Takayama 'In The Pink' Surfboard Review (with surfing at the end)

An in depth look at what makes the "In The Pink" so easy and fun to surf *YOU CAN SEE ME SURFING THE BOARD AT THE END OF THE REVIEW* The board I'm riding is a 9'0 x 22 7/8 x 3 (stock dims) I would consider myself an intermediate longboarder, I've been surfing for the past 8 years and riding longboards for about 3 The clips of me surfing the board were shot over a couple days back in February here in Nosara, Costa Rica I hope this gives anyone interested in this board a good idea of how it works and who it will work well for. If you have any questions on this board or if you like the review please leave a comment below!

Takayama 'In The Pink' Surfboard Review (with surfing at the end) sentiment_very_dissatisfied 0

Reviews 3 years ago 10,551 views

An in depth look at what makes the "In The Pink" so easy and fun to surf *YOU CAN SEE ME SURFING THE BOARD AT THE END OF THE REVIEW* The board I'm riding is a 9'0 x 22 7/8 x 3 (stock dims) I would consider myself an intermediate longboarder, I've been surfing for the past 8 years and riding longboards for about 3 The clips of me surfing the board were shot over a couple days back in February here in Nosara, Costa Rica I hope this gives anyone interested in this board a good idea of how it works and who it will work well for. If you have any questions on this board or if you like the review please leave a comment below!

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Takayama 'In The Pink' Surfboard Review (with surfing at the end)

Sacha Albarda
Sacha Albarda - 1 year ago
More more more!
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 1 year ago
Got a few in the works
D Douv
D Douv - 2 years ago
hey Harrison , nice review! have you test with different single fin set up? i have a 9,6 ITP. single fin.....not sure if i should go with flex / all around fin like greenough 4a or more pivot like the Tw or mtp by tak......
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 2 years ago
Hey man, yes I have actually tried quite a few fins in this board and have found the FCS Connect 9" to be my favorite. Fins with a lot of rake can make the board feel a little slow to turn and more upright fins (i.e. pivot fins) can make the board a little too squirrely for my liking. Something in the middle seems to suit the board best for all around surfing (turns and nose riding) which is kind of in line with the board's design since it is meant to do both. If you are planning to turn the board aggressively and hard off the tail, I would recommend trying it with a 7" raked fin with two small side bites for more hold and control when putting the board on rail.
Michael Duskus
Michael Duskus - 2 years ago
Well done, Harrison. I hope you’ll continue to review longboards and maybe mid-lengths, single fins and fish boards; this is missing from current review offerings. I also enjoy listening to the Surf Simply podcast.
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 2 years ago
Thanks for the positive feedback, Mike! I plan to review the Bing Collector as soon as I can get some footage riding it, and I have a few others in the works... stay tuned!
Mark Pantaleo
Mark Pantaleo - 2 years ago
Great video! I've learned more from your video than everything I've researched for a couple weeks. I'm sold. I'm going to buy a Takayama In the Pink longboard. A little history. I've been surfing short boards on Oahu, South Shore since 1975. Now I live in WA state and switched to longboard due to my age. I have 2 years of longboard experience but I'm still learning. I've been out of the water for 4 years because of a back injury. I'm feeling better now and getting back in the water and want a new longboard. My questions are: I need to know the right length of board for my weight, height (5'6", 174 lbs.) and for the type of wave (mostly mushy but in some spots it can get steep and hollow). I would like to do some turns without sacrificing riding the nose. Maybe 3" thick for buoyancy?? I would very much appreciate your input. Thanks for your time and sharing your knowledge. Mahalo Bruddah! Aloha, Mark
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 2 years ago
Thanks, Mark! I apologize for the late reply. Rather than dialing in a specific length based on weight, I would say, consider the type of maneuvers you are aiming to do on the board. In other words, if you are more interested in performance surfing (i.e. roundhouse cutbacks and off the top surfing) then I would go shorter (I think 9'0 would do the trick depending on how comfortable you are catching waves (less comfortable/confident, go bigger... it doesn't matter what the board can do if we are not catching waves:). With a longer board (especially one with a wide nose like the ITP), you will have more swing weight to deal with through aggressive turns. On the other hand, if you are more interested in walking the board and nose riding, more rail will be beneficial and I would say go at least 9'6. The heavier you are, the more rail you want engaged in the wave to support your weight on the nose. If you are looking to do both, I would say 9'4 would be a good length. 3" thick is a great baseline for anything above 9'2 and I don't think you'd want to go thicker than that even up to 9'6. Hope that helps and let me know how the board goes for you!
Hugo M
Hugo M - 2 years ago
Great review! Could you tell me your size and weight, just to have some extra info, i'm beetwen buyind the 9' or the 9'3. I'm 6 foot tall 186lbs.

Regards and keep on! Great work!
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 2 years ago
Hey man, thanks for the feedback!

I am 5'7 and about 135lbs. If I was you, I'd go 9'3 just to have a little bit more rail in the water for stability when nose riding.
hennnnerz
hennnnerz - 2 years ago
Awesome review. Why is this board not recommended for an advance surfer? Is it because they would want either a nose rider or a performance board and not a hybrid of the two? What length do you think best for me, a 69kg 5'8" with strong legs surfing a 2-5ft beachbreak? 9?
hennnnerz
hennnnerz - 2 years ago
Thanks for this awesome answer, I've bought a mid-price longboard to practice my nose riding on before stepping up to a better board. Hopefully I can try some more of the aforementioned boards before buying too! Thanks again.
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 2 years ago
Hey, thank you! This board could definitely suit an advanced surfer. But you're right, generally at that level surfers tend to gravitate toward either end of the spectrum with their equipment, either riding boards more geared toward high performance long boarding or boards more geared toward nose riding. This board kind of falls right in the middle. The more extreme you get toward either end of that spectrum, generally the more technical the equipment becomes to surf. But if you have the skills and technique, you can really benefit from the nuances in those designs (i.e. the Takayama Model T).

As far as size, I would say anything from 9'0-9'4 for a board that will both nose ride and maneuver well. I've seen smaller and smaller versions of this board at Icons of Surf in San Clemente (as small at 7'6). It all depends on how you want to surf the board. If you want to surf the board heavy on the tail and do big swooping turns but still ride to nose a bit, something smaller is better. If you are more interested in spending time on the nose and are not as concerned with big cutbacks or off the top maneuvers, I would say go for the longer rail line in the 9'4+ range. With this board, shorter will be more maneuverable & longer will generally be better for nose riding.
Ming-Chun Hsueh
Ming-Chun Hsueh - 2 years ago
Super informative, a well done video.
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 2 years ago
Thank you!
Rui Cabral
Rui Cabral - 3 years ago
Aloha! Nice review! What "ITP" size do you recommend for a 189 pound guy?
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 3 years ago
Thanks man, I'm stoked you liked it! At that size, I would say a 9'6-10'0 should do the trick. I have a friend who is about that size and rides a 10'0 and loves it. However, it does depend on how you want to surf the board. If you are looking for for more trim and glide, particularly in smaller surf, I would go longer (i.e. 10'). If you want the board to perform in bigger, more powerful surf or you are more interested in turning and looking to do quicker changes of direction (i.e. performance long boarding), I would recommend something closer to 9'6. You don't want to go too long on a board that you plan to turn a lot because the longer the board is, the more extreme the effect of "swing weight" becomes, making it much more difficult to maneuver the board through quick turns.
If you are looking for something that trims and nose rides well but are not necessarily as concerned with quick/aggressive turns (i.e. performance long boarding), then I would go 10' because the added foam up front and extra rail line will really help with paddling, as well as speed and stability down the line.
Also, if you are surfing more of a lined up, point break style wave, you can get away with a bigger board and really use it to your benefit. If you are planning to surf the board at a beach break primarily, I would say shorter would be better. But 9'6 to 10'0 would put you in the right volume category. Hope that helps!
Phillip Dixon Jr
Phillip Dixon Jr - 3 years ago
Best board review I've seen on YouTube.
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 3 years ago
Thanks man, I'm stoked you like it!

10. comment for Takayama 'In The Pink' Surfboard Review (with surfing at the end)

Jack Kerns
Jack Kerns - 3 years ago
Super informative, a well done video. I was surfing Chun's on the north shore a couple days ago, and a lady told me In the Pink is a go to board for a lot of people. Thanks to your video, I now know why. Have you done a review of Stewart's Redline 11 (one more than 10). I would be interested in your thoughts. Again, mahalo!
- gosurfinghawaii
- gosurfinghawaii - 2 years ago
I had a 9'3 ITP surftech. Great noserider but tough on steep wave takeoffs if too big like Haliewa for me at 185 lbs. and my daughter at 115 lbs. I had a Redline 11 but for overall the Stewart CMP worked better for me
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 3 years ago
Wow, thanks man! I had not heard of the Redline 11 until you mentioned it but I just did some digging on the internet to see what I could find and it looks like a really cool board.
It seems like the most unique characteristic of that board, that would set it apart from most other longboards I have seen or ridden would be the bottom contours.

Many longboards will be flat or even convex through the back 2/3s, with a slight concave through the nose to generate lift and stability when a surfer is on the nose. Since longboards have so much surface area to capture and redirect the flow of water up the wave face (which is where you get your speed from when trimming down the line) there is no real need to add concave to the middle or back half of the board (a concave bottom like you'd find on most shortboards will help ensure that any water captured by the bottom of your board will be redirected out the tail versus off toward the rails, generating more down the line speed). However, the Redline 11 carries the concave all the way from the nose back past the mid point. This should help generate even more lift and stability when up on the nose. The downside of too much concave is that it often makes a board feel "sticky" because it can make the board track (stay stuck traveling in one direction) and be difficult to turn and tip rail to rail. It seems like Stewarts solution to that is the aggressive V off the tail to help with controlling the board off the tail.

It looks like the outline is quite curvy, which would also make it more maneuverable, yet potentially less stable when on the nose. The aggressively pulled in tail will definitely free up the board and give it more of a performance longboard feel. Yet you do still have quite a bit of foam and surface area up front to help with paddling and stability on the nose (also aided by the deep concave).

The rails sound closer to those of a performance longboard and so may like a bit steeper of a wave to really trim and get speed going down the line, but will be easier to break free from the wave in order to turn (more maneuverable).

Overall, I would say this could be considered a hybrid between a nose rider and a performance longboard much like the In The Pink. But whereas the In The Pink could be considered more heavily a nose rider than a performance longboard, I would say this board looks like more of a 50/50 split. Looks like a super fun board, I'd love to try one some day!
Terrence Kennedy
Terrence Kennedy - 3 years ago
How does this board compare to the Infinity Rad noserider? Thanks Great review!!
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 3 years ago
Hey Terrence, thanks for the positive feedback! I just looked up the RNR, and based on what I can tell from the description, it sounds very similar in concept to the In The Pink--a nose rider first, performance longboard second--something that will transition rail-to-rail more smoothly than say a traditional nose rider would and therefore be more maneuverable. It sounds like they have designed the rails to be more responsive and easier to break free from the wave face for quicker turns, and the outline is not as hyper parallel as a strictly nose rider would be. What that will do is allow the board to surf on rail more smoothly through turns and allow for smoother, arcing turns on the open face, rather than the quick/snappy pivoting changes of direction that you would expect from a straight up nose rider with more parallel rails and an extreme hip on the tail.

It is hard for me to say much more than that without actually having seen the board in person or ridden it myself. But based on the description of the board and the video of Ryan Engle surfing the board (on the Infinity website), it looks like it delivers on its promises. You can see how the board carries smoothly through turns and he is able to hold the board on rail through cutbacks rather than quickly pivoting, stalling, and getting to the nose. This is more typical of the type of surfing you would see on the In The Pink which has many of the same characteristics.

So, ultimately, they look to be very similar in concept, basically a nose rider that can also be surfed off the tail, something you would want for more of a beach break style wave where you need to maneuver the board quickly as the wave changes, or for a point or reef where you also want the board to be able to surf on rail through turns, or if you are just learning to nose ride and you want something that is a little more forgiving and user-friendly than a strictly nose riding model would be (classic nose riders can be difficult to surf if you are less experienced). Anyway, I hope that helps! *Also, if you live in the OC area, I'm pretty sure Infinity does demo days at Doheny, so maybe you can try one out before you buy it. Let us know how it works if you end up trying one out!
warmachine1770
warmachine1770 - 3 years ago
Good job do another review.
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 3 years ago
Thanks man! Coming soon...
Greg Reed
Greg Reed - 3 years ago
A very good explanatory of the logistics and capabilities of this model . I like the way you broke down the rear third and forward two thirds and went on explaining what each characteristic does your a top dude cheers
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 3 years ago
Wow, thanks for the feedback man! I'm stoked you liked it!
JBoardOnly
JBoardOnly - 3 years ago
Great review, very thorough and technical. Mahalo
Harrison Abry
Harrison Abry - 3 years ago
Thanks man, glad you like it!
Lester Yupingkun
Lester Yupingkun - 3 years ago
Got the same board after researching for over 2 months and having close to zero surfing experience; been surfing my ITP for 2 years now and I absolutely LOVE it. Can't recommend the board enough either.
Ron Phipps
Ron Phipps - 3 years ago
Excellent review man! Loved learning about why this board does what it does. Thanks for the recommendation, really enjoying this board on the Oregon mushy beach breaks. Killer moves as well, providing additional inspiration to improve. The videography had a nice vibe. Well done, look forward to the next one.
Olivia Abry
Olivia Abry - 3 years ago
Awesome review! Really thorough and detailed explanation of the board. Also enjoyed the guest appearances by the two little furry guys
Tommy Potterton
Tommy Potterton - 3 years ago
Great attention to detail!
Megan Barnett
Megan Barnett - 3 years ago
Love this review! Really thorough. This guy is super cute too!

20. comment for Takayama 'In The Pink' Surfboard Review (with surfing at the end)

charles abry
charles abry - 3 years ago
Sick review covering the whole board and sick nose riding full package
Benjamin Barnett
Benjamin Barnett - 3 years ago
Best board review I've seen yet! This dude rips!

Similar videos
for Takayama 'In The Pink' Surfboard Review (with surfing at the end)

likes views

Related videos
to Takayama 'In The Pink' Surfboard Review (with surfing at the end)

likes views

About Takayama 'In The Pink' Surfboard Review (with surfing at the end)

The "Takayama 'In The Pink' Surfboard Review (with surfing at the end)" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!