!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
CW Rodriguez Sounds fun.... what board are you thinking?
CW Rodriguez
CW Rodriguez - 2 years ago
I'm thinking about getting a custom on my next trip to Central FL
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Cameron David I know they make good boards too. I have never ridden one but some guys I used to compete against back in the day ripped on this boards.
GeniusUnleashed
GeniusUnleashed - 2 years ago
You look off balance on all the boards, like you're stuck in molasses and are just a touch behind what your brain is saying to do. I'm comparing this to other boards you've reviewed where you just looked quicker, not necessarily faster overall.
GeniusUnleashed
GeniusUnleashed - 2 years ago
Maybe just at the 12 inch mark of the tail. I've been noticing a lot of shapers the last couple years have been thinning the tail out ust a touch too much which makes the back foot sink when putting too much weight on it. I've been adding an 1/8 inch to that point and no where else and it makes a world of difference in my riding.
mie mak
mie mak - 2 years ago
could be a bit too low volume (for you) maybe for what genius said?
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
GeniusUnleashed Ok thanks for commenting. Cheers
john doe
john doe - 2 years ago
I;d be mostly happy if I surf like you when strugling...
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
john doe Cheers bro thanks.
bodhi tree
bodhi tree - 2 years ago
S E N D I N G B U C K E T S

20. comment for Roberts "Star Chip' Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 60

ANDREW H
ANDREW H - 2 years ago
The twonzer appears to look especially good in larger waves, smoother drawn out turns without losing speed. appears to Carve/ lay on rail really well. fantastic review for a few reasons, giving the board honest go. multiple surfs, trying multiple fins, constructions, and in various waves. (For future shows, can you review traditional boards, vs. Aysm. ).
Also, for those of you thinking of getting a Roberts, I've seen Roberts surfing all the local breaks in Ventura, and he is a wonderful guy, works with a lot of great surfers, and will give you his personal time, and loves talking design and Froths over good waves. I highly recommend speaking with him, or ordering a board. And no I don't work or ride for him. by far one of the best surfer/shapers who rips for his age/size. He also makes really great Big guy shortboards. Noah Keep up the amazing reviews. Thanks for all your hard work.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
ANDREW H Epic post... thanks for sharing your thoughts. Cheers
Glenn Reggie
Glenn Reggie - 2 years ago
Another solid production & I enjoy your innovations, although, in my opinion, you rip the most when surfing the thruster configuration.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Glenn Reggie Stoked you like this review!!! Thanks for your feedback.
GO SURF
GO SURF - 2 years ago
Great Review Noel. Really like Roberts boards but you dont see many here in NZ. When you start on the Twonzer you just look too explosive for the board, your capable of laying into the turn so quick it looks like the board gets twanged away from what it's triying to do. Love that your not afraid to show that it's not easy adjusting to those fins and looks super fast and smooth by the end. The PU thruster looked really electric under your feet. Thanks for the reviews Noel really look forward to seeing them it's like the anticipation of the next Game Of Thrones episode :-)
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
GO SURF Yewww! Love the your feedback and stoked you like this episode. I agree with all of your comments. The Twonzer set up is very explosive.... cheers
Kahele Koki
Kahele Koki - 2 years ago
I love the flip nose back in the day my friend shaped a board that almost looked like an Arabian shoe with all the flip in the nose it looked nuts but the board ripped
Justin Bordwell
Justin Bordwell - 2 years ago
I want a twanzer
Truth Seeker
Truth Seeker - 2 years ago
I bet if you put some big keel fins where the larger twonzer fins are you would get a bit more traction. It seems like the big fins are too upright. I think it needs some big keels with plenty of rake. I would try those sea shepherd keels.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Sean W. Hanley Not sure the Keels would go good but the sliding stopped when I used my rails more. Just needed to work it out s little. A Nubster would work too... for surfers like me who need a training wheel.
Vj Bell
Vj Bell - 2 years ago
That's was great to watch you surf those different sessions and see the difference in the boards. It was a nice graphical way of explaining the boards different features and why they did or don't work.
EXCELLENT !!
101unz
101unz - 2 years ago
Mean video. Best yet. Those fins change the board big time. I think I liked the Pu quad twonzer whatever it's called for that board
Maurice Cureton
Maurice Cureton - 2 years ago
That board looks amazing. I’m a fan of the non traditional. While I like the wave break down section. The sound and picture quality dip a bit so it effects the over all production value. I love the board break downs that you do. I’ve gotten two boards off of your breakdowns. GoFish is my favorite thing right now. Lastly maybe record your wave breakdown later and play it over you riding the wave so the sound quality is better.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Maurice Cureton Got it thanks
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Maurice Cureton Got it thanks
Maurice Cureton
Maurice Cureton - 2 years ago
Surf n Show Reviews I meant the beach speaking parts with the mic attached to you. Thanks for all your effort. I know it’s gotta be tuff putting these together.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Maurice Cureton I think I did that at the end of the review..... glad you like this review and thanks for the feedback.
Brodie Turner
Brodie Turner - 2 years ago
Personally not liking the new format as much. I'm not ratting on the show at all, but I loved the old version of the show with the surf clips built in. Keep it up Noel!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Brodie Turner Thanks for the honest feedback!!! Cheers

30. comment for Roberts "Star Chip' Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 60

Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Charles Hawk Time to experiment and keep things exciting. Maybe talk to the folks at Roberts on a custom to mix things up a bit.
LWR
LWR - 2 years ago
That board model looks amazing, can't believe how fast you look on the Twonzer setup.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
AKS907 So fun... so much speed hard to control at times. You can never have too much speed.
Jamie Ryan
Jamie Ryan - 2 years ago
Feeling the new format. The only thing i missed in this review was what your recommended wave type and size would be for this board.
Jamie Ryan
Jamie Ryan - 2 years ago
No worries Noel. great review as always.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
James Ryan Sorry 2-6+
Hunter Davis
Hunter Davis - 2 years ago
I feel like the twonzer really polished your style. Sick episode!
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Cheers... glad you liked this episode. The Twonzer's started to feel good and they generate a ton of speed.
Shane Baird
Shane Baird - 2 years ago
Looking good Noel!
Shane Baird
Shane Baird - 2 years ago
The Roberts fin has made me want to try his boards. It was really good in honeycomb but even better in Generations.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
I really like them as a Thruster set up.... good speed and lot's of pop in my turns.
Shane Baird
Shane Baird - 2 years ago
The Roberts large Generation fin has been my favorite go to fin.
Daniel Perlaky
Daniel Perlaky - 2 years ago
Digging the more on-location format and more time spent dissecting waves and comparing the variables. I wouldn't go totally away from the board breakdown part where you go through each notable feature of the board and explain what that feature does though... the show is consistently improving so adding in more of this on-location discussion and wave breakdown to the technical walk-through of each board is a nice format update.
Surf n Show Reviews
Surf n Show Reviews - 2 years ago
Daniel Perlaky Thanks for your feedback. Noted

Similar videos
for Roberts "Star Chip' Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 60

likes views

Related videos
to Roberts "Star Chip' Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 60

likes views

About Roberts "Star Chip' Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 60

The "Roberts "Star Chip' Surfboard Review by Noel Salas Ep. 60" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!