Your First Shortboard-Learners Shortboard Review-Learn To Surf no.115 | Compare Surfboards

Shop Surfboards, Fins & Gear (keep this free resource free): AUS (Benny's Boardroom) - https://bennysboardroom.com.au/ USA (Jack's Surfboards) - http://www.avantlink.com/click.php?tt=ml&ti=21491&pw=251913 No pressure, but buying your gear through the above links helps us keep this free resource free! Thanks for your support! This is Your First Shortboard-Learners Shortboard Review-Learn To Surf. Many of you have asked what is a good first 'shortboard' to transition to after learning to surf with a mini-mal, longboard or fun board. Learning to surf is hard and I personally think you should go for something forgiving as the transition down to this style of board is challenging. Go a little longer, look for a more generous outline (slightly wider in the tip and tail), find something with little/flattish rocker and nice, full, forgiving rails. You want paddle power and stability...manoeuvres come later! This is a review of a good first shortboard / transition board when you're learning how to surf. Enjoy! Please like if you like and leave a comment with any questions. -------------- + See the Full article: stay tuned... + Subscribe to Get the Latest Reviews, Deals & Updates Direct from Benny and CompareSurfboards.com: http://bit.ly/SubscribeToFrothMail -------------- Looking for a source of real, honest, objective information about surfboards and surfing products – based on actual experience from surfers? Do you have a surfboard problem? Want to ride every shape and design of surfboard you see? Need friendly advice on what product may work for you in a world of choice? You’re not alone. There is a community of surfers here who are like you and are here to share the passion. Welcome to Benny's Boardroom: REAL surfboard reviews & chronicles of a wave obsessed surfboard addict. New surfboard reviews each week, subscribe now! If you’re a passionate surfer, are just trying to find out how a given surfboard or wetsuit will work for you or if you simply can’t resist the desire to ride every different shape and design of surfboard you see, you are in the right place. Subscribe now to get access to the latest surfboard reviews and surf hardware reviews each week. Visit http://www.CompareSurfboards.com/ for full reviews, news, articles and more! Thank you for watching, I hope you enjoy the show. HIT SUBSCRIBE NOW! All the best, Benny

Your First Shortboard-Learners Shortboard Review-Learn To Surf no.115 | Compare Surfboards sentiment_very_dissatisfied 6

Reviews 5 years ago 60,252 views

Shop Surfboards, Fins & Gear (keep this free resource free): AUS (Benny's Boardroom) - https://bennysboardroom.com.au/ USA (Jack's Surfboards) - http://www.avantlink.com/click.php?tt=ml&ti=21491&pw=251913 No pressure, but buying your gear through the above links helps us keep this free resource free! Thanks for your support! This is Your First Shortboard-Learners Shortboard Review-Learn To Surf. Many of you have asked what is a good first 'shortboard' to transition to after learning to surf with a mini-mal, longboard or fun board. Learning to surf is hard and I personally think you should go for something forgiving as the transition down to this style of board is challenging. Go a little longer, look for a more generous outline (slightly wider in the tip and tail), find something with little/flattish rocker and nice, full, forgiving rails. You want paddle power and stability...manoeuvres come later! This is a review of a good first shortboard / transition board when you're learning how to surf. Enjoy! Please like if you like and leave a comment with any questions. -------------- + See the Full article: stay tuned... + Subscribe to Get the Latest Reviews, Deals & Updates Direct from Benny and CompareSurfboards.com: http://bit.ly/SubscribeToFrothMail -------------- Looking for a source of real, honest, objective information about surfboards and surfing products – based on actual experience from surfers? Do you have a surfboard problem? Want to ride every shape and design of surfboard you see? Need friendly advice on what product may work for you in a world of choice? You’re not alone. There is a community of surfers here who are like you and are here to share the passion. Welcome to Benny's Boardroom: REAL surfboard reviews & chronicles of a wave obsessed surfboard addict. New surfboard reviews each week, subscribe now! If you’re a passionate surfer, are just trying to find out how a given surfboard or wetsuit will work for you or if you simply can’t resist the desire to ride every different shape and design of surfboard you see, you are in the right place. Subscribe now to get access to the latest surfboard reviews and surf hardware reviews each week. Visit http://www.CompareSurfboards.com/ for full reviews, news, articles and more! Thank you for watching, I hope you enjoy the show. HIT SUBSCRIBE NOW! All the best, Benny

Show More

Advertising
ADVERTISING

Most popular comments
for Your First Shortboard-Learners Shortboard Review-Learn To Surf no.115 | Compare Surfboards

kyle watts
kyle watts - 11 months ago
Nice great thank you thank you
joshmeister3000
joshmeister3000 - 1 year ago
Can you put up the dimensions please, i would sat looking at it its a 6"8 21 1/2 width 2" 1/2 thick comparing to some oldies in my quiver
Mythic Gaming47
Mythic Gaming47 - 1 year ago
Im 11 years old and 4'10 can someone please recommend what i should get.
FUSI0N X
FUSI0N X - 1 year ago
5'8 Vessel Zephyr a more fun half step up groveler, or a 5'8 lost quiver killer for more performance.
Jim McCarley
Jim McCarley - 1 year ago
That board looks bitchin.
pesci_fabio
pesci_fabio - 2 years ago
How long is that board ?
Richard Penn
Richard Penn - 2 years ago
Hi, I'm planning on buying a shortboard tommorrow, it's 6'6"-19 5/8"- 3" Noah Budroe. I'm only 5'9" tall and weigh 155lbs. Would this board be to thick for me starting on a shortboard? I'm hearing that it's harder to turn if the board is to thick but I'm hoping the thickness will give me stability for my first shoartboard. I'm coming down from a 7'8" surfboard. What do you think? Is it way too thick? Is too thick even a thing?
Richard Penn
Richard Penn - 2 years ago
On another note there is another board I was planning on getting to compare it too. It's a tokoro board that's 6'8"-18 3/4"-2 5/8". Would this one be a better fit than the Noah Budroe board? Please let me know what you think. Thanks in advance!
TigerArmy 13
TigerArmy 13 - 3 years ago
The dwart would be easier to aquire as I work around the corner from where Rusty boards are made. Not sure if any shops in SD have the JS psycho nitro
TigerArmy 13
TigerArmy 13 - 3 years ago
Ive been surfing over a year or so on a 6'7 narrow thruster not sure the volume but Im really not progressing Im looking at a rusty dwart or the psycho nitro....any advice on boards or sizes please
rybski321
rybski321 - 1 year ago
@East Coast Adventure still 8' on a foamie seems pretty radical, good for you!
East Coast Adventure
East Coast Adventure - 1 year ago
@rybski321 yes sir. Than again I've been surfing every day for 3 years and posted that comment one year ago which is 2 years in. Not just a few months. Hope things got better for you by now bud.
rybski321
rybski321 - 1 year ago
@East Coast Adventure you'd been surfing for a couple of months at that point and you were already surfing 8ft+ waves on a 7ft foamie?
East Coast Adventure
East Coast Adventure - 3 years ago
TigerArmy 13 seriously if you've been going that long and still haven't seen progress , I highly recommend a 7' gold coast foamie. They sell them on Amazon for $250ish and can take a beating. There's a 90 day warranty. I destroyed two and had two replaced. The owners really reasonable and they habe boards for when you out grow that one. I've been surfing since June. Almost every other day. I'm now surfing 8'+ green waves in the recent hurricanes and 4' swells on a pretty regular basis. It's worth checking out at least.

Good luck!
Brooke Wright
Brooke Wright - 3 years ago
What is the most stable type of tail? I am a strong paddler but hesitate on the drop because I need a feeling of stability in the tail.

10. comment for Your First Shortboard-Learners Shortboard Review-Learn To Surf no.115 | Compare Surfboards

R.T.D.G
R.T.D.G - 3 years ago
I have a fish but I want something that has more control. On the board I have now I feel like I don't not turn as quick as want to I also feel like I turn really slow and I have ben surfing it for a couple months and I'm pretty comfabtle on it should I move down or keep the board btw the dimensions are 22" 5,10"
Jack Stancil
Jack Stancil - 3 years ago
This is a great video! I just watched your video about volume. i have a 7'6 and looking to move down to a 6'10 or 6'8. The tips about shape will definitely help me choose a board. cheers
Lucas Mayfield
Lucas Mayfield - 3 years ago
great vid! I started on a 9ft long board my first time surfing then I went to the wavestorm long board from Costco and after a month of riding it I got a 6'2 pintail short board. it is skinny and I was never able to get up. I am starting to get up know after a month of trying. what would u reccomend I need so I can get up and ride a wave? I was thinking a hybrid or fish??
THEDrules
THEDrules - 2 years ago
i went from an 8 foot costco wavestorm board to a 5'10" pod mod and i was able to get up almost immediatley. i just had trouble actually catching the waves idk y, aaaand now that ive written this entire comment i realize this was posted a year ago and you probably have it figured out.
Hannah D
Hannah D - 3 years ago
I have been starting to surf a soft top (ive had injuries and problems so i had to start easy) and i have a 7'2 shortboard, im 163cm tall and weigh 65kg-ish. Have just brought a traction pad, do you think i will be able to surf this well/fast-ish?
TheSkilledKiller
TheSkilledKiller - 3 years ago
I don't see the link for the learner mini mal
lachlan dudley
lachlan dudley - 4 years ago
Great videos, just subscribed. I'm trying hard to figure out a board to get as my first beginner transition form my 8 ft minimal.
quinn arbogast
quinn arbogast - 4 years ago
Thanks for the videos man! Extremely helpful.
Le Chat
Le Chat - 4 years ago
ive been surfing for 2 years now , and i went from a 7'0 to a 6'0 .. and i can feel the difference as well
Minke Keus
Minke Keus - 4 years ago
I can surf a litle bit. I want to buy a 6"8 shortboard, is that a good one?
CompareSurfboards.com
CompareSurfboards.com - 4 years ago
+Minke Keus Hey Minke, that's a pretty broad question?
Tom McA
Tom McA - 4 years ago
I started 6'6 then went to 6'7 and also ride a 7'6 and now I just got a 5'11 haven't ridden it yet!
CompareSurfboards.com
CompareSurfboards.com - 4 years ago
+Tom McA Oooo, big jump (down) - interested to see how you go!

20. comment for Your First Shortboard-Learners Shortboard Review-Learn To Surf no.115 | Compare Surfboards

Matityah
Matityah - 4 years ago
Hi Benny, what are the dimensions of this board and what weight is the surfer?
Sébastien Poncelet
Sébastien Poncelet - 5 years ago
I'm 1m90 tall, 86kgs, and bought a 6'8" with approx 32l volume, will i be able to catch waves and learn to short board with it? I don't mind having a slow learning curve.
Sam Cartwright
Sam Cartwright - 5 years ago
that board is called a fish
DanteViscarra
DanteViscarra - 3 years ago
Fish equals swallow tail. But swallow tail doesn't always equal fish. Its not a fish. Its just a board with a swallow tail. Fish surf boards are widest towards the front of the board and narrow down towards the tail. This boards widest point is in the center. The Nose narrows out so you can drop in quicker than you could on a fish. It also has more rocker than a fish so it can handle a steeper wave. Fishes are typically ridden much shorter (even shorter than a performance short board) because they are so thick + wide and are ridden as twin fins or quads. No one buys a 6'8 fish, that's not a thing (especially not if its a thruster fin set up). This board could probably surf a much larger wave than a fish as well as the small mushy days that fish boards thrive in. I know you made this comment a year ago so you probably know better by now. I'm just clearing it up for anyone reading this currently.
Baker gx Mayfield
Baker gx Mayfield - 5 years ago
I have a 6'2 and been riding it for 2 years now. I definitely want a new board and shorter. Probably get something shorter like 5'11 or 5'10.
Zac
Zac - 5 years ago
Started surfing last fall, at the beginning of school. Got the basics down. Looking to transition to a real stable short board for east coast canada. Looking at Lost's Weekend Warrior. I am 6'2 and 160 pounds. I believe the 5'11 WW is 33 liters.
Terence Ingram
Terence Ingram - 5 years ago
Benny, I have a friend who has been in this same position. He eventually got a standard 6'4" shortboard but it was not that good. He rode that for a year or so. Not great. We both board foamy's for our kids one year for Chrissy and he ended up riding the 6'0" Grommy (http://tradewindsurf.com.au/new-surfboards/product/ocean-n-earth/ocean-earth-grommy-softboard-60). This board was awesome for him. He caught some many waves and his surfing actually improved. That experience showed me that he needed lots of volume for paddling and getting into the wave. He also hasn't learned about driving for speed so he needed a board that planes very easily and has speed straight away as soon as you stand up. He eventually got the GSI Modern Blackfish 6'4" or 6'2"(http://www.surfindustries.com/surfboards/modern_blackfish.php). Can't remember the size. But the board has the volume and properties of the softy with obvious better performance. Once I told him to put his back foot further back after take off ... he has been frothing. I also think that larger versions of Lost Rockets or Domesticated series would also work. But I have found it amusing versus me learning to surf many decades ago on discarded 5th hand boards.


http://www.surfindustries.com/surfboards/modern_blackfish.php
Surfdocsteve
Surfdocsteve - 5 years ago
My son recently made this transition. He went from a 7' 6" Stewart to a 5'9" Average Joe. The width and float of the Average Joe was amazing. He was able to stand on it immediately and has progressed down in size to a 5'5" version of it with in a few months. The great thing about such a small wide board is that it is stable but still has a lot less nose to deal with and also can be duct dove within reason. I would highly recommend a wider shorter version board like the average joe to anyone making this transition.
Lucia Seacreature
Lucia Seacreature - 2 years ago
it's easier when youre a kid and your nervous system is still developing... however i also started on a 7'4 Bill Stewart fun board (the egg shaped one not the big round nose thick board) then to a 6'4 Stewart Hybrid fish (which i sold) to a 5'10 Happy Shovel to 5'5 Hypto Krypto... etc. but i still struggle now and then esp with soft beach breaks common here in Southern Cali
ruben tinkel
ruben tinkel - 2 years ago
i just started surfing and bought myself a 5'9 average joe, your comment gives me more confidence i got the right board ;p ships in 1 week #cantwait
SerbSimulator
SerbSimulator - 2 years ago
This was great, I have been researching "start surfing at 50" for a while now, and I think this has helped. Have you heard people talk about - Feyvid Surfers Semitist - (search on google ) ? Ive heard some incredible things about it and my neighbour got cool results with it.
Ňøtøriü
Ňøtøriü - 3 years ago
Surfdocsteve fish?
CompareSurfboards.com
CompareSurfboards.com - 5 years ago
@Surfdocsteve Cool Surfdocsteve, great perspective - this will be really helpful for anyone else looking to transition down to that style of board!
James Groutsis
James Groutsis - 5 years ago
Any board suggestions for a 15 year old at 92kg looking to step down to a board like this?
Surfdocsteve
Surfdocsteve - 5 years ago
Yeah, Look on Craigs list for a Average Joe by Al Merrick. I see the larger versions of the board for sale all the time here is So Cal. He would need a 5'11" or bigger to start and then work his way down. Just resell the board each time he needs to move down. Cheaper but just takes a bit of effort to find the board.

Similar videos
for Your First Shortboard-Learners Shortboard Review-Learn To Surf no.115 | Compare Surfboards

Shark videos

The Whale Shark Is a Small Fry Compared to...

23,284 likes 4,005,135 views 5 years ago

The whale shark is the largest fish on the planet today, and Jeremy Wade swims alongside one of these beautiful...

Surf

Amazing New Flying Surfboards Can Fly Over Water.

11,333 likes 2,617,311 views 3 years ago

▁ ▂ ▃ ▄ ▅ ▆ ▇ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂ ▁ EYETECH ▁ ▂ ▃ ▄ ▅ ▆ ▇ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂ ▁ Best electric...

Surf

Surfing Lessons: How to Pop Up on a Shortboard

3,605 likes 579,861 views 6 years ago

Improve Your Surfing In 5 Easy Steps - http://surfcoaches.com/ Megan's Beach & Jungle Yoga channel...

Surf

How to SURF: Shortboard Pop Up & Sprint Paddle...

2,844 likes 488,149 views 8 years ago

Part I - theory and hints. Look for Part II on my channel for exercises and more detail on getting there. *** MAKE...

Reviews

The Seaside at Seaside - Rob Machado's new...

3,259 likes 382,513 views 1 year ago

Explore the Seaside here: https://firewiresurfboards.com/the-wire/seaside-new-helium-shape-rob-machado/

Surf

Best Electric Surfboards 2017

990 likes 370,199 views 3 years ago

The best electric surfboards you can buy in 2017. Check out the detailed table at:...

Related videos
to Your First Shortboard-Learners Shortboard Review-Learn To Surf no.115 | Compare Surfboards

Reviews

The Seaside at Seaside - Rob Machado's new...

3,259 likes 382,513 views 1 year ago

Explore the Seaside here: https://firewiresurfboards.com/the-wire/seaside-new-helium-shape-rob-machado/

Reviews

Surfboard Size & Volume : How To Get It Right -...

903 likes 166,212 views 4 years ago

Shop Surfboards, Fins & Gear (keep this free resource free): AUS (Benny's Boardroom) -...

Reviews

Top 10 Motorized surfboards 2019. Best Electric...

459 likes 92,364 views 1 year ago

Check the new video Top 10 eFoils and Jetboards - Best Electric Hydrofoils...

Reviews

Fish Vs Shortboard - Which Is A Better Surfboard??

1,081 likes 92,016 views 2 years ago

Going surfing can be enhanced or restricted by surfboard choice. It can be a tricky decision for sure, and involves...

Reviews

Lost Surfboards V3 Rocket Review no.43 |...

139 likes 83,224 views 6 years ago

Shop Surfboards, Fins & Gear (keep this free resource free): AUS (Benny's Boardroom) -...

Reviews

The Electric Acid Surfboard Test Shaper's...

589 likes 80,072 views 1 year ago

Working with Gerry Lopez and legendary San Diego fish apostle, Rich "Toby" Pavel, Trimcraft Surfboards has opened the...

About Your First Shortboard-Learners Shortboard Review-Learn To Surf no.115 | Compare Surfboards

The "Your First Shortboard-Learners Shortboard Review-Learn To Surf no.115 | Compare Surfboards" video is part of the category, which contains similar videos like this one.

Subscribe hot viral Aquatic videos!