U-Boat Classico Tungsten 50 Review

Read the written review with lots of images at: https://nibsmith.com/2015/07/26/u-boat-classico-tungsten-50-review/ Specs: U-Boat Classico Tungsten 50 ref. 7433 MOVEMENT: Automatic mechanical chronograph modified and personalized to U-Boat specifications for date display and stem position at 9 o’clock. Frequency: 28,800 vibrations per hour; 4 Hz. Power reserve 44 hours. 25 Jewels Height: 7mm. FUNCTIONS: Hours, minutes, chronograph, running seconds at 3, 12hr counter at 12, 30 minute counter at 6. Date window at 9 o’clock. CASE: Stainless steel 316L, satin hand finish, distinguishing crown on left side, with a special protective device (protected as a Trade Mark). Diameter 50 and 45 mm. Bezel ring in polished tungsten, Serial number engrabed on a small plate fixed on the side of the case. BACK: "U" shaped exhibition window made from sapphire crystal, sealed with 8 external screws. DIAL: Beige or black. Arabic numerals, black or beige hands and markers, treated with superluminova. CRYSTAL: Sapphire, scratchproof and anti-reflective blue coating. WATER RESISTANCE: 100 mt, 10 ATM STRAP: Hand made and hand finished calf dark brown leather, stainless steel plate, deployante buckle. Width 23/22 for 50 mm diameter, and 20/20 for 45 mm diameter. MSRP: $5700 Purchase at Eye Couture: http://eyecouture.3dcartstores.com/U-Boat-Watch-7433-Classico-Tungsteno-CAS2-50mm_p_310.html Intro Music: "Crusade" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

U-Boat Classico Tungsten 50 Review sentiment_very_dissatisfied 18

Reviews 5 years ago 22,061 views

Read the written review with lots of images at: https://nibsmith.com/2015/07/26/u-boat-classico-tungsten-50-review/ Specs: U-Boat Classico Tungsten 50 ref. 7433 MOVEMENT: Automatic mechanical chronograph modified and personalized to U-Boat specifications for date display and stem position at 9 o’clock. Frequency: 28,800 vibrations per hour; 4 Hz. Power reserve 44 hours. 25 Jewels Height: 7mm. FUNCTIONS: Hours, minutes, chronograph, running seconds at 3, 12hr counter at 12, 30 minute counter at 6. Date window at 9 o’clock. CASE: Stainless steel 316L, satin hand finish, distinguishing crown on left side, with a special protective device (protected as a Trade Mark). Diameter 50 and 45 mm. Bezel ring in polished tungsten, Serial number engrabed on a small plate fixed on the side of the case. BACK: "U" shaped exhibition window made from sapphire crystal, sealed with 8 external screws. DIAL: Beige or black. Arabic numerals, black or beige hands and markers, treated with superluminova. CRYSTAL: Sapphire, scratchproof and anti-reflective blue coating. WATER RESISTANCE: 100 mt, 10 ATM STRAP: Hand made and hand finished calf dark brown leather, stainless steel plate, deployante buckle. Width 23/22 for 50 mm diameter, and 20/20 for 45 mm diameter. MSRP: $5700 Purchase at Eye Couture: http://eyecouture.3dcartstores.com/U-Boat-Watch-7433-Classico-Tungsteno-CAS2-50mm_p_310.html Intro Music: "Crusade" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for U-Boat Classico Tungsten 50 Review

Straight from the inkwell
Straight from the inkwell - 1 year ago
that is quite a chonker
Kobold 88
Kobold 88 - 1 year ago
My honest opinion about my favourite watch-brand (warning: Love-and-hate-relationship): I have the 7249 for at work and the 7120 for casual wear... and the size is a problem when working in a physically involved job. They are massive... I mean "dining table size" is pretty accurate here. They don't just catch the eye of others walking into me... they also get caught everywhere... work-clothings, Tool-bags, hand-rails, door-handles. Sadly these two models were not available in smaller than 53mm. The weight of these watches is not a problem really.. also they get sexier with age (probably the only watch-brand where that applies to)... having a scruff or tiny chip makes them look even more ship-wreck. It's almost a thing of tradition to purposely bang your U-Boat into things (to me at least). Wearing a long-sleeve or having a jacket sleeve bud against it, with a watch of that size, is a bit disturbing to look at... I mean... I love them both... but they are really for "T-Shirt and no work"-scenarios... for folks that wanna express that they are a bit more on the rougher side of things, still standing on solid ground. Yeah..
David Zavelion
David Zavelion - 1 year ago
love the look of the watch not a fan of some of the internal pieces looking like chewed like they didnt care to finish it right..
Andromeda Spectrum
Andromeda Spectrum - 1 year ago
5700 for a Valjoux 7750? You might as well get an El Primero or a Speedmaster.
Kristopher Cantu
Kristopher Cantu - 2 years ago
Possibly the sexiest watches made, fucking gorgeous!!
suckgames
suckgames - 2 years ago
Such a piece of shit.
Enter A Life
Enter A Life - 2 years ago
This is stupid. No Watch geek street cred here. You could have gotten a Tudor Black Bay. This is big and gaudy,
ajussiwannabe
ajussiwannabe - 2 years ago
Nice review but you lost me when you said "whether I'm out for a nice dinner in a suit..." at 6:23 mark. Unless you wear a large potato sack for your suit jacket, that watch won't fit under a fitted suit and dress shirt sleeve.
The Nibsmith
The Nibsmith - 2 years ago
ajussiwannabe I never said it would fit under a dress shirt sleeve, but it easily fits under the sleeve of every suit jacket I own. I can’t imagine wearing a suit so tight that this wouldn’t fit under the sleeve. I want to be comfortable, not strangled, but to each their own.
John Matthias
John Matthias - 2 years ago
Interesting. It's the only watch I wear to coordinate attacks on shipping convoys in the north Atlantic.

10. comment for U-Boat Classico Tungsten 50 Review

John B
John B - 2 years ago
Butt ugly.
Stephan Cardinaels
Stephan Cardinaels - 2 years ago
Great video! I had the previous 53mm all steel watch, I sold it and now I'm really missing it! I love these watches, they are big and remarkable. I also made a review on it but not as cinematic as yours ;)
The Nibsmith
The Nibsmith - 2 years ago
Thanks. The all steel version is really nice too!
Giuseppe Capilli
Giuseppe Capilli - 3 years ago
What a piece of crap. The equivalent of macaroni & cheese in the watch industry. I'm Italian, we do nice shoes and clothing, forget about watches.
Vivek T.
Vivek T. - 3 years ago
is that really a German SuBmarine's or say U boat's Watches used in by Sub's Commanders ?
Noggsy joggsy watches
Noggsy joggsy watches - 3 years ago
This is a lot of watch...too much watch
wady nicudemos
wady nicudemos - 3 years ago
thx bro, you helped me
Steliano Al-Rashad
Steliano Al-Rashad - 3 years ago
Left hook , that's a rarity in itself but the overall watch is beautifully made everything simple yet thought through well . 10/10 gets my vote
edwin noreman
edwin noreman - 4 years ago
brilliant craftsmanship there! but i really don't like the crown being on the left side! that would mean i have to remove it just to do some adjustments . it would work well for a left handed person strapping it on the right arm
edwin noreman
edwin noreman - 4 years ago
indeed! that can stop one from appreciating such good mechanics! you should do more watch reviews ! that was professional!
MrFrostburner
MrFrostburner - 4 years ago
I don't know what any of this means... Why am I watching this?
Tolik Rayevskiy
Tolik Rayevskiy - 4 years ago
were you wearing adidas superstar G2's????

20. comment for U-Boat Classico Tungsten 50 Review

OMG JEZUS
OMG JEZUS - 4 years ago
So....that's it?
Or what? No more videos?
OMG JEZUS
OMG JEZUS - 4 years ago
+The Nibsmith Really sad we will miss you
The Nibsmith
The Nibsmith - 4 years ago
Pretty much. Just don't have time for this stuff anymore.
Helen Ashbrook
Helen Ashbrook - 4 years ago
hello! I am a high schooler and am very interested in calligraphy and inking. I would really like a good pen the isn't too expensive and friendly to beginners. I know this might be a hard claim to match, but does anyone have good ideas for a first pen? Thanks!
Alpha Garci
Alpha Garci - 4 years ago
+Loopis lazy pee no problem, just ask if you need any more help
Helen Ashbrook
Helen Ashbrook - 4 years ago
yes, it is, and thanks!
Alpha Garci
Alpha Garci - 4 years ago
If you are into calligraphy, I really won't recommend fountain pens because they are much more expensive than dip pens. Dip pens, straight or oblique are best for calligraphy. I recommend you to find which style of calligraphy, be it Blackletter, Modern, Italic, Roman, Copperplate, Spencerian, etc, and really research it. You should also get an instructional manual to learn calligraphy. If you need anything else, just ask :). Also is that Lapis Lazuli?
capjiekia
capjiekia - 5 years ago
military style. use in right hand
Grandkappa
Grandkappa - 5 years ago
Great review. If you think the 50 mm gets attention, imagine the love I get with the Classico CAS 53. I enjoy the comment I receive however not as much as I love wearing it for its workmanship and unique qualities. U-Boats are not for the limp wristed:). Real mans watch!
RG H
RG H - 5 years ago
Which pen is on your desk in this video? I like the aqua blue color.
Kitty Ket
Kitty Ket - 5 years ago
verry well put together video and commentary. I was a big fan of uboat watches way back in years. I had the automatic classico 45mm. Imo it had some minor design problems, some of them seem to be improved with there new models. Overal it is a good looking watch but there are some issues when it comes to uboat watches. In the end they dont wear comfortable due to size and weight even the 45mm models. Second problem is the price which is ridiculous. You could have bought a rolex in this price range which makes this watch look like a joke. They have bad grey market price, on a piece like this you will get 2500 tops. There not much people out there interested in buying these watches. Also there huge varaiety in collection makes your model harder to sell. So if you eve decide to sell it, you are in some serious pain. And i think there quality control should be much better mine had couple scratches straight out of box and if looked careful enough i could see the hands not being perfectly straight. Fun watches to look at but no fun to wear.
Boss Del Guapo
Boss Del Guapo - 5 years ago
Its lovely, although I would never wear one, as a very lean 5, 10 guy, even 42mm look oversize in my wrist, I'll stick with my 41.5mm omega seamaster and my 40mm breitling
Boss Del Guapo
Boss Del Guapo - 5 years ago
+Nibsmith thank you sir, Im a great fan of your channel and penmanship, and it's nice to see you've finally been bitten by the watch bug, specially now that you can make so lovely reviews of watches as you do with pens
Raymund Flores
Raymund Flores - 5 years ago
I really enjoyed your review, in fact I bought one for myself...a different colour though..just one question, have you noticed a gap on your deployment clasp when you wear the watch . Just asking if this normal due to the thickness of the band..thanks
iSilverback
iSilverback - 5 years ago
Very well made video PLUS my fav watch brand ... NEW subscriber is in :)
iSilverback
iSilverback - 5 years ago
@Nibsmith Will you PLEASE PLEASE make a review of the Montegrappa Brown/Carmel Business Bag of yours? 
Adam Sofineti
Adam Sofineti - 5 years ago
I really enjoyed your review, very informative, fantastic camera work and sound! I feel like I learned all I need to know about this piece. Regarding the reflections on the crystal, I wonder if the main difference between the two watches is caused by the dial colour. A dark dial will always reflect the light more than a light dial, like on the U-Boat. 

You just got a new subscriber!

30. comment for U-Boat Classico Tungsten 50 Review

Aaron Lane
Aaron Lane - 5 years ago
At that price, a Valjoux 7750 is just not justifiable considering that many watches have the same movement at less than $1000.
Aaron Lane
Aaron Lane - 5 years ago
The King of Pen appeals to me because of its simplistic and beautiful design, since the pen is so large, do you think that it will present a problem for extended periods of writing? The large nib is also a curiosity to me, does the larger nib actually provide any extra advantage to writing? Frankly the only reason that I am iffy about the King of Pen (and Nakaya's for that matter) is that they are cartridge converters, the Lamy Al-star that I have runs out of ink after about 12 pages with the converter (M nib), that presents a problem for me as I very frequently write more than that on a daily basis. As with the MB 149, the design is what keeps me from liking it, while I don't think that it is an ugly pen by any stretch of the word, I do prefer more simplistic designs like the King of Pen. 

Nakaya pens are damn beautiful, I like the more outspoken colours like the orange or purple urushi. But for the price, I could get a King of Pen which I currently believe to be better in every aspect except for the urushi finishing.
Aaron Lane
Aaron Lane - 5 years ago
@Nibsmith You're right, I believe IWC has a few pieces that use the 7750 that retail more than the U-boat, that still doesn't justify high priced generic movements (especially for IWC since they do in fact make their own movements). As for sub $1000 7750 watches, Bulova Accutron Gemini, Invicta Reserve series, and a few Victorinox models can be had for under $1000.


I wholeheartedly agree with that statement, what objects are worth are entirely in the eye of the beholder, but at $5700, there are many other watches out there that are more innovative and unique both in terms of movement and design such as the Seiko Ananta series.


Since you've replied to this comment (I honestly didn't expect you to), I'd like to ask for abit of advice, I have a history of delving into hobbies and spending way to much time and money on entry to mid range, I recently bought a Lamy Al-star and I found it nice until actually using it, the grip on the pen + the way I write makes the nib tilt slightly causing skips when I write in cursive. I was looking to purchase one high end pen that would satisfy my needs and desires in a daily pen, I write extensively throughout the day and need like a pen that isn't too heavy. And I have taken a liking to the King of Pen ebonite for its clean design and its superb nib. Are there any alternatives you could recommend? id like to make an educated decision.


Thanks for the reply.
Pinglei He
Pinglei He - 5 years ago
5700 dollars? All right I'll just stick with my Seiko.
Solidsoap
Solidsoap - 2 years ago
@TheJarOfJam and I gave you the same treatment
TheJarOfJam
TheJarOfJam - 3 years ago
The Nibsmith And I just gave you the same treatment
The Nibsmith
The Nibsmith - 4 years ago
I did.
Pinglei He
Pinglei He - 4 years ago
@The Nibsmith Did you just re-respond to a comment that I literally left a year ago?
The Nibsmith
The Nibsmith - 4 years ago
Nothing wrong with a Seiko. I have a SARB035 that's become my daily. Love that thing!
Kenny Cross
Kenny Cross - 5 years ago
A great review of a watch and brand I had never heard of before but now I definitely want one! A stunning beautiful watch and your review captures it wonderfully. Unfortunately out of my price range, but I can certainly dream.
Rob P.
Rob P. - 5 years ago
First of all, thanks for the informative review. Although the large case isn't my style, I quite like what U-Boat has done with their lineup. For the price, U Boat offers something that is incredibly unique. Unlike many brands in the sort of pseudo luxury price range, you are not buying a replica of a Rolex or some other well known brand. The movement is robust and well regarded, and while nothing special, certainly not anything to scoff at. I generally dislike pseudo luxury watches (Raymond Weil, Fortis, Baume & Mercier, exc.) because they are too close to the actual luxury brands in price to justify not saving a bit more and otherwise a cheaper option (Tisell, Ticino, even Seiko) will look and work just as well. However, U-Boat is a unique brand that can certainly stand on its own and offers something with it's own flair.
Chintan Pandya
Chintan Pandya - 5 years ago
A great review and to the point. Good fountain pens and mechanical watches kind of go hand in hand. They virtually last forever. They have something more to them than just a high price and an over the top status symbol. Your reviews, with a detailed presentation, bring out that essence of timelessness and the human touch which goes into making them. Keep up the great work!
Ahkuji
Ahkuji - 5 years ago
Nice, I didn't know you were into watches... the channels I watch would never review a watch like this one because it's "too big" but sometimes I like big, especially if I can easily read it. But I do prefer smaller watches depending on the look I'm going for. But nevertheless this watch seems to be pretty awesome!! Despite it's large case.
Derick Solano
Derick Solano - 5 years ago
great review Dan.  fountain pens and watches go great together. i would love to see more watch reviews from you on the future...thanks!
Boerje69
Boerje69 - 5 years ago
Dinnerplate special :/
Scott Anthony
Scott Anthony - 5 years ago
Great production quality on the audio and video.  Gauche watch.
James Jacocks
James Jacocks - 5 years ago
This watch is so unique and well brought off that I place it in my first tier. Strap, controls and materials are good design decisions and the look of the watch! The two inch model is a bit large for my use but the forty five is very appealing. I will check one out. Dan, as everyone has already said, your production standards are heads above most. I subscribe!
FP_Ink_Geek
FP_Ink_Geek - 5 years ago
Yessss I love the introduction of watch reviews!
flipper2gv
flipper2gv - 5 years ago
Very professional video as usual.
mrDMxtreme
mrDMxtreme - 5 years ago
Good review, keep it up!
Miguel Tomé
Miguel Tomé - 5 years ago
Dan you are becoming quite a Director! Great video, very nice watch!
BlushnBlue
BlushnBlue - 5 years ago
Beautiful
S.F- S.N.
S.F- S.N. - 5 years ago
It seems to be intended for right arm .
Sburloz
Sburloz - 3 years ago
U-Boat is a brand for LEFT HANDED ONLY
The Nibsmith
The Nibsmith - 4 years ago
Nope. It's intended to be worn on the left. Even the company's founder does so.
Warblerab 295
Warblerab 295 - 4 years ago
care to elaborate?
Philocognition
Philocognition - 5 years ago
No.
A Red Falcon
A Red Falcon - 5 years ago
Yes way too much watch for me .. but holy cow what a review ! Dan the photography and lighting in this are OUTSTANDING And with the clean mix on the audio! What a video ! Wonderful! Bokalious !
Aredfalcon
Aka (mycustompuppet)

Similar videos
for U-Boat Classico Tungsten 50 Review

Shark videos

Giant PIRATE SHARK Egg in the Pool! We Review...

20,331 likes 19,883,410 views 4 years ago

Pirate Shark has surprise toys and the HobbyKids try to get the toys! ---SUBSCRIBE for NEW Shows---...

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,391 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,693 views 4 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Shark videos

Shark attack caught on video | Shark kills...

1,353 likes 10,500,045 views 9 years ago

Follow on Twitter! http://twitter.com/PeteOnBlast Are you reading this? Awesome! Comment this down below: I ZEE YOU!

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,035 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,478,989 views 2 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Related videos
to U-Boat Classico Tungsten 50 Review

Reviews

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game...

15,483 likes 12,663,391 views 3 years ago

ROBLOX Sinking Ship! Let's Play Family Game Night with Ryan's Family Review. Ryan and Daddy try to survive through...

Reviews

POLICE PATROL BOAT - LEGO City Set 60129...

31,905 likes 11,294,693 views 4 years ago

Click here to see more LEGO videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7TV22RuQ4DasGid60aNBhpEtuqBSV6AL LEGO...

Reviews

Polly Pocket Tropical Party Yacht Boat Water...

21,991 likes 10,071,035 views 6 years ago

SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCelMeixAOTs2OQAAi9wU8-g?sub_confirmation=1 Here we go on the Polly Pocket...

Reviews

Let's Play Roblox with Ryan's Family Review!...

9,252 likes 5,478,989 views 2 years ago

Ryan and Daddy plays Build A Boat For Treasure on Roblox! We built a super cool pirate ship in the game! Check out...

Reviews

Lego City 60012 | 4x4 & Rescue Boat | Lego 3D...

482 likes 1,614,886 views 7 years ago

Save the day with the LEGO® City Coast Guard 4x4 and Diving Boat! Launch the boat, put on the diving gear and splash...

Reviews

Lego 7287 Police Boat Build Review

681 likes 1,412,047 views 8 years ago

Lego Police Boat (lego 7287) - Build Review 동영상을 재미있게 보았다면 동영상 구독버튼을...

About U-Boat Classico Tungsten 50 Review

The "U-Boat Classico Tungsten 50 Review" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!